last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

05/2015 manuscript  of the month


Birds flying high!

A book about the spiritual journey makes a journey of its very own

The spiritual journey to God by a flock of birds is the central subject of The Conference of the Birds (Manṭiq al-Ṭayr), a narrative poem written in Persian by Farīd al-Dīn ʿAṭṭār of Nishapur, in present-day Iran, around the year 1200. A transcript of this poetic tale is now part of a collection kept by the Berlin State Library – Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation. The colophon in this document tells us that the copy was completed in 1456 by the calligrapher ʿAtīq al-Kātib al-Tūnī. The manuscript was decorated with thirteen colour illustrations a short time later. This makes it one of the earliest manuscripts to illustrate the story of the birds, which raises the question of how the mystical search for God was translated into pictures. Clues such as notes, glosses and the style of the decoration suggest that the manuscript was worked on in a number of different locations. So how did a book about the spiritual journey come to embark on a journey all of its own?


Fig. 1: Ms. or. oct. 268, fol. 13r,
Prophet Muḥammad’s Ascension into
Heavens
, painting and text c. 1456.
The light orange-coloured frame was
probably added in Istanbul during the
first half of the sixteenth century.
© Berlin State Library – Prussian
Cultural Heritage Foundation
> Enlarge



Fig. 3: Ms. or. oct. 268, fol. 3r. The
white inner folio was probably copied
from the original in Istanbul during
the first half of the sixteenth century
and embedded in the light orange-
coloured frame. The glosses in
Ottoman Turkish which appear under-
neath the Persian words were added
later. © Berlin State Library –
Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation
> Enlarge

In a hanging script known as nastaʿlīq, which was a common ductus for poetry in the Iranian region of the fifteenth century, ʿAtīq al-Kātib al-Tūnī penned the text of The Conference of the Birds using twelve lines per page. The fact that we are dealing with a poem is also evident from the rhyming couplets, which the calligrapher has divided into two columns, as was customary at the time. Unlike a newspaper article, which we would read column by column from top to bottom, for example, this text is read continuously from right to left. Relatively evenly dispersed throughout the manuscript, the scribe purposely left thirteen spaces free for illustrations to be added. The pictorial style and the content of the images suggest that they were produced in the west of the Iranian region – possibly in Shiraz, Tabriz or Baghdad.


Fig. 2: Ms. or. oct. 268, fol. 27r,
The Conference of the Birds, painting
and text c. 1456. The light orange-
coloured frame was probably added
in Istanbul during the first half of the
sixteenth century. © Berlin State
Library – Prussian Cultural Heritage
Foundation > Enlarge

The opening illustration in the manuscript depicts Prophet Muḥammad’s ascension into heavens on his mythical steed (fig. 1). A few earlier manuscripts of a different content are illustrated with the same motif, implying that the artist’s work was based on one or more existing models. By making a comparison with other similar illustrations and the corresponding texts, it is possible to establish exactly which part of the Prophet’s ascension is being portrayed: Muḥammad has just left earth to pass through the seven heavens and finally encounter God; he is being welcomed to the skies by angels bearing all kinds of gifts. In this copy of The Conference of the Birds, the painted illustration accompanies a long passage in praise of the Prophet, which was a traditional part of the introduction in Persian Islamic books. For the mystics of Islam, the ascension of the Prophet is a divine role model for their own spiritual journey: exactly like Muḥammad, Sufis seek direct contact with the Almighty. Since this is the very same goal to which the birds aspire in the allegorical tale of The Conference of the Birds, we can assume that this opening picture is intended to provide the beholder with a visual introduction to the theme of the mystical journey.

