last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

03/2016 manuscript  of the month


‘For it has already been stolen from, soiled and dishonoured’

Love spells, black magic, exorcisms and spells of healing or protection – in the early 16th century, Joseph ben Elijah Tirshom, a Jewish scholar who lived and worked in the Ottoman Empire, assembled a significant compendium of mystical and magical texts, thereby including many instructions on so-called Practical Kabbalah. On what terms was the copyist willing to lend out his precious manuscript?


Fig. 1: Instructions for a spell of protection with a representation of the demon king
Ashmedai (Ms Comites Latentes 145, page 238) > Enlarge

Joseph Tirshom’s compendium makes up the main part of this manuscript and is noteworthy both for its considerable size, spanning more than 280 folios, and for its combination of Sephardic and Ashkenazic textual traditions. In other words, the texts originate not just from the culture of the Jewish people who were expelled from Spain in 1492, but also from that of the Jews who lived in Central Europe at the time. Furthermore, there are a large number of folios at the beginning and end of the manuscript containing texts which were clearly not written by Joseph Tirshom in the 16th century, but added later, probably in the 17th or 18th century.

Figure 1 shows an example of a spell from the manuscript, which was designed to counteract states of fear and anxiety and provide protection from all kinds of evil spirits and demons. It was believed that texts containing magical names and incantations should be written on deerskin parchment and bound to the left hand as a kind of amulet. The figure in the left half of the picture depicts Ashmedai, king of the demons. It was also desirable for his image to feature on the amulet, since controlling and conquering the demon king was thought to simultaneously quell the dangers emanating from any demon spirits under his own control. Besides containing practical instructions like these, Joseph’s manuscript includes a host of texts that offer a predominantly theoretical approach to magic and Kabbalah (the mystical and esoteric traditions of Judaism).

The high regard in which this codex was held in the 16th century is apparent from the two annotations found at the top of the left-hand margin on page 59, the rest of which is practically blank (figure 2). The first of these notes was made by the compiler and copyist of the manuscript himself, Joseph ben Elijah Tirshom, and says:


Fig. 2: At the top of the left margin
are annotations made by the copyist,
Joseph ben Elijah Tirshom, and his
son, Elijah ben Joseph (Ms Comites
Latentes 145, page 59) > Enlarge

I have sworn by Him who spoke and created the world to lend this book to nobody on earth but for a deposit of one thousand L.G. For it has already been stolen from, soiled and dishonoured.

The currency abbreviated by the letters L.G. is not known to us today, unfortunately. It would appear to refer to a substantial amount, however, expressed by the symbolically high number of one thousand. The annotation below the first one was made by the copyist’s son, Elijah ben Joseph Tirshom:

I, Elijah, son of the honourable Rabbi Joseph Tirshom, whose soul dwells in the Garden of Eden, I have lent this book containing collections of [magical] names to Rabbi Raphael. And this book contains 362 folios, but not all of them are written on. And the blank folios are 32 in number. And there are also folios where one half contains text and the other half is blank. In any case, the entire book has 362 folios in all.

When Joseph wrote the words ‘it has already been stolen from’, he was possibly saying that passages from the manuscript had been copied illicitly. By exactly specifying the number of folios containing texts and the number which were blank, Elijah wished to avoid the bad experiences his father had had and make sure that any borrowers of the manuscript did not remove any pages or possibly even add anything new to them. As far as we know, Joseph’s manuscript comprised over 450 folios with text, suggesting that it was already incomplete when it was lent out by Elijah – in other words, parts of the manuscript had literally been stolen. Either way, both father and son certainly appear to have attached a great deal of material and sentimental value to the manuscript, which they attempted to safeguard by requesting a large deposit as security.

Whether Rabbi Raphael really paid a deposit or if he ever returned the book to Elijah cannot be established from the various notes in the manuscript. What does seem clear, however, is that it changed hands at some point during the 16th or 17th century and no longer belonged to the Tirshom family after that. Several of the subsequent owners are immortalised on the first page of the manuscript by their decorative signatures, added to claim ownership of the codex (figure 3). One of the ownership inscriptions refers to the year 1629 (figure 4), testifying to the fact that the manuscript must have remained in use for at least 100 years.


