last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

08/2016 manuscript  of the month


From Stone to Paper:

A Manuscript on Ancient Inscriptions Marks the Beginning of Epigraphic Studies in Modern Siam

Thanks to spectacular epigraphic discoveries in the first half of the 19th century, members of the Siamese elite became curious to find out more about ancient writing on stone. Once the inscribed artefacts had been moved from the provincial areas to the capital, Bangkok, in order to be stored safely, Siamese experts – a very small group of traditional scholars – began the process of deciphering them to learn more about the past. A Siamese manuscript from the late 19th century documents various ancient scripts originating in India and South-east Asia as proof of this process:


Fig. 1: Example of an Angkorian Khmer inscription
found in Lopburi (Thailand) and dated to 1025 CE.
> Enlarge

The manuscript in question, which is from the Illustrated Manuscript Subsection of the National Library of Thailand, is a khòi leporello manuscript, one of the traditional Siamese formats for transmitting literature and secular knowledge. The seven-metre-long piece of paper made from the bark of the khòi tree was blackened with soot and folded together. On the dark background, the writing in yellow ink, which is made from a reddish mineral called realgar, is bright and therefore easy to read. The script runs horizontally, but unlike standard manuscripts, which commonly contain four or five lines of writing per page, this one only has two lines written on each page, both of which are of a relatively large size. Hence, it provides researchers with a good opportunity to undertake a investigation of the copied material.

According to the National Library, the manuscript originally belonged to Prince Patriarch Pawaret Wariyalongkorn (1809–1892), who spent much of his life living in the Bawonniwet Monastery in Bangkok. During this long period, Prince Pawaret, along with several other members of the Siamese elite, had begun deciphering inscriptions written in Old Thai and Old Khmer in the middle of the 19th century so as to study the history of the Siamese. He became one of the pioneering scholars of Thai epigraphy. Thus, the prince himself may have been the original compiler of the epigraphic texts collected in this manuscript. The manuscript was presumably created sometime after the first discovery of Thai inscriptions in 1833, but before the prince’s death in 1892.

This manuscript is an outstanding case among the various manuals on scripts that have survived in Thailand, as it contains texts from various inscriptions in a wide range of languages and scripts – seven languages, in fact (Pali, Sanskrit and Old Khmer, for example), written in ten different scripts (Pallava Grantha, Old Khmer, Old Thai and seven others). When the manuscript was written, modern technologies used in epigraphic studies, such as rubbings and photography, were either unknown or seldom used in Siam; inscriptions of this kind were copied by hand instead. The texts in the manuscript seem to have been copied by imitating ancient handwriting found on stones (albeit imperfectly), as can be seen in fig. 2.


Fig. 2: Example of the Pallava Grantha inscription, originally from the city of
Nakhòn Chaisi. On the left, the copy in the manuscript, and on the right, the
photocopy of the original stone inscription (printed in: National Library of
Thailand, 1986, p. 93). > Enlarge

Some epigraphic texts were copied and collected without any further explanation, while others were presented along with the alphabet and basic orthographic rules included at the end (fig. 3). In certain cases, notes on the origin of the inscriptions were supplemented in Thai (fig. 2), written in the writing style of the royal court in the 19th century. These remarks seem to have been added by the same person, possibly the scribe and copyist of the inscriptions.

The collected ancient scripts and languages originate from India and South-east Asia and cover a period of more than one-and-a-half millennia, from the 3rd century BCE to the 13th century. For instance, a passage from an inscription of the Angkorian Khmer kingdom in Old Khmer dated to 1025 CE (fig. 1) was copied as well as a passage from one of King Ashoka’s inscriptions (3rd century BCE) found in India (fig. 3). Several inscriptions in the Central Indian language Pali written in the Pallava Grantha script, the earliest script of ancient South-east Asia (6th century CE) (fig. 2) were recorded in the manuscript, and the Old Thai alphabet from the Sukhothai kingdom, the earliest writing in Old Thai ever found (13th century CE), was added along with notes on some obsolete spelling conventions.


Fig. 3: An example of the Ashokan Brahmi script
(lines 1-–6), followed by the complete alphabet,
and examples of ligatures (lines 7–-9).
The text is corresponds to the first Girnar Rock
Edict found in Gujarat, India. > Enlarge

The contents of the inscriptions range from royal edicts to Buddhist canonical quotations. Very few were copied in full, and most of these are short texts. Many of the texts copied are rather brief excerpts of much longer inscriptions, partly ending in the middle of a paragraph. This indicates that the main focus of the manuscript was not on the content, but rather on the scripts themselves. In addition to the ancient scripts, the manuscript also provides two modern Indian scripts, namely Tamil (fig. 4) and Devanagari, which may have been recognised by the Siamese in the 19th century, but was probably still considered foreign at that time. Knowledge of these scripts was never widespread in traditional Siamese education, it seems, as no other traditional manuals on scripts mention them.

