last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

02/2014 manuscript  of the month


Creativity on the manuscript page:

William Wordsworth’s Diaries Notebook (DC MS 19)

Unprepossessing and tattered from use, the small, black-covered notebook which contains the earliest known version of William Wordsworth (1770-1850) great autobiographical poem The Prelude is a manuscript that speaks to the imagination. One of the prized treasures of The Wordsworth Museum at Dove Cottage, Grasmere (DC MS 19), the notebook was a cheap, ordinary, ephemeral affair; and despite being designated “Diaries”, written on a paper label on the front cover, its original intended use was to be merely practical. So why was it so significant that it was worth preserving?


Fig. 1: Cover of the Diaries Notebook
(DC MS 19)    > Enlarge

We know the exact circumstances in which Wordsworth acquired the notebook. It was purchased, with four others just like it, from a stationers shop in Bristol for just 1 shilling, when the poet and his sister Dorothy were preparing for an extended tour of Germany in 1798-99 in the company of their friend S. T. Coleridge. Coleridge had masterminded the tour. He wanted “to meet scientists, theologians, and moral philosophers” and eventually ended up by himself in Göttingen, Germany’s intellectual centre in the eighteenth century, while Dorothy and William Wordsworth settled down for 5 months in Goslar, the historic town in the Harz Mountains. They had heard Goslar was cheap, but the secluded, rough, mountainous region would have reminded Wordsworth too of his native Cumberland.

The Diaries Notebook is much more than a personal journal: it contains the “record” of their German sojourn. It opens with an account, written by Dorothy, of the siblings’ rather strenuous journey to Hamburg, where they had landed from England on 19 September. Having practically no German, and with little money to spare, their stay in the city was far from pleasant: Dorothy complains bitterly about rude landlords and shopkeepers who took advantage of the fact that they were foreigners and over-charged for food and accommodation.


Fig. 2: Notes on conversations with
Klopstock (DC MS 19, f.4r) > Enlarge

While in Hamburg, Wordsworth visited the great poet Friedrich Gottlieb Klopstock on no less than three occasions (twice with Coleridge in tow). They conversed in French about the history of German poetry, blank verse, Rousseau, Kant, Schiller and Wieland; yet, as the notes reveal that he hurriedly set down in DC MS 19, Wordsworth seemed most intent on pressing him for his views on the great English poets. But Klopstock, it transpired to Wordsworth’s disappointment, did not know much about English poetry, and Wordsworth was not a little dismayed when Klopstock preferred Richard Glover over John Milton.

After Coleridge had gone his separate way, the Wordsworths moved to Goslar, where they arrived on 6 October. The winter of 1798-99 was a particularly cold one, and with few acquaintances around, they led a quiet, fairly isolated existence. There was little to do but to work indoors. Brother and sister started learning German, diligently recording German vocabulary in the Diaries Notebook. William complained about the lack of access to books. Inadvertently this made him more productive. Much of the thinking and writing that he did during this period ended up in DC MS 19.

The notebook thus not only served for general note-taking and the recording of experiences. For William in particular it became a place for reflection. He began to compose an “Essay on Morals” in which he purports to know of no system of moral philosophy that has the “power to melt in our affection[?s]” and that is therefore able to influence our habits and actions. Not a great advocate of systems of thought, however, Wordsworth appears not to have finished the piece. The essay breaks off mid-sentence and is followed by 5 leaves which were torn out of the notebook. Nonetheless, this philosophical fragment is evidence of Wordsworth’s intellectual preoccupations which the notebook captures. One can surmise that the poet’s mind during this lonely, productive winter was turning towards the great project of his life (which was also his single greatest failure) – a colossal philosophical poem to be called The Recluse.

The poem was to be an investigation of “my most interesting feelings concerning Man, Nature, and Society”. But in order to tackle this subject with insight, he needed to understand the origins of it, which he thought – at 28 years of age – lay in the history and growth of his own mind. What was to become one of the greatest poems from the Romantic period, The Prelude was on the one hand, as Wordsworth called it, an antechamber to the greater work, and on the other a delving into origins.

