last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

04/2015 manuscript  of the month


Celestial and Terrestrial

A Notebook from the Centre of Power

Housed in the archives of the National Library of France in Paris (BN), MS Lat. 2718 presents itself as plain and unadorned. With a relatively unappealing design and seemingly unsystematic sequence of texts, the codex initially appears to be nothing spectacular. Although it may not make nearly such a grand impression as some other copies from the same period, however, this work is in fact one of the most noteworthy manuscripts of the ninth century. This is already apparent in the unusual exterior appearance of the manuscript, not to mention the heterogeneous content of the work, which makes it difficult to identify a common theme. Yet the manuscript contains the only written versions of a number of pivotal texts from the reign of Emperor Louis the Pious (814–840), the son and successor of Charlemagne. So what is the background to this remarkable codex?


Fig. 1: Paris, BN, MS Lat. 2718, fol. 72r. End of a theological
text and start of the first “Formulae imperiales" group.
© Bibliothèque nationale de France (http://gallica.bnf.fr)
> Enlarge

This no-frills working manuscript originates from the Basilica of St Martin in Tours and has been dated by researchers to the second quarter of the ninth century. The manuscript comprises 140 folios and has a small, horizontal format that is unusual. Several of the folios are noticeably shorter than the rest, causing considerable fluctuations in the dimensions of the pages and even creating an impression of untidiness in some parts. There are a number of other irregularities in the parchment, some minor and others more striking. All this leads to the valid assumption that MS Lat. 2718 was manufactured using scraps of parchment left over from the production of other works such as charters. The codex is written for the most part in Carolingian minuscule, a standard book script. In addition, there are passages in Tironian notes, which was a system of Roman shorthand commonly used in the Frankish imperial chancellery and in the monastic scriptoria of the time.


Fig. 2: Paris, BN, MS Lat. 2718, fol. 26r. Considerable
irregularities in the folios due to the use of leftover scraps
of parchment. © Bibliothèque nationale de France
(http://gallica.bnf.fr) > Enlarge

As far as the content is concerned, we find a broad range of different texts here. The manuscript is primarily made up of theological texts, predominantly treatises and essays by church fathers Augustine of Hippo (354–430) and Cyprian of Carthage (?–258), but it also contains shorter theological “handbooks”, sermons and excerpts. Besides the theological works, there is also a letter from Charlemagne to Alcuin of York (?–804) and the monastic community of St Martin in Tours as well as a series of texts from the legal field. These include 55 charter formulae known as the Formulae imperiales, which were model texts for drawing up charters. They are based on actual diplomas issued by Louis the Pious and occur in eight different groups throughout the manuscript. Besides the formulae, the manuscript contains a number of noteworthy capitularies. These are texts which – to put it in simple terms – can be defined as decrees and announcements made by Frankish rulers. Some of them had a “legislative” or administrative character, while others were intended for the purpose of religious instruction. The present manuscript involves several works from the years between 817 and 821, which was also the period of Louis the Pious’s reign. For two of the capitularies and one of the theological texts, the author has chosen the typical stenographic shorthand of the time – the same as is used for the Formulae imperiales.


Fig. 3: Paris, BN, MS Lat. 2718, fol. 80v. Use of Tironian notes
and clear change of ink. © Bibliothèque nationale de France
(http://gallica.bnf.fr) > Enlarge

The formulae and capitularies help us to localise the codex more precisely. What we have here is a manuscript which was clearly produced within an extremely close radius of the imperial chancellery. In other words, it can be ascribed to the immediate environs of the imperial court. Where else could the scribe have accessed the complete set of charter texts on which the Formulae imperiales are based and which are aimed at an audience extending across the entire empire? Moreover, where else could one expect commensurate interest in a collection such as this, if not here? The transcript of the capitularies also indicates that the manuscript – not per se, but in conjunction with the formulae – was produced in close proximity to the court. The same applies to the Tironian notes, in which only a handful of large monasteries besides the royal chancellery were proficient.

