last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

12/2016 manuscript  of the month


The Light of the World in the Form of a Manuscript

In most people’s minds – in the European cultural sphere, at least – Christmas is associated with light and shimmering radiance. In the depths of the cold season, rays of light from burning candles and festive lights pierce the darkness. For Christians, this is the symbolic expression of their God made flesh in the person of Jesus Christ, whose birth is celebrated at Christmas time and who referred to Himself as ‘the light of the world’. This refulgence is made visible in the early-mediaeval Drogo Sacramentary.


Fig. 1: The richly ornamented front cover
of the Drogo Sacramentary. © BnF
> Enlarge

In 823, Drogo, the twenty-two-year-old abbot of the Benedictine monastery at Luxeuil and illegitimate son of Charlemagne, became head of the bishopric of Metz. During his tenure, art production blossomed in this city in Lorraine, testified, above all, by the magnificent manuscripts that have survived. The Drogo Sacramentary, a work of this period dating from between 845 and 855, was produced for the Cathedral of Metz. In 1802 – during the French Revolution – it was relocated to the Bibliothèque nationale in Paris. The manuscript is structured in a remarkable manner and also exhibits unique pictorial invention.


Fig. 2: The regular composition of the Sacramentary with
its lettering in various colours and forms. © BnF > Enlarge

Like all Gospel Books, the Drogo Sacramentary contains the four chronological accounts of the life of Jesus Christ. Such manuscripts, however, comprised far more than just a ‘fourfold biography’ of Jesus; from early Christianity onwards, they were used in religious services. Appropriate passages of text (‘pericopes’) were read aloud as part of the ritual surrounding the feasts of the liturgical calendar from the early mediaeval period (Christmas, Easter, saints’ days and so on). A list at the end of the codex enlists the respective festivals and the corresponding passages to be read aloud. A Gospel Book was considered to be the embodiment of Jesus Christ – after all, it contained the story of his life and also quoted the words that He had spoken, which were felt to be particularly holy. It was for these reasons that such manuscripts were venerated as if they were Christ Himself: during religious services, manuscripts were kissed, incensed, carried by covered hands only and ceremoniously enthroned. The high esteem in which manuscripts were held is reflected in the sumptuous cover of the Drogo Sacramentary. The surviving Carolingian front cover of the codex, which measures 32.5 × 24.5 cm, bears a central ivory plate with scenes from the Passion of Jesus Christ (figure 1). Encompassing the relief is an ornamented frame also in ivory, which, in turn, is surrounded by a wide decorative border comprising gold filigree rosettes set with gemstones. Mediaeval Gospel Books were frequently bound in such magnificent covers.

The Drogo Sacramentary actually contains much more than the texts of the four Gospels between its superb covers; it also features prologues to the history of the translation and to the canon formation, tabular overviews, lists of contents, and prefaces with information about the four Evangelists. When one leafs through the manuscript, one is particularly struck by the careful regularity of the lettering and the splendour expressed in its coloration and multitude of forms, not to mention the interspersed miniatures it contains.


Fig. 3: The initial letter of St Luke’s Gospel. © BnF
> Enlarge

However, these varying decorative emphases are not merely employed to increase the value of the codex. Their primary purpose is to give expression to the visual hierarchies of the texts, the majority of which are written in dark-brown lettering known as Carolingian miniscule, a very simple, clear script. This uniform lettering is punctuated in a deliberate, regular manner, however. Varying types of lettering are used at the start of each respective text. The titles (incipit lines) are picked out in a very elegant gilt, reminiscent of the capital lettering seen on ancient inscriptions, known as capitalis. On the next level down in the textual composition, the initial letters of each sentence and section of text are also written in gold, albeit in a more rounded, simpler script. This highlighting of the script is accompanied by magnificent initials, which immediately draw the eye to the start of a new text or section of text (figure 2).

To arrive at the true start of the ‘Holy Scripture’, the respective gospels, the reader is required to leaf through quite a number of introductory pages first. Following on from the elaborate opening pages, or ‘incipit lines’, the beginning of each of the four gospels is laid out in a double-sided style; in each case, a large initial, representing the iconography of the Evangelist concerned and the first letter of the text, occupies a considerable proportion of the left-hand page. When one looks at the initial letters of St Luke’s Gospel (figure 3), for instance, one can see that the letter ‘Q’ is made up in part of the body of a winged bull, the symbol for St Luke. Its splayed hind hoof forms the downstroke of the letter. In the case of the other three Evangelists, the bodies of their respective symbolic beasts (in Matthew’s case an angel, in Mark’s a lion and in John’s an eagle) are artfully transformed into the shape of the initial letters. After this opening with its oscillation between script and image, the text continues over the entire double page in large, gilt capitalis letters, followed again by dark-brown miniscule once one turns the page.

