last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

11/2015 manuscript  of the month


Colourful Loyalty:

An Embroidered Manuscript as an Object of Art and a Gift to the King of Bangkok

Around the turn of the twentieth century, a spectacular manuscript was created by a local princess in northern Thailand, who wanted to present it to King Chulalongkorn (r. 1868–1910) as a gift. The leporello manuscript was not written in a conventional way with ink on mulberry paper, but the letters were embroidered in varicoloured silk on black cloth. Princess Bualai, who created and donated this unique piece of work, was well known for her embroidery skills, as she frequently presented embroidered objects such as curtains, pillows and triangular backrests to the King in Bangkok, who kept them in a special chamber of the royal palace named the Bualai Chamber in honour of the princess. This embroidered manuscript is a unique case in Thai manuscript culture due to its artistic quality when compared to other works of Thai calligraphy. What exactly was the princess’s reason for making such a precious gift in the form of a manuscript?

At present, the manuscript, comprising 24 folded pages and a colophon, is kept at the National Library of Thailand, where it is known as MS no. 134 (see the extracts shown in figs. 1 and 2). The front and back covers are both made of wood wrapped in black cloth. Flowers embroidered with golden and silvery silk thread are decorated on the cloth on the covers (fig. 4). The writing is embroidered in silk on a long, blackened cloth, which is firmly attached to a long panel of thick paper. The panels of paper covered in black cloth are stacked on top of one another just like a leporello manuscript. The colour of the embroidered letters changes every sentence or every quarter stanza (figs. 1–2). The script used for the manuscript is the type called ‘neat’ by Thai scholars – the Khòm script, a variety of Old Khmer lettering normally used for religious texts within the manuscript culture of central and southern Thailand, but not in old Lan Na, the northern region of present-day Thailand, where the tradition of the Dhamma script flourished most impressively.


Fig. 1: MS no. 134, page 6 > Enlarge

Fig. 2: MS no. 134, pp. 16–17 > Enlarge

The text is entitled Yatticatutthakammavācā Uppasombot, derived from Pali (the sacred language of Theravadin Buddhism in Sri Lanka and the South-east Asian mainland) and meaning ‘request for ordination’.

Kammavācā is a generic term for different kinds of texts used for monastic rituals and ecclesiastic acts. The text of this manuscript is a type of kammavācā used for the ordination of monks. The main text is a collection of Pali verses originating from the Vinaya Pitaka (monastic rules), but these are also accompanied by ceremonial instructions and explanations written in vernacular Thai. This manuscript does not appear to have been used in any monastic ceremony, however.

The colophon (fig. 3) was written on an additional label in Thai with (Central) Thai secular script:

“May it please Your Majesty: I, Princess Bualai, the consort of the governor of Phrae, embroidered [this manuscript] completely with silk, sending it down [south] to present to Your Majesty. May the matter rest upon Your Majesty’s judgement.”


Fig. 3: MS no. 134, front cover verse with the colophon > Enlarge

Although the exact date the manuscript was created is unknown, Princess Bualai still refers to herself in the colophon as the consort of the local prince of Phrae, so it is most likely to have been created during the period in which her spouse, Prince Phiriyathepphawong, held this position (i.e. 1889–1902).

The ornamental writing in what could be seen as a type of illuminated manuscript is a masterpiece of calligraphy. The artistic focus of the writing here is not on the embellished form of the handwriting, however, as the writing in the manuscript adheres fully to the standard ‘neat’ type of the Khòm script. Rather, its calligraphic focus is on the high quality of the silk embroidery and the variety of colours used. This manuscript, therefore, combines an artistic form of writing with the art of embroidery. In seemingly stark contrast to the apparent religious function of the text, the manuscript might have been kept in King Chulalongkorn’s collection in the Bualai Chamber, where its beauty could be admired frequently by the King. This indicates a shift of the manuscript’s primary function from that of a work intended for religious ceremonies to that of an object of art.


Fig. 4: MS no. 134, embroidered back cover > Enlarge

Furthermore, in view of the fact that the Siamese government of Bangkok had brought the local principalities in northern Thailand under its control in the late nineteenth century, the presentation of this object of art as a gift to the King of Bangkok can be interpreted as an explicit expression of the local princes’ loyalty and acceptance of Siamese suzerainty. The manuscript thus contains a political message as well, especially in view of the use of the Khòm and Thai scripts instead of the Northern Thai Dhamma script, which would have created exactly the opposite political message due to the ever-present conflicts in the region at that time.