Another image in the manuscript is a reference to the frame narrative of The Conference of the Birds (fig. 2). Just like the mystical seeker, the birds are not capable of finding the path to God without the guidance of a Sufi sheik. The guiding bird in the poem is the hoopoe – seen perched on a stone at the top left of the picture, addressing its ‘novices’. Nature has endowed the hoopoe with a crown-like crest and a fine robe of brown and black-and-white-striped feathers, as if to accentuate his leadership qualities. When the birds of the world gather and determine that they lack a king, the hoopoe offers to guide them on the mystical path to the king of birds or God bird, Sīmurgh. After some hesitation, the chirping flock embarks on its journey. In response to the many questions and complaints of his fellow birds, the hoopoe recounts a great number of short, poetic anecdotes which are also illustrated in the manuscript. After crossing seven valleys representing the mystical stations and states that must be transcended in the search for spiritual truth, the thirty birds who have persevered right to the end finally arrive at the court of Sīmurgh. All they see there is their own reflection in Sīmurgh – which actually means ‘thirty birds’ in Persian. In other words, they find the king in themselves and themselves in the king.


Fig. 4: Ms. or. oct. 268, fol. 1v, 2r, illuminated title pages, probably
produced in Istanbul during the first half of the sixteenth century.
© Berlin State Library – Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation
> Enlarge

A first stopover on the manuscript’s journey is likely to have been Istanbul, which was the capital of the Ottoman Empire. There are a number of glosses in Ottoman Turkish which would indicate that the manuscript was used there. The glosses are placed below the Persian words and provide a translation (fig. 3). The fact that the manuscript was restored in Istanbul is evident from the illuminated title pages (fig. 4), which mark the beginning of the literary work as a double-page composition. Very similar illuminations are found in manuscripts produced in Istanbul during the first half of the sixteenth century. Typical characteristics of this style are the colourful clusters of lines on the inner side of each folio, the black tendrils and blossoms behind the text cartouches and the interlacing panels of gold and blue, which serve as a background for the arabesques with typical lotus blossom motifs. Although both title pages were illuminated and produced at the same time, we can see on closer inspection that they are actually made up of different leafs. The light-coloured inner leaf featuring calligraphy and text cartouches is contained in a light orange-coloured frame. The transition between the two leafs and the points at which they are glued together is very skilfully concealed by the coloured lines. This dates the framing of all the other leafs in the manuscript to the first half of the sixteenth century – in other words, an early Ottoman restoration which probably involved rebinding all of the framed folios. The majority of the original folios of 1456 are surrounded by the Ottoman frame (fig. 1, 2). Like the title pages (fig. 4), other folios were copied before they were framed (as in fig. 3). Besides the lighter colour of the paper, the fact that the misṭara ruling lines – which served as a writing aid – are so distinctly visible is a clear indication that these particular folios are more recent.


Fig. 5: Ms. or. oct. 268, the flyleaf bears
a watermark from the Italian paper mill
Ingres Fabriano: ‘[I]NGRES MADE IN ITALY’.
Attached to the flyleaf, which was added
when the manuscript was rebound in the
late modern or modern era, there is a
blue slip of paper containing notes
written by Aloys Sprenger.
© Berlin State Library – Prussian Cultural
Heritage Foundation > Enlarge

Onto a blue slip of paper, pasted into the manuscript, Tyrol-born Aloys Sprenger (1813–1893) noted the previous ownership of “Silvestre de Sacy” (fig. 5). Paris orientalist Antoine Isaac Silvestre de Sacy (1758–1838) was well connected with dignitaries and ambassadors in Istanbul. Around 1800, the manuscript might have been purchased there and have set off on a journey to Europe. When in 1888 Wilhelm Pertsch catalogued the manuscript of The Conference of the Birds, it was yet part of the collection of the Royal Library in Berlin. And so the manuscript reached the end of its journey.



References

PERTSCH, Wilhelm (1888): Verzeichniss der persischen Handschriften von Wilhelm Pertsch. Berlin: A. Asher, 777, Nr. 753.

STCHOUKINE, Ivan (1971): Verzeichnis der orientalischen Handschriften in Deutschland. Illuminierte islamische Handschriften. Wiesbaden: Steiner, 20–23, Nr. 3, Taf. 1, 2, 14.

STURKENBOOM, Ilse (2014): “Eine illustrierte Handschrift von Farīd ad-Dīn ʿAṭṭārs Vogelgesprächen Manṭiq aṭ-Ṭayr in der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz”. In: Lorenz Korn, Birgitt Hoffmann, Stefanie Stricker (Hg.):Aus Buchwerkstatt und Bibliothek. Manuskriptkulturen des Mittelalters in Orient und Okzident. Bamberg: University of Bamberg Press, 173–230.