Apparently, in the process of collecting the inscriptions for this manuscript, both original inscriptions and printed books were consulted. Most parts, especially the older scripts, were collected from the original epigraphic evidence. The sources for ancient writing from India were apparently printed books on epigraphy imported into Siam from India. This information is also given in some of the additional notes in the manuscript – one example of an Indian inscription was copied from a printed book brought to Siam from Calcutta, for instance.

According to the collection of epigraphic examples, including excerpts, alphabets and short notes, this manuscript seems to have been used for the purpose of studying and learning these ancient and foreign writings. It was probably used by the owner as an epigraphic reference source and manual for learning and possibly teaching languages. His attempt to compile the epigraphic knowledge appearing in this manuscript was not a systematically organised manual with a full explanation and translation of inscriptions that served as a self-instructional manual, but even so, it still precedes the pioneering works on epigraphy in Siam written by Western scholars in the early 20th century.

The texts of inscriptions on a paper manuscript reflect a new interest in ancient writing systems among the Siamese in the 19th century and are an attempt to organise epigraphic knowledge in the form of a traditional manuscript manual. Although some of the epigraphic texts that were copied are not perfectly faithful to the original inscriptions, the manuscript nevertheless marks the first serious attempt to establish a body of modern knowledge on ancient writings, which scholars nowadays call epigraphy and palaeography, and thus has become the earliest manual on epigraphy to be found in present-day Thailand so far.


Fig. 4: List of Tamil characters with a transliteration in Thai between the lines. > Enlarge


References

CŒDÈS, George (1968): The Indianized States of Southeast Asia. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press.

DANI, Ahmad Hasan (1963): Indian Palaeography. Oxford: Clarendon Press.

NATIONAL LIBRARY OF THAILAND (1986): Carük nai prathet thai lem 1 [จารึกในประเทศไทย เล่ม ๑/ Inscriptions in Thailand, Volume I]. Bangkok: National Library of Thailand.

SALOMON, Richard (1998): Indian Epigraphy: A Guide to the Study of Inscriptions in Sanskrit, Prakrit, and the Other Indo-Aryan Languages. New Delhi: Munshiram Manoharlal.


Description
The National Library of Thailand (Bangkok)
Shelf mark: MS no. 186 ‘Baep aksòn tang tang’ (‘Manual on Various Scripts’)
The Illustrated Manuscript Subsection, The Secular Manual Section, The Manuscript Collection
Material: blackened khòi paper leporello manuscript
Dimensions: 36.5 × 12 × 4.5 cm
Provenance: c. 1833–1890, Bangkok, Siam (Thailand)





Text by Peera Panarut
© for all pictures: The National Library of Thailand
Reference note:
Peera Panarut, “From Stone to Paper”
In: Wiebke Beyer (Ed.): Manuscript of the Month 2016.08, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_08_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

08/2016 manuskript  des monats


Von Stein auf Papier:

Eine Handschrift über antike Inschriften als Beginn der Epigraphik im modernen Siam

Spektakuläre epigraphische Entdeckungen in der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts weckten das Interesse von Mitgliedern der siamesischen Oberschicht an alten Steininschriften. Nachdem die Artefakte mit den Inschriften aus den Provinzen zur sicheren Lagerung in die Hauptstadt Bangkok gebracht worden waren, begann eine kleine Gruppe traditioneller Gelehrter, sie zu entziffern, um mehr über die Geschichte zu erfahren. Ein siamesisches Manuskript aus dem späten 19. Jahrhundert mit verschiedenen alten Inschriften aus Indien und Südostasien dokumentiert diese Arbeit.


Abb. 1: Beispiel einer Khmer-Inschrift aus der
Region Angkor, die in Lop Buri (Thailand)
gefunden wurde und auf das Jahr 1025 datiert ist.
> Vergrößerung

Bei dem Manuskript aus der Unterabteilung für illustrierte Handschriften der Nationalbibliothek Thailands handelt es sich um eine Khoi-Handschrift in Form eines Leporellos, einem der traditionellen Formate für die Überlieferung von Literatur und säkularem Wissen. Das sieben Meter lange Stück Papier aus Khoi-Baum-Rinde wurde mit Ruß geschwärzt und anschließend gefaltet. Die gelbe, aus einem rötlichen Mineral namens Realgar (Rubinschwefel) hergestellte Tusche setzt sich hell von dem schwarzen Hintergrund ab und ist dadurch sehr gut lesbar. Die Schriftrichtung ist horizontal, aber im Gegensatz zu den meisten Manuskripten, bei denen in der Regel jede Seite mit vier oder fünf Zeilen beschrieben ist, finden sich hier auf jeder Seite nur zwei Zeilen mit relativ großer Schrift. Dies erleichtert es Forschern, das kopierte Material genau zu prüfen.

