last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

07/2014 manuscript  of the month


How many languages can you count?

A multilingual manuscript from South India

Coming from the very South of India, more precisely from one of the collections held in Pondicherry, this manuscript (RE22704) is testimony to a feature characteristic of the whole subcontinent, in particular to its scholarly environments: multilingualism. Sanskrit was for centuries the language used by the intellectual elite in the area for the composition of texts, but this was soon paralleled by other local and cosmopolitan literary languages with equally sophisticated textual outcomes. How this phenomenon is reflected in the material culture is a topic yet to be fully addressed. This manuscript offers an interesting example of this. Despite its monotone layout, how many languages does it contain?


Fig. 1 Wooden cover and thread of RE22704 > Enlarge

Thousands of manuscripts among the millions hosted in South Asian libraries contain copies, or partial copies, of Amarasiṃha’s Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana (“Teaching on Nouns and [their] Genders”), the most renowned traditional Sanskrit dictionary. Since the time of its composition (or redaction) possibly around the 7th century CE, this has been a fundamental tool for teaching Sanskrit to young students, and a constant reference work for trained scholars.



More precisely, the Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana is a thesaurus, i.e. a synonymic dictionary, in which nouns are grouped by semantic fields. Thus, there is a section for the names of divinities, one for the names of plants, etc. It is for this reason that this work is mostly known as the Amarakośa (“Amara’s Thesaurus”). Furthermore, it is composed in verses in order to facilitate the memorisation of its long sections, as has been done for centuries by traditionally trained scholars of Sanskrit.


Fig. 2 Side image of RE22704. The bundle contains 284
palm leaves    > Enlarge

Owing to its importance in the traditional lore, it comes as no surprise that this work has been at the centre of fervid commentarial activity with textual outputs both in Sanskrit and in the several local literary languages of the subcontinent. South Indian languages are certainly no exception, as many libraries contain copies of the Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana along with Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, or Kannada annotations.

This manuscript thus makes an interesting case study. It consists of a bundle of almost 300 palm leaves written on both sides, stuck between two wooden covers, and kept together by a string running through its holes. Today part of the collection of the Institut Français de Pondichéry (included in the UNESCO “Memory of the World” Register since 2005), this manuscript was most probably crafted during the 19th century and was written by a man called Kuruṉātayyaṉ from the town of Veḷḷaṅkoḷḷi (present day Kerala?) for a certain Paṭṭaravarkaḷ from Pāḷayaṅkoṭṭai (Tamil Nadu). Unfortunately, we know nothing more about either individuals.

Allegedly, it contains the most complex Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana with Tamil annotations found in a manuscript. According to a well-established commentarial practice, each verse is analysed several times in order to clarify both its grammar and meaning. Remarkably, it introduces the vernacular element by the following procedure: explanations of single words and whole verses are given in Tamil. Thus, annotations become translations too. Furthermore, this manuscript is characterised by a unique feature: the presence of a third linguistic layer. Unpredictably, some Tamil words are preceded by their Telugu translation.

Fig. 3 The three languages of RE22704 (folio 2, recto 2): Sanskrit (yellow), Telugu (red), and Tamil (green). Move the cursor over the image to show details.

Vernacular commentaries to the Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana are usually simple. Not every Sanskrit word is commented on or translated, but single Tamil synonyms are given to certain categories of nouns. This points to an educational environment in which Sanskrit was taught to early stage pupils by means of translating the main semantic categories of the Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana, whereas more sophisticated lexical analyses were reserved for advanced students and carried out by means of commentaries composed in Sanskrit. Deviating in part from this trend, this manuscript offers impressive annotations to verses 2 to 5, which teach how to use the thesaurus, and in particular to verse 1, the invocation to the deity. In fact, the commentary on the latter indulges in a lengthy theological disquisition, trying to persuade the reader that the invocation addresses several religio-/philosophical schools at the same time. Furthermore, it also reflects on its own commentarial activity, looking for a solid justification of what sometimes can look like a wild over-interpretation.