Description

Current owner: Berlin State Library – Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation
Shelf mark: Ms. or. oct. 268
Material: Paper, 198 folios, 12 lines per page in two columns, 13 colour illustrations, illuminated title pages, brown leather binding with flap
Dimension: ca. 16 x 9,5 cm (inner leaf), 25,0 x 15,6 cm (outer frame)
Provenance: 860/1456 CE, probably originated in Western Iran. Apparently in early-sixteenth-century Istanbul, the inners leafs were reframed, few inner leafs were newly produced and the illumination of the title pages was executed.
Digital representation: http://digital.staatsbibliothek-berlin.de/werkansicht/?PPN=PPN616608314



Text by Ilse Sturkenboom

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

05/2015 manuskript  des monats


Die Vögel fliegen aus!

Ein Buch über die spirituelle Reise wird zu einem reisenden Buch

Die spirituelle Reise einer Gruppe von Vögeln zu Gott stellt das zentrale Thema des Gedichtes Vogelgespräche (Manṭiq at-Ṭayr) dar, das Farīd ad-Dīn ʿAṭṭār aus Nischapur im heutigen Iran um 1200 auf Persisch verfasste. Eine Abschrift dieser poetischen Erzählung findet sich heute in der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz. Sie wurde laut Kolophon 1456 vom Kalligraphen ʿAtīq al-Kātib at-Tūnī angefertigt und wenig später mit dreizehn farbigen Illustrationen versehen. Hiermit ist diese Handschrift eine der frühesten, die diese Geschichte bebildern, und es stellt sich die Frage, wie die mystische Gottsuche malerisch umgesetzt worden ist. Indizien wie Notizen, Glossen und der Stil der Dekoration weisen auf weitere Rezeptionen an verschiedenen Orten hin. Wie wurde aus diesem Buch des spirituellen Reisens ein reisendes Buch?


Abb. 1: Ms. or. oct. 268, fol. 13r,
Die Himmelfahrt des Propheten
Muḥammad
, Malerei und Text um
1456. Der leicht orangefarbene
Rahmen wurde wohl in Istanbul in der
ersten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts
hinzugefügt. © Staatsbibliothek zu
Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz
> Vergrößerung



Abb. 3: Ms. or. oct. 268, fol. 3r. Das
innere, weiße Blatt wurde wohl
in Istanbul in der ersten Hälfte des
16. Jahrhunderts vom Original kopiert
und in den leicht orangefarbenen
Rahmen eingefasst. Erst danach wurden
die osmanischen Glossen unter die
persischen Wörter notiert.
© Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin –
Preußischer Kulturbesitz
> Vergrößerung

Im kursiven Duktus nastaʿlīq, einem gängigen Schrifttypus für Dichtung im iranischen Bereich des 15. Jahrhunderts, schrieb ʿAtīq al-Kātib at-Tūnī den Text der Vogelgespräche in zwölf Zeilen pro Seite nieder. Dass es sich um ein Gedicht handelt, ist zudem an den sich reimenden Halbversen zu sehen, die der Kalligraph in zwei Spalten aufteilte, wie es damals üblich war. Anders als beispielsweise bei uns einen Zeitungsartikel liest man den Text nicht Spalte für Spalte von oben nach unten, sondern durchgehend von rechts nach links. Relativ gleichmäßig über das Manuskript verteilt, ließ der Schreiber gezielt dreizehn Stellen für Illustrationen frei. Der malerische Stil und die Sujets der Bilder weisen darauf hin, dass sie im Westen des iranischen Gebietes – etwa in Schiras, Täbris oder Bagdad – angefertigt wurden.