As Princess Bualai’s manuscript is one of very few Thai manuscripts that were created with the special intention of being objects of art and it combines the skill of writing with the art of embroidery, it is a unique example of manuscript production from around the turn of the twentieth century. The significance of this manuscript lies in its codicological and cultural aspects, and not, as perhaps a first glance might suggest, in the words it contains.



References

ENCYCLOPAEDIA OF NORTHERN THAI CULTURE สารานุกรมวัฒนธรรมไทย ภาคเหนือ. (1999): “Bualai Theppawong, Mae Cao บัวไหล เทพวงศ์, แม่เจ้า”. In: Foundation of Thai Cultural Encyclopaedia. Saranukrom Watthanatham Thai Phak Nüa Lem 7 สารานุกรมวัฒนธรรมไทย ภาคเหนือ เล่ม ๗. Bangkok: Foundation of Thai Cultural Encyclopaedia, Thai Commercial Bank, 3418–3420.

GINSBERG, Henry. (1989): Thai Manuscript Painting. London: British Library.

GRABOWSKY, Volker. (2011): “Manuscript Culture of the Tai”. In: Manuscript Cultures, 4, 145–156.

HINÜBER, Oskar von. (2000): A Handbook of Pali Literature. New York: De Gruyter.

IGUNMA, Jana. (2013): “Aksoon Khoom: Khmer Heritage in Thai and Lao Manuscript Cultures”. In: Tai Culture: Interdisciplinary Tai Studies Series, 13, 25–32.

ONGSAKUL, Sarassawadee สุรัสวดี อ๋องสกุล. (2010): Prawattisat Lanna ประวัติศาสตร์ล้านนา. Bangkok: Amarin Publishing.

PUNNOTHOK, Thawat ธวัช ปุณโณทก. (2006): Aksòn Thai Boran Laisü Thai Lae Wiwatthanakan Aksòn Khòng Chonchat Thai อักษรไทยโบราณ ลายสือไทยและวิวัฒนาการอักษรของชนชาติไทย. Bangkok: Chulalongkorn University Press.


Description
The National Library of Thailand (Bangkok)
Shelf mark: MS no. 134 “Yatticatutthakammavācā Uppasombot”
The Illustrated Manuscript Subsection, The Secular Manual Section, The Manuscript Collection
Pali and Thai language, Khòm script
Material: cloth attached to a pile of thick paper, cloth embroidered with silk in the form of writing, 24 folded pages.
Dimensions: 45 x 13 x 3.8 cm
Provenance: c. 1900, Phrae Province, northern Thailand


Text by Peera Panarut
© for all fig.: The National Library of Thailand (Bangkok)
Reference note:
Peera Panarut, “Colourful Loyalty”
In: Andreas Janke (Ed.): Manuscript of the Month 2015.11, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2015_11_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

11/2015 manuskript  des monats


Farbenfrohe Loyalität:

Ein gesticktes Manuskript als Kunstobjekt und als Geschenk an den König von Bangkok

An der Wende zum zwanzigsten Jahrhundert wurde in Nord-Thailand von einer lokalen Fürstin ein außergewöhnliches Manuskript angefertigt, das sie König Chulalongkorn (reg. 1868–1910) als Geschenk präsentieren wollte. Das Leporello-Manuskript wurde nicht mit konventionellem Schreibmaterial wie Tinte auf Maulbeerpapier geschrieben, sondern die Schriftzeichen wurden in verschiedenfarbiger Seide auf schwarzem Stoff gestickt. Fürstin Bualai, die diese einmalige Arbeit schuf und verschenkte, war berühmt für ihre Stickkünste, da sie dem König von Bangkok häufig bestickte Gegenstände wie Vorhänge, Kissen und dreieckige Rückenlehnen schenkte, der diese in einer besonderen Kammer des Königspalastes sammelte, welche zu Ehren der Fürstin Bualai-Gemach genannt wurde. Aufgrund seiner künstlerischen Qualität im Vergleich mit anderen Arbeiten thailändischer Kalligraphie handelt es sich bei diesem gestickten Manuskript um einen einmaligen Fall innerhalb der thailändischen Manuskriptkultur. Was waren die Beweggründe der Fürstin, ein so kostbares Geschenk in Form eines Manuskripts zu machen?