Such an array of idiosyncratic features makes this manuscript a unique exemplar, also suggesting that Kuruṉātayyaṉ might have been the author of the present Tamil (and Telugu) annotations. We can thus make an educated guess and imagine our scribe to have been a Telugu speaking scholar, who worked in an environment in which Sanskrit and Tamil were the main languages of intellectual exchange. This would probably have been a śrīvaiṣṇava environment, where a particular set of Sanskrit devotional and speculative texts connected to the Hindu god Viṣṇu were commented on in a highly Sanskritised register of Tamil (usually referred to as Manipravalam), as is the case in the present manuscript.

Contrary to many other manuscript traditions, the South Indian one does not usually distinguish texts and their commentaries by means of layout, even when these are written in different languages. So it is in this manuscript, where no blank spaces are left between each Sanskrit word and its Tamil, and sometimes Telugu, annotations (only a scant punctuation is provided). Furthermore, all three languages (Sanskrit, Tamil, and Telugu) are written in a mixture of Tamil script and Tamilian Grantha script, two similar writing systems that compel the user of the manuscript to read through each line of the text in order to distinguish its various layers and languages.




References

NARAYANA RAO, Velcheru (2003): “Multiple Literary Cultures in Telugu: Court, Temple, and Public”. In: Sheldon Pollock (ed.): Literary Cultures in History: Reconstructions from South Asia. Berkeley, Los Angeles, London: Columbia University Press, 383-436.

RAMANATHAN, A.A. (ed.) (1971): Amarakośa [I] with the Unpublished South Indian Commentaries: Amarapadavivṛti of Liṅgayasūrin and the Amarapadapārijāta of Mallinātha. Madras: The Adyar Library and Research Centre.

VENKATACHARI, K.K.A. (1978): The Maṇipravāḷa Literature of the Śrīvaiṣṇava Ācāryas. Bombay: Ananthacharya Research Institute.

VOGEL, Claus (1979): Indian Lexicography. Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz.


Description

Present holder: Institut Français de Pondichéry (Pondicherry, India).
Shelfmark: RE22704 - amarakośaḥ drāviḍaṭīkāsahitaḥ (apūrnaḥ).
Material: Palm leaf bundle; two wooden covers, and one thread.
Folios: Total 284 folios. One title folio (amarapañcakai); one blank guard leaf folio; 276 folios with original numbering from 1 to 276
     (eight lines per folio); two blank guard leaf folios; three guard leaf (?) folios containing part of an unidentified text (possibly a lexicon);
     one blank guard leaf folio.
Dimensions: 25.4 x 4.3 cm.
Provenance: South India (probably Southern Tamil Nadu), ca. 19th century.

Text by Giovanni Ciotti

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

07/2014 manuskript  des monats


Wie viele Sprachen finden Sie?

Ein mehrsprachiges Manuskript aus Südindien

Dieses Manuskript (RE22704), das aus dem äußersten Süden Indiens stammt, genauer aus einer der Sammlungen in Pondicherry, bezeugt ein charakteristisches Merkmal des gesamten Subkontinents, insbesondere in akademischen Milieus: Mehrsprachigkeit. Jahrhundertelang war Sanskrit die von der intellektuellen Elite der Region für das Schreiben von Texten benutzte Sprache, aber schon bald verwendete man parallel dazu auch lokale und überregionale Schriftsprachen, in denen ebenso anspruchsvolle Texte erschienen. Wie sich dieses Phänomen in der materiellen Kultur widerspiegelt, ist eine Thematik, die noch einer umfassenden Untersuchung bedarf. Dieses Manuskript stellt ein interessantes Beispiel dafür dar. Ungeachtet seines gleichförmigen Layouts stellt sich die Frage: Wie viele Sprachen enthält es?


Abb. 1: Holzdeckel und Bindfaden von RE22704
> Vergrößerung

Unter den Millionen von Manuskripten, die in den Sammlungen und Bibliotheken Südasiens aufbewahrt werden, befinden sich Tausende, die vollständige oder unvollständige Exemplare von Amarasiṃhas Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana („Lehre von den Nomen und [ihren] Genera“) enthalten, dem renommiertesten traditionellen Sanskrit-Wörterbuch. Seit dem Zeitpunkt seiner Abfassung (bzw. Zusammenstellung), möglicherweise um das 7. Jahrhundert christlicher Zeitrechnung herum, bildet es ein wesentliches Hilfsmittel für die Unterweisung junger Schüler in Sanskrit und ein grundlegendes Nachschlagewerk für Lehrer und Wissenschaftler.


