library

The CSMC Reference Library currently houses more than 9000 books, periodicals and databases on manuscript research and related fields, including some rare and hard-to-find publications. The library's collection is constantly growing.

Catalogue

Services
The library is equipped with a colour bookscanner, four desks and one dedicated PC workstation for selected catalogues and databases. The university's WLAN is available and laptop computers may be used on all desks.

Hours
Monday and Tuesday 12pm-4pm
Wednesday 10am-2pm
Thursday and Friday 12pm-4pm
and on appointment

Contact
Universität Hamburg, SFB 950
Dr. Irina Wandrey
Warburgstraße 26, 20534 Hamburg
Tel.: +49-(0)40-42838-9420
irina.wandrey [at] uni-hamburg.de

“J.P. Gumbert’s Special Collection” at CSMC
Thanks to the generous support of the Universityof Hamburg, the CSMC was able to purchase an important section of the late Professor Johan Peter Gumbert’s (1936-2016) private book collection in May 2017. From 1979 to 2001 he was Professor, and later Professor Emeritus, of Western Palaeography and Codicology at Leiden University. with a focus on Latin and Dutch manuscripts. As a frequent guest at the University of Hamburg, Professor Gumbert was associated with the CSMC from its very beginning as well as with the COMSt-Network (Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies), . The 1,700 works on codicology and palaeography annotated with various handwritten comments by J. P. Gumbert will soon be available at the CSMC library as the “J. P. Gumbert’s Special Collection”. They are currently catalogued and the annotations and addenda are registered accurately and comprehensively.

Manuscript Identification Service
Heirlooms, souvenirs or offers at antique fairs and auctions – manuscripts from all over the world are still appreciated/treasured as works of art or collector's items, yet often the origin, content or the material cannot be easily identified. Our researchers and conservators examine your manuscripts, provide information about the items and advise you on proper handling and storage.
Request a personal appointment at: manuscript-cultures [at] uni-hamburg.de


manuscript catalogues

The CSMC library holds a number of rare manuscript catalogues from Asia, Africa nd Europe, many of them old or out-of-print. Due to copryright restrictions, the catalogues are only available in the library. The map below shows a selection of catalogues by showing the location of individual manuscript collections described in the catalogues. The catalogues on West African manuscripts were kindly provided by Mauro Nobili.

bibliothek

Die Präsenz-Bibliothek des SFB umfasst derzeit ca. 9000 Bände, zahlreiche Zeitschriften und Datenbanken zur Manuskriptforschung und benachbarten Gebieten, darunter auch seltene Publikationen. Die Sammlung zu allen Manuskriptkulturen wird kontinuierlich erweitert.

Zum Bibliothekskatalog

Ausstattung
Die Bibliothek verfügt über einen Farb-Buchscanner, vier Leseplätze und einen PC-Arbeitsplatz. Das WLAN der Universität Hamburg ist verfügbar. Besucher können eigene Notebooks mitbringen und an den Leseplätzen verwenden.

Öffnungszeiten
Montag u. Dienstag von 12-16 Uhr
Mittwoch von 10-14 Uhr
Donnerstag u. Freitag von 12-16 Uhr
sowie nach Vereinbarung

Kontakt
Universität Hamburg, SFB 950
Dr. Irina Wandrey
Warburgstraße 26, 20534 Hamburg
Tel.: +49-(0)40-42838-9420
irina.wandrey [at] uni-hamburg.de

„Sammlung J. P. Gumbert“ im SFB 950
Dank großzügiger Unterstützung durch die Universität Hamburg ist es dem SFB 950 im Mai 2017 gelungen, einen wichtigen Teil der Privatbibliothek von Johan Peter Gumbert (1936-2016) zu erwerben. J. P. Gumbert war von 1979 bis 2001 Professor und danach Professor emeritus für „Westliche Paläographie und Kodikologie“ an der Universität Leiden. Besonders konzentrierte er seine Forschung auf lateinische und niederländische Manuskripte. Professor Gumbert war sowohl mit dem CSMC seit seiner Anfangszeit als auch mit dem COMSt-Netzwerk (Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies) verbunden und mehrmals zu Gast an der Universität Hamburg. Die 1.700 Werke zur Kodikologie und Paläographie mit zahlreichen handschriftlichen Anmerkungen von J. P. Gumbert werden bald als „Sammlung J. P. Gumbert“ in der Bibliothek des SFB zugänglich sein. Momentan werden die Bände katalogisiert, wobei die Anmerkungen und Beilagen genau verzeichnet werden.

Manuskriptsprechstunde
Erbstücke, Dachbodenfunde oder Gelegenheiten bei Messen und Auktionen – Manuskripte aus aller Welt sind als Kunstobjekte oder Sammlerstücke geschätzt. Oft sind jedoch die Herkunft, der Inhalt oder auch das Material eines Manuskriptes nicht eindeutig zu identifizieren. Unsere Wissenschaftler und Restauratoren begutachten Ihre Manuskripte und geben Ihnen neben Hintergrundinformationen auch Hinweise zum Umgang und zur fachgerechten Lagerung. Individuelle Terminvereinbarungen unter: manuscript-cultures [at] uni-hamburg.de


manuskriptkataloge

Die Bibliothek des SFB 950 verfügt unter anderem über eine Anzahl seltener, alter und zum Teil vergriffener Manuskriptkataloge aus Asien, Afrika und Europa. Aus Gründen des Urheberrechts können diese Kataloge nur in der Bibliothek eingesehen werden. Die Karte ermöglicht eine geografische Suche für eine Auswahl der Katalogsammlung. Die Kataloge zu westafrikanischen Manuskripten wurden von Mauro Nobili zur Verfügung gestellt.