last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

03/2015 manuscript  of the month


The Manuscript That Nobody Can Read

The Hungarian Academy of Sciences in Budapest has a manuscript in its archives that still puzzles researchers to this day: the Rohonc Codex (K 114). This is written in a script that no-one understands. Are cryptological methods able to reveal what this book is about and what its purpose once was?


Fig. 1: fol. 40v und 41r. The Rohonc Codex is written in an unknown script;
nobody has been able to decipher it yet. > Enlarge

Although it may seem rather unusual at first, computer scientists who are normally concerned with bits and bytes also have good reason to take an interest in old manuscripts. This is because the discipline of cryptology is part of information science – and an extremely important matter in view of omnipresent network surveillance by the NSA and others. The idea of encrypting texts came to people’s minds well before the onset of computer technology, of course. Even medieval popes had messages encoded – like scholars and important military and commercial figures, they were not always willing to disclose the contents of their missives. This is why we can find a variety of encrypted documents (‘cryptograms’) from the past in archives today. Since there are only a small number of historians who focus on cryptology, however, merely a fraction of these works have been examined to date. Books that have been encrypted from beginning to end are certainly the ‘gems’ among all these cryptograms. A list the best-known cryptographic books currently includes 56 items and is likely to grow as time goes on.



Fig. 2: fols. 50v und 51r. The pictures in the Rohonc Codex show numerous
Christian motifs, for example the crucifixion, but none of these have helped
researchers decipher the document. > Enlarge

The most famous encrypted book of all is the Voynich Manuscript – a work from the late Middle Ages. Unlike most other works of this kind, the Voynich Manuscript is still waiting to be decrypted. The Rohonc Codex, a far less familiar manuscript from former Western Hungary, is another such case. This handmade work is 12×10 cm in size and kept in Budapest.

One reason why it is difficult to even speculate about the language in which the codex is written and the method of encryption employed is because so little is known about its history; all we know is that the manuscript once belonged to a Hungarian bibliophile called Gusztáv Batthyány (1803–1883) and that he kept it in the town of Rohonc, now the Austrian town of Rechnitz. It is the old Western Hungarian settlement that gave its name to the codex. Batthyány bequeathed the mysterious work to the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in 1838, where it is still kept to this day.

No-one knows who wrote the Rohonc Codex, when exactly it was created or what its purpose was. One of the few clues to its provenance is the paper with which it was made. This seems to have been produced in Northern Italy in the sixteenth century, judging by a watermark it contains, among other things. So far, however, it has not been possible to determine when the paper was actually used to write the codex.

The Rohonc Codex is an intriguing historical document. Its 448 pages have all been penned in an unknown script. Like the Voynich Manuscript, no-one has been able to decipher it yet. We are not even sure if the Rohonc Codex is a book that was encrypted at all or if the script was actually intended to encode its contents; it may, in fact, be the case that we have encountered a script, all knowledge of which has been lost.


Fig. 3: fol. 82v und 83r. The visual system of the manuscript is complex and exhibits
numerous symbols. It gives the impression that the graphical elements may also be
encoded.
> Enlarge

The question of whether a secret script was used or just a normal script that is still unknown is irrelevant initially – the methods employed to shed light on the codex are the same. If the author did actually intend to ensure confidentiality, however, he may have taken some additional steps to encrypt the contents. Anything is possible in this case – from simple techniques such as inserting meaningless characters to confuse the reader to sophisticated scrambling, for example.

The most important tool for a decoding expert is statistical analysis. In German, for example, the letter E is used most frequently, followed by N, I and S. This frequency distribution is similar in other languages as well. Unfortunately, however, this insight has not led to any revelations regarding the Rohonc Codex. The fact that we do not know which language the codex is written in is a relatively minor problem here, though; the immediate challenge is that the alphabet that the unknown script employs is very long: researchers currently believe it consists of approximately 100 letters that are used frequently. What’s more, several hundred others appear only once or twice in the codex. The possible explanations that have been proposed for this range from a syllable-based script and nomenclator (an alphabet in which some of the letters stand for whole words) to an artificial language. These hypotheses still need to be examined in detail, however.


Fig. 4: fol. 43v und 44r. There are not merely Christian symbols in the codex:
crescents on top of the roofs. > Enlarge

The 87 pictures in the codex have not been able to shed much light on the contents either so far. Most of the illustrations show motifs from the Bible such as Moses on Mount Sinai or the crucifixion of Jesus (fig. 2). Apart from Christian iconography, we find numerous symbols that give the impression that the graphical elements may also be encoded and were only to be understood by a small circle of people privy to the encoding system (fig. 3). The art historians interviewed by the historian Benedek Làng believe it is likely the document was written in the sixteenth or seventeenth century. They also favour the Balkans as the region of its provenance, but add that other areas of Europe may also be possible. A detailed examination of the illustrations by art historians has yet to be carried out.

