last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

06/2012 manuscript  of the month


A Propaganda Pamphlet in Support
of a 19th-century West African Ruler

“Under the title of Fettassi, Koti edited a history of the kingdoms of Ganata, Songhoi, and Timbuctoo, from their origins until 1554 (950 of Hegira). In spite of the most persistent research, I have not been able to procure more than fragments of this important work. Everyone knows all about it, but no one possesses it; it is the phantom book of the Sudan”. With these words Félix Dubois, a journalist of the French newspaper Le Figaro, refers in 1896 to a chronicle written in Timbuktu, Mali. The work, generally acknowledged as having been commenced by Maḥmūd Ka‘ti b. al-ḥājj al-Mutawakkil Ka‘ti (d. 1593) and completed by one of his nephews, known only as Ibn al-Mukhtār Gombélé (fl. 17th century), is commonly known as the Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh (“The chronicle of the seeker”). While the chronicle was edited in 1913-14 by Octave V. Houdas and Maurice Delafosse, those fragments referred to by Dubois attracted little scholarly attention. Were they just isolated sections of the Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh or not? And why did they circulate apart from the chronicle?


Institut de France,
Fonds de Gironcourt,
ms. 2410 (174), f. 116b

Dubois explains that these fragments were a propaganda pamphlet containing a prophecy that legitimizes the authority of AḥmadLobbo (d. 1845), the ruler of the Masinaempire (1818-1862), an Islamic state in central Mali. Some of these fragments are today included in different collections in France, Mali and Niger. The manuscript presented here is one of these pamphlets, included in the collection of West African Arabic manuscripts donated by the French explorer Georges de Gironcourt (1878-1960) to the Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres in Paris and hosted at the Library of the Institut de France. It is part of a composite volume, i.e. a book made up of formerly independent books or booklets. The manuscript was produced on de Gironcourt’s request on the 4th of June, 1912, in Sinder, today’s western Niger Republic.

The author of the pamphlet is a well-known 19th-century Muslim scholar, Nūḥ b. al-Ṭāhir al-Fullānī (d. 1860), working at the court of Aḥmad Lobbo. The text addresses two crucial topics of Aḥmad Lobbo’s propaganda. The first seeks to legitimize Aḥmad Lobbo’s authority by referring to an alleged 15th-century prophecy foreseeing his arrival. Moreover, the prophecy identifies Aḥmad Lobbo as the last of twelve caliphs mentioned by the Prophet of Islam, Muḥammad, in a famous prophetic saying (ḥadīth). The second issue addressed in the pamphlet is Aḥmad Lobbo’s attempt to impose a servile status on the occupational groups. Traditionally, occupational groups were free in West Africa, but subordinate and inferior to freemen. However, the pamphlet, which contains several passages that enforce the status of slaves of the crown on these occupational groups, explicitly legitimizes Aḥmad Lobbo’s claim of ownership on them.


Institut de France,
Fonds de Gironcourt,
ms. 2410 (174), f. 116a

Eventually, the text of the pamphlet was included in the first chapter of the Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh. This cannot be claimed with certainty, since no original of the first chapter has been preserved. During the years of Aḥmad Lobbo’s reign, all copies of the chronicle were mutilated of the first chapter and a version showing a new forged chapter that includes the text of the pamphlet was circulated. The text published is an edition of the 19th-century version of the chronicle including most of the text of the pamphlet described here.

Finally, the beginning of the text of the pamphlet, as it is displayed in the manuscript of de Gironcourt 2410 (176), casts a doubt on the originality of the title of the Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh. Our manuscript explicitly attributes the title of the chronicle to the Nūḥ b. Ṭāhir al- Fullānī – and not to the 16th-17th centuries’ Maḥmūd Ka‘ti and Ibn al-Mukhtār Gombélé. Does the title “Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh” only belong to the later pamphlet which eventually found its way into the edited version of the work? The complete title of the Chronicle, i.e. “The chronicle of the seekers into the history of the countries, the armies, and the main personalities, and the mention of the events of al-Takrūr and its major happenings, as well as the distinction between the lineages of the slaves and the freemen” supports this hypothesis. This title, in fact, evokes the two main concerns of Aḥmad Lobbo’s propaganda: the prophecy of his advent – listed as one of the prominent events in the history of the Takrūr, i.e. West Africa – and the servile status of the occupational groups Aḥmad tried to implement.