Fig. 3: The original first page of
the manuscript containing, inter alia,
ownership inscriptions, several copies
of the start of the first psalm and a
table displaying different permu-
tations of letters (Ms Comites
Latentes 145, page 21) > Enlarge

It is interesting to note that attempts were made later on to erase the names of the owners or write over them. What is also striking on this page is that the opening passage of the first psalm has been copied a total of seven times in several different hands, or at least in a variety of different Hebrew writing styles:

Blessed is the man [that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in his law doth he meditate day and night].

This may simply have been an exercise in handwriting, judging by another comment on the page: ‘I am trying out the quill’. Another possibility is that the psalm – traditionally interpreted as a passage in praise of Torah study – is cited in order to place the act of studying Tirshom’s compendium of magic and mysticism firmly on a par with studying the Torah, the holiest book of Judaism. Or it is perhaps intended as an admonishment to borrowers of the manuscript, reminding them not to take the ‘way of sinners’, but to treat the manuscript with respect and return it in its entirety?

The manuscript contains an extremely lengthy table of contents extending over 37 pages (figure 5). The texts are numbered sequentially in Hebrew letters and the title or purpose of each text is also provided. In the main body of the manuscript, the beginning of a new text is indicated by the fact that the initial word is written in larger letters, with the number of the text appearing in the margin. The original manuscript was not paginated.



Fig. 4: Signature bearing the name Jechiel ben Mehalalel (upper line) and
below that the Jewish year [5]389 (lower line), which corresponds to
AD 1628/1629 (Ms Comites Latentes 145, page 21) > Enlarge

The table of contents and the clear layout of the texts in general give the manuscript the appearance of a handbook, suggesting that it was not just a book for intense textual study, but was probably also intended for practical use. Numerous comments and addenda in the margins (see figure 1 on the right) and between the lines, which were not written by the original copyist, Joseph Tirshom, reinforce the manuscript’s importance as a pool of magical and mystical knowledge. These additions include alternative variants of the texts and bear witness to the fact that later Kabbalistic groups also showed a keen interest in the manuscript, making it a valuable testimony to the magical and mystical traditions of Judaism.

Regrettably, we do not know what Joseph Tirshom would have said about the addenda made to his manuscript. Would he have considered them to ‘soil’ and ‘dishonour’ his book, as it was put in the annotation quoted above? Or is it more likely that the many marginal glosses and comments would have been pursuant to his quest for a systematisation of mystical and magical knowledge – welcome supplements in his eyes which may have made the book all the more valuable? The blank folios in the manuscript lent to Rabbi Raphael at least suggest that Tirshom may have even wanted texts to be added.


Fig. 5: A page from the extensive
table of contents (Ms Comites
Latentes 145, page 36) > Enlarge

The concerns regarding the completeness and intactness of the codex as articulated in some of the annotations made by the copyist and his son continued to be justified even much later: it is obvious from the gaps in the numbering of the texts that a large number of folios are still missing from the manuscript today, and the original arrangement of the quires has largely been destroyed – at the latest, this will have happened when the manuscript was rebound for conservation purposes in the 19th or 20th century. Of the original 450 or so folios in the compendium, only 362 of which remained when the manuscript was lent out by Elijah Tirshom, 288 folios with text have been preserved to this day. The blank folios mentioned by Elijah were possibly used for the texts which were added at the end of the manuscript. The first ten folios of the present manuscript also constitute a separate unit which is not part of Joseph’s compendium, but was added at a later – unspecified – date. The subsequent history of the manuscript remains largely unknown. It did not come to the attention of a wider academic community until it was purchased at the end of the 19th or beginning of the 20th century by David Solomon Sassoon, a renowned collector of Hebrew manuscripts, who described it in the catalogue which accompanied his collection. Today, the 672 pages of the manuscript are numbered continuously, not allowing for any missing folios; this pagination was presumably added when the collection catalogue was compiled.

The manuscript is nowadays part of the collection at the Library of Geneva. The digital edition can be accessed on the library’s website, and interested parties are free to flick through and study the pages of the codex without having to pay a large deposit first, as requested by Joseph Tirshom. Given the digital format, it is certainly not possible to steal from, soil or dishonour the manuscript any longer. No doubt Joseph would have approved.



