last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

06/2013 manuscript  of the month


Mantras, Mercury and Manuscripts

Earlier this year, a team of CSMC researchers from the humanities and the natural sciences stayed in Kathmandu for three weeks. The aim of this trip was to examine manuscripts stored there for the first time by means of state-of-the-art technical devices. Among the items examined in this way was, among others, a palm-leaf manuscript containing the esoteric Buddhist text “Commentary on the Tantra of the Deity Trisamayarāja” (Trisamayarājaṭīkā). This work is written in Sanskrit and is only extant in the form of this single manuscript. The material analysis yielded remarkable results: To begin with, it turned out that the manuscript contains two elements – i.e. arsenic (on the leaves) and mercury (in the ink), which point to the use of extraordinarily poisonous substances. Moreover, by means of multispectral imaging textual elements became legible which had been undecipherable to the naked eye. But that’s not all. In one place, we even discovered text which had been completely invisible before. Is it possible that the features mentioned above are in some way related to the fact that the manuscript contains a text which belongs to the esoteric form of Buddhism? In other words, have measures been taken by the producers of the manuscript to protect it from unauthorized use?

In most regions of South and South-East Asia, palm-leaves were the preferred writing-support; only in the second millennium of the common era paper gradually took their place - at least in North India and Nepal. The oblong format of the present manuscript (dimensions: 57 x 6 cm) is quite typical for the older material. The leaves are covered with writing in carbon ink on both sides throughout. Each page contains seven lines which are running parallel to the long edges of the leaves.


illustration no. 1: Back-side of folio 5 of the Trisamayarājaṭīkā manuscript (NAK 5-20). > Enlarge

The manuscript is kept in the National Archives of Nepal in Kathmandu. However, Nepal is not the place where the manuscript was produced. Rather, it originates from the famous Buddhist monastic university Vikramaśīla, which was situated in North-Eastern India near the Ganges. This provenance is not explicitly indicated on the manuscript but can be deduced almost certainly from the fact that a “scholar-monk” (paṇḍitabhikṣu) called Jinaśrīmitra is mentioned as the person who ordered the production of the manuscript. In another manuscript, which is quite similar in many regards, a reference to the same scholar is accompanied by the indication that the place of production was Vikramaśīla.

This monastery was known as a stronghold of Tantric Buddhism. It was destroyed at about 1200 of the common era. Judging from the script, it is very likely that the manuscript was produced in the 12th century. Obviously, it is still extant because it was brought to Nepal before or during the destruction of the monastery.

Certainly, the manuscript originally contained a complete copy of the text mentioned above. However, nowadays some of the leaves are missing, whereas 20 leaves from other manuscripts of which more parts are preserved in different locations were added erroneously. The fourth leaf of the text under consideration here even changed place with the corresponding leaf of another manuscript which was found in Tibet in modern times. How can this disorder be explained?


illustration no. 2: Marginal note on the front-side of folio 9;
top: as it appears on a conventional colour photograph;
bottom: the same part of the leaf as it appears on one of
the multi-spectral photographs. > Enlarge

It was customary to punch one or two holes in the leaves before writing on them (see illustration no. 1) in order that they could be held together by strings. Nowadays, however, the strings are very often missing - which is also true for the present case -, be it because they got lost in the course of time or because they were not attached right from the start. At any rate, the leaves were also piled up, placed between two wooden boards and wrapped in a large piece of cloth; finally, the whole bundle was tied up. In the same way the manuscript under consideration is packaged; only the book covers got lost for unknown reasons. If one works with more than one manuscript at a time, the cloth wrappings must be removed, so that the loose leaves can get mixed up. As a matter of course, this can happen in particular if format, lay-out and the scripts used are comparable or even identical - and this is precisely what can be observed in the present case. Moreover, the subject-matter of the texts preserved on the leaves is similar as well, that is to say, they all deal with Buddhist Tantric topics. Finally, it should be noted that one of the manuscripts inserted had been commissioned by the same learned monk of the monastery Vikramaśīla who had also commissioned our manuscript. It is probably not very far-fetched that at least the place of production of the remaining manuscripts is identical as well. However, in these other manuscripts neither the persons involved nor any places are mentioned; therefore, this conclusion must remain, for the time being, a mere working hypothesis.