In an almost careless hand, Wordsworth wrote down the lines “was it for this | That one, the fairest of all rivers, loved | To blend his murmurs with my nurse’s song” in the back of his notebook. This alone practically ensured that the Diaries Notebook was preserved for posterity. The origins of the poem itself are quite humble: a jumble of poetic fragments that suddenly erupt towards the back of the notebook, written at different moments and in different moods of inspiration.

Scholars have generally taken the view that Wordsworth inscribed the poem backwards, starting with “was it for this” on the last page of the notebook. But this view is not entirely sustained by the evidence in the manuscript, nor is it wholly compatible with the writing practices of other poets. The handwriting is really heavily variable: sometimes it is small, measured and legible, tending towards lines that were copied fair from elsewhere; sometimes it is the opposite — rough, blotted, nearly illegible. Even when the hand is in between it reveals unmistakably the vestiges of the hand trying to keep up with the mind. The physical evidence points to a very fragmentary procedure.


Fig. 3: Draft manuscript, the “beginning” of The Prelude (DC MS 19, fr.86v-87r),
photo montage: CSMC    > Enlarge

The manuscript, in others words, puts into relief the lofty notions of inspiration propagated by the Romantic poets. Several accounts describe Wordsworth’s habit of composition in which he composed his poems while walking up and down the lane outside his house, or sometimes even on horseback. This is no obfuscation. But the state of the earliest draft of The Prelude, as well as many of the poet’s other manuscripts, demonstrates that Wordsworth did not transfer his poems whole from mind to paper. He needed the page to write, to try and to err.

There is a touching coda to the story of the Diaries Notebook. After returning to England in May 1799, William and Dorothy settled down in Dove Cottage, in Grasmere in the heart of the Lake District. In 1802 she started up her journal again, using the empty pages of DC MS 19. This journal, covering the period 14 February to 2 May. This recycling of an “old” notebook points to its utility rather than its veneration. Yet from then on the manuscript became inherently connected with the location celebrated in Dorothy’s journal. The furthest it travelled was less than 50 km to Carlisle, where William Wordsworth, the poet’s son, resided when he inherited the notebook as part of the family papers in 1851; Graham Gordon Wordsworth, the grandson, brought the papers back to Ambleside, just down the road from Grasmere. He bequeathed them in 1935 to the Wordsworth Trust which set up a Museum in the village, where notebook DC MS 19 is still one of the centre pieces of the collections.


References

COWTON, Jeff and BUSHEL, Sally (eds.) (n.d.): From Goslar to Grasmere—William Wordsworth: Electronic Manuscripts. [accessed on 23 May 2014].

PARRISH, Stephen (ed.) (1982) The Cornell Wordsworth. The Prelude, 1798-1799. Cornell: Cornell University Press.

OWEN, W.J.B. and SMYSER, J. W. (eds.) (1974) The Prose Works of William Wordsworth. Oxford: Clarendon Press.

VAN MIERLO, Wim (2013): “The Archaeology of the Manuscript: Towards Modern Palaeography”. In: Carrie Smithand Lisa Stead (eds.): The Boundaries of the Literary Archive: Reclamation and Representation. Farnham, Surrey: Ashgate, 15-29.

WOOF, Pamela (ed.) (2002): The Grasmere and Alfoxden Journals of Dorothy Wordsworth. Oxford: Oxford University Press.


Description
Present Holder: The Wordsworth Trust, Grasmere, United Kingdom
Shelfmark: DC MS 19
Material: Small notebook bound in black boards; originally 96 leaves in gatherings of 16, 7 leaves have been torn out, with stubs remaining. Watermark consists of the words PRO PATRIA, a large crest and oval circle, with two warriors. Decent quality laid paper with chain lines 2.5cm apart.
Dimensions: c. 9.5 x 15 cm
Provenance: United Kingdom, 1798-1802. Bequest of Gordon Graham Wordsworth, 1935.


Text by Wim Van Mierlo
©: All images are reproduced by kind permission of The Wordsworth Trust, Grasmere.