Consequently, one can only make educated guesses about the codex at the moment. Does it contain a religious text of a heretical nature, which the author encrypted for fear of reprisal by the Church? Or did someone simply want to demonstrate a newly invented script on a religious text? Does the encryption have any particular magical or religious meaning? Or were the biblical pictures only intended to make it appear as though the book was on a completely different subject? Last but not least, is the codex actually only a piece of imaginative writing containing meaningless letters with which the author wanted to impress people?

If we are to find any answers to these questions, then additional research will need to be conducted to decipher the mysterious script in which the Rohonc Codex was written.



References

Làng, Benedek (2010): ‘Why don’t we decipher an outdated cipher system? The Codex of Rohonc’, in Cryptologia 34 (2010), 115–144.

Schmech, Klaus (2012): Nicht zu knacken: Von ungelösten Enigma-Codes zu den Briefen des Zodiac-Killers. Munich: Hanser Verlag.


Description

Budapest, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Shelf mark: MS K 114 and MF 1173/II
Material: paper, 224 leaves
Size: 12×10 cm
Provenance: a private collection belonging to Gusztáv Batthyány (1803–1883)


Text by Klaus Schmeh

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

03/2015 manuskript  des monats


Das Manuskript, das niemand lesen kann

In der Ungarischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Budapest wird ein Manuskript aufbewahrt, das zahlreiche Rätsel aufgibt: der Codex Rohonci (K 114). Dieser ist in einer Schrift geschrieben, die niemand kennt. Lässt sich mit den Methoden der Kryptologie klären, was in diesem Buch steht und welche Funktion es hatte?


Abb. 1: Fol. 40v und 41r. Der Codex Rohonci ist in einer unbekannten Schrift
verfasst. Bisher konnte ihn niemand entschlüsseln. > Vergrößerung

Wenngleich es zunächst ungewöhnlich erscheinen mag, gibt es auch für Informatiker, die sich normalerweise mit Bits und Bytes beschäftigen, einen Grund, sich für alte Manuskripte zu interessieren. Zur Informatik gehört nämlich auch die Verschlüsselungstechnik (Kryptologie) – in Zeiten der NSA-Überwachung zweifellos eine äußerst wichtige Angelegenheit. Verschlüsselt hat man Texte allerdings schon lange vor dem Computer. Bereits die Päpste des Mittelalters chiffrierten ihre Botschaften, sie hatten ebenso wie Gelehrte und Angehörige aus Militär und Wirtschaft ein Interesse daran, dass nicht jedermann ihre Schriftstücke lesen konnte. In den Archiven findet man daher heute zahlreiche verschlüsselte Dokumente (Kryptogramme) aus allen Epochen. Da es andererseits aber nur wenige Kryptologie-Historiker gibt, ist bisher nur ein kleiner Bruchteil davon aufgearbeitet. Zu den Perlen unter den historischen Kryptogrammen zählen zweifellos Bücher, die komplett verschlüsselt sind. Eine Liste der bekanntesten kryptographischen Bücher, die voraussichtlich weiter wachsen wird, enthält derzeit 56 Objekte.



Abb. 2: Fol. 50v und 51r. Die Bilder im Codex Rohonci zeigen zahlreiche christliche Motive,
wie diese Kreuzigungsdarstellung. Zur Entschlüsselung des Textes haben sie
bisher nicht beigetragen. > Vergrößerung

Das mit Abstand bekannteste verschlüsselte Buch ist das so genannte Voynich-Manuskript – ein Werk aus dem Spätmittelalter. Im Gegensatz zu den meisten anderen verschlüsselten Büchern wartet das Voynich-Manuskript noch auf seine Dechiffrierung. Ein weitaus weniger bekanntes verschlüsseltes Manuskript ist der Codex Rohonci. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Handschrift im Format 12×10 Zentimeter, die in Budapest aufbewahrt wird.

Mutmaßungen über Sprache und Verschlüsselungsmethode des Codex Rohonci sind unter anderem deshalb so schwierig, weil man kaum etwas über dessen Geschichte weiß. Bekannt ist nur, dass das Manuskript bis 1838 dem ungarischen Bücherliebhaber Gusztáv Batthyány (1803-1883) gehörte, der es in der damals westungarischen Stadt Rohonc (heute Rechnitz in Österreich) aufbewahrte. Nach Rohonc ist das Buch benannt. Batthyány vermachte den Codex der Ungarischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, wo er heute noch aufbewahrt wird.

Wer den Codex Rohonci geschrieben hat, welchen Zweck er erfüllen sollte und wann er geschaffen wurde, liegt im Dunkeln. Einer der wenigen Anhaltspunkte ist das Papier. Dieses wurde vermutlich im 16. Jahrhundert in Norditalien hergestellt, was man unter anderem aus einem Wasserzeichen schließen kann. Wann das Papier beschrieben wurde, ließ sich bisher nicht ermitteln.