References
BA, A. H. – DAGET, J. (1962): L’empire peul du Macina, 1818-1853. Paris – La Haye: Mouton & Co.
DUBOIS, F. (1896): Timbuctoo the mysterious, White, D. trans. New York: Longmans.
HOUDAS, O. – DELAFOSSE, M. eds. and trans. (1912-1913): Tarikh el-fettach par MahmoūdKātiet l'un de ses petit fils, 2 vols. Paris: Ernest Leroux.
HUNWICK, J. O. et al. (2003): The Arabic Literature of Arica. Vol. 4. The Writings of Western Sudanic Africa. Leiden: Brill.
LEVTZION, N. (1971): “A seventeenth-century chronicle by Ibn al-Mukhtār: A critical study of "Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh”. Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies 34, pp. 571–593.
NOBILI, M. (2008-2009):“ ‘Rediscovering’ the de Gironcourt Manuscript Collection”,Annual Review of Islam in Africa 10: pp. 62-66.
NOBILI, M. (2011): “Arabic Scripts in West African Manuscripts: A Tentative Classification from the de Gironcourt Manuscript Collection”, Islamic Africa Journal 2/1: pp. 105-133.

Description
Paris, Bibliothèque de l’Institut de France, Fonds de Gironcourt, ms. 2410 (174).
Two bifolia.
Dimension: 220×160 mm.
Writing surface:160×100 mm.
Ink: dark/brown ink.
Lines per page: 17/19.
Copyist: Aruna.
Script: Polished “Central Sudanic Cursive Hand”.



Text by Mauro Nobili
©: Bibliothèque de l’Institut de France, Fonds de Gironcourt, Paris, ms. 2410 (174).

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

06/2012 manuskript  des monats


Propagandaschrift zugunsten eines
westafrikanischen Herrschers im 19. Jahrhundert

„Unter dem Titel Fettassi gab Koti eine Chronik der Königreiche von Ganata, Songhoi und Timbuktu von ihrer Entstehung bis zum Jahr 1554 (950 der Hiǧra) heraus. Trotz akribischer Forschung habe ich lediglich Fragmente dieses wichtigen Werkes beschaffen können. Jeder kennt dieses Werk im Detail, aber keiner besitzt es; es ist das Phantom-Buch des Sudan.“ Mit diesen Worten bezog sich Félix Dubois, ein Journalist der französischen Zeitung Le Figaro, im Jahr 1896 auf eine Chronik, die in Timbuktu, Mali, verfasst worden war. Das Werk, das von Maḥmūd Ka’ti b. al-ḥājj al-Mutawakkil Ka’ti (gest. 1593) verfasst und von einem seiner Neffen, nur unter dem Namen Ibn al-Mukhtār Gombélé (im 17. Jahrhundert) bekannt, beendet wurde, ist allgemein als die Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh („Die Chronik des Suchenden“) bekannt. Als die Chronik 1913-14 von Octave V. Houdas und Maurice Delafosse ediert wurde, fanden diese Fragmente unter den Gelehrten kaum Beachtung. Waren es lediglich Fragmente der Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh oder nicht? Und warum kursierten sie unabhängig von der Chronik?


Institut de France,
Fonds de Gironcourt,
ms. 2410 (174), f. 116b

Nach Dubois‘ Erklärung handelt es sich bei diesen Fragmenten um eine Propagandaschrift, die eine Prophezeiung beinhaltete, welche die Herrschaft von Aḥmad Lobbo (gest. 1845), Herrscher des Massina-Reiches (1818-1862), ein islamischer Staat in Zentral-Mali, legitimierte. Einige dieser Fragmente sind heute in verschiedenen Sammlungen in Frankreich, Mali und Niger enthalten. Das hier vorgestellte Manuskript ist eine dieser Propagandaschriften, die Teil der Sammlung westafrikanischer arabischer Manuskripte ist, die der französische Forscher Georges de Gironcourt (1878-1960) der Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres in Paris stiftete und die in der Bibliothek des Institut de France aufbewahrt werden. Es ist Teil eines Sammelbandes, d.h. eines Buchs, das aus ursprünglich eigenständigen Büchern und Heften zusammengestellt wurde. Das Manuskript wurde auf de Gironcourts Wunsch am 4. Juni 1912 in Sinder, der heutigen westlichen Republik Niger, erstellt.