References

BENAYAHU, Meir (1972): ‘The Book “Shoshan Yesod ha-Olam”’ by Rabbi Yoseph Tirshom (Hebr.)’. In: Temirin, 1, 187–269.

CHAJES, J. H. (2003): Between Worlds: Dybbuks, Exorcists, and Early Modern Judaism. Philadelphia: Univ. of Pennsylvania Press, 65–68.

OKUN, Yael (2011): ‘Description of Ms. Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 145’.

SASSOON, David Solomon (1932): אהל דוד (Ohel Dawid). Descriptive Catalogue of the Hebrew and Samaritan Manuscripts in the Sassoon Library, London. Vol. 1. Oxford: Oxford Univ. Press/London: Milford, 443–446.


Description

Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève
Comites Latentes 145: Collectanea of kabbalistic and magical texts in Hebrew (originally from the Sassoon collection, no. 290)
Material: paper, 336 folios
Size: 21 × 15 cm
Origin: Ottoman Empire
Contents and dating:
  • Part 1 (fols. 1–10): commentary by Israel Sarug on the Sabbath hymns of Isaac Luria, 17th or 18th century
  • Part 2 (fols. 11–299): compendium of magical and Kabbalistic texts by Joseph ben Elijah Tirshom, probably early 16th century
  • Part 3 (fols. 300–336): selection of magical and Kabbalistic texts (e.g. amulets, recipes, magical names, commentaries), 17th and 18th century


Text by Michael Kohs
© for all images: Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève.
All images under a Creative Commons licence (CC BY-NC 4.0).
Reference note:
Michael Kohs, “‘For it has already been stolen from, soiled and dishonoured’”
In: Andreas Janke (Hg.): Manuscript of the Month 2016.03, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_03_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

03/2016 manuskript  des monats


„Denn man hat schon aus ihm gestohlen,
es beschmutzt und es nicht in Ehren gehalten“

Liebeszauber, Schadenzauber, Exorzismen, Heilungs- oder Schutzzauber – im beginnenden 16. Jahrhundert stellte der im Osmanischen Reich lebende jüdische Gelehrte Joseph ben Elija Tirshom ein bedeutendes Kompendium mystischer und magischer Texte zusammen, das eine große Zahl von Anleitungen enthält, die zur sogenannten „praktischen Kabbala“ gehören. Zu welchen Bedingungen war der Schreiber bereit, seine kostbare Handschrift zu verleihen?


Abb. 1: Anleitung für einen Schutzzauber mit einer Darstellung des Dämonenkönigs
Ashmedai (Ms Comites Latentes 145, Seite 238) > Vergrößern

Joseph Tirshoms Kompendium bildet den Hauptteil des vorliegenden Manuskriptes und zeichnet sich sowohl durch seinen großen Umfang von mehr als 280 Blättern aus, als auch durch die Zusammenstellung von sefardischen und aschkenasischen Texttraditionen. Diese Texte entstammen also einerseits dem Kulturkreis der 1492 aus Spanien vertriebenen Juden und andererseits dem damals im mitteleuropäischen Raum lebenden Judentum. Außerdem finden sich am Anfang und am Ende des Manuskriptes eine Vielzahl von Blättern mit Texten, die erkennbar nicht im 16. Jahrhundert von Jospeh Tirshom geschrieben wurden, sondern aus dem 17. oder 18. Jahrhundert stammen.

In Abbildung 1 ist ein Beispiel für einen Schutzzauber aus der Handschrift wiedergegeben, der gegen Furcht und Angstzustände wirken und zum Schutz vor allen Arten von bösen Geistern und Dämonen dienen soll. Dazu muss ein Text mit magisch wirksamen Zaubernamen und Beschwörungsformeln auf Hirschhaut-Pergament geschrieben und dieses dann als Amulett an die linke Hand gebunden werden. Bei der Figur in der linken Bildhälfte handelt es sich um Ashmedai, den König aller Dämonen, dessen Bild auch auf das Amulett übertragen werden soll, denn durch das Bezwingen und Kontrollieren des Dämonenkönigs bindet man gleichzeitig die Gefahren, die von den ihm untergebenen Dämonen ausgehen. Neben solchen praktischen Anleitungen umfasste Josephs Manuskript auch eine große Zahl von Texten, die Magie und Kabbala – also die mystisch-esoterischen Traditionen im Judentum – aus einem überwiegend theoretischen Blickwinkel behandeln.

