last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

02/2016 manuscript  of the month


Did It Just Explain Difficult Terms?

A Mediaeval Arabic Encyclopaedia of an Unusual Kind

By the beginning of the 10th century, Islamic culture included such a large number of subjects and terms that it was hard for anyone to know them all. A scholar called Abū Ḥātim al-Rāzī (who died around 933) alleviated the problem by producing an encyclopaedia entitled Kitāb al-Zīna, which can be translated as ‘The Book of Adornment’. As its preface states, the name was chosen because the author felt anyone who was aware of the correct meaning of the many theological and religious terms used in conjunction with Islam would adorn themselves with this knowledge. The manuscript described here contains fragments of three texts, one of which is the oldest handwritten copy of the Kitāb al-Zīna. These pages are the earliest testimony to a written work produced by the Ismailites, a Shiite group to which Abū Ḥātim al-Rāzī belonged. Reading between the lines, it seems that this group believed it was the only one to be following the True Path at that time. Was this manuscript possibly intended to convert its readers to the Ismaili faith?


Fig. 1: The manuscript known as UB Leipzig,
Ms. or. 377 prior to its restoration. > Enlarge

The manuscript is nondescript and rather small – roughly the same size as an ordinary paperback (fig. 1). When Leipzig University Library purchased it in 1996, the front and back covers were missing from it, many of its leaves were damaged and some of the quires were held together by just a few threads. When it was realised just how much the manuscript was worth around ten years later and the decision was made to display it online, it was painstakingly restored (fig. 2).

The manuscript consists of three independent parts written by different scribes, which were bound together sometime later (it is not clear exactly when). The first part, which has nine leaves in it, contains fragments of text from the middle of the Kitāb al-Zīna, but ends abruptly after that. The second part, which is the longest one, spanning 156 leaves, also contains several chapters of the book and explains terms such as faith and faithlessness. In addition, there is a detailed list of Islamic groups, which provides an insight into the denominational divisions in Islam up to the late 9th century (fig. 3). This part of the work also breaks off suddenly and is followed by seven leaves on various philosophical topics, which have not been ascribed to any known work yet. According to the scribe who wrote out this last part, he finished copying it in 1149 in a district of a town called Rayy in northern Iran (fig. 4). This means these few pages were probably written at a time when Ismaili assassins were unsettling society in northern Iran. While this happened, Rayy was suffering at the hands of various warring princes from the area and was almost completely destroyed by the Mongols in the 1220s. None of this is mentioned at all in the third part of the Leipzig manuscript.

The scribe’s note that has just been mentioned – a colophon – is misleading, however, as it suggests that a relationship to the author of the Kitāb al-Zīna existed, seeing as the last part of Abū Ḥātim’s name, ‘al-Rāzī’, means ‘the one from Rayy’, a place he had worked in as an Ismaili missionary (dāʿī) at the beginning of the 10th century. We do not have any proof that he actually wrote the philosophical texts on these last few pages, though. Conversely, the first two parts of the manuscript including the Kitāb al-Zīna do not contain any clues whatsoever as to where or when they were made. The paper used for the important second part of the work was therefore subjected to carbon dating in 2015 to determine its age. The results of the analysis suggest it was made in the early 11th century. If that is true, it means the main part of the manuscript is not only more than a hundred years older than the last part of it, but it is older than the assassins, who only split off from the other Ismailites at the end of the 11th century. Apart from that, most extant copies of the Kitāb al-Zīna were only made in the 19th century; consequently, the Leipzig manuscript is the oldest surviving copy to have been dated. What’s more, it is the oldest copy of an Ismaili text currently known to us.


Fig. 2: Figure 2: The last few leaves with pink mould (killed off by irradiation) and newly
bonded paper around the leaves. The flap typical of ‘Oriental’ manuscripts on the right
should really be on the left (the new cover has been put on correctly in the meantime).
> Enlarge



Fig. 3: Figure 3: Beginning of the passage about Islamic movements (second part). The red
lemma near the bottom of the left-hand page opens the chapter on the Shia (ash-shīʿa).
> Enlarge

Interestingly, it is not obvious that the Kitāb al-Zīna is an Ismaili work; first and foremost, it is simply an encyclopaedia that explains religious terms. In its foreword, which we are already familiar with from other copies, Abū Ḥātim al-Rāzī says the following:

This book contains the meanings of names and the etymologies of terms […] that legal scholars need to know and writers will find indispensable. Having such knowledge can be a great help and is an adornment (zīna) for anyone of a religious and virtuous mind.