Thanks to these decorative elements, the codex as a whole is composed in an entirely regular style. However, a further special means of accentuation is employed in a few places within the manuscript; sections of text are opened here with large initials entwined with tendrils, reaching down for several lines of text (figure 4). Within the interior space of some of the initials, small narrative scenes from the childhood of Jesus are depicted and relate to the following text. It is possible, for instance, to make out the Annunciation to the sleeping St Joseph, Jesus’s foster father; the birth of Jesus; and scenes from the life of St John the Baptist, who was considered to be the forerunner of Christ. The text following the initials also contrasts clearly with the more general script, since – unlike the rest of the text – it is not written uniformly in dark-brown miniscule, but in gleaming uncials. What, then, is the reason for emphasising these few sections of text?


Fig. 4: One of the historiated initials depicting the Virgin Mary and Jesus.
© BnF > Enlarge

It is helpful in this respect to cast a glance at the Capitulare evangeliorum, the list at the end of the Gospel, in which the pericopes to be read aloud during the various liturgical services are recorded in minute detail along with their opening and closing words. This list demonstrates that the highlighting of these few passages was not arbitrary, but was done with great precision. Nonetheless, one still needs to distinguish between the initials and the following sections of text in gilt uncial. On the one hand, there are passages in the manuscript that are opened with a purely ornamental initial (without any biblical scenes), and on the other, some pericopes start with what are known as ‘historiated’ initials, which depict images from the Gospels. The initials entwined with tendrils open the pericopes for the religious services for the feasts of St Stephen and the Apostles, Peter and Paul. These saints were of particular importance for the place where this manuscript was used: St Stephen was the patron saint of Bishop Drogo’s cathedral, and the church housed a very special relic – the staff of St Peter. Conversely, the ‘historiated’ initials, enclosing narrative biblical scenes, and the following passages of text, picked out in gilt, precisely mark the sections of text to be read aloud during particular festivities over the Christmas period. Thus, alongside readings for festivals of intimate importance to the Cathedral of Metz, textual passages relating to the Christmas liturgy are emphasised in the Drogo Sacramentary.

The particular emphasising of these sections of text allows one to conclude that the sumptuous Drogo Sacramentary was used for religious services on the days for which the corresponding pericopes were highlighted within it. Even today, one can imagine the overwhelming effect the gilt lettering must have had on the faithful. Once the gospel had been read aloud, the open codex would be lifted up and shown to the congregation in such a way as to ensure that the candlelight in the cathedral would bounce off the gilt lettering, thus making it appear to gleam. In St John’s Gospel, Jesus Christ described himself as ‘the light of the world’ (John 8:12). Therefore, it can be deduced that it was precisely at Christmas time, the festival of the incarnation of God becoming flesh in Jesus Christ, that this self-revelation would also be expressed in artistic form and the ‘divine’ light would be allowed to radiate out from the manuscript towards the faithful in the congregation.





References

JAKOBI-MIRWALD, Christine (1998): Text – Buchstabe – Bild. Studien zur historisierten Initiale im 8. und 9. Jahrhundert. Berlin: Reimer, esp. pp. 53–58.

LAFFITTE, Marie-Pierre / DENOËL, Charlotte (eds.) (2007): Trésors carolingiens. Livres manuscrits de Charlemagne à Charles le Chauve. Paris: Bibliothèque Nationale de France, esp. pp. 189–205.

KOEHLER, Wilhelm (ed.) (1960): Die karolingischen Miniaturen, vol. 3, pt. 2: Metzer Handschriften, Berlin 1960, pp. 134–142.

PALAZZO, Eric (1989): “L’enluminure à Metz au Haut Moyen Age (VIIIe–XIe siècles)“. In: François Avril et al.: Metz enluminée. Autour de la Bible de Charles le Chauve. Trésors Manuscrits des Églises Messines. Metz: Editions Serpenoise, pp. 23–43.