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

02/2014 manuskript  des monats


Kreativität auf der Manuskriptseite:

William Wordsworths Tagebuchheft (DC MS 19)

Unansehnlich und zerfleddert vom Gebrauch, stellt dieses kleine Heft mit schwarzem Umschlag, welches die älteste bekannte Version von William Wordsworths (1770–1850) großem autobiographischem Gedicht The Prelude („Präludium“) enthält, ein Manuskript dar, das die Vorstellungskraft anspricht. Bei dem Notizbuch, einem der wertvollen Schätze des Wordsworth-Museums in Dove Cottage, Grasmere, Nordengland, handelt es sich um einen billigen, alltäglichen, kurzlebigen Gebrauchsgegenstand. Und obwohl auf einem Papieretikett auf der Vorderseite des Heftes als Titel „Diaries“ („Tagebücher“) eingetragen ist, war der ursprüngliche Verwendungszweck rein praktischer Natur. Was also ließ das Heft so bedeutsam erscheinen, dass es wert erschien, es aufzubewahren?


Abb. 1: Umschlag des Tagebuchheftes
(DC MS 19)    > Vergrößerung

Wir kennen die genauen Umstände, unter denen Wordsworth das Heft erwarb. Es wurde, zusammen mit vier anderen, genau gleichen Exemplaren, in einem Schreibwarenladen in Bristol für gerade einmal 1 Schilling gekauft, als der Dichter und seine Schwester Dorothy in den Vorbereitungen für eine ausgedehnte Reise nach Deutschland in den Jahren 1798–99, zusammen mit ihrem Freund S. T. Coleridge, steckten. Coleridge hatte die Reise federführend geplant. Er wollte „Wissenschaftler, Theologen und Moralphilosophen treffen“ und landete schließlich alleine in Göttingen, Deutschlands geistigem Zentrum im achtzehnten Jahrhundert, während Dorothy und William Wordsworth sich für fünf Monate in Goslar, der historischen Stadt im Harz, häuslich niederließen. Sie hatten gehört, dass Goslar preisgünstig sei, aber die einsame, raue Gebirgslandschaft wird sie auch an ihre Heimat Cumberland erinnert haben.

Das Tagebuchheft ist viel mehr als nur ein persönliches Tagebuch: Es enthält das „Protokoll“ ihres Aufenthalts in Deutschland. Es beginnt mit einem von Dorothy geschriebenen Bericht über die ziemlich anstrengende Reise der beiden Geschwister nach Hamburg, wo sie, von England kommend, am 19. September gelandet waren. Praktisch ohne Deutsch-Kenntnisse und nur wenig Geld zur Verfügung habend, war ihr Aufenthalt in der Stadt alles andere als angenehm: Dorothy klagte bitterlich über die unverschämten Vermieter und Krämer, die den Umstand, dass sie Ausländer waren, dazu nutzten, sie zu übervorteilen und für Lebensmittel und Unterkunft überhöhte Preise zu berechnen.


Abb. 2: Notizen über Gespräche mit
Klopstock (DC MS 19, fol. 4r)
> Vergrößerung

Während ihrer Zeit in Hamburg besuchte Wordsworth nicht weniger als dreimal den großen Dichter Friedrich Gottlieb Klopstock (zweimal mit Coleridge im Schlepptau). Sie unterhielten sich auf Französisch über die Geschichte der deutschen Dichtung, den Blankvers, Rousseau, Kant, Schiller und Wieland. Aber wie die Notizen, die er eilig in DC MS 19 niederschrieb, zeigen, schien Wordsworth am meisten darauf erpicht zu sein, seine Meinung über die bedeutenden englischen Dichter zu erfahren. Jedoch stellte sich zu Wordsworths Enttäuschung heraus, dass Klopstock nicht viel über englische Poesie wusste, und Wordsworth war nicht wenig darüber bestürzt, dass Klopstock Richard Glover gegenüber John Milton den Vorzug gab.

Nachdem Coleridge seiner eigenen Wege gegangen war, zogen die Wordsworths nach Goslar um, wo sie am 6. Oktober ankamen. Der Winter 1798/99 war besonders kalt, und mit nur wenigen Bekannten in der näheren Umgebung führten sie ein ruhiges, recht abgeschiedenes Leben. Es blieb nicht viel anderes übrig als sich im Haus zu beschäftigen. Bruder und Schwester begannen, Deutsch zu lernen und schrieben im Tagebuchheft sorgsam deutsche Vokabeln nieder. William klagte über den mangelnden Zugang zu Büchern. Unbeabsichtigt ließ ihn dies produktiver sein. Vieles von dem, was er in dieser Zeit dachte und schrieb, fand Eingang in DC MS 19.