Welche Wertschätzung diesem Kodex im 16. Jahrhundert entgegengebracht wurde, lässt sich aus zwei Einträgen am oberen linken Rand der sonst fast leeren Seite 59 ermessen (Abbildung 2), von denen der erste vom Kompilator und Schreiber der Handschrift Joseph ben Elija Tirshom selbst stammt:


Abb. 2: Am linken oberen Rand die
Einträge des Schreibers Joseph ben
Elija Tirshom und seines Sohnes Elija
ben Joseph (Ms Comites Latentes
145, Seite 59) > Vergrößern

Bei dem, der sprach und die Welt erschuf, habe ich geschworen, dass ich dieses Buch an niemanden auf der Welt verleihen werde außer gegen ein Pfand von eintausend L.G. Denn man hat schon aus ihm gestohlen, es beschmutzt und es nicht in Ehren gehalten.

Leider ist die durch L.G. abgekürzte Währung unbekannt. In jedem Fall scheint der Betrag jedoch erheblich zu sein, was durch die symbolisch hohe Zahl eintausend zum Ausdruck kommt. Der darunter stehende Eintrag stammt vom Sohn des Schreibers – Elija ben Joseph Tirshom:

Ich, Elija, Sohn des ehrenwerten Rabbi Joseph Tirshom, dessen Seele im Garten Eden weilt, ich habe dieses Buch mit Sammlungen von [magischen] Namen an Rabbi Raphael verliehen. Und dieses Buch enthält 362 Blätter, aber sie sind nicht alle beschrieben. Und die unbeschriebenen sind 32. Und es gibt auch Blätter, die halb beschrieben und halb unbeschrieben sind. Indes, das ganze Buch hat 362 Blätter an der Zahl.

Während Joseph mit „man hat schon aus ihm gestohlen“ möglicherweise auf unerlaubtes Kopieren aus der Handschrift anspielt, will Elija durch die präzise Angabe der Anzahl der beschriebenen und unbeschriebenen Blätter nach den schlechten Erfahrungen seines Vaters sicherstellen, dass dem Manuskript vom Entleihenden keine Seiten entnommen werden, und vielleicht auch, dass ihm kein Text hinzugefügt wird. Denn soweit wir wissen, umfasste Josephs Manuskript über 450 beschriebene Blätter, was darauf hindeuten würde, dass dieses bereits beim Verleihen durch Elija nicht mehr vollständig war und tatsächlich im wörtlichen Sinne aus ihm gestohlen wurde. In jedem Fall maßen aber sowohl Vater als auch Sohn der Handschrift einen hohen ideellen und materiellen Wert bei, der durch die Forderung eines hohen Pfandes geschützt werden musste.

Ob Rabbi Raphael tatsächlich ein solches Pfand gezahlt oder ob Elija das Buch jemals von ihm zurückerhalten hat, lässt sich aus den verschiedenen Notizen in der Handschrift nicht feststellen. Klar scheint jedoch, dass das Manuskript irgendwann im Laufe des 16. oder 17. Jahrhunderts aus dem Besitz der Familie Tirshom in andere Hände überging. Einige der späteren Besitzer haben sich auf der ersten Seite des Manuskripts (Abbildung 3) mit ihrer verzierten Unterschrift verewigt und so ihren Besitzanspruch auf den Kodex angezeigt. Einer dieser Besitzereinträge verweist auf das Jahr 1629 (Abbildung 4), und bezeugt so, dass das Manuskript mindestens 100 Jahre in Verwendung war.