The approach that Abū Ḥātim al-Rāzī took when writing the book is in line with traditional Arab lexicography, in which words were explained with the aid of well-known verses of poetry, for instance, as these were regarded as examples of good Arabic. This focus on terms and their ‘original’ meaning was also employed in a strategy that only becomes clear upon closer inspection, however. What is primarily affected by this is the section on Islamic movements and sects, which is completely intact in the second part of the Leipzig manuscript.

Being an Ismaili Shiite, Abū Ḥātim al-Rāzī belonged to one of the Islamic movements that were rivals at that time (and still are today in some cases). In his description of the groups, he casually mentions evidence to show that Shiite convictions are true and explains why this is so. Conversely, he also finds ways of discrediting all the other Islamic movements. In one such case, he argues that the tradition (sunna) of the Prophet Muḥammad (who died in 632) has been preserved and continued by his cousin and son-in-law, ʿAlī b. Abī Ṭālib (died in 661). Consequently, the Shiites – shīʿa means ‘party’, referring to ʿAlī’s followers – are the true ‘Sunnis’, he says, i.e. the ones who follow the authentic teachings of the Prophet. Although this explanation might seem to be quite objective at first, it actually implies that non-Shiite movements have not been following the True Path. Even when Abū Ḥātim al-Rāzī differentiates between the various Shiite groups later on, the only ones not to be criticised are the Ismailites.


Fig. 4: Figure 4: Colophon written by the last
scribe to work on the manuscript (the third part),
which attests it was finished in Rayy on 22 July
1149. > Enlarge

If one takes the approach followed by Ismaili missionaries into account, then it will not come as any surprise that the reader might have been strategically influenced this way. Just as in the Kitāb al-Zīna, the missionaries initially kept their own standpoint a secret if they wanted to get potential adepts interested in their beliefs. In the early 11th century, when the copy of the Kitāb al-Zīna found in the second part of the Leipzig manuscript was made, their mission (daʿwa) was still underway, so the context in which the copy was created may be found there, particularly as the section of the monumental work it contains could have been used for missionary work. Although it is unlikely that a Muslim who was not a Shiite would have been converted simply by reading a book, one can still imagine how individual readers might at least have started asking themselves if the Ismailites weren’t the only Islamic group to be on the right path after all.



References

ABŪ ḤĀTIM AL-RĀZĪ, Aḥmad b. Ḥamdān (2015): Kitāb al-Zīna. In: al-Ghānimī, Saʿīd (ed.): Kitāb al-Zīna. Muʿjam ishtiqāqī fi l-Muṣṭalaḥāt al-dīniyya wa-l-thaqāfiyya, 2 vols., Beirut/Baghdad: al Kamel.

ALI, Jamal (2008): Language and Heresy in Ismaili Thought. The Kitab al-Zina of Abu Hatim al-Razi. New Jersey: Gorgias Press.

BERTHOLD, Cornelius (2014): ‘The Leipzig Manuscript of the Kitāb al-Zīna by the Ismaili Author Abū Ḥātim al-Rāzī (d. 322/933–934)’. In: Journal of Islamic Manuscripts, 5/1, 19–42.

BERTHOLD, Cornelius: Differenz und Subversion. Die Häresiografie im Kitāb az Zīna des Abū Ḥātim ar Rāzī, PhD dissertation (Leipzig University, 2016); Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz (in preparation).

HALM, Heinz (1991): Das Reich des Mahdi. Der Aufstieg der Fatimiden (875–973) , Munich: C. H. Beck.

KLEMM, Verena (2009): ‘Obvious and Obscure Contexts. The Leipzig Manuscript of the Kitāb al-Zīna by Abū Ḥātim al-Rāzī (d. 322/934)’. In: Journal of Semitic Studies, Supplement 26, 55–67.

