last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

10/2015 manuscript  of the month


A manuscript in the shape of a sheep’s liver?

This clay object shaped in the form of a sheep’s liver contains a text written in cuneiform on both sides. It was found in the palace of Mari, Syria, was part of a collection of similar objects and is dated to the beginning of the 2nd millennium BCE. What might such an item have been used for?


Fig. 1: Photo of the liver model AO 19829, recto
> Enlarge

This object belongs to a collection of thirty-two liver models found in 1935 by the French archaeologist André Parrot (1901–1980) in the royal palace of Mari (Syria, Middle Euphrates), in the king’s quarters, together with his international correspondence. It dates to the beginning of the 2nd millennium BCE and is now kept at the Musée du Louvre in Paris (Fig. 1).


Fig. 2: Representation of the features on the liver model seen
in Fig. 1 (drawing based on Meyer 1987, p. 197) > Enlarge

This palm-sized model is small compared to real livers. It is made of clay and shows the two lobes, right and left. Moulded pieces of clay represent the main parts: the long gall bladder and the caudate lobe (‘Finger’), which is prismatic and blunt-pointed (Fig. 2). Lines representing the porta hepatis (‘River of the Liver’) and grooves on the lobus sinister representing the impressio reticularis (‘Presence’) and the impressio abomasalis (‘Path’) were made with a stylus and are thus also easy to identify. Abnormalities are marked by incised lines or holes; such marks on the liver were interpreted as omens and ‘read’ by diviners. Additionally, text was inscribed on both sides of the model.

Divination is attested by an enormous number of sources from the beginning of the 2nd millennium to the 2nd century BCE. The most important type of divination took its omen from the presentation of the entrails of a ritually sacrificed animal, usually a lamb. The diviner analysed the characteristics of the internal organs: the liver, lungs, intestines, spleen, etc., the most important one being the liver since it was considered to be the main organ for thoughts and feelings. Moreover, its shape presents a range of peculiarities. The diviner therefore regarded the liver as the ‘tablet of the gods’ and as the main medium able to reveal gods’ wills. In Mari, between three and seven hundred lambs were slaughtered within a specific month for the purpose of divination!


Fig. 3: Photo of the liver model AO 19829, verso
> Enlarge

Clay models of the liver contain both graphic representations and text. Abnormalities are usually represented graphically on the models from Mari, while the predictions they contain are written close to the malformations. On the recto of the liver model in Fig. 1, we can see the gall bladder, the ‘Finger’ and the ‘River of the Liver’, which all look normal. The ‘Path’ is also represented by a light, horizontal line. Any deformities are situated on the left lobe, which was considered a negative zone. The three small vertical lines located at the incisura ligamenti teretis (‘Palace Gate’) were also believed to be unfavourable. The text near these reads: ‘If the mood of the country turns evil [, it will be like that]’.

The three holes pierced through the object also indicate a negative sign. The text on the verso side beside the holes (Fig. 3) is the following: ‘Omen of siege, the one of [the city of] Kish. Breaches were cut through [the defences] in Kish in front of the army, and the army of Ishme-Dagan was captured’. It is certainly based on an earlier copy since Ishme-Dagan is known to have ruled the country during the second half of the 20th century BCE. Thus, this text is linked to an ancient historical event. The connection between the signs on the liver and the event was noted down and registered as an omen. This kind of divination was thus first empirical, based on the observation a posteriori, and was later conceptualised.


Fig. 4: Twelve clay models of the liver
from Mari in a showcase at the Louvre Museum
> Enlarge

Since many texts for divination by examining entrails cover the same content, one may wonder why such liver models existed at all. The liver is a hidden part of the animal which, when cut out of the sacrificed lamb, could not be preserved very long for obvious reasons. Making a model of the liver out of clay would have been very useful if one had wanted to learn about its general shape and parts, view the various deformations of the liver that occurred, read the predictions corresponding to specific abnormalities without mastering complex terminology, or keep a copy of a liver after its examination. Several copies of such livers could be made over time in order to preserve the link between the omen and a particular historical event.

