last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

06/2015 manuscript  of the month


The Art of Protection

An Illuminated Magical Manuscript from Nepal

This substantial and carefully designed Sanskrit manuscript originates from Nepal and dates to 1719 CE. The colophon contains detailed information about a Buddhist layman who sponsored its production. Trailokara was a pious follower of the Doctrine who decided to have a huge collection of incantation texts written down in a single bundle, illustrated not only with beautiful miniature paintings of various deities but a group depiction of his own family as well. But what were the motivations of this householder from Kathmandu to engage in such an ambitious and no doubt costly project?


Fig. 1: Worship traces on the cover board > Enlarge

This manuscript contains 181 texts altogether and some of these are grouped under five sub-colophons referring to the Buddha, the Doctrine, the Community, the Seven Buddhas and the Five Protections. There are 150 spells (dhāraṇī), 12 praises (stotra), 12 worship manuals (sādhana) and 7 other texts included. Twelve of these are complete and extensive pieces, the longest being a 'Perfection of Wisdom' (Prajñāpāramitā) scripture stretching to 30 folios. Curiously, a few texts are incorporated twice in the bundle at different places. The most recurring tradition is that of the 'Flow of Wealth' (Vasudhārā) which appears five times in total in separate versions. It is worth noting that this manuscript contains a handful of non-Buddhist works as well, including praises of sacred places, the deity Bhīmasena, and planet Saturn.


Fig. 2: The illustrated inner side of the cover board > Enlarge

While being a rich source of Buddhist incantations, this manuscript is more than a repository of texts: it is a piece of art as well – perhaps the most beautiful one in its category. Its yellow coloured paper leaves have been marked by a balanced hand in black ink. The titles are neatly highlighted in red colour and the different texts are separated from each other by flower-like ornaments (puṣpikā). Two of the folios contain high-quality miniature paintings: one depicts a powerful Buddha, another the donor's family with Mañjuśrī Bodhisattva in the middle. The inner sides of the two wooden covers are also decorated in colour: twice three goddesses are depicted in a charming fashion.


Fig. 3: A folio with a Buddhist deity (1v) > Enlarge

Trailokara's manuscript belongs to a genre called 'Spell Collection' (Dhāraṇīsaṃgraha) of which dozens of bundles survive. The number of magical texts included in these voluminous bundles vary considerably: from about 150 to more than 350. There seems to be a core of ca. 150 texts present in all the longer compendia, however, their sequence is not completely fixed. The earliest witness of this tradition dates back to the 13th century (Cambridge MS Add. 1680.8) and probably reflects a more ancient practice.


Fig. 4: The donor's family with Mañjuśrī Bodhisattva in the middle (223v) > Enlarge

Spells have played an important role in South Asian Buddhism since at least the beginning of the Common Era and the present manuscript from the Kathmandu Valley is a good example how much esteemed and influential incantation cultures have been in the region. Trailokara's undertaking had the aspiration to gain both religious merit and worldly welfare and this resulted in an exquisite artefact, a high-end market product for a prosperous Buddhist family which served as a revered apotropaic object in their home. For modern scholars such a manuscript is a great source of information for Sanskrit spell literature and helpful for the study of the fascinating world of Newar traditions.

It is unclear how long this impressive set remained in the possession of later generations of Trailokara's family; what we do know is that in 1875 Dr. Daniel Wright, surgeon to the British Residency in Kathmandu, a collector of manuscripts, purchased this bundle and shortly afterwards it was shipped to England and deposited at the Cambridge University Library. It was first studied by the Sanskrit scholar, Cecil Bendall in 1883. After a dormant period of more than 130 years this codex was digitized and made accessible online by the Cambridge Sanskrit Manuscripts Project in 2014.


Fig. 5: A folio with floral designs and highlighted titles (220v) > Enlarge

The story of this manuscript can be traced down remarkably well thanks primarily to the comprehensive colophon on the last two folios. It informs the reader that in the reign of king Jayamahendrasiṃha Malla (1714-1722) a certain Buddhist of the Śākyabhikṣu lineage named Trailokara who belonged to the Pārāvata Mahāvihāra monastery (modern day Ituṃ Bāhā) commissioned a scribe called Patideva of the Tarumūla Mahāvihāra (modern day Sikhamu Bāhā) to produce this compendium for him and his family members, namely two wives, three sons, two daughters, a grandson and a daughter-in-law. As it is stated, the family hoped to gain merit, protection, health and welfare from the composition of this manuscript because such an object is considered to embody auspicious and apotropaic qualities. This bundle of more than two-hundred paper leaves was put between two wooden covers and meant to be kept at the donor's home. It is evident from traces of ritual substances on the top binding board that the whole book was venerated as a cultic object and it may also have been opened occasionally and read out aloud.



References

BENDALL, Cecil (1883): Catalogue of the Buddhist Sanskrit Manuscripts in the University Library, Cambridge: With Introductory Notices and Illustrations of the Palaeography and Chronology of Nepal and Bengal. Cambridge: University Press.