It thus seems reasonable to assume that the owner of the manuscript was a member of the chancellery of Louis the Pious who also had a link to the Basilica of St Martin in Tours. Besides originating from there, the manuscript also has connections to St Martin as regards content – the aforementioned letter from Charlemagne comes to mind, for example. The question remains as to whether the author was perhaps the notary Hirminmaris, who is often mentioned in this context. He is presumed to have been a monk at St Martin’s and was employed in the imperial chancellery from 816 to 839. Likewise, we can only speculate about whether Abbot Fridugis of Tours (?–834), who was head of the imperial chancellery from 819 to 832, was perhaps the personal link between the two institutions and possibly brought the codex from the court to St Martin’s. As unsatisfactory as it may be, this remains little more than guesswork – we should not be overhasty in attempting to link MS Lat. 2718 to a specific name.


Fig. 4: Paris, BN, MS Lat. 2718, fol. 76r. Below: start of the
famous “Ordinatio imperii”. © Bibliothèque nationale de
France (http://gallica.bnf.fr) > Enlarge



Fig. 5: Paris, BN, MS Lat. 2718, fol. 45r. Augustine text with
a striking hole in the parchment. © Bibliothèque nationale
de France (http://gallica.bnf.fr) > Enlarge

One thing is certain, however: the significance of the Paris manuscript for academic research cannot be overestimated. Alone the unique way in which the Formulae imperiales or the Ordinatio imperii – an edict issued by Louis the Pious in 817 to establish the terms for his succession – are transmitted in the manuscript make it an invaluable source for historical research. Moreover, what we have in front of us appears essentially to be a type of personal notebook – the private compilation of someone from the immediate environs of the court of Louis the Pious. The manuscript, which perhaps started as a theological compendium, but was also being used for other entries within less than a quarter of a century, appears to contain everything deemed worthy of recording by its author – motivated either by pragmatic reasons or by personal interests. The resulting multiple-text manuscript was converted into a composite manuscript, probably in the twelfth century, by re-copying part of the Augustine text at the start and adding the copy to the bound pages – all for no apparent reason. Whoever was responsible in the ninth century for producing the manuscript must have had the best of insights into charter production and other standard business within the empire, and indeed into the political events of the time – this is obvious from a quick glance at the codex. The same conclusion is supported not least by one of the theological texts, the majority of which are initially unremarkable and appear to comply with the general interests and trends of the ninth century. However, John Chrysostom’s (?–407) “Compunction of the Heart” (De conpunctione cordis) is a further example of a work which can most definitely be interpreted as a reaction to the political and religious context of the time, namely to the crisis of the 820s which culminated in the public penance by Emperor Louis the Pious in Soissons (833). So all in all, it is hardly an exaggeration to speak of a notebook “from the centre of power”.



References

GANZ, David (2004): “Paris BN Latin 2718: Theological Texts in the Chapel and the Chancery of Louis the Pious”. In: Oliver Münsch / Thomas Zotz (Hgg.): Scientia veritatis. Festschrift für Hubert Mordek zum 65. Geburtstag. Ostfildern: Thorbecke, 137–152.

JOHANEK, Peter (1996): “Herrscherdiplom und Empfängerkreis. Die Kanzlei Ludwigs des Frommen in der Schriftlichkeit der Karolingerzeit“. In: Rudolf Schieffer (Hg.): Schriftkultur und Reichsverwaltung unter den Karolingern. Referate des Kolloquiums der Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften am 17./18. Februar 1994 in Bonn (Abhandlungen der Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 97). Opladen: Westdeutscher Verlag, 167–188.

McKITTERICK, Rosamond (1989): The Carolingians and the written word. Cambridge u. a.: Cambridge University Press.

MERSIOWSKY, Mark (2004): “Saint-Martin de Tours et les chancelleries carolingiennes“. In: Philippe Depreux / Bruno Judic (Hgg.), Alcuin, de York à Tours. Écriture, pouvoir et réseaux dans l’Europe du haut Moyen Âge (Annales de Bretagne et des Pays de l’Ouest 111/3). Rennes: Presses Universitaires de Rennes, 73–90.

MORDEK, Hubert (1995): Bibliotheca capitularium regum Francorum manuscripta. Überlieferung und Traditionszusammenhang der fränkischen Herrschererlasse (MGH Hilfsmittel 15). München: Monumenta Germaniae Historica, 422–430.

RIO, Alice (2009):Legal Practice and the Written Word in the Early Middle Ages. Frankish Formulae, c. 500–1000 (Cambridge Studies in Medieval Life and Thought. Fourth Series 75). Cambridge u. a.: Cambridge University Press.