Genauer gesagt handelt es sich beim Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana um einen Thesaurus, d.h. ein Synonym-Wörterbuch, in dem Nomen nach Wortfeldern gegliedert aufgezeichnet sind. So gibt es einen Abschnitt mit den Namen göttlicher Wesen, einen für Pflanzennamen usw. Aus diesem Grunde ist das Werk vor allem als Amarakośa („Amaras Thesaurus“) bekannt. Zudem ist es in Versform geschrieben, um das Auswendiglernen der langen Abschnitte zu erleichtern, wie dies bei traditionell ausgebildeten Sanskrit-Gelehrten seit Jahrhunderten üblich ist.


Abb. 2: Seitenansicht von RE22704. Das Bündel enthält
284 Palmblätter    > Vergrößerung

Aufgrund seiner Bedeutung im traditionell überlieferten Wissen überrascht es nicht, dass dieses Werk im Zentrum lebhafter Kommentar-Diskussionen sowohl in Sanskrit wie in verschiedenen Schriftsprachen des Subkontinents stand. Die südindischen Sprachen bilden hier sicher keine Ausnahme, denn viele Bibliotheken sind im Besitz von Exemplaren des Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana, die Anmerkungen in Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam oder Kannada enthalten.

Diese Handschrift bietet also Stoff für eine interessante Fallstudie. Sie besteht aus einem Bündel von annähernd 300 beidseitig beschriebenen Palmblättern zwischen zwei Holzdeckeln, die von einem durch die Löcher gezogenen Bindfaden zusammengehalten werden. Heute ein Teil der Sammlung des Institut Français de Pondichéry (seit 2005 aufgenommen in das UNESCO-Programm „Memory of the World“), wurde das Manuskript höchstwahrscheinlich im 19. Jahrhundert angefertigt und von einem Mann namens Kuruṉātayyaṉ aus der Stadt Veḷḷaṅkoḷḷi (heutiges Kerala?) für einen gewissen Paṭṭaravarkaḷ aus Pāḷayaṅkoṭṭai (Tamil Nadu) niedergeschrieben. Bedauerlicherweise verfügen wir zu keiner der beiden genannten Personen über weitere Angaben.

Angeblich handelt es sich um das komplexeste Manuskript des Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana mit Anmerkungen in Tamil. Gemäß einer gängigen Kommentierungspraxis wird jeder Vers mehrfach analysiert, um sowohl seine Grammatik als auch seine Bedeutung zu erläutern. Bemerkenswert ist, dass die regionalsprachliche Komponente auf folgende Art und Weise eingeführt wird: Erklärungen einzelner Wörter oder ganzer Verse sind in Tamil. Kommentare bilden so gleichzeitig Übersetzungen. Darüber hinaus ist dieses Manuskript durch ein besonderes Merkmal gekennzeichnet: die Präsenz einer dritten sprachlichen Ebene. Unerwartet sind einigen Tamil-Wörtern ihre Telugu-Übersetzungen vorangestellt.

Abb. 3: Die drei Sprachen von RE22704 (folio 2, recto 2): Sanskrit (gelb), Telugu (rot) und Tamil (grün). Zum Anzeigen bitte mit dem Mauszeiger das Bild berühren.

Kommentare zum Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana in der Regionalsprache sind meistens schlicht. Nicht jedes Sanskrit-Wort wird kommentiert oder übersetzt, sondern zu bestimmten Wortgruppen von Nomen werden einzelne Synonyme in Tamil aufgeführt. Dies deutet auf ein Bildungsumfeld hin, in dem jungen Schülern Sanskrit beigebracht wurde, indem man die wichtigsten semantischen Kategorien des Nāmaliṅgānuśāsana übersetzte, während anspruchsvollere lexikalische Analysen fortgeschrittenen Schülern vorbehalten waren und anhand von in Sanskrit verfassten Kommentaren durchgeführt wurden. Teilweise abweichend von dieser Tendenz, finden sich in diesem Manuskript beeindruckende Kommentare zu den Strophen 2 bis 5, welche vermitteln, wie das Lexikon zu benutzen ist, und insbesondere zu Strophe 1, der Anrufung der Gottheit. Tatsächlich ergeht sich der Kommentar zu Letzterer in einer ausgedehnten theologischen Abhandlung, die den Leser davon zu überzeugen sucht, dass die Anrufung sich an verschiedene religiös-philosophische Schulen gleichzeitig richtet. Des Weiteren reflektiert der Kommentar auf der Suche nach einer stichhaltigen Begründung für das, was gelegentlich nach einer maßlosen Überinterpretation aussieht, seine eigene kommentierende Funktion.