DAVIDSON, Ronald (2014): Studies in Dhāraṇī Literature III: Seeking the Parameters of a Dhāraṇī-piṭaka, the Formation of the Dhāraṇīsaṃgrahas, and the Place of the Seven Buddhas. In: R.K. Payne (ed.) Scripture: Canon: Text: Context. Essays Honoring Lewis Lancaster. Berkeley: Institute of Buddhist Studies and BDK America, Inc.: 119-180.

KIM, Jinah (2013): Receptacle of the Sacred: Illustrated Manuscripts and the Buddhist Book Cult in South Asia. Berkeley: University of California Press.


Description

Shelfmark: Cambridge University Library MS Add. 1326
Material: yellow paper, two wooden covers
Dimensions: 225 folios of 10 x 40 cm
Provenance: Kathmandu, Nepal 839 NS/1719 CE
Digital representation: http://cudl.lib.cam.ac.uk/view/MS-ADD-01326/1



Text by Gergely Hidas

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

06/2015 manuskript  des monats


Die Kunst des Beschützens

Eine illuminierte magische Handschrift aus Nepal

Dieses bedeutende und sorgfältig gestaltete Sanskrit-Manuskript aus dem Jahr 1719 stammt aus Nepal. Im Kolophon sind detaillierte Informationen über einen buddhistischen Laien enthalten, der die Anfertigung des Manuskripts finanziert hat. Trailokara, ein frommer Anhänger der Glaubenslehre, hatte beschlossen, eine immense Sammlung von Zaubersprüchen in einem einzigen Band niederschreiben zu lassen und diesen nicht nur mit wunderschönen Miniaturmalereien von verschiedenen Gottheiten zu bebildern, sondern auch mit einem Gruppenporträt seiner eigenen Familie. Doch was waren die Beweggründe dieses Haushaltsvorstands aus Kathmandu, sich für ein so ambitioniertes und zweifellos kostspieliges Vorhaben einzusetzen?


Abb. 1: Spuren von rituellen Substanzen auf dem vorderen Einband weisen auf einen Gebrauch im Gebet hin. > Vergrößerung

Das Manuskript enthält insgesamt 181 Texte, von denen ein Teil unter fünf Subkolophonen zusammengefasst wurde, die sich auf den Buddha, die Glaubenslehre, die Gemeinschaft, die Sieben Buddhas und die Fünf Schutzzauber beziehen. Im Einzelnen umfasst es 150 Zaubersprüche (dhāraṇī), 12 Lobpreisungen (stotra), 12 Gebetsanleitungen (sādhana) und 7 weitere Texte. Bei 12 Texten handelt es sich um vollständige und umfangreiche Schriften, deren längste, eine Schrift zur „Vollkommenen Weisheit“ (Prajñāpāramitā), sich über 30 Blätter erstreckt. Seltsamerweise wurden einige Texte an verschiedenen Stellen zweimal in das Bündel aufgenommen. Die am häufigsten wiederkehrende Überlieferung taucht insgesamt fünfmal in unterschiedlichen Versionen auf und betrifft den „Strom des Reichtums“ (Vasudhārā). Bemerkenswert ist, dass das Manuskript auch eine Handvoll nichtbuddhistischer Werke enthält, darunter Lobpreisungen heiliger Orte, der Gottheit Bhīmasena und des Planeten Saturn.


Abb. 2: Illustrierte Innenseite des vorderen Einbands. > Vergrößerung

Dieses Manuskript stellt nicht nur eine reichhaltige Quelle für buddhistische Zaubersprüche dar, sondern ist zugleich auch mehr als eine reine Textsammlung: Es ist ein Kunstwerk – und vielleicht das schönste seiner Art. Das gelb gefärbte Papier seiner Blätter wurde von ruhiger Hand in Schwarz beschrieben. Die Überschriften sind in roter Farbe feinsäuberlich hervorgehoben und die verschiedenen Texte durch blütenartige Ornamente (puṣpikā) voneinander getrennt. Zwei Blätter weisen hochwertige Miniaturmalereien auf: Das eine zeigt einen mächtigen Buddha, das andere die Familie des Stifters mit dem Bodhisattva Mañjuśrī im Zentrum. Die Innenseiten der beiden hölzernen Deckel sind mit anmutigen Abbildungen von jeweils drei Göttinnen ebenfalls farbig verziert.


Abb. 3: Blatt mit der Abbildung einer buddhistischen Gottheit (1v). > Vergrößerung

Das Manuskript des Trailokara gehört zur Gattung der „Zauberspruchsammlungen“ (Dhāraṇīsaṃgraha), die in Dutzenden von Bündeln erhalten sind. Die Anzahl der in diesen umfangreichen Bündeln enthaltenen magischen Texte schwankt beträchtlich: zwischen 150 und mehr als 350. Es scheint jedoch einen Kern von etwa 150 Texten zu geben, der ohne vollständig festgelegte Reihenfolge in allen längeren Kompendien vorkommt. Das früheste Zeugnis dieser Tradition stammt aus dem 13. Jahrhundert (Cambridge MS Add. 1680.8) und spiegelt vermutlich eine noch ältere Praxis wider.