While the character of the model is obvious, one might hesitate to claim this item is a manuscript due to its unusual form. However, there are several reasons why this object could be defined as a manuscript. As mentioned above, the writing material is clay, the most common medium used for cuneiform script: clay cuneiform tablets are portable, self-contained and erasable. Besides this, the liver models (Fig. 4) were used to archive precedents and were kept in the diviner’s house or temple and palace libraries since diviners were often employed by the state to inform and help the king in all his decisions. There may have been various other reasons for these manuscripts being created, including the need to record the appearance of a liver that had been examined, for teaching purposes and to transmit knowledge.



References

GLASSNER, Jean-Jacques (2009): ‘Écrire des livres à l’époque paléo-babylonienne: le traité d’extispicine.’ In: Zeitschrift für Assyriologie, 99, 1–81.

JEYES, Ulla (1989): Old Babylonian Extispicy. Omen Texts in the British Museum (Publications de l’Institut historique-archéologique néerlandais de Stambul, 64). Leiden.

KOCH-WESTENHOLZ, Ulla (2000): Babylonian Liver Omens. The Chapters Manzāzu, Padānu and Pān tākalti of the Babylonian Extispicy Series mainly from Aššurbanipal’s Library (Carsten Niebuhr Institute Publications, 25). Copenhagen.

MAUL, Stefan M. (2013): Die Wahrsagekunst im Alten Orient. Zeichen des Himmels und der Erde (Historische Bibliothek der Gerda Henkel Stiftung). Munich.

MEYER, Jan-Waalke (1987): Untersuchungen zu Tonlebermodellen aus dem Alten Orient (Alter Orient und Altes Testament, 39). Neukirchen-Vluyn.

RUTTEN, Marguerite (1938): ‘Trente-deux modèles de foies en argile inscrits provenant de Tell-Hariri (Mari).’ In: Revue d’Assyriologie, 35, 36–70.


Description
Paris, Musée du Louvre
Shelf mark: excavation number, M. 1160; Musée du Louvre: AO 19829 (Paris); publication number Rutten 1938, no. 11.
Material: manuscript made in unbaked clay in the shape of a sheep’s liver; two cuneiform inscriptions.
Dimensions: 6.9 × 7.5 cm.
Provenance: Room 108 of the royal palace of Mari (Middle Euphrates, Syria), presumably 19th century BCE.



Text by Cécile Michel
© for fig. 1&3: RMN (Musée du Louvre) / Franck Raux
Fig. 2: Cécile Michel
Fig. 4: RMN (Musée du Louvre) / Martine Esline
Reference note:
Cécile Michel, “A manuscript in the shape of a sheep’s liver?”
In: Andreas Janke (Ed.): Manuscript of the Month 2015.10, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2015_10_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

10/2015 manuskript  des monats


Ein Manuskript in Form einer Schafsleber?

Dieses wie eine Schafsleber geformte Objekt aus Ton enthält beidseitig keilschriftlichen Text. Es wurde im Palast von Mari in Syrien entdeckt, war Teil einer Sammlung ähnlicher Objekte und wird auf den Beginn des 2. Jahrtausends vor Christus datiert. Wozu könnte ein solcher Gegenstand gedient haben?


Abb. 1: Fotografie des Lebermodells AO 19829,
Recto. > Vergrößerung

Dieses Objekt gehört zu einer Sammlung von 32 Schafslebermodellen, die der französische Archäologe André Parrot (1901–1980) im Jahr 1935 zusammen mit der internationalen Korrespondenz des Königs in dessen Räumlichkeiten im Königspalast von Mari (Syrien, Mittlerer Euphrat) entdeckte. Es stammt vom Anfang des 2. Jahrtausends vor Christus und wird heute im Musée du Louvre in Paris verwahrt (Abb. 1).

