last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

07/2016 manuscript  of the month


The Portrait of a Queen:

A story about a manuscript and its commissione

In the first decade of the 19th century, which was a period of extreme decentralisation in Ethiopia, Queen Manan of Gondar commissioned a manuscript with hagiographic texts about Saint King Lālibalā containing a unique iconographic cycle. This manuscript was produced for a newly constructed church dedicated to this saint king in her capital. But why was Queen Manan, who lived 600 years later than him, so eager to promote his cult in a new place?


Fig. 1: The leather binding of the manuscript.
> Enlarge

The manuscript in question is an Ethiopian parchment codex 33.5 cm in height and 27.5 cm in width. The binding is still the Ethiopian original: the codex is bound on two wooden boards covered with finely tooled stamped leather and lined with flowered cloth. The book is still intact and shows hardly any traces of use. The text has been written in two columns in a careful, clear hand, the main body inscribed in carbon-black ink and red ink being used to lay out initial pages, punctuation and names. The text was composed in Ge’ez, an ancient Ethiopian language, and transmitted in its typical Ge’ez script. It contains a hagiographic text about an Ethiopian king and is known as the Gadla Lālibalā (‘Life of Lālibalā’). The text results from the merging of several independent texts which were eventually transmitted as a single work. This merged redaction was already attested in the 15th century.

Composed sometime before the 15th century, this work is considered the principal source of information on the life and deeds of King Lālibalā, who belonged to the Zagwe dynasty, which ruled Ethiopia in the 12th and 13th century. The Zagwe kings have sometimes been dubbed usurpers, but the Ethiopian Orthodox Church venerates them as saints. Moreover, Saint King Lālibalā is credited with the construction of eleven renowned rock-hewn churches in the town of Lālibalā, which was named after him. The church complex was interpreted as an ‘Ethiopian Jerusalem’ and became the main place of pilgrimage in Ethiopia.


Fig. 2: An illustration of Saint Lālibalā
building a church. > Enlarge

To date, the Life of Lālibalā is known from 35 books. The manuscript in question is unique, however: it is the only illustrated copy of this text. It contains eight miniatures, each of them filling a whole page and, as was common in the 19th century, either bearing a title in Ge’ez or in Amharic. The scribe and the painter must have thought very carefully about the project because the passages selected for painting narrate a specific story about Saint King Lālibalā. As we can see in the captions, most of the illustrations depict significant symbolic episodes of Lālibalā’s life until he became king. One of the miniatures depicts King Lālibalā building a church (fig. 2). All the miniatures originally belonged to one and the same codex, so it is likely that a scribe and a painter worked on the manuscript together and almost simultaneously. Most of the miniatures reflect occurrences in Lālibalā’s life that are mentioned in the text.

In addition to this, two miniatures included in the iconographic cycle narrate a story that is not actually told in the manuscript, describing events that are connected to the creation of the manuscript itself and its intended role.

In Ethiopia, commissioning a manuscript was and still is considered a pious deed; the baptismal name of the donor gets included in the prayers of supplication and is commemorated as long as the manuscript is in use. This particular manuscript was commissioned by Queen Manan in the 1840s, and her baptismal name, Walatta Iyasus, is mentioned in all the supplications in the manuscript. Moreover, in the miniature with the caption ‘How [the] Patriarch washed his feet’ (fig. 3), the queen is mentioned in a second subtitle and portrayed as the prone donor in the lower part of the picture. This image of her is the only one that has survived to this day. Although Manan was ‘only’ the wife of King Yohannes III of Ethiopia, she and her relatives were, in fact, the figures who really had power, not the king.


Fig. 3: Probably the only surviving
portrait of Queen Manan, the
commissioner of the manuscript.
> Enlarge

As a supplication in the manuscript mentions, Manan also commissioned the construction of a church dedicated to Saint Lālibalā. One miniature with the caption ‘Church of Lālibalā’ (fig. 4) depicts a church which could be identified as the church of Saint Lālibalā of Gondar. If we assume that the supplication refers to the area of Gondar, then this is the only written evidence and image of a church of the saint king which was built in the city of Gondar sometime in the first few decades of the 19th century.