Das Notizheft diente also nicht nur allgemeinen Notizen und der Aufzeichnung von Erlebnissen. Insbesondere für William wurde es zu einem Ort der Reflexion. Er begann, einen „Essay über Moralvorstellungen“ zu verfassen, in dem er behauptete, kein System der Moralphilosophie zu kennen, das die „Kraft [hätte], sich mit unseren Zuneigung[?en] zu verschmelzen“ und das von daher in der Lage wäre, unsere Gewohnheiten und Handlungen zu beeinflussen. Wie dem auch sei, als kein großer Verfechter von Denksystemen scheint Wordsworth die Abhandlung nicht zu Ende geführt zu haben. Der Essay bricht mitten im Satz ab, gefolgt von fünf aus dem Notizheft herausgerissenen Blättern. Gleichwohl bildet dieses im Heft enthaltene philosophische Fragment einen Beleg dafür, mit was für intellektuellen Gedanken Wordsworth sich beschäftigte. Man kann vermuten, dass des Dichters Geist sich während dieses einsamen, produktiven Winters dem großen Projekt seines Lebens zuwendete (welches zugleich sein allergrößter Fehlschlag war): ein kolossales philosophisches Gedicht mit dem Titel The Recluse („Der Einsiedler“).

Das Gedicht sollte eine Untersuchung „meiner interessantesten Empfindungen über Mensch, Natur und Gesellschaft” sein, schrieb Wordsworth. Aber um dieses Thema mit Einsicht in Angriff nehmen zu können, musste er die Ursprünge verstehen, die, wie er im Alter von 28 Jahren dachte, in der Entwicklung und im Wachstum seines eigenen Geistes lagen. The Prelude, was zu einem der großartigsten Gedichte der romantischen Periode werden sollte, war einerseits, wie Wordsworth es nannte, ein „Vorzimmer“ zu seinem größeren Werk und andererseits eine Erforschung der Ursprünge des Lebens.

In einer geradezu nachlässigen Handschrift schrieb Wordsworth hinten in sein Heft die Zeilen „Was it for this | That one, the fairest of all rivers, loved | To blend his murmurs with my nurse’s song […]?“ („War es dafür / Dass einer, der schönste aller Flüsse, es liebte / Sein Murmeln zu vermischen mit meines Kindermädchens Lied […]?“). Allein das garantierte praktisch schon, dass das Tagebuchheft der Nachwelt erhalten blieb. Die Ursprünge des Gedichts selbst sind recht einfach: ein Mischmasch poetischer Fragmente, die am Ende des Heftes plötzlich hervorbrechen, geschrieben zu unterschiedlichen Zeitpunkten und in unterschiedlichen Gemütsverfassungen.

Die Wissenschaftler sind im Allgemeinen der Ansicht, dass Wordsworth das Gedicht rückwärts schrieb, beginnend mit „Was it for this“ auf der letzten Seite des Heftes. Jedoch wird diese Sicht weder durch das Material im Heft gänzlich gestützt, noch ist sie völlig vereinbar mit den Schreibmethoden anderer Dichter. Die Handschrift ist in der Tat höchst unterschiedlich: manchmal ist sie klein, gleichmäßig und leserlich, Zeilen ähnelnd, die ordentlich von anderswoher kopiert wurden, und manchmal ist sie das genaue Gegenteil – holprig, unsauber und nahezu unlesbar. Selbst dort, wo die Handschrift sich zwischen beiden Extremen hält, ist zweifelsohne zu erkennen, wie sie Mühe hat, mit den Gedanken Schritt zu halten. Die materiellen Belege deuten auf eine sehr fragmentarische Arbeitsweise hin.


