last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

08/2015 manuscript  of the month


Serendipity in the Tigray Highlands

When a scholar kneels down to look underneath a church cupboard ...

Only a small number of the 200,000-odd Christian Ethiopic parchment manuscripts which are estimated to be extant in Ethiopia, Eritrea and libraries and collections abroad predate the seventeenth century, and even fewer the sixteenth and fifteenth. Those written before the fourteenth century are extremely rare. Non-biblical manuscripts with such early dating are absolute exceptions. The discovery of two folios of a non-biblical pre-thirteenth-century manuscript in 2010 underneath a cupboard in the church of ʿUra Mäsqäl in northern Tigray, close to the Eritrean border, raised a crucial question: which volume did they once belong to? The answer is but one episode in the fascinating story of what has come to be known as the Aksumite Collection.


Fig. 1a (before restoration):
the
Aksumite Collection, end of
the
History of the Alexandrian
Episcopate. MS ʿUra Mäsqäl
Church, UM–039, fol. 13v.

The leaves discovered in 2010 were found by Denis Nosnitsin while he was working on the Ethio-SPaRe project, and turned out to belong to a manuscript that was already known (Figs. 1a–b). First microfilmed and recorded by the anthropologist and art historian Jacques Mercier in 1999 in the woefully disordered state in which it was and the documentation being then committed to the present author for closer study, the 160 unbound leaves of this exceptionally old non-biblical parchment manuscript (Figs. 2a-b) were first digitised by Antonella Brita in 2006 in the church of ʿUra Mäsqäl. They were only occasionally seen by other scholars before the Ethio-SPaRe project digitised it again and sponsored the restoration of the manuscript in 2012 in co-operation with the Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures at the University of Hamburg (CSMC), with Ira Rabin carrying out scientific analyses of evidence provided by Brita.


Fig. 1b (after restoration): the Aksumite Collection, end of
the
History of the Alexandrian Episcopate. MS ʿUra Mäsqäl
Church, UM–039, fol. 13v, put in the right place, and
beginning of
Epistle 70 by Cyprian of Carthage (fol. 14r).

This manuscript revealed surprise after surprise right from the start. The virtual reconstruction of the way the leaves must have been arranged originally, albeit with some of them missing, showed that the 36 texts of the multiple-text manuscript were most probably translated from Christian Greek into Ethiopic no later than the sixth century and were eventually copied for several centuries. This suggested the manuscript should be called the Aksumite Collection, from the name of the historical period of the kingdom of Aksum (second/third to the seventh century) when the collection originated. Some of the model Greek texts were found to be lost; the only surviving parallels were ancient Latin translations in manuscripts from the venerable Biblioteca Capitolare in Verona, Italy. This library was founded in the fifth century and is one of the most ancient libraries in the world, particularly known for its treasure of Latin manuscripts from Late Antiquity and the Early Middle Ages (third/fourth to ninth centuries).


The correlations between manuscripts from such distant and different places – the magnificent library in Verona and the small church collection of ʿUra Mäsqäl in the African highlands, including the manuscript presented here – were unexpected and absolutely striking. In the most ancient and venerated liturgy of the Christian world, the Apostolic Tradition, for example, the genuine antiquity of the formula of the benediction prayer for early produce, including cheese and olives (Figs. 2a–b), previously only known from one Latin manuscript (Verona, Biblioteca Capitolare, Cod. LV (53)), was surprisingly confirmed by the newly discovered Ethiopic manuscript.


Fig. 2a (before restoration): the Aksumite Collection,
articles 6–10 (= Latin 10, 9, 5, 6 and 15), benediction
prayer for cheese and olives (9 = 6), from the Ethiopic
Apostolic Tradition. MS ʿUra Mäsqäl Church, UM-039,
fols. 18v–19r.



Fig. 2b (after restoration): the Aksumite Collection, articles
6–10 (= Latin 10, 9, 5, 6 and 15).