The question is, why did Queen Manan decide to produce such a unique and precious manuscript? Why was she so eager to promote the cult of Saint King Lālibalā in a new place by building a church in his honour? One answer might be that Queen Manan wanted to boost the importance of her city, Gondar. The town of Lālibalā was the main religious centre of Ethiopia. In order to strengthen the position of her own city, Queen Manan wanted to transfer the religious significance of the city of Lālibalā to Gondar and promote it to become the new religious hub of the empire. In pursuing her aim, Queen Manan built a church for Saint Lālibalā in Gondar. In the Ethiopian Church, if a shrine is dedicated to a certain saint, it is obligatory to read stories of his life and miracles on his commemoration day. Hence, to accomplish her project, Manan had to obtain a copy of the Life of Lālibalā for the newly built church. In order to create a privileged place in Gondar and make it competitive with the city of Lālibalā, which had been constructed by the Saint King himself and was a place where he was highly venerated, Manan needed to commission something extraordinary: an illustrated manuscript. As a result, the first and only illustrated manuscript of the Life of Lālibalā was produced.


Fig. 4: The church of Gondar, dedicated to
Saint Lālibalā. > Enlarge

Admittedly, it is not the first manuscript of this text to have been commissioned by the royals, but it is the only known manuscript in which the commissioner is actually portrayed. By supporting King Lālibalā’s cult and being depicted in this unique manuscript, Queen Manan might have wanted to strengthen her own power and legitimacy.

If these were indeed Manan’s intentions, history did not grant her enough time. Another ambitious person got involved: future King Tewodros II (1855–1868). As a result, Queen Manan died in prison, and the church of Lālibalā was destroyed and deserted. As for the manuscript, it was carefully stored away in its new residence by King Tewodros II, who kept it as a valuable trophy. The manuscript was never used as a model for another copy, and the exclusive iconographic cycle was not copied or reproduced either. When the British Army defeated King Tewodros II in 1867–68, the queen’s manuscript was seized as booty and eventually sold to the British Museum by auction.



References

BERRY, LaVerle (2005): Gondär. In Siegbert Uhlig (ed.), Encyclopaedia Aethiopica, II: D–Ha, 838–843. Wiesbaden.

CRUMMEY, Donald (2007): Mänän Libän Amäde. In Siegbert Uhlig (ed.), Encyclopaedia Aethiopica, III: He–N, 721a–722b. Wiesbaden.

CRUMMEY, Donald / Nosnitsin, Denis / Sokolinskaia, Evgenia (2010): Tewodros II. In Siegbert Uhlig in cooperation with Alessandro Bausi (eds.), Encyclopaedia Aethiopica, IV: O–X, 930a–936a. Wiesbaden.

DEGE, Sophia (2014): Zämänä mäsafǝnt. In Alessandro Bausi in cooperation with Siegbert Uhlig (eds.), Encyclopaedia Aethiopica, V: Y–Z, Supplementa, Addenda et Corrigenda, Maps, Index, 122b–129a. Wiesbaden.

PERRUCHON, Jules (1892): Vie de Lālibalā, roi d’Éthiopie (Publications de l’École des Lettres d’Algers, Bulletin de Correspondance Africaine). Paris.

WRIGHT, William (1877): Catalogue of the Ethiopic Manuscripts in the British Museum acquired since the year 1847. London.