Abb. 3: Die ursprünglich erste Seite
des Manuskriptes. Sie enthält unter
anderem Besitzereinträge, die mehr-
fache Niederschrift des Anfangs
des ersten Psalms sowie eine
Tabelle mit Buchstabenpermutationen
(Ms Comites Latentes 145, Seite 21)
> Vergrößern

Auffällig ist, dass anscheinend zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt versucht wurde, die Namen der Besitzer wieder auszuradieren oder zu überschreiben. Was auf dieser Seite ebenfalls ins Auge fällt, ist der dort von verschiedenen Schreibern, oder zumindest in verschiedenen hebräischen Schriftstilen insgesamt siebenmal niedergeschriebene Beginn des ersten Psalms:

Wohl dem Mann, [der nicht dem Rat der Frevler folgt, nicht auf dem Weg der Sünder geht, nicht im Kreis der Spötter sitzt, sondern Freude hat an der Weisung des Herrn, über seine Weisung nachsinnt bei Tag und bei Nacht.]

Vielleicht handelt es sich hierbei um bloße Schreibübungen, wie die ebenfalls auf der Seite zu findende Bemerkung „ich probiere die Feder aus“ nahelegt. Vielleicht wird aber auch durch das Zitieren dieses Psalms, der traditionell als ein Lobpreis des Tora-Studiums interpretiert wird, möglicherweise in Analogie dazu das Studium dieses magisch-mystischen Kompendiums selbstbewusst gleichsam auf eine Stufe mit dem Studium der Tora, der heiligsten Schrift des Judentums, gestellt? Oder sollen Entleiher des Manuskriptes mahnend daran erinnert werden, nicht den „Weg der Sünder“ zu gehen, sondern das Manuskript ordentlich zu behandeln und vollständig wieder zurückzugeben?

Das Manuskript enthält ein sehr umfangreiches Inhaltsverzeichnis (Abbildung 5), welches sich über 37 Seiten erstreckt. In diesem Verzeichnis werden zu jedem Text seine fortlaufende Nummer in hebräischen Buchstaben und sein Titel beziehungsweise sein Zweck angegeben. Im Hauptteil des Manuskripts werden die Anfänge der Texte dann durch eine größere Schreibung des ersten Wortes und die Angabe der Nummer des Textes am Seitenrand gekennzeichnet. Eine Paginierung wies die Handschrift dagegen ursprünglich nicht auf.


Abb. 4: Die Unterschrift von Jechiel ben Mehalalel (obere Zeile) mit Nennung
des jüdischen Jahres [5]389 (untere Zeile) (entspricht 1628/1629 u. Z.)
(Ms Comites Latentes 145, Seite 21) > Vergrößern

Das Inhaltsverzeichnis und das in der Regel sehr übersichtliche Layout der Texte verleihen diesem Buch magischer und mystischer Texte einen handbuchartigen Charakter und weisen darauf hin, dass dieses nicht nur für ein intensives Studium der Texte, sondern wahrscheinlich auch für den ganz praktischen Gebrauch gedacht war. Zahlreiche Anmerkungen und Ergänzungen an den Rändern (siehe Abbildung 1 rechts) und auch zwischen den Zeilen, die nicht vom ursprünglichen Schreiber Joseph Tirshom stammen, verstärken die Bedeutung der Handschrift als eine Sammlung magischen und mystischen Wissens. Diese Ergänzungen enthalten beispielsweise alternative Varianten der Texte und bezeugen das rege Interesse späterer kabbalistischer Kreise an dem Manuskript, das so zu einem wertvollen Zeugnis magisch-mystischer Traditionen im Judentum wurde.

Wir wissen leider nicht, was Joseph Tirshom zu diesen Beigaben zu seinem Manuskript gesagt hätte. Hätte er sie als „Beschmutzungen“ und „nicht in Ehren Halten“ seines Buches angesehen, wie er es in seinem bereits zitierten Schreibereintrag formuliert? Oder entsprächen die vielen Randglossen und Anmerkungen nicht viel eher seinem Streben nach einer Systematisierung mystischen und magischen Wissens und wären ihm daher willkommene Ergänzungen gewesen, die das Buch vielleicht umso wertvoller machten? Die leeren Blätter im an Rabbi Raphael verliehenen Manuskript deuten zumindest darauf hin, dass die Hinzufügung von Texten erwünscht gewesen sein könnte.