Description

Current owner: Paris, Bibliothèque nationale de France
Shelf mark: Ms. lat. 2718
Material: Parchment, 140 foll.
Dimension: 100–160 x 240–250 mm
Provenance: Chancellery Louis the Pious / Basilica of St Martin in Tours; second quarter 9th century (around 830)
Digital representation: http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b105000058.r=2718.langEN


Text by Sarah Patt

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

04/2015 manuskript  des monats


Himmlisches und Irdisches

Ein Notizbuch aus dem Zentrum der Macht

Unscheinbar und schmucklos präsentiert es sich, das Ms. lat. 2718 der Pariser Nationalbibliothek. Mit seiner wenig ansprechenden Ausgestaltung und unsystematisch wirkenden Aneinanderreihung von Texten scheint der Kodex zunächst wenig Spektakuläres zu bieten. Tatsache aber ist: Obwohl es sich weit weniger prachtvoll gibt als manch anderes zeitgenössisches Stück, handelt es sich doch um eines der bemerkenswertesten Manuskripte des 9. Jahrhunderts. Das gilt schon für seine ungewöhnliche äußere Form, erst recht aber für seine heterogenen Inhalte, die sich nur schwer auf einen Nenner bringen lassen. Dabei enthält dieses Manuskript die einzigen Überlieferungen einiger zentraler Texte aus der Regierungszeit Kaiser Ludwigs des Frommen (814–840), des Sohnes und Nachfolgers Karls des Großen. Was steckt hinter diesem erstaunlichen Kodex?


Abb. 1: Paris, BnF, Ms. lat. 2718, fol. 72r. Ende eines
theologischen Textes und Beginn der ersten „Formulae
imperiales“-Gruppe.
© Bibliothèque nationale de France (http://gallica.bnf.fr)
> Vergrößerung

Die schlichte Gebrauchshandschrift ist aus dem Bestand des Klosters St. Martin in Tours überliefert und wird von der Forschung in das zweite Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts datiert. Sie umfasst insgesamt 140 Folioseiten in einem kleinen, ungewöhnlichen Querformat. Einige Blätter sind merklich kürzer als der Rest, was erhebliche Größenschwankungen nach sich zieht und teilweise einen unordentlichen Eindruck vermittelt. Hinzu kommen zahlreiche andere kleinere und größere Unregelmäßigkeiten des Pergaments. Das alles legt die begründete Vermutung nahe, dass bei der Herstellung des Ms. lat. 2718 Pergamentreste Verwendung gefunden haben, die aus anderweitiger Fertigung – etwa im Rahmen der Urkundenproduktion – übrig geblieben waren. Geschrieben ist der Kodex weitgehend in gewöhnlicher Buchschrift, d. h. in Karolingischer Minuskel. Daneben aber gibt es auch Passagen in sogenannten Tironischen Noten, einer in der fränkischen Herrscherkanzlei und den klösterlichen Skriptorien jener Zeit verwendeten römischen Kurzschrift.


Abb. 2: Paris, BnF, Ms. lat. 2718, fol. 26r. Erhebliche
Unregelmäßigkeiten der Blätter bedingt durch die Verwendung
von Pergamentresten.
© Bibliothèque nationale de France (http://gallica.bnf.fr)
> Vergrößerung

Mit Blick auf den Inhalt findet sich eine breite Palette unterschiedlicher Texte. Dabei enthält die Handschrift überwiegend Theologisches, darunter vor allem Traktate und Abhandlungen der Kirchenväter Augustinus von Hippo (354–430) und Cyprian von Karthago (?–258), aber auch kleinere theologische „Handbücher“, Predigten und Exzerpte. Jenseits der theologischen Werke finden sich ein Brief Karls des Großen an Abt Alkuin (?–804) und die Klostergemeinschaft von St. Martin in Tours sowie eine Reihe von Texten, die der rechtlichen Sphäre zuzuordnen sind. Dazu zählen einerseits 55 Urkundenformeln, die sogenannten Formulae imperiales. Hierbei handelt es sich um Mustertexte für die Ausstellung von Urkunden. Sie beruhen nachweislich auf tatsächlich ausgefertigten Diplomen Ludwigs des Frommen und verteilen sich in insgesamt acht Gruppen über das gesamte Manuskript. Neben den Formeln sind die in der Handschrift enthaltenen Kapitularien hervorzuheben, Texte, die sich – vereinfacht gesagt – als Erlasse und Verlautbarungen der fränkischen Herrscher definieren lassen und „gesetzgeberischen“, administrativen oder auch religiös-belehrenden Charakter haben können. Im vorliegenden Fall handelt es sich um einige Stücke aus den Jahren 817 bis 821, also ebenfalls aus der Zeit Ludwigs des Frommen. Wie für sämtliche Formulae imperiales, so hat der Redaktor auch für zwei der Kapitularien, ferner für einen der theologischen Texte zur stenographischen Kurzschrift seiner Zeit gegriffen.