Catalogue entry and digitised versions in the ‘Islamic Manuscripts’ database, Leipzig University Library:
http://www.islamic-manuscripts.net/receive/IslamHSBook_islamhs_00000311?lang=en


Description
University of Leipzig
Shelf mark: Ms. or. 377
Material: ‘Oriental paper’
Provenance: Rayy, northern Iran (only part 3)
Size:
  • Fols. 1-16, 18-69, 71-165: 17 x 13 cm
  • fols. 17 and 70: ca. 17 x 11 cm
  • fols. 166-171: 16 x 12 cm
Contents and dating:
  • part 1 (fols. 1–9): Kitāb al-Zīna, 11th–13th century
  • part 2 (fols. 10–165): Kitāb al-Zīna, early 11th century
  • part 3 (fols. 166–171): philosophical texts, 1149



Text by Cornelius Berthold
© for all the illustrations: Leipzig University Library
Reference note:
Cornelius Berthold, “Did It Just Explain Difficult Terms?”
In: Andreas Janke (Ed.): Manuscript of the Month 2016.02, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_02_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

02/2016 manuskript  des monats


Nur die Erklärung von Fachausdrücken?

Eine mittelalterliche arabische Enzyklopädie

Zu Beginn des 10. Jahrhunderts umfasste der Islam so viele Themen und Begriffe, dass es nicht einfach war, den Überblick zu wahren. Abhilfe schaffte Abū Ḥātim ar-Rāzī (gestorben ca. 933) mit seiner Enzyklopädie Kitāb az-Zīna, was mit „Buch des Schmucks“ übersetzt werden kann. Denn wer die richtige Bedeutung der vielen theologischen und religiösen Fachwörter kenne, so heißt es im Vorwort, könne sich mit diesem Wissen schmücken. Das hier vorgestellte Manuskript enthält die Fragmente dreier Texte, darunter die älteste Abschrift des Kitāb az-Zīna. Diese Blätter bilden damit das früheste Textzeugnis der Ismailiten, einer schiitischen Gruppe, zu der Abū Ḥātim ar-Rāzī gehörte. Zwischen den Zeilen liest man heraus, dass diese Gruppe die einzig rechtmäßige sei. Sollte das Manuskript womöglich seine Leser bekehren?


Abb. 1: Die Handschrift UB Leipzig, ms. or. 377
vor ihrer Restaurierung. > Vergrößern

Die Handschrift ist unscheinbar, etwa so groß wie ein Taschenbuch (Abb. 1). Als sie 1996 von der Universitätsbibliothek Leipzig gekauft wurde, fehlten Vorder- und Rückdeckel, viele Blätter waren beschädigt und einige Lagen hingen nur noch an einzelnen Fäden. Als man etwa zehn Jahre später ihren Wert erkannte und sie auch online präsentierten wollte, wurde sie aufwändig restauriert (Abb. 2).

Das Manuskript ist aus drei voneinander unabhängigen Teilen zusammengesetzt, die von verschiedenen Schreibern stammen und erst zu einem späteren uns unbekannten Zeitpunkt zusammengebunden wurden. Der erste Teil mit neun Blättern gibt lückenhaft Text aus der Mitte des Kitāb az-Zīna wieder; dann endet er abrupt. Der mit 156 Blättern umfangreichste zweite Teil enthält ebenfalls einige Kapitel des Werkes und erklärt Begriffe wie Glaube und Unglaube. Außerdem findet sich eine ausführliche Liste islamischer Gruppen, die Einblick in die konfessionelle Zersplitterung des Islams bis zum späten 9. Jahrhundert gibt (Abb. 3). Kurz danach bricht auch dieser Teil ab und es folgen sieben Blätter, in denen es um philosophische Themen geht, deren Inhalt aber bisher keinem bekannten Werk zugeordnet werden können. Der Schreiber dieses letzten Teils gibt an, die Abschrift im Jahr 1149 im Bezirk der nordiranischen Stadt Rayy vollendet zu haben (Abb. 4). Damit wären diese wenigen Seiten in einer Phase entstanden, in der ismailitische Assassinen im Nordiran Aufsehen erregten. Rayy litt zu dieser Zeit unter den Eroberungen verschiedener Lokalfürsten und wurde in den 1220er Jahren von den Mongolen fast vollständig zerstört – all dem ist der dritte Teil des Leipziger Manuskriptes entgangen.