Description
London, British Library
Signature: Or. 718
Provenance: Gondar, Ethiopia, 1840s
Material: parchment, 138 folios; original binding and wooden covers wrapped in leather
Size: 33.5 x 27.5 cm
Contents: The Life of Lālibalā




Text by Nafisa Valieva
© for all pictures: The British Library
Reference note:
Nafisa Valieva, “The Portrait of a Queen”
In: Wiebke Beyer (Ed.): Manuscript of the Month 2016.07, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_07_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

07/2016 manuskript  des monats


Porträt einer Königin:

Die Geschichte eines Manuskripts und seiner Auftraggeberin

Im ersten Jahrzehnt des 19. Jahrhunderts, einer Phase der extremen Dezentralisierung in Äthiopien, gab Königin Manan von Gondar ein Manuskript mit hagiografischen Texten über den heiligen König Lālibalā in Auftrag, das einen einzigartigen Bilderzyklus enthält. Die Handschrift wurde für eine in der Hauptstadt der Königin neu erbauten Kirche angefertigt, die diesem heiligen König geweiht war. Doch warum bemühte sich Königin Manan, 600 Jahre nach Lālibalā, so eifrig um dessen Verehrung an einem neuen Ort?


Abb. 1: Der Ledereinband des Manuskripts.
> Vergrößerung

Bei dem besagten Manuskript handelt es sich um einen 33,5 cm hohen und 27,5 cm breiten äthiopischen Kodex aus Pergament. Die äthiopische Originalbindung ist erhalten geblieben: Der Einband besteht aus zwei Holzdeckeln, die mit einem fein verzierten Leder mit Blindprägung bezogen sind und einem Vorsatz aus geblümtem Stoff. Das Manuskript ist unversehrt und weist kaum Gebrauchsspuren auf. Der zweispaltig angeordnete Text zeigt eine klare, sorgfältige Handschrift. Für den Haupttext wurde schwarze Rußtusche verwendet, für die Gestaltung von Anfangsseiten, Interpunktion und Namen rote Tinte. Der Text wurde in Ge’ez, einer altäthiopischen Sprache, abgefasst und in der dafür charakteristischen Silbenschrift umgesetzt. Sein Inhalt, eine hagiografische Abhandlung über einen äthiopischen König, ist als Gadla Lālibalā („Das Leben des Lālibalā“) bekannt. Der Text besteht aus mehreren eigenständigen Texten, die schließlich als einheitliches Werk überliefert wurden. Diese zusammengefügte Herausgabe ist schon im 15. Jahrhundert nachgewiesen.

Das irgendwann vor dem 15. Jahrhundert verfasste Werk gilt als wichtigste Informationsquelle über das Leben und Wirken König Lālibalās aus der Zagwe-Dynastie, die im 12. und 13. Jahrhundert in Äthiopien herrschte. Die bisweilen als Usurpatoren titulierten Zagwe-Könige werden in der Äthiopisch-Orthodoxen Kirche gleichwohl als Heilige verehrt. Dem heiligen König Lālibalā wird unter anderem der Bau von elf berühmten Felsenkirchen in der nach ihm benannten Stadt Lālibalā zugeschrieben. Der Kirchenkomplex wurde als ein „Äthiopisches Jerusalem“ gedeutet und entwickelte sich zum wichtigsten Wallfahrtsort Äthiopiens.


Abb. 2: Darstellung des Heiligen Lālibalā
beim Bau einer Kirche.
> Vergrößerung

Bis heute ist der Text Das Leben des Lālibalā aus 35 Büchern bekannt. Das vorliegende Manuskript jedoch ist einmalig: Es ist die einzige illustrierte Ausfertigung dieses Textes. Es enthält acht ganzseitige Miniaturen, die, wie im 19. Jahrhundert üblich, entweder in äthiopischer oder in amharischer Sprache übertitelt sind. Der Schreiber und der Maler müssen das Vorhaben sehr sorgfältig durchdacht haben, denn die zur Illustration ausgewählten Textpassagen erzählen eine spezifische Geschichte des heiligen Königs Lālibalā. Wie aus den Überschriften hervorgeht, schildert der Großteil der Malereien bedeutende symbolhafte Episoden aus Lālibalās Leben, bevor er König wurde. Eine der Miniaturen zeigt den König beim Bau einer Kirche (Abb. 2). Da alle acht Miniaturen ursprünglich für diesen Kodex angefertigt wurden, ist es wahrscheinlich, dass ein Schreiber und ein Buchmaler an dem Manuskript fast zeitgleich zusammengearbeitet haben. Die meisten Miniaturen geben Ereignisse aus Lālibalās Leben wieder, die auch im Text vorkommen.