Abb. 3: Manuskript-Entwurf, der „Anfang“ von The Prelude
(DC MS 19, fols. 86v–87r), Fotomontage: CSMC    > Vergrößerung

Mit anderen Worten, das Manuskript lässt deutlich die erhabenen Vorstellungen von Inspiration erkennen, die von den romantischen Dichtern propagiert wurden. Mehrere Berichte beschreiben Wordsworths Angewohnheit, beim Dichten die Gasse vor seinem Haus auf und ab zu gehen, oder gelegentlich sogar auf und ab zu reiten. Dies ist keine Entstellung der Wirklichkeit. Denn die Beschaffenheit des frühesten Entwurfs des Prelude und viele andere Manuskripte des Dichters zeigen, dass Wordsworth seine Gedichte nicht einfach nur vom Kopf aufs Papier übertrug; er benutzte die Blätter, um zu schreiben, etwas auszuprobieren und auch mal fehlzugehen.

Es gibt einen bewegenden Abschluss der Geschichte des Tagebuchheftes. Nach ihrer Rückkehr nach England im Mai 1799 ließen sich William und Dorothy in Dove Cottage nieder, in Grasmere im Herzen des nordwestenglischen Lake District. 1802 begann Dorothy wieder Tagebuch zu führen, wozu sie die leeren Seiten von DC MS 19 benutzte. Dieses Tagebuch umfasst den Zeitraum vom 14. Februar bis zum 2. Mai. Die Wiederverwendung eines „alten“ Notizheftes deutet mehr auf seine Nützlichkeit als auf Ehrfurcht hin. Von da an war das Manuskript untrennbar mit dem in Dorothys Tagebuch gepriesenen Ort verbunden. Die größte Entfernung, die es jemals zurücklegte, waren weniger als 50 km nach Carlisle, wo William Wordsworth, der Sohn des Dichters, lebte, als er das Notizheft 1851 als Bestandteil der Dokumente der Familie erbte. Graham Gordon Wordsworth, der Enkel, brachte die Papiere wieder zurück nach Ambleside, was gleich an der Straße von Grasmere aus liegt. Er vermachte sie 1935 der Wordsworth-Stiftung, die im Ort ein Museum errichtete, in dem das Notizheft DC MS 19 nach wie vor eines der bedeutendsten Stücke der Sammlung darstellt.


Literatur

COWTON, Jeff und BUSHEL, Sally (Hgg.) (o. D.): From Goslar to Grasmere – William Wordsworth: Electronic Manuscripts. http://collections.wordsworth.org.uk/GtoG/home.asp [angesehen am 23. Mai 2014].

PARRISH, Stephen (Hg.) (1982): The Cornell Wordsworth. The Prelude, 1798-1799. Cornell: Cornell University Press.

OWEN, W. J. B. und SMYSER, J. W. (Hgg.) (1974): The Prose Works of William Wordsworth. Oxford: Clarendon Press.

VAN MIERLO, Wim (2013): „The Archaeology of the Manuscript: Towards Modern Palaeography”. In: Carrie Smith und Lisa Stead (Hgg.): The Boundaries of the Literary Archive: Reclamation and Representation. Farnham, Surrey: Ashgate, 15–29.

WOOF, Pamela (Hg.) (2002): The Grasmere and Alfoxden Journals of Dorothy Wordsworth. Oxford: Oxford University Press.


Beschreibung
Gegenwärtiger Besitzer: The Wordsworth Trust, Grasmere, Großbritannien
Signatur: DC MS 19
Material: Kleines Notizheft, geheftet in schwarzer Pappe; ursprünglich 96 Blätter in Lagen von 16, sieben Blätter wurden herausgerissen, mit verbleibenden Abrisskanten. Das Wasserzeichen besteht aus den Wörtern „PRO PATRIA“, einer großen Krone und einem ovaler Kreis, mit zwei Kriegern. Büttenpapier ordentlicher Qualität mit Strichpunktlinien im Abstand von 2,5 cm.
Maße: ca. 9,5 x 15 cm
Herkunft: Großbritannien, 1798–1802. Nachlass von Gordon Graham Wordsworth, 1935.


Text von Wim Van Mierlo
©: Alle Abbildungen wurden mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Wordsworth Trust, Grasmere, gezeigt.