Derzeit wird das Manuskript, welches aus 24 gefalteten Seiten und einem Kolophon besteht, in der Nationalbibliothek von Thailand aufbewahrt, wo es als MS Nr. 134 registriert ist (siehe die Auszüge in den Abbildungen 1 und 2). Vorder- und Rückendeckel sind beide aus mit schwarzem Stoff umwickeltem Holz gemacht. Der Stoff der Deckel ist mit aus gold- und silberfarbenen Seidenfäden gestickten Blumen verziert (Abb. 4). Die Schrift ist in Seide auf einen langen, geschwärzten Stoff gestickt, der fest mit einer langen Bahn dicken Papiers verbunden wurde. Die in schwarzen Stoff eingehüllten Papierbahnen sind in der Art eines Leporello-Manuskripts übereinandergestapelt. Die Farbe der gestickten Schriftzeichen wechselt nach jedem Satz oder jeder Viererstrophe (Abb. 1-2). Die in dem Manuskript verwendete Schrift wird von Thaiisten als dem Typ „akkurat“ zugehörig bezeichnet – der Khòm-Schrift, einer Variante des Alt-Khmer, die in der Manuskriptkultur Zentral- und Süd-Thailands in der Regel für religiöse Texte benutzt wird, nicht aber im alten Lan Na, der nördlichen Region des heutigen Thailands, wo die Tradition der Dhamma-Schrift am eindrucksvollsten blühte.


Abb. 1: Abbildung 1: MS Nr. 134, Seite 6 > Vergrößerung

Abb. 2: MS Nr. 134, Seiten 16–17 > Vergrößerung

Der Text trägt den Titel Yatticatutthakammavācā Uppasombot, was vom Pali (der heiligen Sprache des Theravada-Buddhismus in Sri Lanka und dem südostasiatischen Festland) abgeleitet ist und „Ersuchen um Ordinierung“ bedeutet.

Kammavācā ist ein Gattungsbegriff für verschiedene Arten von Texten, die in Klosterritualen und bei religiösen Zeremonien verwendet werden. Der Text dieses Manuskripts gehört zu einer Art von kammavācā, wie sie bei der Ordinierung von Mönchen verwendet werden. Der Haupttext besteht aus einer Sammlung von Pali-Versen, die aus dem Vinaya Pitaka (Ordensregeln) stammen, aber diesen sind in volkssprachlichem Thai geschriebene Anweisungen und Erläuterungen für Zeremonien beigefügt. Allerdings scheint dieses Manuskript niemals in irgendeiner klösterlichen Zeremonie Verwendung gefunden zu haben.

Der Kolophon (Abb. 3) wurde auf einem zusätzlichen Etikett auf Thailändisch in (zentral-)thailändischer Schrift niedergeschrieben:

„Möge es Eurer Majestät gefallen: Ich, Fürstin Bualai, Gemahlin des Statthalters von Phrae, stickte [dieses Manuskript] vollkommen mit Seide und sende es hinab [in den Süden], um es Eurer Majestät zu schenken. Möge Eure Majestät Ihr Urteil darüber fällen.“


Abb. 3: MS Nr. 134, Vers mit dem Kolophon auf Vorderdeckel > Vergrößerung

Obwohl das genaue Datum der Herstellung des Manuskripts unbekannt ist, bezeichnet Fürstin Bualai sich selbst im Kolophon als Gemahlin des lokalen Fürsten von Phrae, sodass es höchstwahrscheinlich in dem Zeitraum angefertigt wurde, in dem ihr Gatte, Fürst Phiriyathepphawong, diese Position innehatte (1889–1902).

Die dekorative Schrift des Werks, das man als eine Art illustriertes Manuskript betrachten könnte, ist ein kalligraphisches Meisterwerk. Den künstlerischen Mittelpunkt des Schriftstücks bildet hier jedoch nicht die ausschmückende Form der Handschrift, denn die Schrift des Manuskripts hält sich streng an die „akkurate“ Standardform der Khòm-Schrift. Das kalligraphische Hauptaugenmerk liegt vielmehr auf der hohen Qualität der Seidenstickerei und der Vielfältigkeit der benutzten Farben. Dieses Manuskript kombiniert also eine künstlerische Form des Schreibens mit der Kunst der Stickerei. In starkem Kontrast zur offensichtlich religiösen Funktion des Textes scheint das Manuskript in König Chulalongkorns Sammlung im Bualai-Gemach aufbewahrt worden zu sein, wo der König sich häufig an seiner Schönheit erfreuen konnte. Dies deutet auf eine Veränderung der primären Funktion des Manuskripts von einem für religiöse Zeremonien bestimmten Werk hin zu einem Kunstobjekt.


