last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

05/2016 manuscript  of the month


Abbess, Prophetess – and Saint?

Abbess Hildegard of Bingen (1098–1179) founded the convent of Rupertsberg in 1150 on a hill of the same name situated at the confluence of the Rhine and Nahe. It was there she wrote various treatises on natural history as well as three volumes recording her visionary experiences. During the first half of the 13th century, a new copy of her third visionary work, Liber divinorum operum (‘Book of Divine Works’), was created at Rupertsberg, featuring ornate gilded miniatures. How did this valuable manuscript of Hildegard’s visionary writings come to be created so long after the abbess’s death?


Fig. 1: Full-page miniature from Liber
divinorum operum showing Hildegard’s
first vision. Lucca, Biblioteca Statale,
ms. 1942, fol. 1v. > Enlarge

The manuscript contains the full text of Hildegard’s Liber divinorum operum on 164 folios. The folios each measure 39 × 25.5 cm and they are arranged in two columns of 38 lines. Ten folios are decorated with full-page miniatures (see fig. 1). This is the only illustrated manuscript of the Liber divinorum operum.


Fig. 2: Beginning of the text describing
Hildegard’s seventh vision.
Liber divinorum
operum, Lucca, Biblioteca Statale,
ms. 1942, fol. 122r. > Enlarge

The codex contains ten of Hildegard’s visions, which are mostly presented in the same basic format: a full-page miniature is followed by a description of the vision and an analysis of its meaning, dictated by a voice from heaven. The visions are framed by a prologue describing the context in which the visions were received and by an epilogue containing a personal message from Hildegard herself.

The beginning of the prologue and the start of each of the ten visions are heralded by ornate initials decorated with gold leaf (fig. 2). The visions are divided into several sections, with each section preceded by a brief summary in red ink (fig. 3). There are three parts in the Liber divinorum operum, each featuring a different number of visions.

Women in the 12th century were not permitted to write and distribute their own interpretations of the Church’s religious doctrines. Hildegard overcame this hurdle by identifying herself not as the author of the doctrines but as an intermediary – a prophetess, in other words. This role is reflected in the illustrations in the Liber divinorum operum: each of the ten full-page miniatures also features a smaller picture of Hildegard, with the first one in particular showing the divine inspiration (fig. 1 and 4): on the left sits Volmar the monk who, according to the prologue, was witness to the visions (presumably, he assisted Hildegard by correcting the grammar in her writings). The nun who appears on the right is the second witness. Hildegard herself is seated in the centre and is writing on a wax tablet. She is looking upwards at an opening in the frame of the miniature through which a red torrent is streaming down upon her, representing divine inspiration.


Fig. 3: Sections of Hildegard’s second
vision with summaries in red ink.
Liber
divinorum operum, Lucca, Biblioteca
Statale, ms. 1942, fol. 9v. > Enlarge

This scene is enhanced artistically by the luminous gold background typical of all miniatures: depending on the lighting, the gold leaf can shimmer so intensely that the figures and forms in the illuminations are barely recognisable, similar to Hildegard’s own descriptions in the prologue:

[…] when a true vision of the unfailing light had shown to me, a human being, the diversity of various morals, of which I had been quite ignorant.
Therefore, I, […] have at last turned my trembling hands to writing. As I have done this, I have looked to the true and living light to see what it is I ought to write. (translated by Nathaniel Campbell)

Various marginal notes from the 13th and 14th centuries suggest that the manuscript must have remained in use for a considerable length of time. It is remarkable that such an opulently illuminated manuscript was produced so many years after Hildegard’s death. The creation of the manuscript can presumably be placed in the context of the petition at Rupertsberg Convent for the canonisation of Hildegard, in other words, the act of having her officially included in the canon of recognised saints.


Fig. 4: Hildegard of Bingen receiving a vision; detail
from fol. 1v, Hildegard of Bingen,
Liber divinorum
operum, Lucca, Biblioteca Statale, ms. 1942.
> Enlarge

It was against this backdrop in the 13th century that several manuscripts containing works by Hildegard were sent from the convent at Rupertsberg to Rome to be vetted by Pope Gregory IX as part of the canonisation process. It is impossible to say whether this particular manuscript was among those sent, although it is likely to have been produced in the efforts to have Hildegard proclaimed a saint. The text and illustrations in the Liber divinorum operum make the reader a witness to the visions experienced by Hildegard, whose role as a prophetess is conveyed very persuasively. The canonisation process may have stalled in the Middle Ages, but Hildegard was finally declared a Doctor of the Church by Pope Benedict XVI in 2012.