Abb. 2: Ms. or. oct. 268, fol. 27r,
Die Versammlung der Vögel, Malerei
und Text um 1456. Der leicht orange-
farbene Rahmen wurde wohl in
Istanbul in der ersten Hälfte des 16.
Jahrhunderts hinzugefügt. © Staats-
bibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer
Kulturbesitz > Vergrößerung

Als Eröffnungsbild fungiert in dieser Handschrift die Darstellung der Himmelfahrt des Propheten Muḥammad auf seinem mythischen Reittier Burāq (Abb. 1). Dieses Motiv illustriert bereits frühere Manuskripte anderen Inhalts, weswegen es nahe liegt, dass der Maler nach einer oder mehreren Vorlagen arbeitete. Durch Vergleich mit anderen solchen Bildern und den zugehörigen Texten lässt sich genau feststellen, welcher Abschnitt der Himmelsreise des Propheten zu sehen ist: Gerade ist er von der Erde aufgestiegen, um über die sieben Himmel endlich zu Gott zu gelangen, und wird von Engeln mit Gaben im Luftraum willkommen geheißen. In dieser Abschrift der Vogelgespräche begleitet die Malerei das lange Prophetenlob, das traditionell Teil der Einleitung eines persisch-islamischen Buches war. Für islamische Mystiker stellt die Himmelsreise des Propheten ein frommes Vorbild für die eigene spirituelle Reise dar: wie Muḥammad suchen Sufis den direkten Kontakt mit dem Allmächtigen. Da auch die Vögel in der Allegorie der Vogelgespräche diesem Ziel nachstreben, ist anzunehmen, dass diese Eröffnungsmalerei den Betrachter bildlich in das Thema der mystischen Reise einführen soll.

Eine andere Darstellung in der Handschrift bezieht sich auf die Rahmenerzählung der Vogelgespräche (Abb. 2). Wie der Mystiker sind auch die Vögel nicht in der Lage, ohne die Leitung eines Sufi-Scheichs zu Gott zu finden. Diese Aufgabe übernimmt in den Vogelgesprächen der Wiedehopf, der links oben im Bild von einem Stein aus zu seinen Novizen spricht. Als Führer ist der Wiedehopf von Natur aus mit einer Haube als Krone und edlem Mantel aus braunen und schwarz-weiß gestreiften Federn ausgestattet. Gerade haben sich die Vögel versammelt, als ihr Drängen nach einen König laut wird, worauf der Wiedehopf anbietet, sie auf dem mystischen Weg zum Vogelkönig oder Gott Sīmurġ zu führen. Nach etwas Zögern machen die verschiedenen Vögel sich zwitschernd auf den Weg. Auf die vielen Fragen und Beschwerden der Vögel hin erzählt der Wiedehopf immer wieder Begleitgeschichten, die in diesem Manuskript ebenfalls illustriert wurden. Über sieben Täler, die mystischen Stationen und Zuständen entsprechen, gelangen die Vögel endlich an den Hof des Königs oder Gottes Sīmurġ. Dort sehen sich die dreißig Vögel, welche die Reise bis zum Ende mitgemacht haben, im Sīmurġ – was auf Persisch „dreißig Vögel” heißt – widergespiegelt. Sie finden den König in sich selbst und sich selbst im König.


Abb. 4: Ms. or. oct. 268, fol. 1v, 2r, illuminierte Titelseiten, ausgeführt
wohl in Istanbul in der ersten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts.
© Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz > Vergrößerung