Abb. 4: MS Nr. 134, Rückendeckel > Vergrößerung

Darüber hinaus kann man angesichts der Tatsache, dass die siamesische Regierung von Bangkok im späten neunzehnten Jahrhundert die lokalen Fürstentümer Nord-Thailands unter ihre Kontrolle gebracht hatte, die Präsentation dieses Kunstobjektes als ein Geschenk an den König von Bangkok explizit als einen Ausdruck der Loyalität der lokalen Fürsten und ihrer Akzeptanz der siamesischen Oberhoheit interpretieren. Das Manuskript enthält also auch eine politische Botschaft, insbesondere angesichts der Verwendung der Khòm- und Thai-Schriften anstelle der nordthailändischen Dhamma-Schrift, eren Benutzung angesichts der allgegenwärtigen Konflikte in der Region zur damaligen Zeit eine genau gegenteilige Botschaft vermittelt hätte.

Da es sich bei dem Manuskript der Fürstin Bualai um eines von nur sehr wenigen thailändischen Manuskripten handelt, die mit der ungewöhnlichen Absicht angefertigt wurden, als Kunstobjekt zu dienen, und da es die Fertigkeiten des Schreibens und der Stickereikunst miteinander kombiniert, handelt es sich bei dem Manuskript um ein einzigartiges Beispiel der Manuskriptproduktion an der Wende zum zwanzigsten Jahrhundert. Die Bedeutung dieses Manuskripts liegt in seinen kodikologischen und kulturellen Aspekten, und nicht, wie man vielleicht auf den ersten Blick annehmen könnte, im Inhalt der in ihm enthaltenen Worte.



Literatur

ENCYCLOPAEDIA OF NORTHERN THAI CULTURE สารานุกรมวัฒนธรรมไทย ภาคเหนือ. (1999): „Bualai Theppawong, Mae Cao บัวไหล เทพวงศ์, แม่เจ้า“. In: Foundation of Thai Cultural Encyclopaedia. Saranukrom Watthanatham Thai Phak Nüa Lem 7 สารานุกรมวัฒนธรรมไทย ภาคเหนือ เล่ม ๗. Bangkok: Foundation of Thai Cultural Encyclopaedia, Thai Commercial Bank, 3418–3420.

GINSBERG, Henry. (1989): Thai Manuscript Painting. London: British Library.

GRABOWSKY, Volker. (2011): „Manuscript Culture of the Tai“. In: Manuscript Cultures, 4, 145–156.

HINÜBER, Oskar von. (2000): A Handbook of Pali Literature. New York: De Gruyter.

IGUNMA, Jana. (2013): „Aksoon Khoom: Khmer Heritage in Thai and Lao Manuscript Cultures“. In: Tai Culture: Interdisciplinary Tai Studies Series, 13, 25–32.

ONGSAKUL, Sarassawadee สุรัสวดี อ๋องสกุล. (2010): Prawattisat Lanna ประวัติศาสตร์ล้านนา. Bangkok: Amarin Publishing.

PUNNOTHOK, Thawat ธวัช ปุณโณทก. (2006): Aksòn Thai Boran Laisü Thai Lae Wiwatthanakan Aksòn Khòng Chonchat Thai อักษรไทยโบราณ ลายสือไทยและวิวัฒนาการอักษรของชนชาติไทย. Bangkok: Chulalongkorn University Press.


Beschreibung
Nationalbibliothek Thailand (Bangkok)
Signatur: MS Nr. 134 „Yatticatutthakammavācā Uppasombot“
Unterabteilung Illustrierte Manuskripte, Abteilung Säkulare Handbücher, Manuskript-Sammlung
Pali und Thailändisch, Khòm-Schrift
Material: Mit einem Stapel dicken Papiers verbundener Stoff, mit Seide in Schriftform bestickter Stoff, 24 gefaltete Seiten.
Maße: 45 x 13 x 3,8 cm
Herkunft: ca. 1900, Provinz Phrae, Nord-Thailand


Text von Peera Panarut
© für alle Abb.: The National Library of Thailand (Bangkok)
Übersetzung: Amper Translation Service
Zitationshinweis:
Peera Panarut, „Farbenfrohe Loyalität“
In: Andreas Janke (Hg.): Manuskript des Monats 2015.11, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2015_11_mom.html