Der Codex Rohonci ist ein echtes Faszinosum. Seine 448 Seiten sind in einer Schrift geschrieben, die sonst unbekannt ist. Ähnlich wie das Voynich-Manuskript konnte man den Text bisher nicht dechiffrieren. Ob es sich beim Codex Rohonci überhaupt um ein verschlüsseltes Buch handelt, ob die Schrift also der Geheimhaltung diente, ist keineswegs sicher. Es könnte ebenso sein, dass wir es mit einer Schrift zu tun haben, über die alles Wissen verloren gegangen ist.


Abb. 3:Fol. 82v und 83r. Das visuelle System der Handschrift ist komplex und enthält
zahlreiche Symbole. Es vermittelt auch hier den Eindruck einer Verschlüsselung.
> Vergrößerung

Die Frage nach Geheimschrift oder unbekannter Normalschrift spielt zunächst keine Rolle – die Methoden zum Lösen sind dieselben. Wenn es dem Verfasser allerdings um Geheimhaltung ging, könnte er zusätzliche Chiffrier-Maßnahmen getroffen haben. Von einfachen Kniffen, wie dem Einfügen bedeutungsloser Zeichen (Blender), bis zu komplizierten Verwürfelungen ist alles denkbar.

Das wichtigste Werkzeug für einen Dechiffrierer ist die Statistik. Bekanntlich kommt im Deutschen das E am häufigsten vor, gefolgt vom N, I und S. In anderen Sprachen gibt es ähnliche Häufigkeitsverteilungen. Beim Codex Rohonci haben diese Erkenntnisse jedoch bisher keine Fortschritte gebracht. Dass man die Sprache nicht kennt, in der dieser verfasst ist, ist dabei noch das kleinere Problem. Entscheidender ist, dass das Alphabet der unbekannten Schrift sehr groß ist. Man geht von etwa 100 Buchstaben aus, die häufiger verwendet werden. Hinzu kommen mehrere Hundert, die nur ein- oder zweimal auftauchen. Die möglichen Erklärungen reichen von einer Silbenschrift über einen Nomenklator (ein Alphabet, in dem manche Buchstaben für ganze Wörter stehen) bis zu einer Kunstsprache. Diese Hypothesen bedürfen jedoch noch eingehender Prüfung.


Abb. 4: Fol. 43v und 44r. Es findet sich nicht ausschließlich christliche Symbolik: Halbmonde
auf den Dächern. > Vergrößerung

Die insgesamt 87 Bilder im Codex Rohonci haben bisher ebenfalls kaum Licht ins Dunkel gebracht. Die meisten Abbildungen zeigen Motive aus der Bibel – beispielsweise die Kreuzigung Jesu (Abb. 2) oder Moses auf dem Berg Sinai. Neben christlicher Ikonographie tauchen zahlreiche Symbole auf, die den Eindruck erwecken, dass auch das visuelle System verschlüsselt sein könnte und nur einem eingeweihten Kreis zugänglich war (Abb. 3). Die von Benedek Làng befragten Kunsthistoriker halten eine Entstehung im 16. oder 17. Jahrhundert für wahrscheinlich. Als Entstehungsort favorisieren sie den Balkan, schließen aber andere Regionen Europas nicht aus. Eine eingehende kunsthistorische Untersuchung der Bilder steht bislang jedoch noch aus.

So kann man am Ende nur mutmaßen: Enthält der Codex Rohonci einen religiösen Text mit ketzerischem Inhalt, den der Verfasser aus Angst vor der Kirche verschlüsselte? Oder wollte jemand ein neu erfundenes Schriftsystem mit einem religiösen Text demonstrieren? Hatte die Verschlüsselung eine magische bzw. religiöse Bedeutung? Oder sollen die biblischen Bilder lediglich davon ablenken, dass es sich um ein Buch mit ganz anderem Inhalt handelt? Oder ist der Codex gar nur eine mit bedeutungslosem „Buchstaben-Salat“ gefüllte Attrappe, mit der der Schöpfer Eindruck schinden wollte?

Um Antworten auf diese Fragen zu finden, müssen noch weitere Forschungen zur Entschlüsselung der geheimnisvollen Schrift des Codex Rohonci unternommen werden.



Literatur

LÀNG, Benedek (2010): „Why don’t we decipher an outdated cipher system? The Codex of Rohonc“. In: Cryptologia 34 (2010), 115 – 144.

SCHMEH, Klaus (2012): Nicht zu knacken: Von ungelösten Enigma-Codes zu den Briefen des Zodiac-Killers. München: Hanser Verlag.



Beschreibung
Budapest, Ungarische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Signatur: MS K 114 und MF 1173/II
Material: Papier, 224 Blätter
Maße: 12×10 cm
Herkunft: Privatsammlung von Gusztáv Batthyány (1803-1883)




Text von Klaus Schmeh