Solch eine Ansammlung spezifischer Charakteristika macht dieses Manuskript zu einem einzigartigen Exemplar und deutet darauf hin, dass Kuruṉātayyaṉ der Autor der vorhandenen Anmerkungen in Tamil (und Telugu) war. Es gibt also gute Gründe für die Annahme, dass der Kopist ein Telugu sprechender Gelehrter war, der in einem Umfeld arbeitete, in dem Sanskrit und Tamil als Hauptsprachen des intellektuellen Diskurses fungierten. Hierbei handelte es sich möglicherweise um ein Śrīvaiṣṇava-Milieu, in dem bestimmte, sich auf den Hindu-Gott Viṣṇu beziehende, erbauende und spekulative Sanskrit-Texte in einer hoch-sanskritisierten Form des Tamil (üblicherweise als Manipravalam bezeichnet) kommentiert wurden, wie es auch bei dem vorliegenden Manuskript der Fall ist.

Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Manuskript-Traditionen wird in der südindischen die Unterscheidung von Text und Kommentar für gewöhnlich nicht durch das Layout kenntlich gemacht, selbst dann nicht, wenn diese in unterschiedlichen Sprachen verfasst sind. So verhält es sich auch in diesem Manuskript, in dem keine Lücken zwischen dem jeweiligen Sanskrit-Wort und dem Kommentar in Tamil, oder gelegentlich Telugu, gelassen werden (es gibt lediglich eine sparsame Zeichensetzung). Hinzu kommt, dass alle drei Sprachen (Sanskrit, Tamil und Telugu) in einer Mischform der Tamil-Schrift und der tamilischen Grantha-Schrift geschrieben sind, zwei ähnliche Schriftsysteme, die den Nutzer des Manuskripts dazu zwingen, jede Zeile des Textes ganz durchzulesen, um die verschiedenen Ebenen und Sprachen voneinander unterscheiden zu können.




Literatur

NARAYANA RAO, Velcheru (2003): „Multiple Literary Cultures in Telugu: Court, Temple, and Public“. In: Sheldon Pollock (Hg.): Literary Cultures in History: Reconstructions from South Asia. Berkeley, Los Angeles, London: Columbia University Press, 383–436.

RAMANATHAN, A. A. (Hg.) (1971): Amarakośa [I] with the Unpublished South Indian Commentaries: Amarapadavivṛti of Liṅgayasūrin and the Amarapadapārijāta of Mallinātha. Madras: The Adyar Library and Research Centre.

VENKATACHARI, K. K. A. (1978): The Maṇipravāḷa Literature of the Śrīvaiṣṇava Ācāryas. Bombay: Ananthacharya Research Institute.

VOGEL, Claus (1979): Indian Lexicography. Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz.


Beschreibung

Gegenwärtiger Besitzer: Institut Français de Pondichéry (Pondicherry, Indien).
Signatur: RE22704 - amarakośaḥ drāviḍaṭīkāsahitaḥ (apūrnaḥ).
Material: Palmblattbündel; zwei Holzdeckel und ein Bindfaden.
Blätter: Insgesamt 284 Blätter. Ein Titelblatt (amarapañcakai); ein leeres Schutzblatt; 276 Blätter mit ursprünglicher Nummerierung von 1 bis 276
     (acht Zeilen je Blatt); zwei leere Schutzblätter; drei Schutz(?)blätter, die einen Teil eines unbekannten Textes (möglicherweise eines Lexikons)
     enthalten; ein leeres Schutzblatt.
Maße: 25,4 x 4,3 cm.
Herkunft: Südindien (vermutlich das südliche Tamil Nadu), ca. 19. Jahrhundert.


Text von Giovanni Ciotti