References

BENZ, Ernst (1969): Die Vision. Erfahrungsformen und Bilderwelt. Stuttgart: Klett.

BURNETT, Charles / DRONKE, Peter (eds.) (1998): Hildegard of Bingen. The Context of Her Thought and Art. London: Warburg Institute.

DEROLEZ, Albert / DRONKE, Peter (eds.) (1996): Hildegardis Bingensis, Liber divinorum operum, Turnhout: Brepols.

DINZELBACHER, Peter (1981): Vision und Visionsliteratur im Mittelalter. Stuttgart: Hiersemann.

GANZ, David (2008): Medien der Offenbarung. Visionsdarstellungen im Mittelalter. Berlin: Reimer.

HEIECK, Mechthild (2012), Neuübersetzung aus dem Lateinischen von: Hildegard von Bingen, Das Buch vom Wirken Gottes. Liber divinorum operum, Beuroner Kunstverlag.

MEIER, Christel (2003): ‘Die Quadratur des Kreises. Die Diagrammatik des 12. Jahrhunderts als symbolische Denk- und Darstellungsform’ in PATSCHOVSKY, Alexander (ed.): Die Bildwelt der Diagramme Joachims von Fiore. Zur Medialität religiös-politischer Programme im Mittelalter. Ostfildern: Thorbecke, 23–54.

MEIER, Christel (2014): ‘nova verba prophetae. Evaluation und Reproduktion der prophetischen Rede der Bibel im Mittelalter. Eine Skizze’ in MEIER, Christel / WAGNER-EGELHAAF, Martina (eds.): Prophetie und Autorschaft. Charisma, Heilsversprechen und Gefährdung. Berlin: de Gruyter, pp. 71–104.

RINKE, Stefanie (2006): Das »Genießen Gottes«. Medialität und Geschlechtercodierung bei Bernhard von Clairvaux und Hildegard von Bingen. Freiburg: Rombach.

SAURMA-JELTSCH, Liselotte E. (1998): Die Miniaturen im »Liber Scivias« der Hildegard von Bingen. Die Wucht der Vision und die Ordnung der Bilder. Wiesbaden: Reichert.

SUZUKI, Keiko (1998): Bildgewordene Visionen oder Visionserzählungen. Vergleichende Studie über die Visionsdarstellungen in der Rupertsberger „Scivias“- Handschrift und im Luccheser „Liber divinorum operum“-Codex der Hildegard von Bingen. Berne: Lang.


Description
Lucca, Biblioteca Statale
Shelf mark: ms. 1942 (digital scan)
Material: parchment, 167 leaves, contemporary binding
Dimensions: 39 × 25.5 cm
Provenance: Middle Rhine, Rupertsberg (?), first half of the 13th century



Text by karin Becker
© for all pictures: Ministero dei Beni e delle Attività
Culturali e del Turismo – Biblioteca Statale di Lucca.
Reference note:
Karin Becker, “Abbess, Prophetess – and Saint?”
In: Andreas Janke (Ed.): Manuscript of the Month 2016.05, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_05_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

05/2016 manuskript  des monats


Äbtissin, Prophetin – Heilige?

An der Mündung von Rhein und Nahe gründete um 1150 die Äbtissin Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179) ein Kloster auf dem Rupertsberg. Hildegard verfasste dort neben naturkundlichen Texten auch drei Bücher, in denen sie ihre eigenen Visionen niederschrieb. Noch in der ersten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts entstand im Kloster Rupertsberg eine neue Abschrift ihres dritten Visionsbuches Liber divinorum operum („Buch der göttlichen Werke“) mit aufwändigen goldverzierten Miniaturen. Warum wurde erst lange nach dem Tod der Äbtissin dieses kostbare Manuskript mit den Visionstexten Hildegards hergestellt?