Der erwähnte Schreibervermerk (Kolophon) ist trügerisch, suggeriert er doch einen Bezug zum Autor des Kitāb az-Zīna, denn Abū Ḥātims Namenszusatz „ar-Rāzī“ bedeutet „der aus Rayy“ – dort hatte er Anfang des 10. Jahrhunderts als ismailitischer Missionar (dāʿī) gewirkt. Allerdings gibt es keinen Beleg dafür, dass er auch Urheber der philosophischen Texte auf den letzten Seiten ist. Umgekehrt verfügen die das Kitāb az-Zīna enthaltenden ersten beiden Teile des Manuskriptes keine Hinweise, die auf Ort oder Datum der Herstellung schließen lassen. Um das Alter des wichtigen zweiten Teils zu bestimmen, wurde das Papier 2015 mit der Radiokarbonmethode datiert. Deren Ergebnis legt eine Entstehung im frühen 11. Jahrhundert nahe, damit wäre der Hauptteil der Handschrift nicht nur ein reichliches Jahrhundert älter als die letzten Seiten, sondern auch älter als die Assassinen, die sich erst am Ende des 11. Jahrhunderts von anderen Ismailiten abspalteten. Doch nicht nur das: Die meisten noch existierenden Abschriften des Kitāb az-Zīna wurden erst im 19. Jahrhundert angefertigt; das Fragment aus Leipzig ist das älteste datierbare. Überhaupt ist es das älteste erhaltene Zeugnis eines ismailitischen Textes.


Abb. 2: Die letzten Blätter mit rosa Schimmelflecken (abgetötet durch Bestrahlung) und
neu angefasertem Papier an den Blatträndern. Die für „orientalische“ Handschriften
typische Einbandklappe rechts gehört eigentlich auf die linke Seite – der neue Einband
wurde inzwischen gedreht. > Vergrößern

Dabei ist das Kitāb az-Zīna nicht offenkundig ismailitisch. Es erscheint in erster Linie als eine Enzyklopädie, die religiöse Begriffe erklärt. In seinem Vorwort, das wir aus anderen Abschriften kennen, sagt Abū Ḥātim ar-Rāzī:

Dieses Buch enthält die Bedeutungen von Namen und die Etymologien von Begriffen […], die Rechtsgelehrte wissen müssen und Literaten nicht entbehren können. In ihrer Kenntnis liegt ein großer Nutzen und großartiger Schmuck (zīna) für jeden, der religiös und anständig ist.


Abb. 3: Beginn des Abschnittes über islamische Strömungen (zweiter Teil). Das unterste
rote Lemma auf der linken Seite eröffnet das Kapitel über die „Schia“ (aš-šīʿa).
> Vergrößern

Die Vorgehensweise von Abū Ḥātim ar-Rāzī fügt sich in die arabische lexikografische Tradition, in der Wörter zum Beispiel mithilfe von berühmten Gedichtversen erklärt wurden, weil man annahm, in ihnen gutes Arabisch zu finden. Diese Ausrichtung des Werkes auf Begriffe und deren „ursprüngliche“ Bedeutung wird jedoch auch für eine Strategie genutzt, die sich erst bei genauem Hinsehen offenbart. Betroffen ist davon vor allem der Abschnitt über die islamischen Strömungen und Sekten, der im zweiten Teil des Leipziger Manuskripts vollständig enthalten ist.

Als ismailitischer Schiit gehörte Abū Ḥātim ar-Rāzī zu einer der damals (und teilweise bis heute) konkurrierenden islamischen Strömungen. Wenn er diese Gruppen beschreibt, streut er wie beiläufig Belege und Erklärungen für die Richtigkeit der schiitischen Überzeugungen ein. Umgekehrt findet er Wege, alle anderen Strömungen zu diskreditieren. So argumentiert er zum Beispiel, die Tradition (sunna) des Propheten Muḥammad (gestorben 632) werde von seinem Cousin und Schwiegersohn ʿAlī b. Abī Ṭālib (gestorben 661) bewahrt und fortgeführt. Die Schiiten – šīʿa bedeutet „Partei“ und bezieht sich auf die Anhänger ʿAlīs – seien damit die wahren „Sunniten“, also diejenigen, die der authentischen Lehre des Propheten folgen. Mit dieser scheinbar neutralen Worterklärung wird hier also nicht-schiitischen Strömungen abgesprochen, rechtgeleitet zu sein. Wenn Abū Ḥātim ar-Rāzī später innerhalb der schiitischen Gruppen differenziert, bleiben wiederum nur die Ismailiten von Kritik ausgenommen.