Abb. 3: Paris, BnF, Ms. lat. 2718, fol. 80v. Verwendung
Tironischer Noten und deutlicher Tintenwechsel.
© Bibliothèque nationale de France (http://gallica.bnf.fr)
> Vergrößerung

Formeln und Kapitularien weisen den Weg zu einer genaueren Verortung des Kodex. Was wir hier vor uns haben, ist eine Handschrift, die nach Lage der Dinge ganz offenbar im engsten Umkreis der Herrscherkanzlei entstanden sein muss, die also dem direkten Umfeld des kaiserlichen Hofes zuzurechnen ist. Wo, wenn nicht hier, hätte der Redaktor an all die Urkundentexte gelangen können, die den Formulae imperiales zugrunde liegen und die sich an ein Empfängerspektrum richten, das sich über das gesamte Reich erstreckt? Wo wird man überdies ein entsprechendes Interesse an einer solchen Sammlung erwarten dürfen, wenn nicht hier? Auch die Abschrift der Kapitularien deutet – nicht per se, aber doch in der Zusammenschau mit den Formeln – auf einen hofnahen Entstehungskontext der Handschrift. Dasselbe gilt für die außerhalb der Königskanzlei wohl nur in wenigen größeren Klöstern beherrschten Tironischen Noten.

Die Vermutung liegt demnach nahe, dass es sich beim Besitzer der Handschrift um einen Angehörigen der Kanzlei Ludwigs des Frommen handelte, der wohl zugleich in Beziehung zum Martinskloster in Tours stand, zu dem sich in inhaltlicher Hinsicht – also über die bloße Provenienz hinaus – ebenfalls Verbindunglinien ergeben. Zu denken ist etwa an den bereits angesprochenen Brief Karls des Großen. Ob es sich beim Verfasser um den in diesem Zusammenhang oft genannten Notar Hirminmaris handelt, der vermutlich Mönch in St. Martin und zwischen 816 und 839 in der kaiserlichen Kanzlei tätig war, muss offenbleiben. Auch darüber, ob vielleicht Abt Fridugis von Tours (?–834) die personelle Verbindung zwischen beiden Institutionen herstellt, der Kodex womöglich mit ihm, der zwischen 819 und 832 als Chef der kaiserlichen Kanzlei fungierte, vom Hof nach St. Martin gelangt ist, lässt sich bestenfalls spekulieren. So unbefriedigend es ist: Über Vermutungen ist hier schwerlich hinauszukommen, und man wird sich davor hüten müssen, das Ms. lat. 2718 allzu rasch an einen konkreten Namen knüpfen zu wollen.


Abb. 4: Paris, BnF, Ms. lat. 2718, fol. 76r. Unten: Beginn der
berühmten „Ordinatio imperii“.
© Bibliothèque nationale de France (http://gallica.bnf.fr)
> Vergrößerung



Abb. 5: Paris, BnF, Ms. lat. 2718, fol. 45r. Augustinus-Text
mit markantem Loch im Pergament.
© Bibliothèque nationale de France (http://gallica.bnf.fr)
> Vergrößerung