Abb. 1: Ganzseitige Miniatur zur 1. Vision,
Hildegard von Bingen,
Liber divinorum
operum, Lucca, Biblioteca Statale,
ms. 1942, fol. 1v. > Vergrößerung

Das Manuskript enthält auf 164 Folios den vollständigen Text von Hildegards Liber divinorum operum. Die 39 x 25,5 cm messenden Folios sind in zwei Spalten mit jeweils 38 Zeilen beschrieben, zudem sind zehn Folios mit ganzseitigen Miniaturen verziert (Abb. 1). Es handelt sich hierbei um die einzige bebilderte Handschrift des Liber divinorum operum.


Abb. 2: Textanfang der 7. Vision, Hildegard
von Bingen,
Liber divinorum operum,Lucca,
Biblioteca Statale, ms. 1942, fol. 122r.
> Vergrößerung

Der Kodex enthält zehn Visionen Hildegards, die grundsätzlich nach demselben Muster dargestellt werden: Einer ganzseitigen Miniatur folgt eine Beschreibung der jeweiligen Vision sowie deren Interpretation, diktiert durch eine göttliche Stimme. Gerahmt werden die Visionen durch einen Prolog, der den Empfang der Visionen beschreibt, und einen Epilog, der eine Botschaft von Hildegard selbst enthält.

Die Anfänge des Prologs sowie der zehn Visionen werden jeweils durch aufwändig gestaltete und mit Gold verzierte Initialen eröffnet (Abb. 2). Die Visionen sind in Abschnitte unterteilt, denen kurze Zusammenfassungen in rot vorangestellt sind (Abb. 3). Der Liber divinorum operum ist insgesamt in drei Teile geteilt, die jeweils eine unterschiedliche Anzahl an Visionen enthalten.

Im 12. Jahrhundert war es Hildegard als Frau nicht gestattet, Auslegungen der kirchlichen Lehren niederzuschreiben und zu verbreiten. Sie umging dieses Hindernis, indem sie sich selbst nicht als Autorin bezeichnete, sondern nur als Vermittlerin der Lehren, d. h. als Prophetin. Aufgegriffen wird ihre Rolle ebenfalls in den Illustrationen des Liber divinorum operum: Jede der zehn ganzseitigen Miniaturen ist um ein kleineres Bild Hildegards ergänzt, wobei insbesondere das erste die göttliche Inspiration zeigt (Abb. 1 und 4): Auf der linken Seite sitzt ein Mönch namens Volmar, der dem Prolog zufolge die Visionen bezeugte und vermutlich bei der Korrektur der Grammatik half. Rechts steht eine Nonne, die ebenfalls als Zeugin auftritt. In der Mitte sitzt Hildegard selbst und beschreibt eine Wachstafel. Ihr Blick ist nach oben zu einer Öffnung im Rahmen der Miniatur gerichtet, durch die sich ein roter Schwall auf Hildegard ergießt – eine Darstellung für die göttliche Inspiration.


Abb. 3: Abschnitte der 2. Vision mit
Zusammenfassungen in roter Tinte,
Hildegard von Bingen,
Liber divinorum
operum, Lucca, Biblioteca Statale
ms. 1942, fol. 9v. > Vergrößerung

Künstlerisch wird diese Szene durch den leuchtenden goldenen Hintergrund, der bei allen Miniaturen zu finden ist, noch verstärkt. Je nach Beleuchtung erstrahlt das Blattgold so stark, dass die Figuren und Formen der Bilder kaum noch zu erkennen sind, vergleichbar mit Hildegards eigenen Beschreibungen im Prolog:

In ihnen hatte die wahre Schau des unvergänglichen Lichtes mir äußerst unwissenden Menschen die Verschiedenheit der vielfältigen Lebensweisen gezeigt.
Ich […] habe […] dennoch zitternd mich schließlich ans Schreiben gemacht. Während ich das tat, blickte ich auf zum wahren und lebendigen Licht, was ich denn schreiben sollte. (Übersetzung Heieck 2012)

Unterschiedliche Randnotizen aus dem 13. und 14. Jahrhundert weisen darauf hin, dass das Manuskript sehr lange in Gebrauch war. Die Herstellung einer solch kostbaren illuminierten Handschrift viele Jahre nach Hildegards Tod ist bemerkenswert. Wahrscheinlich fällt die Entstehungszeit des Manuskriptes mit den Bemühungen des Klosters Rupertsberg zusammen, Hildegard heiligsprechen, also offiziell in die Reihe der Heiligen aufnehmen zu lassen.