Eine erste Etappe in der Reise des Manuskriptes mag Istanbul gewesen sein, die Hauptstadt des osmanischen Reiches. Etliche Glossen in osmanischer Sprache lassen darauf schließen, dass die Handschrift dort benutzt wurde. Sie stehen unter den persischen Wörtern und übersetzen diese (Abb. 3). Dass die Handschrift in Istanbul restauriert wurde, kann an den illuminierten Titelseiten (Abb. 4) festgemacht werden, die als doppelseitige Komposition den Anfang des literarischen Werkes markieren. Sehr ähnliche Illuminationen finden wir nämlich in Manuskripten, die in der ersten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts in Istanbul angefertigt wurden. Charakteristisch für diesen Stil sind die farbigen Linienbündel an der Innenseite der beiden Blätter, die schwarzen Ranken und Blüten auf dem Hintergrund der Textkartuschen und ineinandergreifende Flächen in Gold und Blau, die als Grund für Arabesken mit typischen Lotus-Blüten dienen. Bei näherer Betrachtung lässt sich weiter erkennen, dass die beiden Titelseiten zwar auf einmal illuminiert und produziert wurden, sie aber aus verschiedenen Blättern bestehen. Das innere, helle Blatt mit Kalligraphie und Textkartuschen wurde in einen leicht orangefarbenen Rahmen eingefasst. Der Übergang zwischen den beiden Blättern und die Stellen, an denen sie zusammengeklebt sind, werden von den farbigen Linien sehr geschickt verdeckt. Hierdurch kann auch die Rahmung aller anderen Blätter des Manuskriptes in die erste Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts datiert und als frühe osmanische Restaurierung erkannt werden, die mit einer Neubindung von allen gerahmten Blättern einhergegangen sein muss. Meistens (so Abb. 1, 2) sind die originalen Blätter von 1456 in den osmanischen Rahmen eingelassen. Andere Seiten (so Abb. 3) wurden wie die Titelseiten (Abb. 4) vor ihrer Rahmung als Kopie neu angefertigt. Neben der helleren Farbe des Papiers ist die gute Sichtbarkeit der eingekerbten misṭara-Linien, die als Schreibhilfe dienten, ein klares Indiz dafür, dass diese Blätter jünger sind.


Abb. 5: Ms. or. oct. 268, Vorsatz mit
dem Wasserzeichen “[I]NGRES MADE IN
ITALY” der italienischen Papiermühle
Ingres Fabriano. Auf dem Vorsatz, der
mit einer spät-neuzeitlichen oder
modernen Neubindung einherging, ist
ein blauer Zettel mit Vermerken des
Aloys Sprenger aufgeklebt. © Staats-
bibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer
Kulturbesitz > Vergrößerung

Auf einem blauen Zettel (Abb. 5), der in die Handschrift eingeklebt wurde, vermerkt der gebürtige Tiroler Aloys Sprenger (1813-1893) einen vorherigen Besitzer als „Silvestre de Sacy“. Der Pariser Orientalist Antoine Isaac Silvestre de Sacy (1758-1838) unterhielt gute Kontakte mit Würdenträgern und Botschaftern in Istanbul. Hier dürfte die Handschrift um 1800 angekauft worden sein und ihre Reise nach Europa angetreten haben. Als Wilhelm Pertsch das Manuskript der Vogelgespräche 1888 katalogisierte, war es bereits Teil der Königlichen Bibliothek zu Berlin. Somit kam auch die Reise der Handschrift zu einem Ende.



Literatur

PERTSCH, Wilhelm (1888): Verzeichniss der persischen Handschriften von Wilhelm Pertsch. Berlin: A. Asher, 777, Nr. 753.

STCHOUKINE, Ivan (1971): Verzeichnis der orientalischen Handschriften in Deutschland. Illuminierte islamische Handschriften. Wiesbaden: Steiner, 20–23, Nr. 3, Taf. 1, 2, 14.

STURKENBOOM, Ilse (2014): “Eine illustrierte Handschrift von Farīd ad-Dīn ʿAṭṭārs Vogelgesprächen Manṭiq aṭ-Ṭayr in der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz”. In: Lorenz Korn, Birgitt Hoffmann, Stefanie Stricker (Hg.): Aus Buchwerkstatt und Bibliothek. Manuskriptkulturen des Mittelalters in Orient und Okzident. Bamberg: University of Bamberg Press, 173–230.



Beschreibung
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz
Signatur: Ms. or. oct. 268
Material: Papier, 198 Blatt, 12 Zeilen pro Seite in zwei Spalten, 13 Illustrationen in Farbe, illuminierte Titelseiten, brauner Ledereinband mit Klappe.
Maße: ca. 16 x 9,5 cm (inneres Blatt), 25,0 x 15,6 cm (äußerer Rahmen)
Herkunft: 860/1456 u. Z., wahrscheinlich in Westiran entstanden. Wohl in Istanbul wurden in der ersten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts die inneren Blätter neu gerahmt, einige Blätter neu angefertigt, und die Illumination der Titelseiten ausgeführt.
Digitalisat: http://digital.staatsbibliothek-berlin.de/werkansicht/?PPN=PPN616608314



Text von Ilse Sturkenboom