Der Autor der Schrift ist ein bekannter muslimischer Gelehrter des 19. Jahrhunderts, Nūḥ b. al-Ṭāhir al-Fullānī (gest. 1860), der am Hof von Aḥmad Lobbo beschäftigt war. Der Text behandelt zwei zentrale Themen der Propaganda zugunsten von Aḥmad Lobbo. Der erste Teil zielt auf die Legitimierung der Herrschaft von Aḥmad Lobbo, indem er auf eine angebliche Prophezeiung aus dem 15. Jahrhundert, die seine Ankunft voraussah, verweist. Darüber hinaus wird Aḥmad Lobbo in dieser Prophezeiung als der letzte von zwölf Kalifen, die von Muḥammad, dem Propheten des Islam, in einem berühmten prophetischen Ausspruch (ḥadīth) genannt werden, identifiziert. Das zweite Thema, das in der Schrift angesprochen wird, ist Aḥmad Lobbos Bestreben, Besatzungsgruppen einen untergeordneten Status aufzuerlegen. Ursprünglich waren Besatzungsgruppen in Westafrika frei, jedoch untergeordnet und untergeben. In der Schrift allerdings, die verschiedene Passagen enthält, die dem Status dieser Menschen als Sklaven des Herrschers Nachdruck verleihen, wird Aḥmad Lobbos Besitzanspruch über sie explizit legitimiert.


Institut de France,
Fonds de Gironcourt,
ms. 2410 (174), f. 116a

Möglicherweise war der Text der Schrift im ersten Kapitel der Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh enthalten. Dies kann jedoch nicht mit Sicherheit behauptet werden, da kein Original des ersten Kapitels erhalten ist. In den Jahren von Aḥmad Lobbos Herrschaft wurde das erste Kapitel aus allen Exemplaren der Chronik entfernt und eine Fassung mit einem neuen, gefälschten Kapitel, das den Text der Propagandaschrift enthält, wurde in Umlauf gebracht. Der veröffentlichte Text stellt eine Ausgabe der im 19. Jahrhundert entstandenen Fassung der Chronik dar, die einen Großteil der hier beschrieben Schrift enthält.

Schließlich wirft der Anfang des Textes der Schrift, wie in dem Manuskript von de Gironcourt 2410 (176) enthalten, die Frage auf, ob es sich bei dem Titel Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh um den Originaltitel handelt. Unser Manuskript schreibt den Titel der Chronik ausdrücklich Nūḥ d. Ṭāhir al-Fullānī zu – und nicht den im 16.-17. Jahrhundert lebenden Maḥmūd Ka’ti und Ibn al-Mukhtār Gombélé. Gehört der Titel „Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh“ nur zu der späteren Schrift, die möglicherweise Eingang in die editierte Fassung des Werks fand? Der vollständige Titel der Chronik, d.h. „Die Chronik der Suchenden in der Geschichte der Länder, der Armeen und der wichtigsten Persönlichkeiten und die Erwähnung der Ereignisse von al-Takrūr und seiner wichtigsten Vorfälle, sowie die Unterscheidung zwischen der Abstammung der Sklaven und der Freien“ stützt diese Hypothese. Der Titel erinnert in der Tat an die beiden Hauptziele von Aḥmad Lobbos Propaganda: die Prophezeiung seines Kommens – als eines der herausragenden Ereignisse in der Geschichte der Takrūr, d.h. aus Westafrika – und der Status der Besatzungsgruppen als Leibeigene, den Aḥmad umzusetzen versuchte.



Literatur
BA, A. H. – DAGET, J. (1962): L’empire peul du Macina, 1818-1853. Paris – La Haye: Mouton & Co.
DUBOIS, F. (1896): Timbuctoo the mysterious, White, D. trans. New York: Longmans.
HOUDAS, O. – DELAFOSSE, M. (Edition und Übers.) (1912-1913): Tarikh el-fettach par MahmoūdKātiet l'un de ses petit fils, 2 Bd. Paris: Ernest Leroux.
HUNWICK, J. O. et al. (2003): The Arabic Literature of Arica. Vol. 4. The Writings of Western Sudanic Africa. Leiden: Brill.
LEVTZION, N. (1971): “A seventeenth-century chronicle by Ibn al-Mukhtār: A critical study of "Ta’rīkh al-fattāsh”. Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies 34, S. 571–593.
NOBILI, M. (2008-2009):“ ‘Rediscovering’ the de Gironcourt Manuscript Collection”,Annual Review of Islam in Africa 10: S. 62-66.
NOBILI, M. (2011): “Arabic Scripts in West African Manuscripts: A Tentative Classification from the de Gironcourt Manuscript Collection”, Islamic Africa Journal 2/1: S. 105-133.

Kurzbeschreibung
Paris, Bibliothèque de l’Institut de France, Fonds de Gironcourt, ms. 2410 (174).
Zwei Bifolia.
Maße: 220×160 mm.
Schreibfläche:160×100 mm.
Tinte: dunkle/braune Tinte.
Zeilen pro Seite: 17/19.
Kopist: Aruna.
Schrift: Geübte “Zentralsudanesische kursive Schrift”.



Text von Mauro Nobili
©: Bibliothèque de l’Institut de France, Fonds de Gironcourt, Paris, ms. 2410 (174).