Abb. 4: Hildegard von Bingen empfängt eine Vision.
Detail von fol. 1v, Hildegard von Bingen,
Liber
divinorum operum, Lucca, Biblioteca Statale,
ms. 1942. > Vergrößerung

In diesem Zusammenhang wurden vom Kloster auf dem Rupertsberg im 13. Jahrhundert mehrere Manuskripte mit Texten Hildegards nach Rom zu Papst Gregor IX. gesandt, die dort im Heiligsprechungs¬Verfahren geprüft wurden. Ob das hier besprochene Manuskript darunter war, lässt sich nicht mehr feststellen, jedoch ist es wahrscheinlich, dass es im Rahmen dieser Bemühungen entstanden ist. Schrift und Bild des Liber divinorum operum machen den Leser zum Zeugen der Visionen Hildegards, deren Rolle als Prophetin eindrücklich vermittelt wird. Das Heiligsprechungsverfahren scheiterte damals, Hildegard wurde jedoch schließlich im Jahr 2012 von Papst Benedikt XVI. zur Kirchenlehrerin erhoben.



Literatur

BENZ, Ernst (1969): Die Vision. Erfahrungsformen und Bilderwelt. Stuttgart: Klett.

BURNETT, Charles / DRONKE, Peter (Hgg.) (1998): Hildegard of Bingen. The Context of her Thought and Art. London: Warburg Institute.

DEROLEZ, Albert / DRONKE, Peter (Hgg.) (1996): Hildegardis Bingensis, Liber divinorum operum, Turnhout: Brepols.

DINZELBACHER, Peter (1981): Vision und Visionsliteratur im Mittelalter. Stuttgart: Hiersemann.

GANZ, David (2008): Medien der Offenbarung. Visionsdarstellungen im Mittelalter. Berlin: Reimer.

HEIECK, Mechthild (2012), Neuübersetzung aus dem Lateinischen von: Hildegard von Bingen, Das Buch vom Wirken Gottes. Liber divinorum operum, Beuroner Kunstverlag.

MEIER, Christel (2003): „Die Quadratur des Kreises. Die Diagrammatik des 12. Jahrhunderts als symbolische Denk- und Darstellungsform“. In: PATSCHOVSKY, Alexander (Hg.): Die Bildwelt der Diagramme Joachims von Fiore. Zur Medialität religiös-politischer Programme im Mittelalter. Ostfildern: Thorbecke, 23-54.

MEIER, Christel (2014): „nova verba prophetae. Evaluation und Reproduktion der prophetischen Rede der Bibel im Mittelalter. Eine Skizze“. In: MEIER, Christel / WAGNER-EGELHAAF, Martina (Hgg.): Prophetie und Autorschaft. Charisma, Heilsversprechen und Gefährdung. Berlin: de Gruyter, S. 71-104.

RINKE, Stefanie (2006): Das »Genießen Gottes«. Medialität und Geschlechtercodierung bei Bernhard von Clairvaux und Hildegard von Bingen. Freiburg i. Br. u. a.: Rombach.

SAURMA-JELTSCH, Liselotte E. (1998): Die Miniaturen im »Liber Scivias« der Hildegard von Bingen. Die Wucht der Vision und die Ordnung der Bilder. Wiesbaden: Reichert.

SUZUKI, Keiko (1998): Bildgewordene Visionen oder Visionserzählungen. Vergleichende Studie über die Visionsdarstellungen in der Rupertsberger „Scivias“- Handschrift und im Luccheser „Liber divinorum operum“-Codex der Hildegard von Bingen. Bern u. a.: Lang.


Beschreibung
Lucca, Biblioteca Statale
Signatur: Ms. 1942 (Digitalisat)
Material: Pergament, 167 Blätter, moderner Einband
Maße: 39 x 25,5 cm
Herkunft: Mittelrhein, Rupertsberg (?), erste Hälfte 13. Jahrhundert



Text von Karin Becker
© für alle Abbildungen: Ministero dei Beni e delle Attività
Culturali e del Turismo – Biblioteca Statale di Lucca.
Zitationshinweis:
Karin Becker, „Äbtissin, Prophetin – Heilige?“
In: Andreas Janke (Hg.): Manuskript des Monats 2016.05, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_05_mom.html