last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

02/2015 manuscript  of the month


King Solomon and the covenant of circumcision:

A Biedermeier mohel book

This small book is composed of parchment and paper folios and bound in a light-brown cover with black ornamentation and gilt edging. It is apparent even from the cover that the book was produced with great care. Once opened, apart from its handwritten character, the aesthetic feel of the lettering and visual elements becomes evident. Moses and Aaron feature on the title page with its square Hebrew script and are easily recognisable by their attributes: a staff in the case of Moses, whilst Aaron is shown wearing the cloak of the high priest with a breastplate and small bells (see fig. 1). Many of the parchment folios are decorated with drawings and embellished with calligraphy. More than half of the small book is made of paper, however. These sheets of paper were bound in after the parchment section and have been left blank. The question is why?


Fig. 1: fol. 1r : title page.
> Enlarge

This manuscript, written in 1819 by the scribe Mordekhai ben Yosel (Marcus Donath) and embellished with pen-and-ink drawings, is a Kabbalistic mohel book. It was written for a mohel – a member of the Jewish community trained and authorised to carry out circumcision – and it contains the text of Sod Adonai (The Secret of God) by David ben Arye Leib of Lida (c. 1650–1696). Instructions concerning Jewish religious law and prayers relating to circumcision are included in it. Mordekhai ben Yosel was active as a Torah scribe in the town of Nitra (or Nyitra), today in Slovakia, but then belonging to Austria-Hungary. One of the duties of a community scribe was the production of Torah srolls and other texts for communal use. For this reason, numerous other manuscripts in his hand are known, even though a considerable number of them were lost during the National Socialist era.


Fig. 2: fol, 7r (detail), initial word in baroque frame with
two doves. > Enlarge



Fig. 3: fol. 18v (detail), initial word decorated with animals.
> Enlarge

The blank paper folios of the manuscript were intended to be used for entries made by the mohel, who was asked to perform circumcisions at ceremonies preferably held on the eighth day after a boy’s birth. In the Moldovan Collection in New York, there is another manuscript, comprising eleven parchment and eighteen paper folios, produced for a mohel and executed in the same hand as our scribe’s. Listed on fifteen of the folios are handwritten entries documenting circumcisions carried out in the administrative district of Pest, Hungary between 1829 and 1852.

It is reasonable to suppose that the manuscript shown here was also employed by a mohel. However, his name, which was originally found on the title page, was so thoroughly obliterated that no traces of it remain. It seems clear that the parchment folios with their prayers and legal instructions were rebound together with the new paper folios, presumably in order to use the small book again. Nevertheless, there are no handwritten entries in a later hand, nor is there any name that would suggest the existence of a second owner. The book was probably no longer in use when Baruch Heymann Levy (1834–1904), a Hamburg lawyer and member of the Hamburg Parliament, acquired it around 1880 for his collection of manuscripts, which was bought by Hamburg City Library in 1906.


Fig. 4: fol. 4r, examples of
ornate lettering. > Enlarge

This collection is remarkable for its very large number of illuminated manuscripts (making up around a third of the collection). The manuscript shown here is a good example of this. Thanks to its artistic composition, it was a key inspiration to Levy to continue collecting in his grandfather’s wake. Ornamented frames (see fig. 2) and initial words, decorated, for instance, with drawings of animal figures (see fig. 3) or written in the shape of unfurling scrolls (see fig. 4), make this book stand out from other manuscripts. It also contains numerous pen-and-ink drawings, depicting, for instance, a lion and a unicorn (see fig. 5), a circumcision scene or King David in prayer. Doubtless, the most striking image is the micrographic representation of the biblical King Solomon as a scribe. He is seated at a table on which an inkwell and book are to be seen (see fig. 6). From the ninth century onwards, one encounters the use of sophisticated micrography in Jewish manuscripts – an advancement of the decorative elaboration of marginalia, witnessed in many cultures. Here, this miniature script is employed as a means of delineation in larger geometric and figural images. King Solomon, who was traditionally seen as the author of the biblical Song of Songs, is drawn here using the words of this text, so that the mutual relationship between the author and his work is rendered pictorially.


