about us

Manuscripts are the most important medium writing has ever had. For thousands of years, manuscripts have had a determining influence on all cultures that were shaped by them, their only serious rival arising in the early modern period, with the introduction of printing.

In the West, scholarly interest in manuscripts has increased significantly over the last two decades. This has surely been influenced by the rise of electronic media, which has stimulated historical and systematic inquiry, both in the humanities and cultural studies.

At the same time, in Asia and in Africa manuscripts have been rediscovered as a part of cultural heritages, and the vast quantities of manuscripts (conservatively estimated at approximately 10 million) have begun to be catalogued, recorded and made accessible.

Based on the work of the DFG-Research Group 963 - "Manuscript Cultures in Asia and Afrika" (2008-2011) the Centre for the Studies of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC) is engaged in fundamental research, investigating from both a historical and comparative perspective, based on material artifacts, the empirical diversity of manuscript cultures. It will establish a new paradigm that is distinct from the research on manuscripts undertaken until now, which has been limited in its approach by region and discipline. On one hand, the cultural dependency of what has usually been considered given will particularly be brought into question, and on the other hand, universal categories and characteristics of manuscript cultures will be delineated, as one possible result of the comparative research.

The great variety of fields and disciplines, as well as the large number of cultures under investigation will ensure that unreflected attitudes, such as considering historically contingent European developments to be generally legitimate, or naive dichotomies ("East-West"), considered self-evident not only in Europe, but also in Asia and Africa, are surmounted. Long-term goals include the establishment of an interdisciplinary research field dealing with general manuscript studies, and the development of sustainable and functional tools.


  • Universität Hamburg
  • SFB 950
    Manuskriptkulturen in Asien, Afrika und Europa
  • Warburgstraße 26
  • D-20354 Hamburg, Germany
  • How to find us
  • Phone: 0049-(0)40-42838-7127
  • Fax: 0049-(0)40-42838-4899
  • Mail: manuscript-cultures [at] uni-hamburg.de
  • WWW: www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de

  • Mail form
Picture building Warburgstraße 26

Director and Vice Director

  • Prof. Dr. Michael Friedrich
  • Director
  • Tel: 0049-(0)40-42838-7127
  • Fax: 0049-(0)40-42838-4899
  • Mail: michael.friedrich [at] uni-hamburg.de
  • Prof. Dr. Jörg B. Quenzer
  • Vice Director
  • Tel: 0049-(0)40-42838-7203
  • Fax: 0049-(0)40-42838-6200
  • e-Mail: joerg.quenzer [at] uni-hamburg.de

über uns

Das Manuskript ist das Medium der Schriftlichkeit schlechthin, das Jahrtausende lang alle von ihm geprägten Kulturen wesentlich bestimmt hat und erst in der frühen Neuzeit im Druck einen ernsthaften Konkurrenten bekam.

Im Westen hat das wissenschaftliche Interesse an Manuskripten in den vergangenen beiden Jahrzehnten erheblich zugenommen, wozu sicherlich das Aufkommen der elektronischen Medien und die dadurch angeregten historischen und systematischen Fragestellungen in Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften beigetragen haben.


Informationen
über den SFB 950
Download

Parallel dazu hat man in Asien und Afrika Manuskripte als Teil des kulturellen Erbes wiederentdeckt und damit begonnen, die gewaltigen Mengen (vorsichtig geschätzt etwa 10 Millionen) auch hier wissenschaftlich zu erfassen und zugänglich zu machen.

Der SFB betreibt, aufbauend auf den Erfahrungen der DFG-Forschergruppe 963 - "Manuskriptkulturen in Asien und Afrika" (2008-2011), Grundlagenforschung und erforscht die empirische Vielfalt der Manuskriptkulturen in historischer und vergleichender Perspektive ausgehend vom materiellen Artefakt. Er etabliert ein neues Paradigma, das sich von den bisherigen, regional und disziplinär gebundenen Ansätzen der Manuskriptforschung dadurch unterscheidet, dass es einerseits die kulturelle Bedingtheit all dessen, was in der Regel als gegeben vorausgesetzt wird, ausdrücklich thematisiert, und andererseits damit als mögliches Ergebnis der komparatistischen Forschung universelle Kategorien und Merkmale von Manuskriptkulturen beschreiben möchte.

Die Vielfalt der beteiligten Fächer und Disziplinen sowie die Vielzahl der behandelten Kulturen gewährleisten die Überwindung unreflektierter Selbstverständlichkeiten (etwa die Gleichsetzung historisch kontingenter europäischer Entwicklungen mit verallgemeinerbarer Gesetzmäßigkeit) und naiver Dichotomien („Ost-West“), wie sie nicht nur in Europa, sondern auch in Asien und Afrika vorgetragen werden. Zu den langfristigen Zielen gehören die Etablierung einer allgemeinen Manuskriptwissenschaft als Fächer übergreifende Forschung sowie die Entwicklung nachhaltig nutzbarer Werkzeuge.


Anschrift

  • Universität Hamburg
  • SFB 950
    Manuskriptkulturen in Asien, Afrika und Europa
  • Warburgstraße 26
  • D-20354 Hamburg
  • Anreise
  • Tel.: 0049-(0)40-42838-7127
  • Fax: 0049-(0)40-42838-4899
  • e-Mail: manuscript-cultures [at] uni-hamburg.de
  • WWW: www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de

  • Kontaktformular
Bild Gebäde Warburgstraße 26

Sprecher und Stellvertreter

  • Prof. Dr. Michael Friedrich
  • Sprecher
  • Tel.: 0049-(0)40-42838-7127
  • Fax: 0049-(0)40-42838-4899
  • e-Mail: michael.friedrich [at] uni-hamburg.de
  • Prof. Dr. Jörg B. Quenzer
  • Stellvertretender Sprecher
  • Tel.: 0049-(0)40-42838-7203
  • Fax: 0049-(0)40-42838-6200
  • e-Mail: joerg.quenzer [at] uni-hamburg.de