Description
Bibliothèque nationale de France
Shelf mark: Ms. lat. 9388
Material: vellum, 130 leaves
Dimensions: 265 x 210 mm
Date: Metz, AD 845–855
Content: the four Gospels and associated texts and indices.





Text by Jochen Hermann Vennebusch
© for all pictures: Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF)
Reference note:
Jochen Hermann Vennebusch, “The Light of the World in the Form of a Manuscript”
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Eds.): Manuscript of the Month 2016.12, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_12_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

12/2016 manuskript  des monats


Das „Licht der Welt“ in einem Manuskript

Der Gedanke an das Weihnachtsfest ist – zumindest im europäischen Kulturraum – bei den meisten Menschen mit dem Eindruck von Licht und schimmerndem Glanz verbunden. Mitten in die kalte Jahreszeit hinein kommt durch brennende Kerzen und Lichter ein Strahlen, das die Dunkelheit durchbricht. Hiermit drücken Christen zeichenhaft die Menschwerdung ihres Gottes in der Person Jesu Christi aus, dessen Geburt an Weihnachten gefeiert wird und der sich selbst als „Licht der Welt“ bezeichnet hat. Dieses Strahlen wird im frühmittelalterlichen Drogo-Evangeliar sichtbar.


Abbildung 1: Der reich verzierte Vorder-
deckel des Drogo-Evangeliars. © BnF
> Vergrößerung

Im Jahr 823 übernahm Drogo, der zweiundzwanzigjährige Abt der Benediktinerabtei Luxeuil und unehelicher Sohn Karls des Großen, die Leitung des Bistums Metz. Unter ihm gelangte die Kunstproduktion in dieser lothringischen Stadt zur Blüte, wie vor allem die erhaltenen Prachthandschriften belegen. Ein Werk dieser Zeit ist das zwischen 845 und 855 für die Metzer Kathedrale geschaffene Drogo-Evangeliar, das 1802 im Zuge der Französischen Revolution in die Pariser Bibliothèque nationale gebracht wurde. Dieses Manuskript ist bemerkenswert strukturiert und wartet darüber hinaus mit einzigartigen Bilderfindungen auf.


Abbildung 2: Die gleichmäßige Strukturierung des
Evangeliars mit den verschiedenen Schriftfarben
und Schrifttypen. © BnF > Vergrößerung

Wie alle Evangeliare enthält auch das Drogo-Evangeliar die vier chronologischen Schilderungen des Lebens Jesu Christi. Solch ein Manuskript beinhaltete jedoch weitaus mehr als eine „vierfache Biographie“ Jesu: Diese Handschriften fanden schon seit dem frühen Christentum im Gottesdienst der Kirche Verwendung. Hierbei wurden seit dem frühen Mittelalter thematisch auf die Ereignisse im Kirchenjahr (Weihnachten, Ostern, Heiligenfeste etc.) abgestimmte Textabschnitte („Perikopen“) rituell verlesen. Eine Liste am Ende des Kodex gibt die jeweiligen Festanlässe sowie die entsprechenden Leseabschnitte wieder. Auch wurde das Evangeliar als Verkörperung Jesu Christi interpretiert, schließlich enthält es zum einen seine Lebensbeschreibungen, zum anderen aber auch die von ihm gesprochenen Worte, die als besonders heilig galten. So wurden diese Manuskripte verehrt, als handle es sich bei ihnen um Christus selbst: Die Handschriften wurden im Gottesdienst geküsst, beweihräuchert, nur mit verhüllten Händen getragen und feierlich inthronisiert. Diese hohe Wertschätzung spiegelt der kostbare Einband des Drogo-Evangeliars wider. Der noch erhaltene karolingische Vorderdeckel des 32,5 x 24,5 cm messenden Kodex trägt zentral eine Elfenbeintafel mit Szenen aus der Passion Jesu Christi (Abb. 1). Um das Relief zieht sich ein elfenbeinerner Ornamentrahmen, der wiederum von einem breiten, dekorativen Rand aus Goldfiligran-Rosetten mit Edelsteinen umgeben ist. Mit derartig prächtigen Einbänden wurden die Evangeliare im Mittelalter sehr häufig regelrecht eingekleidet.