Fig. 5: fol. 20r, pen-and-ink
drawing of a lion and a
unicorn. > Enlarge

Fig. 6: fol. 16r, micrography
depicting King Solomon.
> Enlarge

The first verse of the Song of Songs, which names the title of the book and its author, is written in square script and appears beneath the vignette along with the Austrian-Hungarian double eagle. It reads: שיר השירים אשר לשלמה – shir ha-shirim asher li-shlomo (‘The Song of Songs, by Solomon’). The first and second words of the second verse, ישקני מנשיקות – yishshaqeni min-neshiqot (‘Let him kiss me with the kisses …’), form the lower and upper lips of Solomon’s mouth, the remaining words of the second verse forming part of his beard, stretching down from the left-hand corner of his mouth: פיהו כי טובים דדיך מיין – pihu ki tovim dodekha mi-yayin (‘ … of his mouth. For thy love is better than wine’). The words of the third verse, ‘Because of the savour of thy good ointments, thy name is as ointment poured forth, therefore do the virgins love thee’, delineate the king’s nose, eyelids and right sideburn. Verses 4 to 7 (‘Draw me, we will run after thee: the king hath brought me into his chambers: we will be glad and rejoice in thee, we will remember thy love more than wine: the upright love thee…’) form the remainder of his beard and crown. Verse 8, ‘If thou know not, o thou fairest among women, go thy way forth by the footsteps of the flock …’, traces the right-hand edge of the crown across to the two hovering drawn elements to the right of Solomon’s head (see fig. 7).

Fig. 7: fol. 16r, detail of the head of Solomon (Please move the cursor
over the image to view the colouration of verses 2 to 7 of the Song of
Songs). > Enlarge

The last verses of the Song of Songs (8, 11–14) appear under the king’s seat and table as a framing for an oval cartouche. The last four words of the last verse, האילים על הרי בשמים – ha-ayyalim ʿal-hare besamim (‘… [a young] hart upon the mountains of spices’) are written in large square script and correspond to the four words of the first verse above. Knowledgeable readers will be immediately aware that they have the complete text of the Song of Songs before them.

When one looks closely at the micrography, it becomes evident that Solomon’s face is not simply made up of words, but that drawn elements also play a role. The interweaving ornamental devices to the left of Solomon’s head, which are also shaped by text and are reminiscent of crowns, are additionally worth noting. It is possible that they represent a Kabbalistic motif: the link between the sixth sefira (the emanation of God) and the lowest, tenth sefira – between tifʾeret (‘beauty’) and malkhut (‘kingship’), between the male and female principles of divinity, that is, between God and Israel.

One should add that the dominant, coeval theological exegesis of the Song of Songs interpreted the text as an allegory of God’s love for Israel. The Song of Songs, conveyed here in this elaborately drawn form, the Kabbalistic symbols, decipherable only by the initiated, and the rite of circumcision to be carried out by the mohel represent the covenant that exists between God and the people of Israel in a threefold way.


References

DEUSEL, Antje Yael (2012): Mein Bund, den ihr bewahren sollt. Religionsgesetzliche und medizinische Aspekte der Beschneidung. Freiburg/Basel/Vienna: Herder.

GOLDSCHMIDT, Salomon (1900): Verzeichniss der Judaica aus der Bibliothek des Herrn Dr. H. B. Levy in Hamburg, Hamburg: Nissensohn.

NAMÉNYI, Ernö (1941): “Ein ungarisch-jüdischer Kupferstecher der Biedermeierzeit (Markus Donath)”. In: Alexander Schreiber (ed.): Jubilee-Volume in Honour of Prof. Bernhard Heller, Budapest, 252–257, 8 plates.

RÓTH, Ernst/STRIEDL, Hans (1984): Hebräische Handschriften. Teil 3: Die Handschriften der Sammlung H. B. Levy an der Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Hamburg. Wiesbaden: Franz Steiner Verlag, no. 113.

SCHEIBER, Alexander (1973/74): “Markus Donath’s Second Misrah plate”. In: Studies in Bibliography and Booklore 3/4, 80–82.

DERS. (1979): “Marcus Donath’s Mohel Book”. In: Studies in Bibliography and Booklore 12, 9–11.

SCHOLEM, Gershom (1957): Die jüdische Mystik in ihren Hauptströmungen, Frankfurt a. M.: Metzner.

SIRAT, Colette/AVRIN, Leila (1981): La lettre hébrai͏̈que et sa signification. Micrography as Art, Paris: CNRS.

WANDREY, Irina (ed.) (2014): Tora – Talmud – Siddur.Katalog der Ausstellung ‘Tora – Talmud – Siddur. Hebräische Handschriften der Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Hamburg. 18.9.–26.10.2014’ (= manuscript cultures 6).