illustration no. 3: Marginal note on the front-
side of folio 8; one conventional colour
photograph, followed by two images with
the text which had been invisible before.
> Enlarge

At any rate, all these different manuscripts of esoteric texts also have in common that they contain arsenic and mercury. This might corroborate the hypothesis mentioned above. Moreover, this raises the above question once again: Is there a connection between the use of poisonous substances, invisible text and the esoteric contents of the texts transmitted by these manuscripts?

The material examination revealed that, obviously, the leaves had been intentionally brushed with arsenical substances before the writing process started. Orpiment is responsible for the yellowish colour of the leaves (see illustration no. 1). However, treating the traditional Indian writing-supports or cloth wrappings with arsenical substances was, as can be deduced from many textual sources, a wide-spread phenomenon in the Indian manuscript culture, and this is definitely not confined to manuscripts with magical or esoteric contents. Generally, this treatment of the materials is meant to protect the leaves from ravenous insects. This precaution is easily comprehensible, if one considers the fact that in large parts of the Indian sub-continent the climatic conditions are favourable to the reproduction of insects.

It is true that the admixture of mercury to the ink is mentioned every now and then in the primary and secondary literature as well; however, it was apparently not as common as the use of arsenic - accordingly, it is also missing in the late marginal remarks of our manuscripts which were certainly only added after the manuscripts had been transferred to Nepal. The reasons for the use of mercury in the ink still awaits further investigation. However, for many reasons it is highly unlikely that the mercury (and the arsenic) served the purpose to protect the manuscripts from unauthorized use. To begin with, if that was the case one would have to clarify how it was possible to ensure that only unauthorized users were exposed to the poisonous substances. Furthermore, the dose of poison contained in the leaves and the ink is hardly sufficient to pose a serious threat to the health of human beings - at least if the manuscripts were used in an ordinary way, that is to say, if they were simply read.


illustration no. 3: Multi-spectral imaging camera of
CSMC at the National Archive. > Enlarge

The initial assumption also seems to be rather unlikely with regard to the illegible and invisible text. This phenomenon only occurs in a small amount of text. Predominantly, it only affects additions in the margins of our manuscript, and at present there seems to be no indication that these were notes of a secret nature . This is particularly obvious with regard to the marginal remark in illustration no. 2: The note consists of a mere identification of the text title which, judging from the script used, is rather recent. Moreover, the identification of the text is wrong, and exactly this might be the reason why there had been attempts to remove this note. The text shown in illustration no. 2, which is completely invisible to the naked eye, is very hard to decipher even after the use of our sophisticated technical device. However, it seems to be an ordinary marginal correction of a scribal mistake in line 3. It seems likely that later on this marginal note was erased as well. If this is true, then it might be the result of a scribe’s decision to correct the text in the line rather than in the margin so that the original marginal correction became redundant.

It is true that the initial assumption turned out to be unfounded in the ultimate analysis. Nevertheless, the scientific examinations of manuscripts in Kathmandu have been pathbreaking. The combination of methods from the humanities and the sciences is particularly helpful if one is interested in manuscripts as material products of the Indian culture.



References
BENDALL, Cecil (1883): Catalogue of the Buddhist Sanskrit Manuscripts in the University Library, Cambridge: With Introductory Notices and Illustrations of the Palaeography and Chronology of Nepal and Bengal. Cambridge: University Press.
LOSTY, Jeremiah P. (1982): The Art of the Book in India. London: The British Library.

Description
Ms. NAK 5-20.
34 palm-leaves altogether (among which 14 contain text from the “Commentary on the Tantra of the Deity Trisamayarāja”), covered throughout with text in seven lines on both sides; dimensions: 57 × 6 cm.
Probable date of production: 12th century.
Provenance: The monastery Vikramaśīla in Bihar, India (this place of origin is, however, only certain in the case of 15 leaves).