There is actually an even more interesting example of correspondence with works kept in the library of Verona. Following a non-canonical text (apocryphon) on the apostles at the beginning, the Ethiopic manuscript has a History of the Alexandrian Episcopate from its foundation by St Mark up to the fourth century CE. This History, again, has perfect correspondences with Latin samples in a manuscript from Verona: Cod. LX (58). It incorporates some documents from the archives of the Alexandrian episcopal see in Egypt, including two letters (also known from a Latin version) and three so far unknown lists of bishops and their respective dioceses recorded for the episcopates of Bishop Maximus (264–282), Theonas (282–300) and Peter (300–311). These lists – from an Ethiopic manuscript – have provided historians focusing on the history of Christianity with the most complete documentation on bishops and dioceses of early Christian Egypt to date. The Ethiopic History is thus also the earliest historiographical text transmitted in manuscript form that is preserved in Ethiopia.

Studies of the evolution of scripts and the shape of letters (palaeography) as well as other codicological features are unable to provide any absolute dating to a precise year, but only relative indications of the periods before and after the manuscript’s creation. Comparisons with two most ancient Ethiopic New Testament manuscripts – radiocarbon dated to the fifth/sixth centuries – and fourteenth-century manuscripts precisely dated by notes on their production (colophons) establish an approximate dating of the manuscript of ʿUra Mäsqäl to the twelfth/thirteenth century.

The understanding that emanates from the episode of the discovery of two more leaves of the exceptional Ethiopic manuscript under a church cupboard is emblematic of how haphazard accidents can play a role in transmitting, selecting and even destroying the knowledge of the past committed to manuscript books. Having fallen down or been negligently detached from the main bunch of leaves when the manuscript and others were moved to the present location in the years of armed conflict between Ethiopia and Eritrea (1998–2000), the two leaves finally landed on the floor and remained under the cupboard, unseen. The simple but effective gesture of a researcher who knelt down, looked under the cupboard and recovered two detached parchment leaves contributed some important evidence for researchers on manuscripts and Church history.

Very notable for its date, complexity and contents, the presence and significance of this Ethiopic manuscript pose many questions that still await satisfactory answers. As usual, research is already underway at CSMC.



References

BAUSI, Alessandro (2011): “La ‘nuova’ versione etiopica della Traditio apostolica: edizione e traduzione preliminare”. In: Paola Buzi and Alberto Camplani (eds.): Christianity in Egypt: literary production and intellectual trends. Studies in honor of Tito Orlandi (Studia Ephemeridis Augustinianum, 125). Roma: Augustinianum, 19–69.

BAUSI, Alessandro (2014): “Copying, writing, translating: Ethiopia as a manuscript culture”. In: Jörg Quenzer, Dmitry Bondarev and Jan-Ulrich Sobisch (eds.): Manuscript cultures: mapping the field (Studies in Manuscript Cultures, 1). Berlin–New York: de Gruyter, 37–77.

BAUSI, Alessandro (2015): “The Aksumite Collection. Ethiopic multiple text manuscripts”. In: Alessandro Bausi et al. (eds.), Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies. An Introduction. Hamburg: Tredition, 367–372.

BAUSI, Alessandro / CAMPLANI, Alberto (2013): “New Ethiopic Documents for the History of Christian Egypt”. In: Zeitschrift für antikes Christentum. Journal of Ancient Christianity, 17/2–3, 195–227.

Capitolare Verona (2015): “Bibliotheca Capitularis Veronensis”. http://www.capitolareverona.it/ (accessed on 31/07/2015).

NOSNITSIN, Denis (2013): Churches and Monasteries of Tǝgray. A Survey of Manuscript Collections (Supplement to Aethiopica, 1). Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz Verlag, 3–8.

WIPSZYCKA, Ewa (2015): The Alexandrian Church. People and Institutions. The Journal of Juristic Papyrology Supplement, 25. Warszawa: Faculty of Law and Administration of the University of Warsaw, Institute of Archaeology of the University of Warsaw, The Raphael Taubenschlag Foundation.


Description

Ethiopia, Tigray, ʿUra Mäsqäl Church
Shelfmark: C3–IV–73 (Ethio-SPaRe UM-039)
Material: 162 folios, parchment; no cover (original cover lost, new cover added after restoration in 2012), 2 columns, c. 29 lines
Dimensions: 31 x 23 cm
Provenance: place of production unknown; twelfth/thirteenth century



Text by Alessandro Bausi
© for fig. 1a, 2a Ethio-SPaRe 2010; fig. 1b, 2b Ethio-SPaRe 2012

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

08/2015 manuskript  des monats


Zufallsfund in den Tigray-Bergen

Wenn ein Wissenschaftler unter einen Kirchenschrank schaut ...