Im Vergleich zu echten Lebern ist dieses handtellergroße Modell klein. Es besteht aus Ton und zeigt den rechten und linken Leberlappen. Geformte Tonstücke repräsentieren die wichtigsten Teile: die lange Gallenblase und den prismatischen lobus caudatus („Finger“) mit abgestumpfter Spitze (Abb. 2). Die Linien, die die porta hepatis („Leberfluss“) darstellen, und die Furchen auf dem lobus sinister, die den impressio reticularis („Anwesenheit“) und den impressio abomasalis („Pfad“) abbilden, wurden mit einem Griffel erzeugt und sind so ebenfalls leicht zu erkennen. Anomalien sind durch eingeritzte Linien oder Löcher markiert; solche Markierungen auf der Leber wurden als Omen gedeutet und von Wahrsagern „gelesen“. Zusätzlich wurden beide Seiten des Modells mit Text beschrieben.


Abb. 2: Darstellung der Merkmale auf dem in Abb. 1 gezeigten
Lebermodell (Zeichnung nach Meyer 1987, S. 197). > Vergrößerung

Die Divination ist durch eine gewaltige Anzahl unterschiedlicher Quellen vom Beginn des 2. Jahrtausends bis zum 2. Jahrhundert vor Christus belegt. Die bedeutendste Form der Divination bezog ihre Omen aus der Präsentation der Eingeweide eines rituell geopferten Tieres, meist eines Lammes. Der Wahrsager untersuchte die Eigenschaften der inneren Organe, wie Leber, Lunge, Gedärme, Milz usw., von denen die Leber das wichtigste war, da sie als Hauptorgan für das Denken und Fühlen galt. Überdies weist ihre Gestalt eine Reihe von Besonderheiten auf. Der Wahrsager betrachtete die Leber daher als „Tafel der Götter“ und als Hauptmedium der möglichen Offenbarung eines göttlichen Willens. In Mari wurden innerhalb eines bestimmten Monats 300 bis 700 Lämmer zu Divinationszwecken geschlachtet!


Abb. 3: Fotografie des Lebermodells AO 19829,
Verso. > Vergrößerung

Tönerne Modelle der Leber enthalten sowohl grafische Darstellungen als auch Text. Auf den Modellen aus Mari sind Anomalien in der Regel grafisch dargestellt, während die Weissagungen, die sie enthalten, dicht neben die Fehlbildungen geschrieben wurden. Auf der Rückseite des Lebermodells in Abb. 1 erkennen wir die Gallenblase, den „Finger“ und den „Leberfluss“, die alle normal aussehen. Auch der „Pfad“ ist als dünne, horizontale Linie dargestellt. Jegliche Missbildungen befinden sich auf dem linken Lappen, der als negativer Bereich galt. Die drei kurzen senkrechten Linien an der incisura ligamenti teretis („Palace Gate“/„Palasttor“) wurden ebenfalls als ungünstig angesehen. Der Text daneben lautet: „Wenn die Stimmung des Landes sich zum Bösen wendet[, wird es so sein].“

Auch die drei durch das Objekt hindurchgestochenen Löcher deuten auf ein negatives Zeichen hin. Auf der Vorderseite neben den Löchern steht der folgende Text (Abb. 3): „Omen der Belagerung, jener von [der Stadt] Kisch. Breschen wurden vor der Armee [durch die Verteidigungslinien] in Kisch geschlagen, und die Armee von Ischme-Dagan wurde gefangen genommen.“ Der Text basiert mit Gewissheit auf einer älteren Ausfertigung, da Ischme-Dagan das Land bekanntlich in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts vor Christus regierte. Folglich ist dieser Text mit einem vorzeitlichen historischen Ereignis verknüpft. Die Verbindung zwischen den Zeichen auf der Leber und dem Ereignis wurde vermerkt und als Omen erkannt. Diese Form der Divination war somit, auf der Grundlage nachträglicher Beobachtung, zuerst empirischer Natur und wurde später konzeptualisiert.