Laut Nationalbibliothek gehörte das Manuskript ursprünglich dem Prinz-Patriarchen Pawaret Wariyalongkorn (1809–1892), der den größten Teil seines Lebens im Kloster Bawonniwet in Bangkok verbrachte. Während dieser langen Zeit hatte Prinz Pawaret Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts zusammen mit weiteren Mitgliedern der siamesischen Oberschicht begonnen, Inschriften in Altthai und Altkhmer zu entziffern, um die Geschichte der Siamesen zu erforschen; er wurde somit zu einem der ersten Gelehrten für Thai-Epigraphik. Es ist also gut möglich, dass der Prinz selbst die in dem Manuskript zusammengestellten epigraphischen Texte gesammelt hat. Demnach wurde das Manuskript vermutlich nach der ersten Entdeckung thailändischer Inschriften 1833, jedoch vor dem Tod des Prinzen im Jahr 1892 hergestellt.

Dieses Manuskript ist im Vergleich zu verschiedenen anderen in Thailand erhaltenen Handbüchern über Schriften außergewöhnlich, da es Inschriftentexte in einer Vielzahl von Sprachen und Schriften enthält – genau genommen sieben Sprachen (z. B. Pali, Sanskrit und Altkhmer) in zehn verschiedenen Schriften (Pallava Grantha, Altkhmer, Altthai und sieben weitere). Als das Manuskript geschrieben wurde, waren moderne Techniken wie Abklatsch und Fotografie, die heute in der Epigraphik verwendet werden, in Siam entweder unbekannt oder selten angewandt. Stattdessen schrieb man Inschriften dieser Art per Hand ab. Wie auf Abbildung 2 zu sehen ist, wurden die in dem Manuskript enthaltenen Texte anscheinend in Nachahmung der Schrift auf den Steinen kopiert (wenn auch nicht immer perfekt).


Abb. 2: Beispiel für die Inschrift in Pallava Grantha, die ursprünglich aus der
Stadt Nakhòn Chaisi stammt. Auf der linken Seite die Kopie im Manuskript und
auf der rechten Seite die Fotokopie der Original-Steininschrift (abgedruckt in:
National Library of Thailand, 1986, 93). > Vergrößerung

Manche Inschriften wurden ohne weitere Erklärung kopiert und gesammelt, während andere mit Alphabet und grundlegenden orthographischen Regeln präsentiert wurden (Abb. 3). In bestimmten Fällen wurden zusätzlich Anmerkungen über die Herkunft der Inschriften in Thai gegeben (Abb. 2), die im Stil des königlichen Hofes des 19. Jahrhunderts geschrieben sind. Diese Anmerkungen scheinen alle von derselben Person hinzugefügt worden zu sein, eventuell dem Schreiber und Kopisten dieser Inschriften.

Die gesammelten alten Schriften und Sprachen stammen aus Indien und Südostasien und decken einen Zeitraum von mehr als anderthalb Jahrtausenden ab, vom 3. Jahrhundert v. Chr. bis zum 13. Jahrhundert n. Chr. Es wurde zum Beispiel eine Textpassage aus einer auf das Jahr 1025 datierten Altkhmer-Inschrift des Khmer-Königreichs von Angkor (Abb. 1) kopiert, ebenso aber auch eine Passage einer der Inschriften von König Ashoka (3. Jahrhundert v. Chr.) in Indien (Abb. 3). Verschiedene, in der altindischen Sprache Pali verfasste und in Pallava Grantha, der ältesten Schrift des alten Südostasiens (6. Jahrhundert n. Chr.), geschriebene Inschriften sind in dem Manuskript zu finden (Abb. 2), ferner das Altthai-Alphabet, der ältesten bekannten Inschrift aus dem Königreich Sukhothai (13. Jahrhundert n. Chr.) zusammen mit Anmerkungen über ein paar obsolete Rechtschreibregeln.