Darüber hinaus berichten zwei der in den Bilderzyklus einbezogenen Miniaturen von Geschehnissen, die im Text nicht erwähnt werden: Sie beschreiben Ereignisse, die mit der Entstehung des Manuskripts selbst und mit der ihm zugedachten Rolle in Zusammenhang stehen.

In Äthiopien galt und gilt die Beauftragung, ein Manuskript herzustellen, bis heute als frommes Werk; der Taufname des Auftraggebers wird in die Bittgebete eingeschlossen und in Erinnerung bewahrt, solange das Manuskript in Gebrauch ist. Dieses spezielle Manuskript wurde in den 1840er-Jahren von Königin Manan in Auftrag gegeben, und ihr Taufname, Walatta Iyasus, taucht in sämtlichen Bittgebeten des Manuskripts auf. In der Miniatur mit der Überschrift „Wie [der] Patriarch seine Füße wusch“ (Abb. 3) wird die Königin zudem in einer zusätzlichen Bildunterschrift erwähnt und im unteren Teil des Bildes als Stifterin abgebildet. Diese Darstellung ist die einzige, die bis heute von ihr erhalten geblieben ist. Obwohl Manan „nur“ die Ehefrau König Yohannes III. von Äthiopien war, hatten sie und ihre Verwandtschaft die Macht inne, nicht der König.


Abb. 3: Das vermutlich einzige
erhaltene Porträt von Königin Manan,
der Auftraggeberin des Manuskripts.
> Vergrößerung

Wie in einem Bittgebet des Manuskripts erwähnt, gab Manan auch den Bau einer dem Heiligen Lālibalā geweihten Kirche in Auftrag. Eine Miniatur mit der Überschrift „[Die] Kirche des Lālibalā“ (Abb. 4) zeigt ein Gotteshaus, das man als Kirche des Heiligen Lālibalā zu Gondar identifizieren könnte. Wenn man davon ausgeht, dass sich das Bittgebet auf Gondar bezieht, dann ist dies der einzige schriftliche und bildliche Beleg für eine Kirche des heiligen Königs, die irgendwann in den ersten Jahrzehnten des 19. Jahrhunderts in der Stadt Gondar errichtet wurde.

Die Frage ist nun, was Königin Manan bewog, eine so einzigartige und wertvolle Handschrift anfertigen zu lassen? Warum bemühte sie sich so sehr um die Verehrung des heiligen Königs Lālibalā an einem neuen Ort, indem sie ihm zu Ehren eine Kirche baute? Eine Antwort könnte sein, dass Königin Manan die Bedeutung der Hauptstadt Gondar erhöhen wollte. Die Stadt Lālibalā war das wichtigste religiöse Zentrum Äthiopiens. Um die Position ihrer eigenen Stadt zu stärken, wollte Königin Manan die religiöse Bedeutung Lālibalās auf Gondar übertragen und die Stadt zum neuen geistlichen Mittelpunkt des Reichs machen. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, ließ sie in Gondar eine Kirche für den Heiligen Lālibalā errichten. Wenn in der äthiopischen Kirche einem bestimmten Heiligen ein Schrein gewidmet wird, ist es obligatorisch, an seinem Gedenktag Geschichten seines Lebens und seiner Wunder vorzulesen. Um also ihr Projekt zu vollenden, musste Manan für die neu erbaute Kirche ein Exemplar von Das Leben des Lālibalā erwerben. Um in Gondar einen privilegierten Ort zu erschaffen und diese Stadt gegenüber der Stadt Lālibalā – die vom heiligen König einst selbst errichteten worden war und in der dieser aufs Höchste verehrt wurde – konkurrenzfähig zu machen, sah Manan sich veranlasst, etwas Außergewöhnliches in Auftrag zu geben: eine illuminierte Handschrift. So entstand das erste und einzige bebilderte Manuskript von Das Leben des Lālibalā.