Description

Current owner: Carl von Ossietzky State and University Library, Hamburg.
Shelf mark: Codex Levy 45.
Material: parchment and paper; gilt edging; brown ink; more recent brownish-black leather binding. 67 folios in total: 4 paper folios (unnumbered), 20 parchment folios, 43 paper folios (unnumbered and blank).
Dimensions: 16 x 12 cm; written area: 14.0 x 9.5 cm.
Provenance: Nitra (aka Nyitra), 1819, Austria-Hungary; now in Slovakia.
Script: Ashkenazi square script and semi-cursive script.



Text by Irina Wandrey

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

02/2015 manuskript  des monats


König Salomo und der Bund der Beschneidung:

Ein Mohelbuch aus dem Biedermeier

Dieses Büchlein ist aus Pergament- und Papierblättern zusammengestellt und in einen hellbraunen mit Schwarz verzierten Einband gebunden. Der Buchschnitt ist golden eingefärbt. Bereits von außen betrachtet scheint es sich um ein sorgfältig hergestelltes Buch zu handeln. Schlägt man es auf, so werden sowohl der handgeschriebene Charakter als auch ein ästhetisches Gespür für Schrift und malerische Elemente augenfällig. Auf dem mit hebräischen Quadratbuchstaben beschrifteten Titelblatt sind Moses und Aaron zu sehen, unschwer an ihren Insignien zu erkennen: dem Stab des Moses einerseits und dem Gewand des Hohenpriesters mit Brustschild und Glöckchen andererseits (Abb. 1). Viele Pergamentseiten sind mit Zeichnungen geschmückt und kalligraphisch gestaltet. Mehr als die Hälfte des Büchleins besteht allerdings aus Papier. Diese Papierlagen wurden nach dem Pergamentblock eingebunden — sie sind unbeschrieben. Warum?


Abb. 1: fol. 1r: Titelblatt
> Vergrößerung

Bei diesem im Jahre 1819 von dem Schreiber Mordekhai ben Yosel (Marcus Donath) geschriebenen und mit Federzeichnungen verzierten Manuskript handelt es sich um ein kabbalistisches Mohelbuch. Es ist für einen mohel – ein Gemeindemitglied, das ausgebildet und befugt ist, eine Beschneidung durchzuführen –, geschrieben und enthält den Text Sod Adonai (Geheimnis Gottes) von David ben Arye Leib von Lida (ca. 1650-1696). In ihm finden sich religionsgesetzliche Anweisungen und Gebete für die Beschneidung. Mordekhai ben Yosel war in der damals zu Österreich-Ungarn und heute zur Slowakei gehörenden Stadt Neutra (Nitra oder Nyitra) Tora-Schreiber. Zu den Aufgaben eines Gemeindeschreibers gehört die Herstellung von Torarollen und weiterer Texte für den Gemeindebedarf. So sind zahlreiche andere Manuskripte aus seiner Feder bekannt, wenngleich nicht wenige in der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus verloren gingen.


Abb. 2: fol. 7r (Detail): Initialwort in barockem Rahmen mit
zwei Tauben > Vergrößerung



Abb. 3: fol. 18v (Detail): Initialwort mit Tieren
> Vergrößerung

Die leeren Papierseiten dieses Manuskripts waren für die Einträge des mohels gedacht, der zu den nach Möglichkeit am achten Tag nach der Geburt stattfindenden Beschneidungen geladen wurde. So findet sich in der New Yorker Sammlung Moldovan ein weiteres für einen mohel angefertigtes Manuskript aus der Hand dieses bekannten Schreibers, das aus elf Pergament- und 18 Papierblättern besteht. Auf 15 von ihnen sind handschriftlich Beschneidungen verzeichnet, die im Landkreis Pest, Ungarn, in den Jahren 1829 bis 1852 vorgenommen wurden.