Abb. 4: Kolophon der letzten Schreiberhand
(dritter Teil), das die Entstehung im Bezirk von
Rayy am 22. Juli 1149 bezeugt. > Vergrößern

Berücksichtigt man die Vorgehensweise ismailitischer Missionare, ist eine solche strategische Beeinflussung des Lesers nicht überraschend. Genau wie im Kitāb az-Zīna hielten die Missionare ihre Position zunächst geheim, wenn sie das Interesse potentieller Adepten wecken wollten. Auch im frühen 11. Jahrhundert, als die Abschrift des Kitāb az-Zīna angefertigt wurde, die jetzt als zweiter Teil im Leipziger Manuskript zu finden ist, war die Mission (daʿwa) noch aktiv. Der Entstehungskontext der Abschrift könnte also dort zu suchen sein, zumal sich der enthaltene Ausschnitt des monumentalen Werkes dafür eignete. Obwohl es unwahrscheinlich ist, dass sich ein nicht schiitischer Muslim von der bloßen Lektüre eines Buches bekehren ließ, wäre es doch denkbar, dass der ein oder andere Leser zumindest ins Grübeln gekommen sein mag, ob die Ismailiten nicht doch die einzig rechtgeleitete islamische Gruppe seien.



Literatur

ABŪ ḤĀTIM AR-RĀZĪ, Aḥmad b. Ḥamdān (2015): Kitāb az-Zīna. In: al-Ġānimī, Saʿīd (Hg.): Kitāb az-Zīna. Muʿǧam ištiqāqī fi l Muṣṭalaḥāt ad dīnīya wa ṯ ṯaqāfīya, 2 Bde., Beirut/Bagdad: al-Kamel.

ALI, Jamal (2008): Language and Heresy in Ismaili Thought. The Kitab al Zina of Abu Hatim al Razi. New Jersey: Gorgias Press.

BERTHOLD, Cornelius (2014): „The Leipzig Manuscript of the Kitāb al-Zīna by the Ismaili Author Abū Ḥātim al-Rāzī (d. 322/933–934)“. In: Journal of Islamic Manuscripts, 5 Nr. 1, 19–42.

BERTHOLD, Cornelius: Differenz und Subversion. Die Häresiografie im Kitāb az-Zīna des Abū Ḥātim ar-Rāzī, Dissertation (2016), Universität Leipzig (Arabische Studien), Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz, in Vorbereitung.

HALM, Heinz (1991): Das Reich des Mahdi. Der Aufstieg der Fatimiden (875–973) , München: C. H. Beck.

KLEMM, Verena (2009): „Obvious and Obscure Contexts. The Leipzig Manuscript of the Kitāb al-Zīna by Abū Ḥātim al-Rāzī (d. 322/934)”. In: Journal of Semitic Studies, Supplement 26, 55–67.

Katalogeintrag und Digitalisat in der Datenbank ‚Islamische Handschriften’ der Universitätsbibliothek Leipzig:
http://www.islamic-manuscripts.net/receive/IslamHSBook_islamhs_00000311


Beschreibung

Universitätsbibliothek Leipzig
Signatur: ms. or. 377
Material: „orientalisches Papier“
Herkunft: Nordiran; Teil III aus Rayy
Maße:
  • Fols. 1-16, 18-69, 71-165: 17 x 13 cm
  • fols. 17, 70: ca. 17 x 11 cm
  • fols. 166-171: 16 x 12 cm
Inhalt und Datierung:
  • Teil I (Blatt 1-9): Kitāb az-Zīna, 11.-13. Jahrhundert
  • Teil II (Blatt 10-165): Kitāb az-Zīna, frühes 11. Jahrhundert
  • Teil III: (Blatt 166-171), philosophische Texte, 1149



Text von Cornelius Berthold
© für alle Abbildungen Universitätsbibliothek Leipzig
Zitationshinweis:
Cornelius Berthold, „Nur die Erklärung von Fachausdrücken?“
In: Andreas Janke (Hg.): Manuskript des Monats 2016.02, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_02_mom.html