Abb. 4: Die Kirche von Gondar, dem Heiligen
Lālibalā gewidmet. > Vergrößerung

Zugegebenermaßen ist es nicht das erste Manuskript dieses Textes, das von Angehörigen des Königshauses in Auftrag gegeben wurde, aber es ist das einzige bekannte, in dem die Auftraggeberin selbst abgebildet ist. Mit ihrem Einsatz für die Verehrung König Lālibalās und ihrem Porträt in diesem einzigartigen Manuskript wollte Königin Manan möglicherweise auch ihre eigene Macht und Legitimität festigen.

Sollte dies tatsächlich die Absicht der Königin gewesen sein, so gewährte ihr die Geschichte nicht genügend Zeit. Mit dem künftigen König Tewodros II. (reg. 1855–1868) betrat ein nicht weniger ehrgeiziger Gegenspieler die Szene, was zur Folge hatte, dass Königin Manan im Gefängnis starb und die Kirche von Lālibalā aufgegeben und zerstört wurde. Das Manuskript dagegen bekam ein neues Zuhause und wurde von König Tewodros II. als wertvolle Trophäe sorgfältig verwahrt. Es kam jedoch weder als Vorlage für weitere Exemplare zum Einsatz, noch wurde der exklusive Bilderzyklus jemals kopiert oder reproduziert. Als die britische Armee 1867/68 König Tewodros II. besiegte, wurde das Manuskript der Königin als Kriegsbeute beschlagnahmt und letztendlich auf einer Auktion an das British Museum verkauft.



Literatur

BERRY, LaVerle (2005): Gondär. In Siegbert Uhlig (Hg.), Encyclopaedia Aethiopica, II: D–Ha, 838–843. Wiesbaden.

CRUMMEY, Donald (2007): Mänän Libän Amäde. In Siegbert Uhlig (Hg.), Encyclopaedia Aethiopica, III: He–N, 721a–722b. Wiesbaden.

CRUMMEY, Donald / Nosnitsin, Denis / Sokolinskaia, Evgenia (2010): Tewodros II. In Siegbert Uhlig in Zusammenarbeit mit Alessandro Bausi (Hgg.), Encyclopaedia Aethiopica, IV: O–X, 930a–936a. Wiesbaden.

DEGE, Sophia (2014): Zämänä mäsafǝnt. In Alessandro Bausi in Zusammenarbeit mit Siegbert Uhlig (Hgg.), Encyclopaedia Aethiopica, V: Y–Z, Supplementa, Addenda et Corrigenda, Maps, Index, 122b–129a. Wiesbaden.

PERRUCHON, Jules (1892): Vie de Lālibalā, roi d’Éthiopie (Publications de l’École des Lettres d’Algers, Bulletin de Correspondance Africaine). Paris.

WRIGHT, William (1877): Catalogue of the Ethiopic Manuscripts in the British Museum acquired since the year 1847. London.


Beschreibung
British Library, London
Signatur: Or. 718
Herkunft: Gondar, Äthiopien, 1840er-Jahre
Material: Pergament, 138 Blatt; Originalbindung und in Leder eingeschlagene Holzdeckel
Maße: 33,5 x 27,5 cm
Inhalt: Das Leben des Lālibalā



Text von Nafisa Valieva
© für alle Abbildungen: The British Library
Zitationshinweis:
Nafisa Valieva, “Porträt einer Königin“
In: Wiebke Beyer (Hg.): Manuskript des Monats 2016.07, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_07_mom.html