Abb. 5: Eine Seite des umfangreichen
Inhaltsverzeichnisses (Ms Comites
Latentes 145, Seite 36) > Vergrößern

Auch in späteren Zeiten sollten sich die Sorgen um die Vollständigkeit und Unversehrtheit des Kodex, wie sie in den Einträgen des Schreibers Joseph Tirshom und seines Sohnes Elija zum Ausdruck kommen, bewahrheiten: Der Handschrift fehlen bis heute viele Blätter, wie sich leicht aus den Sprüngen in der Nummerierung der Texte rekonstruieren lässt, und ihre Lagenstruktur ist spätestens seit einer konservatorischen Neubindung im 19. oder 20. Jahrhundert größtenteils zerstört. Von den ursprünglich etwa 450 Blättern, von denen bereits beim Verleihen durch Elija Tirshom nur noch 362 vorhanden waren, sind heute noch 288 beschriebene Blätter des Kompendiums erhalten. Für die hinzugefügten Texte am Ende der Handschrift wurden möglicherweise die von Elija erwähnten leeren Blätter verwendet. Auch bei den ersten 10 Blättern des heutigen Manuskriptes handelt es sich um eine eigenständige, nicht zu Josephs Kompendium gehörenden Einheit, die zu einem späteren, uns nicht bekannten Zeitpunkt hinzugefügt wurde. Überhaupt bleibt der weitere Werdegang der Handschrift weitestgehend unbekannt. In das Licht einer größeren wissenschaftlichen Öffentlichkeit tritt sie erst, nachdem sie Ende des 19. oder Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts in den Besitz des bedeutenden Sammlers hebräischer Handschriften David Solomon Sassoon gelangt und in dem von ihm selbst erstellten Katalog seiner Sammlung beschrieben wird. Die heutige durchgehende Paginierung der Handschrift in 672 Seiten, welche auf fehlende Blätter keine Rücksicht nimmt, wurde wahrscheinlich im Rahmen der Erstellung dieses Kataloges hinzugefügt.

Heute befindet sich das Manuskript in der Bibliothek von Genf und kann als Digitalisat auf der Website der Bibliothek von jedem Interessierten virtuell durchblättert und studiert werden, ohne dafür, wie von Jospeh Tirshom gefordert, ein hohes Pfand hinterlegen zu müssen. Das Manuskript selbst bleibt auf diese Weise aber ganz nach Josephs Wunsch davor bewahrt, dass weiter aus ihm gestohlen, es beschmutzt oder nicht in Ehren gehalten wird.



Literatur

BENAYAHU, Meir (1972): „The Book ‚Shoshan Yesod ha-Olam‘ by Rabbi Yoseph Tirshom (hebr.)”. In: Temirin, 1, 187–269.

CHAJES, J. H. (2003): Between Worlds: Dybbuks, Exorcists, and Early Modern Judaism. Philadelphia: Univ. of Pennsylvania Press, 65–68.

OKUN, Yael (2011): „Description of Ms. Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 145“.

SASSOON, David Solomon (1932): אהל דוד (Ohel Dawid). Descriptive Catalogue of the Hebrew and Samaritan Manuscripts in the Sassoon Library, London. Vol. 1. Oxford: Oxford Univ. Press/London: Milford, 443–446.


Beschreibung

Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève
Comites Latentes 145: Auswahl von kabbalistischen und magischen Texten in Hebräisch
Material: Papier, 336 Blätter
Maße: 21 × 15 cm
Herkunft: Osmanisches Reich
Inhalt und Datierung:
  • Teil I Blatt 1–10): Kommentar des Israel Sarug zu den Sabbat-Hymnen des Isaak Luria, 17. oder 18. Jahrhundert
  • Teil II (Blatt 11–299): magisch-kabbalistisches Kompendium des Joseph ben Elija Tirshom, wahrscheinlich frühes 16. Jahrhundert
  • Teil III (Blatt 300–336): verschiedene magische und kabbalistische Texte (z.B. Amulette, Anleitungen, magische Namen, Kommentare), 17. und 18 Jahrhundert

Text von Michael Kohs
© für alle Abb.: Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève.
Alle Bilder unter Creative Commons Lizenz (CC BY-NC 4.0).
Zitationshinweis:
Michael Kohs, „‚Denn man hat schon aus ihm gestohlen, es beschmutzt
und es nicht in Ehren gehalten’“
In: Andreas Janke (Hg.): Manuskript des Monats 2016.03, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_03_mom.html