Nur ein geringer Teil der etwas mehr als 200.000 christlich-äthiopischen Pergamentmanuskripte, die in Äthiopien, Eritrea und Bibliotheken und Sammlungen im Ausland vermutlich noch erhalten sind, gehen auf die Zeit vor dem siebzehnten Jahrhundert und noch weniger auf die Zeit vor dem sechzehnten und fünfzehnten Jahrhundert zurück. Vor dem vierzehnten Jahrhundert geschriebene Manuskripte sind extrem selten. Nichtbiblische Manuskripte solch frühen Datums bilden die absolute Ausnahme. Die Entdeckung zweier Folios eines aus der Zeit vor dem dreizehnten Jahrhunert stammenden nicht-biblischen Manuskripts unter einem Schrank in der Kirche von ʿUra Mäsqäl in Nordtigray nahe der eritreischen Grenze im Jahr 2010 warf eine entscheidende Frage auf: Aus welchem Band stammen sie ursprünglich? Die Antwort ist nur eine Episode in der faszinierenden Geschichte der als Aksumite Collection bekannt gewordenen Sammlung aksumitischer Texte.


Abb. 1a (vor der Restaurierung):
die
Aksumitische Sammlung,
Ende der
Geschichte des
alexandrinischen Episkopats,
MS aus der Kirche in ʿUra Mäsqäl,
UM–039, fol. 13v > Vergrößerung

Die 2010 entdeckten Blätter wurden von Denis Nosnitsin während seiner Arbeit am Ethio-SPaRe-Projekt gefunden. Es stellte sich heraus, dass sie zu einem Manuskript gehörten, das bereits bekannt war (Abb. 1a–b). Das Manuskript, das leider in einem sehr ungeordnetem Zustand war, wurde 1999 vom Anthropologen und Kunsthistoriker Jacques Mercier auf Mikrofilm aufgenommen und erfasst und die Dokumentation wurde dann zur genaueren Untersuchung dem Verfasser übergeben. Die 160 ungebundenen Seiten dieser einzigartigen alten nicht-biblischen Pergamenthandschrift (Abb. 2a–b) wurden 2006 von Antonella Brita in der Kirche von ʿUra Mäsqäl zum ersten Mal digitalisiert. Nur gelegentlich bekamen andere Wissenschaftler sie zu sehen, bis sie im Rahmen des Ethio-SPaRe-Projekts erneut digitalisiert wurden. Das Ethio-SPaRe-Projekt finanzierte 2012 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Sonderforschungsbereich 950 “Manuskriptkulturen in Asien Afrika und Europa” an der Universität Hamburg (CSMC) auch die Restaurierung des Manuskripts, wobei Ira Rabin die wissenschaftlichen Analysen des von Brita zur Verfügung gestellten Materials durchführte.


Abb. 1b (nach der Restaurierung): die Aksumitische Sammlung,
Ende der
Geschichte des alexandrinischen Episkopats, MS aus
der Kirche in ʿUra Mäsqäl, UM–039, fol. 13v, richtig einsortiert,
und Beginn von
Epistel 70 von Cyprian von Karthago (fol. 14r).
> Vergrößerung

Von Anfang an offenbarte dieses Manuskript eine Überraschung nach der anderen. Bei der virtuellen Rekonstruktion der Reihenfolge, in der die Blätter ursprünglich geordnet gewesen sein müssen – auch wenn einige von ihnen fehlen –, stellte man fest, dass die 36 Texte der Sammelhandschrift höchstwahrscheinlich spätestens im sechsten Jahrhundert aus dem christlichen Griechisch ins Äthiopische übersetzt und dann mehrere Jahrhunderte lang kopiert wurden. Somit lag es nahe, das Manuskript nach der Bezeichnung der geschichtlichen Epoche des Königreichs Aksum (zweites/drittes bis siebtes Jahrhundert), aus der die Sammlung stammt, Aksumitische Sammlung zu nennen. Es stellte sich heraus, dass einige der griechischen Textvorlagen verloren gegangen waren. Die einzigen erhaltenen Entsprechungen waren frühere lateinische Übersetzungen in Manuskripten aus der ehrwürdigen Biblioteca Capitolare in Verona, Italien. Diese Bibliothek wurde im fünften Jahrhundert gegründet und gehört damit zu den ältesten der Welt. Bekannt ist sie vor allem für ihren kostbaren Bestand lateinischer Manuskripte aus der Spätantike und dem Frühmittelalter (drittes/viertes bis neuntes Jahrhundert).