Text by Martin Delhey
© for Illustrations: 1 - National Archives, Kathmandu / 2,3 and 4 - CSMC

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

06/2013 manuskript  des monats


Götter, Gifte und Gelehrte

Eine Gruppe von Natur- und Geisteswissenschaftlern des Sonderforschungsbereichs ist in diesem Jahr für drei Wochen nach Kathmandu gereist, um dort lagernde Handschriften erstmals unter Zuhilfenahme einer Reihe von modernsten technischen Geräten einer manuskriptwissenschaftlichen Analyse zu unterziehen. Mit ihrer Hilfe wurde auch eine Palmblatt-Handschrift untersucht, die den esoterischen buddhistischen Text „Kommentar zum Tantra der Gottheit Trisamayarāja“ (Trisamayarājaṭīkā) enthält. Der auf Sanskrit geschriebene Text ist anonym und liegt uns einzig in Form dieses Manuskripts vor. Die Ergebnisse der Materialuntersuchung sind bemerkenswert: Erstens ergab sie, daß die Handschrift mit Arsen (auf den Blättern) und Quecksilber (in der Tusche) Elemente enthält, die auf die Verwendung hochgradig giftiger Substanzen hinweisen. Zweitens wurden mit Hilfe von multispektralen fotografischen Spezialaufnahmen textliche Elemente lesbar gemacht, die mit dem bloßen Auge nicht zu entziffern waren. Aber damit nicht genug: Es kam sogar vereinzelt Text zum Vorschein, der zuvor gänzlich unsichtbar war. Rühren die genannten Phänomene womöglich daher, daß es sich hier um die Handschrift eines Textes handelt, der dem esoterischen Buddhismus angehört und somit vor dem Zugriff von Uneingeweihten geschützt werden sollte?

Palmblätter waren in den allermeisten Regionen Süd- und Südostasiens der bevorzugte Beschreibstoff; erst im zweiten Jahrtausend unserer Zeitrechnung wurden sie – zumindest in Nordindien und Nepal – nach und nach durch das Papier verdrängt. Das längliche Format der vorliegenden Handschrift (Maße: 57 x 6 cm) ist durchaus typisch für das ältere Material. Die Blätter sind durchgängig beidseitig und in sieben Zeilen, die parallel zu den langen Kanten des Blattes verlaufen, mit Rußtusche beschrieben.


Abb. 1: Rückseite von Blatt 5 der Trisamayarājaṭīkā-Handschrift (NAK 5-20) > Vergrößerung

Das Manuskript gehört zu den Beständen der National Archives of Nepal in Kathmandu. Jedoch wurde es nicht in Nepal geschrieben. Vielmehr stammt es ursprünglich aus der berühmten buddhistischen Klosteruniversität Vikramaśīla, die sich nahe dem Ganges im Nordosten Indiens befand. Diese Herkunft der Handschrift ist nicht explizit vermerkt, läßt sich aber mit einiger Sicherheit daraus erschließen, daß ein „Mönchsgelehrter“ (paṇḍitabhikṣu) namens Jinaśrīmitra als Auftraggeber für die Erstellung des Manuskripts genannt wird. In einer anderen, in vielfacher Hinsicht sehr ähnlichen Handschrift wird derselbe Gelehrte gemeinsam mit der Ortsangabe Vikramaśīla genannt.

Dieses Kloster war als Zentrum des tantrischen Buddhismus bekannt. Es wurde um das Jahr 1200 unserer Zeitrechnung zerstört. Die verwendete Schrift deutet darauf hin, daß das Manuskript im 12. Jahrhundert hergestellt wurde. Es ist offenbar deshalb erhalten, weil es vor oder während der Zerstörung des Klosters nach Nepal verbracht wurde.