Abb. 3: Beispiel der Brahmi-Schrift des Ashoka
(Zeile 1-6), gefolgt von dem vollständigen Alphabet
und Beispielen von Ligaturen (Zeile 7–9). Der Text
entspricht dem des ersten Girnar-Felsedikts in
Gujarat, Indien. > Vergrößerung

Die Inhalte der Inschriften reichen von königlichen Edikten bis zu Zitaten aus dem buddhistischen Kanon. Nur sehr wenige kurze Texte wurden komplett kopiert. Bei den meisten handelt es sich um relativ kurze Auszüge aus viel umfangreicheren Inschriften, die teilweise mitten in einem Abschnitt aufhören. Dies deutet darauf hin, dass das Hauptaugenmerk nicht auf dem Inhalt lag, sondern auf den Schriften selbst. Zusätzlich zu den alten Schriften verzeichnet das Manuskript auch zwei moderne indische Schriften, Tamil (Abb. 4) und Devanagari. Diese Schriften waren den Siamesen im 19. Jahrhundert vielleicht bekannt, wurden jedoch zu der Zeit vermutlich noch als fremd empfunden. Kenntnisse dieser Schriften waren in der traditionellen siamesischen Bildung anscheinend nicht sehr verbreitet, denn sie werden in keinem anderen traditionellen Werk über Schriften erwähnt.

Für die Zusammenstellung der Inschriften für dieses Manuskript wurden sowohl Originalinschriften als auch gedruckte Bücher als Quellen verwendet. Die meisten, insbesondere die in älteren Schriften, wurden von den originalen Inschriftenträgern kopiert. Quellen für alte Schriften aus Indien waren anscheinend gedruckte Bücher über Epigraphik, die aus Indien nach Siam importiert worden waren. Informationen hierzu werden auch in manchen der Anmerkungen in dem Manuskript gegeben – ein Beispiel für eine indische Inschrift wurde etwa aus einem gedruckten Buch, das aus Kalkutta nach Siam gebracht wurde, kopiert.

Die Zusammenstellung der epigraphischen Beispiele wie Textauszüge, Alphabete und kurzen Anmerkungen lässt darauf schließen, dass dieses Manuskript zum Studieren und Erlernen dieser alten, fremden Schriften diente. Sie wurde wahrscheinlich von ihrem Besitzer als epigraphisches Nachschlagewerk und Handbuch zum Lernen – und vielleicht Lehren – benutzt. Bei seinem Versuch, das in diesem Manuskript aufgeführte epigraphische Wissen zusammenzutragen, handelt es sich nicht um ein systematisch organisiertes Handbuch mit einer vollständigen Erklärung und Übersetzung der Inschriften zum Selbststudium, dennoch geht es den ersten im 20. Jahrhundert von westlichen Wissenschaftlern verfassten Werken über Epigraphik voraus.

Die Texte von Inschriften in einem Papiermanuskript spiegeln ein neues Interesse der Siamesen an alten Schriftsystemen im 19. Jahrhundert wider und stellen den Versuch dar, epigraphisches Wissen in Gestalt eines traditionellen Handbuch-Manuskripts zu organisieren. Obwohl manche der epigraphischen Texte nicht ganz originalgetreu kopiert wurden, stellt das Handbuch den ersten ernsthaften Versuch dar, ein Korpus modernen Wissens über altere Schriften zu erstellen, das heute als Epigraphik und Paläographie bezeichnet wird. Das Manuskript wurde so zum ältesten Handbuch über Epigraphik, das bis heute in Thailand gefunden wurde.


Abb. 4: Liste von Tamil-Zeichen mit interlinearer Transliteration in Thai > Vergrößerung


Literatur

CŒDÈS, George (1968): The Indianized States of Southeast Asia. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press.

DANI, Ahmad Hasan (1963): Indian Palaeography. Oxford: Clarendon Press.

NATIONAL LIBRARY OF THAILAND (1986): Carük nai prathet thai lem 1 [จารึกในประเทศไทย เล่ม ๑/ Inscriptions in Thailand, Volume I]. Bangkok: National Library of Thailand.

SALOMON, Richard (1998): Indian Epigraphy: A Guide to the Study of Inscriptions in Sanskrit, Prakrit, and the Other Indo-Aryan Languages. New Delhi: Munshiram Manoharlal.


Beschreibung
Nationalbibliothek Thailand (Bangkok)
Signatur: MS Nr. 186 „Baep aksòn tang tang“ („Handbuch über verschiedene Schriften“)
Unterabteilung für illustrierte Handschriften, Abschnitt für säkulare Handbücher, Handschriftensammlung
Material: geschwärztes Khoi-Papier
Format: Leporello
Maße: 36,5 × 12 × 4,5 cm
Herkunft: ca. 1833–1890, Bangkok, Siam (Thailand)






Text von Peera Panarut
© für alle Abbildungen: The National Library of Thailand
Zitationshinweis:
Peera Panarut, “Von Stein auf Papier“
In: Wiebke Beyer (Hg.): Manuskript des Monats 2016.08, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_08_mom.html