Die Übereinstimmungen zwischen Manuskripten aus so weit von einander entfernten und unterschiedlichen Orten – der prächtigen Bibliothek in Verona und der kleinen Kirchensammlung von ʿUra Mäsqäl in den afrikanischen Bergen, in der das hier vorgestellte Manuskript beheimatet ist – waren unerwartet und sehr bemerkenswert. Zum Beispiel bestätigte das neu entdeckte äthiopische Manuskript überraschenderweise, dass die Formel des Dankgebets für eine frühe Produktion bzw. Ernte von Erzeugnissen wie Käse und Oliven (Abb. 2a–b), die man in der ältesten und am meisten verehrten Liturgie der christlichen Welt, der Apostolischen Überlieferung, findet und die man zuvor nur aus einem lateinischen Manuskript (Verona, Biblioteca Capitolare, Cod. LV (53)) kannte, tatsächlich ihren Ursprung in der Antike hatte.


Abb. 2a (vor der Restaurierung): die Aksumitische Sammlung,
Artikel 6–10 (= Latein 10, 9, 5, 6 und 15), Dankgebet für
Käse und Oliven (9 = 6), aus der äthiopischen
Apostolischen
Überlieferung. MS aus der Kirche in ʿUra Mäsqäl, UM-039,
fol. 18v–19r.
> Vergrößerung



Abb. 2b (nach der Restaurierung): die Aksumitische Sammlung,
Artikel 6–10 (= Latein 10, 9, 5, 6 und 15). > Vergrößerung

Es gibt derzeit sogar ein noch interessanteres Beispiel für die Übereinstimmung mit Werken, die in der Bibliothek in Verona aufbewahrt werden. Hinter einem nicht-kanonischen Text (Apokryphon) über die Apostel am Anfang des äthiopischen Manuskripts enthält es eine Geschichte des alexandrinischen Episkopats von seiner Gründung durch Markus bis zum vierten Jahrhundert vor Christus. Auch in dieser Geschichte findet man perfekte Übereinstimmungen mit den lateinischen Vorlagen in einem Manuskript aus Verona: Cod. LX (58). Es enthält einige Dokumente aus den Archiven des alexandrinischen Bischofssitzes in Ägypten, darunter zwei Briefe (auch aus einer lateinischen Version bekannt) und drei bis dato unbekannte Listen von Bischöfen und ihren jeweiligen Diözesen, die für die Episkopate von Bischof Maximus (264–282), Theonas (282–300) und Peter (300–311) erfasst wurden. Durch diese Listen (aus einem äthiopischen Manuskript) erhielten Historiker, die sich schwerpunktmäßig mit der Geschichte des Christentums beschäftigen, die bislang umfassendste Dokumentation über Bischöfe und Diözesen im frühchristlichen Ägypten. Die äthiopische Geschichte ist somit auch der früheste in Äthiopien erhaltene historiographische Text, der in Manuskriptform überliefert wurde.

Studien über die Entwicklung von Schriften und die Form der Buchstaben (Paläographie) sowie andere kodikologische Merkmale lassen keine präzise Datierung auf ein bestimmtes Jahr zu, sondern nur eine relative zeitliche Zuordnung zu den Perioden vor bzw. nach der Erstellung der Manuskripte. Vergleiche mit zwei äußerst alten äthiopischen neutestamentarischen Manuskripten (radiokarbondatiert auf das fünfte oder sechste Jahrhundert) und durch Vermerke über ihre Herstellung (Kolophone) präzise datierten Manuskripten aus dem vierzehnten Jahrhundert ergaben eine ungefähre Datierung des Manuskripts von ʿUra Mäsqäl auf das zwölfte oder dreizehnte Jahrhundert.