Das Manuskript beinhaltete ursprünglich ohne Frage eine vollständige Abschrift des eingangs genannten Werks. Heutzutage fehlen jedoch einige Blätter, und zwanzig Blätter aus drei anderen Handschriften, von denen weitere Teile andernorts erhalten sind, sind fälschlich hinzugefügt worden. Das vierte Blatt unseres Textes hat sogar den Platz mit dem entsprechenden Blatt eines anderen Manuskripts getauscht, das in moderner Zeit in Tibet gefunden wurde. Wie ist dieses Durcheinander zu erklären?


Abb. 2: Randnotiz auf der Vorderseite von Blatt 9, oben die
normale Farbfotografie, unten eine der Multispektralauf-
nahmen derselben Stelle. > Vergrößerung

In die noch unbeschriebenen Palmblätter wurden stets ein oder zwei Löcher gestanzt (siehe Abb. 1), damit sie später durch Schnüre zusammengehalten werden konnten. Heute fehlen diese Schnüre jedoch meist, sei es, weil sie im Laufe der Zeit verloren gegangen oder weil sie von vornherein nicht angebracht worden sind. Die Blätter wurden allerdings in aller Regel aufeinandergelegt, zwischen zwei hölzerne Buchdeckel plaziert, vollständig in ein Stück Stoff eingewickelt und von außen verschnürt. In dieser Weise ist auch unsere Handschrift verpackt; nur die Buchdeckel sind aus ungeklärten Gründen verloren gegangen. Arbeitet man gleichzeitig mit mehreren Handschriften, muß man die Stoffumwicklung entfernen, so daß die losen Blätter durcheinander geraten können. Dies gilt natürlich besonders dann, wenn Format, Layout und die verwendeten Schriften sehr ähnlich oder sogar identisch sind, und so verhält es sich tatsächlich im vorliegenden Fall. Hinzu kommt noch, daß der Text sämtlicher jetzt vorhandener Blätter demselben Themenbereich, also dem tantrischen Buddhismus, angehört. Schließlich wissen wir von einer der teils hier eingefügten Handschriften auch noch, daß sie auf Initiative desselben gelehrten Mönchs des Klosters Vikramaśīla wie unser Text geschrieben wurde. Die Vermutung liegt dann nahe, daß auch die anderen eingefügten Blätter zumindest dieselbe lokale Herkunft aufweisen. Allerdings fehlt in diesen anderen Handschriften ein konkreter Hinweis auf Personen und Orte, so daß dies vorläufig eine bloße Arbeitshypothese bleiben muß.



Abb. 3: Randnotiz auf der Vorderseite von
Blatt 8, oben die Normalfotografie, darunter
zwei Aufnahmen mit dem sichtbar gewordenen
Text. > Vergrößerung

Immerhin haben aber alle diese verschiedenen Handschriften von esoterischen Texten auch gemein, daß sie Arsen und Quecksilber enthalten. Dadurch erfährt die genannte Hypothese durchaus eine gewisse Stärkung. Vor allem stellt sich damit aber erneut die eingangs gestellte Frage nach der möglichen Verbindung von giftigen Substanzen, unsichtbarem Text und dem esoterischen Inhalt der mittels der Handschriften überlieferten Werke.

Wie die materialwissenschaftliche Untersuchung ergab, wurden die noch unbeschriebenen Blätter mit arsenhaltigen Substanzen bestrichen. Hierbei ist der Einsatz von Auripigment verantwortlich für die charakteristische Gelbfärbung der Blätter (siehe Abb. 1). Die Bearbeitung der traditionellen indischen Beschreibstoffe oder auch der Stofftücher, in die die Handschriften eingewickelt wurden, mit arsenhaltigen Substanzen war jedoch, wie wir wissen, in der indischen Manuskriptkultur sehr weit verbreitet, und es sind davon keineswegs nur Handschriften magischen oder esoterischen Inhalts betroffen. Der Zweck, der hiermit verfolgt wurde, bestand in der Regel darin, daß gefräßige Insekten vom Verzehr der Blätter abgehalten werden sollten. Diese Maßnahme ist nur allzu verständlich, wenn man die für die Vermehrung von Insekten überaus förderlichen klimatischen Bedingungen in weiten Teilen des südasiatischen Subkontinents in Betracht zieht.