Abb. 4: Die Familie des Stifters mit Bodhisattva Mañjuśrī im Zentrum (223v). > Vergrößerung

Zaubersprüche haben im südasiatischen Buddhismus spätestens seit dem Beginn der christlichen Zeitrechnung eine wichtige Rolle gespielt, und das vorliegende Manuskript aus dem Kathmandutal ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür, wie hoch geachtet und einflussreich Kulturen mit Zauberformeln in der Region waren. Trailokaras Vorhaben sollte ihm sowohl religiösen Verdienst als auch weltliches Wohlergehen einbringen, und das Ergebnis seiner Bemühungen war ein erlesenes Artefakt, ein Erzeugnis höchster Güte für eine wohlhabende buddhistische Familie, das im Haushalt dieser Familie als apotropäisches Objekt verehrt wurde. Für die moderne Wissenschaft stellt ein solches Manuskript eine bedeutende Informationsquelle für die Sanskrit-Zauberliteratur dar – und es leistet hilfreiche Dienste bei der Erforschung der faszinierenden Welt der Newar-Traditionen.

Man weiß nicht, wie lange dieses beeindruckende Konvolut im Besitz späterer Generationen der Familie Trailokaras verblieb; bekannt ist nur, dass Dr. Daniel Wright, Handschriftensammler und Wundarzt der Britischen Residenz in Kathmandu, dieses Bündel 1875 erwarb. Kurz darauf wurde es nach England verschickt und der Cambridge University Library zur Verwahrung übergeben. 1883 hat der Sanskritforscher Cecil Bendall es erstmals untersucht. Nach einer mehr als 130 Jahre währenden Ruhephase wurde es digitalisiert und online verfügbar gemacht.


Abb. 5: Blatt mit Blütenmustern und hervorgehobenen Überschriften (220v). > Vergrößerung

Die Geschichte dieses Manuskripts lässt sich vor allem dank des umfassenden Kolophons auf den letzten beiden Blättern bemerkenswert gut nachvollziehen. Dort erfährt der Leser, dass während der Herrschaft des Königs Jayamahendrasiṃha Malla (1714–1722) ein Buddhist aus dem Geschlecht der Śākyabhikṣu namens Trailokara, der dem Kloster Pārāvata Mahāvihāra (dem heutigen Ituṃ Bāhā) angehörte, einen Schreiber namens Patideva aus dem Kloster Tarumūla Mahāvihāra (heute Sikhamu Bāhā) beauftragte, dieses Kompendium für ihn und die Mitglieder seiner Familie – zwei Ehefrauen, drei Söhne, zwei Töchter, einen Enkel und eine Schwiegertochter – anzufertigen. Den weiteren Angaben zufolge versprach sich die Familie von der Zusammenstellung des Manuskripts Reichtum, Schutz, Gesundheit und Wohlergehen, da einem Gegenstand wie diesem Glück verheißende und Unheil abwehrende Eigenschaften zugeschrieben wurden. Das aus mehr als 200 Blatt Papier bestehende Bündel wurde zwischen zwei Holzdeckel gelegt und sollte im Haus des Stifters aufbewahrt werden. Die Spuren von rituellen Substanzen auf dem vorderen Einband deuten darauf hin, dass das ganze Buch als Kultobjekt verehrt und bisweilen auch geöffnet wurde, um laut daraus zu lesen.



Literatur

BENDALL, Cecil (1883): Catalogue of the Buddhist Sanskrit Manuscripts in the University Library, Cambridge: With Introductory Notices and Illustrations of the Palaeography and Chronology of Nepal and Bengal. Cambridge: University Press.

DAVIDSON, Ronald (2014): Studies in Dhāraṇī Literature III: Seeking the Parameters of a Dhāraṇī-piṭaka, the Formation of the Dhāraṇīsaṃgrahas, and the Place of the Seven Buddhas. In: R.K. Payne (ed.) Scripture: Canon: Text: Context. Essays Honoring Lewis Lancaster. Berkeley: Institute of Buddhist Studies and BDK America, Inc.: 119-180.

KIM, Jinah (2013): Receptacle of the Sacred: Illustrated Manuscripts and the Buddhist Book Cult in South Asia. Berkeley: University of California Press.


Beschreibung
Signatur: Cambridge University Library MS Add. 1326
Material: gelbes Papier, zwei hölzerne Deckel
Maße: 225 Blätter à 10 x 40 cm
Herkunft: Kathmandu, Nepal, N.S. 839/1719 n. Chr.
Digitalisat: Digitalisat: http://cudl.lib.cam.ac.uk/view/MS-ADD-01326/1


Text von Gergely Hidas