Es ist anzunehmen, dass auch das hier präsentierte Manuskript von einem mohel benutzt wurde. Sein Name, der sich ursprünglich auf dem Titelblatt befand, wurde jedoch so gründlich ausradiert, dass keine Spuren zurückgeblieben sind. Offenbar wurden die Pergamentblätter mit den Gebeten und Anweisungen zusammen mit frischen Papierblättern neu eingebunden, wohl um das Büchlein abermals zu verwenden. Allerdings finden sich keine handschriftlichen Einträge von späterer Hand und auch kein Name, der auf einen zweiten Besitzer verweist. Das Buch war also vermutlich nicht mehr in Gebrauch, als es Baruch Heymann Levy (1834-1904), Hamburger Rechtsanwalt und Mitglied der Bürgerschaft, ca. 1880 für seine Handschriftensammlung erwarb, die 1906 von der Stadtbibliothek Hamburg angekauft wurde.


Abb. 4: fol. 4r: Beispiele für
Zierschriften > Vergrößerung

Diese Sammlung zeichnet sich durch einen sehr hohen Anteil illuminierter Manuskripte aus (ca. ein Drittel). Die vorliegende Handschrift, die aufgrund ihrer künstlerischen Gestaltung überhaupt erst den Impetus für Levy gegeben hat, die großväterliche Sammlung fortzuführen, stellt dafür ein gutes Beispiel dar: verzierte Rahmen (Abb. 2) und Initialwörter , die beispielsweise mit Tierfiguren (Abb. 3) oder in Gestalt von sich entfaltenden Schriftrollen (Abb. 4) gezeichnet sind, heben dieses Buch aus der Menge heraus. Auch finden sich zahlreiche Federzeichnungen, so von Löwe und Einhorn (Abb. 5), von der Beschneidungsszene oder von König David im Gebet. Am auffälligsten ist sicherlich die in Kleinstschrift (Mikrographie) gezeichnete Darstellung des biblischen Königs Salomo als Schreiber. Er sitzt an einem Tisch, auf dem sich Tintenfass und Buch befinden. (Abb. 6) Seit dem 9. Jh. ist in jüdischen Handschriften eine Weiterentwicklung der in vielen Kulturen zur schmückenden Ausgestaltung von Randbemerkungen verwendeten Mikrographie anzutreffen, denn hier wird die Miniaturschrift zur Linienführung in größeren geometrischen oder figürlichen Darstellungen verwendet. König Salomo, der traditionellerweise als Autor des biblischen Hohenliedes gilt, wird hier mit den Worten eben dieses Textes gezeichnet, wodurch die gegenseitige Bedingtheit von Autor und Werk bildlich umgesetzt wird.


Abb. 5: fol. 20r: Feder-
zeichnung von Löwe und
Einhorn > Vergrößerung

Abb. 6: fol. 16r: Mikrographie
König Salomos > Vergrößerung

Der erste Vers des Hohenliedes, der den Titel des Buches und seinen Autor nennt, steht in Quadratbuchstaben geschrieben unterhalb der Vignette mit dem österreichisch-ungarischen Doppeladler: שיר השירים אשר לשלמה – shir ha-shirim asher li-shlomo – „Das Lied der Lieder, von Salomo.“ Das erste und das zweite Wort des zweiten Verses ישקני מנשיקות – yishshaqeni min-neshiqot – „Er möge mich küssen mit den Küssen …“ bilden die Unter- und Oberlippe von Salomos Mund; die weiteren Worte des zweiten Verses bilden einen Teil des Bartes, der sich vom linken Mundwinkel nach unten erstreckt: פיהו כי טובים דדיך מיין – pihu ki tovim dodekha mi-yayin – „… seines Mundes! Süßer als Wein ist deine Liebe.“ Aus den Worten des dritten Verses, „Köstlich ist der Duft deiner Salben, dein Name hingegossenes Salböl; darum lieben dich die Mädchen“, werden Nase, Augenlider und der Backenbart rechts gebildet. Die Verse 4 bis 7 ( „Zieh mich her hinter dir! Lass uns eilen! Der König führt mich in seine Gemächer. Jauchzen lass uns, deiner uns freuen, deine Liebe höher rühmen als Wein. Dich liebt man zu Recht…“) bilden den restlichen Bart und die Krone; Vers 8, („Wenn du das nicht weißt, du schönste der Frauen, dann folge den Spuren der Schafe…“) leitet vom rechten Rand der Krone über zu den beiden schwebenden graphischen Elementen rechts von Salomos Kopf. (Abb. 7)

Abb. 7: fol. 16r, Detail: Kopf Salomos (Bitte Bild mit der Maus berühren,
um farbige Markierung der Verse 2 bis 7 des Hohenliedes anzuzeigen)
> Vergrößerung

Die letzten Verse des Hohenliedes (8, 11-14) bilden den Text in der unterhalb von Sessel und Tisch als Teil des Rahmens geformten ovalen Kartusche, wobei die letzten vier Worte des letzten Verses האילים על הרי בשמים – ha-ayyalim ʿal-hare besamim – „…[dem Jungen] der Hirsche auf den Balsambergen“ in großer Quadratschrift geschrieben sind und den vier Worten des ersten Verses oben entsprechen. Dem kundigen Leser wird somit auf den ersten Blick klar, dass er den vollständigen Text des Hohenliedes vor sich hat.