Die Beimengung von Quecksilber zur Tusche wird zwar gelegentlich in der Primär- und Sekundärliteratur erwähnt; sie war, wie es scheint, aber nicht so weit verbreitet wie die Verwendung von Arsen – auch auf unseren Handschriften fehlt dieses Element in den späten, sicherlich erst in Nepal angebrachten Zusätzen am Rand. Es bedarf noch näherer Forschung, um die Ursachen für die Verwendung des Quecksilbers in unserem indischen Kloster aufzuklären. Daß der Text damit nun doch vor dem Zugriff von Uneingeweihten geschützt werden sollte, ist aber allein schon deshalb eines der unwahrscheinlichsten denkbaren Motive, da man sich dann ja fragen müßte, wie sichergestellt werden sollte, daß nur diese unbefugten Benutzer dadurch einen Schaden erleiden können. Hinzu kommt, daß die Menge beider verwendeter giftiger Substanzen wohl kaum ausreichen dürfte, um bei bloßer Lektüre der Handschriften bei Menschen einen gesundheitlichen Schaden anzurichten.


Abb. 4: Das Gerät für die Multispektralaufnahmen im
Einsatz im Nationalarchiv. Lichtquellen und Diffusor
(links), Buchwippe, Kamera und kreisförmiger Vorsatz
für verschiedene Filter (rechts). > Vergrößerung

Auch beim unlesbaren und teils sogar unsichtbaren Text scheidet die eingangs erwähnte Möglichkeit als Grund wohl aus. Von diesem Phänomen ist nur recht wenig Text betroffen. Vor allem handelt es sich um Hinzufügungen auf den Blatträndern, und inhaltlich ist bisher kein Grund erkennbar, warum diese Anmerkungen geheim sein sollten. Klar wird dies bei der Randnotiz in Abbildung 2: Hier handelt es sich um eine – der Schrift nach zu urteilen – recht moderne Identifizierung des Texttitels. Hinzu kommt, daß diese Bestimmung falsch ist, was dazu geführt haben mag, daß versucht worden ist, sie zu entfernen. Der für das bloße Auge unsichtbare Text in Abbildung 3 ist auch nach dem Einsatz technischer Hilfsmittel schwer zu entziffern; es scheint jedoch, daß es sich hier um eine bloße Randkorrektur eines Schreibfehlers in Zeile 3 handelt. Auch sie wurde eventuell getilgt; in diesem Fall wohl deshalb, weil ein Schreiber sich entschlossen hat, den Text direkt in der Zeile zu verbessern, wodurch die Verbesserung am Rand überflüssig wurde.

Auch wenn die eingangs angestellte Mutmaßung sich im Ergebnis als gegenstandslos erwiesen hat, waren die materialwissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen in Kathmandu wegweisend. Gerade über das Manuskript als materielles Produkt der indischen Kultur verhilft die Kombination naturwissenschaftlicher und geisteswissenschaftlicher Methoden zu ganz neuen Erkenntnissen.



Literatur
BENDALL, Cecil (1883): Catalogue of the Buddhist Sanskrit Manuscripts in the University Library, Cambridge: With Introductory Notices and Illustrations of the Palaeography and Chronology of Nepal and Bengal. Cambridge: University Press.
LOSTY, Jeremiah P. (1982): The Art of the Book in India. London: The British Library.


Kurzbeschreibung
Ms. NAK 5-20.
34 Palmblätter insgesamt (davon 14 Blätter mit Text aus dem „Kommentar zum Tantra der Gottheit Trisamayarāja“),
durchgängig beidseitig und 7-zeilig beschrieben;
Maße: 57 × 6 cm.
Mutmaßliche Entstehungszeit: 12. Jh.
Entstehungsort: Kloster Vikramaśīla in Bihar, Indien (diese Herkunft ist allerdings nur für 15 Blätter gesichert).




Text von Martin Delhey
© für Abbildungen: 1 - National Archives of Nepal, Kathmandu / 2,3 u. 4 - CSMC