Sicher aber ist: Die heute in Paris befindliche Handschrift ist in ihrem Wert für die Wissenschaft kaum zu überschätzen. Schon ihre einzigartige Überlieferung der genannten Formulae imperiales oder der Ordinatio imperii, der Nachfolgeordnung Ludwigs des Frommen aus dem Jahr 817, macht sie zu einem Glücksfall für die historische Forschung. Was wir aber darüber hinaus vor uns haben, ist – zumindest in seinen Hauptbestandteilen – allem Anschein nach eine Art persönliches Notizbuch, die private Kompilation einer Person aus dem unmittelbaren höfischen Umfeld Ludwigs des Frommen. Die vielleicht als theologisches Kompendium begonnene, dann aber in wahrscheinlich weniger als einem Vierteljahrhundert auch für andere Eintragungen genutzte Handschrift scheint dabei alles zu enthalten, was ihrem Verfasser aus bestimmten Gründen – pragmatischen Motiven ebenso wie persönlichen Interessen – als aufnehmenswert erschien. Dieses Multiple-Text Manuscript wurde, vermutlich im 12. Jahrhundert, dadurch in ein Composite Manuscript umgewandelt, dass ein Teil des zu Beginn stehenden Augustinus-Textes ohne nachvollziehbaren Grund nochmals kopiert und eingebunden wurde. Dass es sich bei demjenigen, der für die Anfertigung dieser Handschrift im 9. Jahrhundert verantwortlich ist, um jemanden handeln muss, der beste Einblicke in die Urkundenproduktion und sonstigen Geschäfte des Reiches, wie überhaupt in die politischen Geschehnisse der Zeit, gehabt haben dürfte, daran ist nach einem Blick in den Kodex nicht zu zweifeln. Dafür spricht nicht zuletzt einer der theologischen Texte, die größtenteils zunächst wenig Auffälliges bieten und sich in allgemeine Interessen und Tendenzen des 9. Jahrhunderts einzufügen scheinen. Mit Johannes Chrysostomos’ (?–407) „Die Zerknirschung des Herzens“ (De conpunctione cordis) findet sich jedoch auch ein Werk, das durchaus als Reflex auf den politisch-religiösen Kontext der Zeit, nämlich auf die Krise der 820er Jahre, die ihren Höhepunkt im öffentlichen Bußakt Kaiser Ludwigs des Frommen in Soissons (833) fand, verstanden werden kann. Insgesamt ist es demnach kaum übertrieben, wenn oben von einem Notizbuch „aus dem Zentrum der Macht“ die Rede ist.



Literatur

GANZ, David (2004): „Paris BN Latin 2718: Theological Texts in the Chapel and the Chancery of Louis the Pious”. In: Oliver Münsch / Thomas Zotz (Hgg.): Scientia veritatis. Festschrift für Hubert Mordek zum 65. Geburtstag. Ostfildern: Thorbecke, 137–152.

JOHANEK, Peter (1996): „Herrscherdiplom und Empfängerkreis. Die Kanzlei Ludwigs des Frommen in der Schriftlichkeit der Karolingerzeit“. In: Rudolf Schieffer (Hg.): Schriftkultur und Reichsverwaltung unter den Karolingern. Referate des Kolloquiums der Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften am 17./18. Februar 1994 in Bonn (Abhandlungen der Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften 97). Opladen: Westdeutscher Verlag, 167–188.

McKITTERICK, Rosamond (1989): The Carolingians and the written word. Cambridge u. a.: Cambridge University Press.

MERSIOWSKY, Mark (2004): „Saint-Martin de Tours et les chancelleries carolingiennes“. In: Philippe Depreux / Bruno Judic (Hgg.), Alcuin, de York à Tours. Écriture, pouvoir et réseaux dans l’Europe du haut Moyen Âge (Annales de Bretagne et des Pays de l’Ouest 111/3). Rennes: Presses Universitaires de Rennes, 73–90.

Mordek, Hubert (1995): Bibliotheca capitularium regum Francorum manuscripta. Überlieferung und Traditionszusammenhang der fränkischen Herrschererlasse (MGH Hilfsmittel 15). München: Monumenta Germaniae Historica, 422–430.

RIO, Alice (2009): Legal Practice and the Written Word in the Early Middle Ages. Frankish Formulae, c. 500–1000 (Cambridge Studies in Medieval Life and Thought. Fourth Series 75). Cambridge u. a.: Cambridge University Press.



Beschreibung
Paris, Bibliothèque nationale de France
Signatur: Ms. lat. 2718
Material: Pergament, 140 foll.
Maße: 100–160 x 240–250 mm
Herkunft: Kanzlei Kaiser Ludwigs des Frommen / Kloster St. Martin in Tours; zweites Viertel 9. Jh. (um 830)
Digitalisat: http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b105000058.r=2718.langDE



Text von Sarah Patt