Abb. 4: Zwölf tönerne Lebermodelle aus
Mari in einem Schaukasten im Louvre-
Museum. > Vergrößerung

Da zahlreiche Divinationstexte, die auf Eingeweideschauen zurückgehen, gleichen Inhalts sind, darf man sich fragen, warum solche Lebermodelle überhaupt existierten. Die Leber ist ein versteckter Teil des Tieres, der sich, einmal aus dem geopferten Lamm herausgeschnitten, aus offensichtlichen Gründen nicht lange aufbewahren ließ. Ein Modell der Leber aus Ton anzufertigen, könnte sehr hilfreich gewesen sein, um sich ihre allgemeine Form und ihre Bestandteile einzuprägen, um die diversen Verformungen zu betrachten, die an der Leber auftraten, um einmal gemachte Weissagungen, die spezifischen Anomalien entsprachen, direkt abzulesen, ohne eine komplexe Fachterminologie beherrschen zu müssen, oder um ein Abbild einer Leber nach ihrer Begutachtung zurückzubehalten. Tatsächlich konnten Lebern über einen bestimmten Zeitraum hinweg mehrmals kopiert werden, um die Verknüpfung zwischen dem Omen und einem speziellen historischen Ereignis zu bewahren.

Während die Modelleigenschaft offenkundig ist, gerät man bei der Behauptung, dieser Gegenstand sei ein Manuskript, aufgrund seiner ungewöhnlichen Form vielleicht ins Zögern. Allerdings gibt es mehrere mögliche Gründe, das Objekt als Manuskript zu definieren. Wie oben erwähnt, besteht der Textträger aus Ton, dem geläufigsten Material, das für Keilschriften verwendet wurde: Tontafeln mit Keilschrift sind tragbar, in sich abgeschlossen und lassen sich löschen. Daneben wurden die Lebermodelle (Abb. 4) eingesetzt, um Präzedenzfälle zu archivieren, und im Haus des Wahrsagers oder in Tempel- und Palastbibliotheken aufbewahrt, da Wahrsager häufig vom Staat beschäftigt wurden, um den König zu instruieren und in all seinen Entscheidungen zu unterstützen. Für die Herstellung dieser Manuskripte mag es noch allerlei weitere Gründe gegeben haben, etwa das Erfordernis, das Aussehen einer inspizierten Leber zu dokumentieren, schulische Zwecke und die Überlieferung von Wissen.



Literatur

GLASSNER, Jean-Jacques (2009): „Écrire des livres à l’époque paléo-babylonienne: le traité d’extispicine“. In: Zeitschrift für Assyriologie, 99, 1-81.

JEYES, Ulla (1989): Old Babylonian Extispicy. Omen Texts in the British Museum (Publications de l’Institut historique-archéologique néerlandais de Stambul, 64). Leiden.

KOCH-WESTENHOLZ, Ulla (2000): Babylonian Liver Omens. The Chapters Manzāzu, Padānu and Pān tākalti of the Babylonian Extispicy Series mainly from Aššurbanipal’s Library (Carsten Niebuhr Institute Publications, 25). Copenhagen.

MAUL, Stefan M. (2013): Die Wahrsagekunst im Alten Orient. Zeichen des Himmels und der Erde (Historische Bibliothek der Gerda Henkel Stiftung). München.

MEYER, JanWalke (1987): Untersuchungen zu Tonlebermodellen aus dem Alten Orient (Alter Orient und Altes Testament, 39). Neukirchen-Vluyn.

RUTTEN, Marguerite (1938): „Trente-deux modèles de foies en argile inscrits provenant de Tell-Hariri (Mari)“. In: Revue d’Assyriologie, 35, 36-70.


Beschreibung
Paris, Musée du Louvre.
Signatur: Grabungsnummer: M. 1160; Musée du Louvre: AO 19829 (Paris); Publikationsnummer: Rutten 1938, Nr. 11.
Material: Manuskript aus ungebranntem Ton in Form eines Schafslebermodells; zwei keilschriftliche Inschriften.
Maße: 6,9 × 7,5 cm.
Herkunft: Raum 108 im Königspalast von Mari (Mittlerer Euphrat, Syrien), vermutlich 19. Jahrhundert vor Christus.



Text von Cécile Michel
© für Abb. 1&3: RMN (Musée du Louvre) / Franck Raux
Abb. 2: Cécile Michel
Abb. 4: RMN (Musée du Louvre) / Martine Esline
Übersetzung: Amper Translation Service
Zitationshinweis:
Cécile Michel, „Ein Manuskript in Form einer Schafsleber?“
In: Andreas Janke (Hg.): Manuskript des Monats 2015.10, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2015_10_mom.html