Wenn man sich die Mikrographie genau besieht, fällt auf, dass das Gesicht Salomos nicht nur aus Worten geformt ist, sonders dass auch zeichnerische Elemente hinzukommen. Auch sind die beiden aus Text bestehenden ineinander verflochtenen Ornamente, die sich links des Kopfes von Salomo befinden und an Kronen erinnern, bemerkenswert. Sie stellen möglicherweise ein kabbalistisches Motiv dar: die Verbindung zwischen der sechsten sefira (Emanation Gottes) und der niedrigsten, der zehnten sefira – zwischen tifʾeret („Pracht“) und malkhut („Königtum“), dem männlichen und weiblichen Prinzip der Gottheit bzw. Gott und Israel.

Hinzu kommt, dass bereits die vorherrschende theologische Auslegung des Hohenliedes diesen Text als Allegorie auf die Liebe Gottes zu Israel interpretiert. Das in dieser kunstvollen Form gezeichnete Hohelied verkörpert hier also ebenso wie die nur dem Eingeweihten verständlichen kabbalistischen Symbole und der durch den mohel zu vollziehende Ritus der Beschneidung den zwischen Gott und seinem Volk Israel bestehenden Bund.




Literatur

DEUSEL, Antje Yael (2012): Mein Bund, den ihr bewahren sollt. Religionsgesetzliche und medizinische Aspekte der Beschneidung. Freiburg – Basel – Wien: Herder.

GOLDSCHMIDT, Salomon (1900): Verzeichniss der Judaica aus der Bibliothek des Herrn Dr. H. B. Levy in Hamburg. Hamburg: Nissensohn.

NAMÉNYI, Ernö (1941): „Ein ungarisch-jüdischer Kupferstecher der Biedermeierzeit (Markus Donath)“. In: Alexander Schreiber (Hg.): Jubilee-Volume in Honour of Prof. Bernhard Heller, Budapest, 252-257, 8 Tafeln.

RÓTH, Ernst / STRIEDL, Hans (1984): Hebräische Handschriften. Teil 3: Die Handschriften der Sammlung H. B. Levy an der Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Hamburg. Wiesbaden: Franz Steiner Verlag, Nr. 113.

SCHEIBER, Alexander (1973/74): „Markus Donath’s Second Misrah-plate“. In: Studies in Bibliography and Booklore 3/4, 80-82.

DERS. (1979): „Marcus Donath's Mohel Book“. In: Studies in Bibliography and Booklore 12, 9–11.

SCHOLEM, Gershom (1957): Die jüdische Mystik in ihren Hauptströmungen, Frankfurt a.M.: Metzner.

SIRAT, Colette / AVRIN, Leila (1981): La lettre hébrai͏̈que et sa signification. Micrography as Art, Paris: CNRS.

WANDREY, Irina (Hg.) (2014): Tora – Talmud – Siddur. Katalog der Ausstellung „Tora – Talmud – Siddur. Hebräische Handschriften der Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Hamburg. 18.9.-26.10.2014“ (= manuscript cultures 6).


Beschreibung
Gegenwärtiger Besitzer: Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Hamburg Carl von Ossietzky.
Signatur: Codex Levy 45.
Material: Pergament und Papier; Goldschnitt; bräunliche Tinte; neuerer braun-schwarzer Ledereinband. Insgesamt 67 Blätter. 4 Bl. Papier (ungezählt), 20 Bl. Pergament, 43 Bl. Papier (ungezählt u. unbeschrieben).
Maße: 16 x 12 cm; Schriftspiegel: 14,0 x 9,5 cm.
Herkunft: Neutra (Nitra oder Nyitra), 1819 Österreichisch-Ungarn; heute Slowakei.
Schrift: Aschkenasische Quadratschrift und Halbkursive.




Text von Irina Wandrey