Es lässt sich die Erkenntnis ziehen, dass die Geschichte der Entdeckung der beiden Blätter aus dem einzigartigen äthiopischen Manuskript unter einem Kirchenschrank sinnbildlich dafür ist, welche Rolle absolute Zufälle bei der Übertragung, Auswahl und sogar Zerstörung des in Manuskriptbüchern niedergeschriebenen Wissens über die Vergangenheit spielen können. Die beiden Blätter, die aus dem Blattgebinde herausfielen oder unachtsam aus ihm herausgelöst wurden, als sie in den Jahren des bewaffneten Konflikts zwischen Äthiopien und Eritrea (1998–2000) gemeinsam mit anderen Manuskripten zu ihrem heutigen Standort umzogen, landeten schließlich auf dem Fußboden und blieben unentdeckt unter dem Schrank liegen. Mit einer einfachen aber wirkungsvollen Bewegung lieferte ein Forscher, der sich hinkniete, unter den Schrank schaute und dabei zwei losgelöste Pergamentblätter entdeckte, wichtige Hinweise für Manuskript- und Kirchengeschichtswissenschaftler.

Die Existenz und der Stellenwert dieses äthiopischen Manuskripts, das aufgrund seiner Datierung, Komplexität und seines Inhalts bedeutend ist, werfen viele Fragen auf, die noch auf zufriedenstellende Antworten warten. Wie gewohnt läuft bereits die Forschungsarbeit im CSMC.



Literatur

BAUSI, Alessandro (2011): “La ‘nuova’ versione etiopica della Traditio apostolica: edizione e traduzione preliminare”. In: Paola Buzi and Alberto Camplani (Hg.): Christianity in Egypt: literary production and intellectual trends. Studies in honor of Tito Orlandi (Studia Ephemeridis Augustinianum, 125). Roma: Augustinianum, 19–69.

BAUSI, Alessandro (2014): “Copying, writing, translating: Ethiopia as a manuscript culture”. In: Jörg Quenzer, Dmitry Bondarev and Jan-Ulrich Sobisch (Hg.): Manuscript cultures: mapping the field (Studies in Manuscript Cultures, 1). Berlin–New York: de Gruyter, 37–77.

BAUSI, Alessandro (2015): “The Aksumite Collection. Ethiopic multiple text manuscripts”. In: Alessandro Bausi et al. (Hg.),Comparative Oriental Manuscript Studies. An Introduction. Hamburg: Tredition, 367–372.

BAUSI, Alessandro / CAMPLANI, Alberto (2013): “New Ethiopic Documents for the History of Christian Egypt”. In: Zeitschrift für antikes Christentum. Journal of Ancient Christianity, 17/2–3, 195–227.

Capitolare Verona (2015): “Bibliotheca Capitularis Veronensis”. http://www.capitolareverona.it (aufgerufen am 31.07.2015).

NOSNITSIN, Denis (2013): Churches and Monasteries of Tǝgray. A Survey of Manuscript Collections (Supplement to Aethiopica, 1). Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz Verlag, 3–8.

WIPSZYCKA, Ewa (2015): The Alexandrian Church. People and Institutions. The Journal of Juristic Papyrology Supplement, 25. Warszawa: Faculty of Law and Administration of the University of Warsaw, Institute of Archaeology of the University of Warsaw, The Raphael Taubenschlag Foundation.


Beschreibung

Äthiopien, Tigray, Kirche in ʿUra Mäsqäl
Signatur: C3–IV–73 (Ethio-SPaRe UM-039)
Material: 162 Folios, Pergament, kein Deckblatt (Originaldeckblatt verlorengegangen, 2012 nach Restaurierung neues Deckblatt eingefügt), 2 Spalten, ca. 29 Zeilen
Maße: 31 x 23 cm
Herkunft: Herstellungsort unbekannt; zwölftes/dreizehntes Jahrhundert.



Text von Alessandro Bausi
© für Abb. 1a, 2a Ethio-SPaRe 2010; Abb. 1b, 2b Ethio-SPaRe 2012