Das Drogo-Evangeliar versammelt allerdings zwischen den prächtigen Buchdeckeln nicht nur die Texte der vier Evangelien. Es treten Prologe zur Geschichte der Übersetzung und zur Kanonbildung, tabellarische Übersichten, Inhaltsverzeichnisse und Vorreden mit Informationen über die vier Evangelisten hinzu. Blättert man durch das Manuskript, so fallen die sorgfältige Gleichmäßigkeit der Schrift und die durch Schriftfarben, Schrifttypen und Miniaturen ausgedrückte Prachtentfaltung besonders ins Auge.


Abbildung 3: Die einführende Initiale des Lukas-
Evangeliums. © BnF > Vergrößerung

Doch werden diese verschiedenen Hervorhebungen nicht nur zur Wertsteigerung des Kodex eingesetzt, vielmehr drücken sie visuelle Hierarchien zwischen den verschiedenen Texten aus: Der größte Teil des Textes ist in einer dunkelbraunen sogenannten karolingischen Minuskel, einer recht einfachen und klaren Schrift, geschrieben. Dieses einheitliche Schriftbild wird jedoch regelmäßig und kalkuliert durchbrochen. Für die Anfänge der jeweiligen Texte wurden unterschiedliche Schriftarten verwendet. So stehen die Titelangaben („Incipit-Zeilen“) in einer goldenen und sehr eleganten, an antike Inschriften erinnernden Majuskelschrift, der Capitalis. Auf der nächst untergeordneten Ebene der Textstruktur werden die Anfangsbuchstaben der Sätze und einzelne Textabschnitte ebenfalls in Gold, aber nun in einer gerundeten und einfacheren Schrift geschrieben. Ergänzt werden diese Hervorhebungen noch durch prächtige Initialen, die gleich auf den ersten Blick den Anfang eines neuen Textes oder Textabschnittes anzeigen (Abb. 2).

Um zum eigentlichen Anfang der „Heiligen Schriften“, den jeweiligen Evangelien, zu gelangen, muss eine regelrechte Sequenz von einführenden Seiten „durchschritten“ werden: Auf groß angelegte Einleitungsseiten oder „Incipit-Zeilen“ folgen jeweils die doppelseitig angelegten Anfänge der vier Evangelien: Auf der linken Seite nimmt stets eine große, die Symbolwesen der Evangelien darstellende und den ersten Buchstaben des Textes bildende Initiale weite Teile des Blattes ein. Am Beispiel der Initiale des Lukas-Evangeliums (Abb. 3) kann man erkennen, dass der Buchstabe Q zum Teil aus dem Körper eines geflügelten Stiers, des für Lukas stehenden Symbolwesens, besteht. Der abgespreizte Hinterhuf bildet hier den Abstrich des Buchstabens. Auch bei den anderen drei Evangelien werden die Körper der Symbolwesen (Matthäus – Engel, Markus – Löwe und Johannes – Adler) kunstvoll zu den Initialbuchstaben transformiert. Nach diesem zwischen Schrift und Bild changierenden Auftakt setzt sich der Text zunächst auf der gesamten Doppelseite in großen goldenen Capitalis-Lettern fort und wechselt nach dem Umblättern wieder zu der dunkelbraunen Minuskel.

Mithilfe dieser dekorativen Elemente ist der gesamte Kodex absolut gleichmäßig strukturiert. Doch noch eine weitere, besondere Form der Hervorhebung findet sich an einigen wenigen Stellen des Manuskriptes: Hier werden die Textabschnitte durch große, sich über mehrere Zeilen erstreckende und mit Ranken überwucherte Initialen eröffnet (Abb. 4). Im Binnenraum einiger Initialen sind kleine erzählende Szenen aus der Kindheitsgeschichte Jesu dargestellt, die sich auf den Text beziehen, der auf die Initiale folgt. So erkennt man beispielsweise die Verkündigung des Engels an den schlafenden Josef, den Ziehvater Jesu, die Geburt Jesu selbst, aber auch Szenen aus dem Leben Johannes des Täufers, der als Vorläufer Jesu gilt. Der auf die Initialen folgende Text hebt sich ebenfalls deutlich vom Schriftbild ab, da er nicht – wie der übrige Text der Evangelien – einheitlich in dunkelbrauner Minuskel, sondern in glänzender Goldunziale geschrieben ist. Doch was ist der Grund für die Hervorhebung dieser wenigen Textabschnitte?


Abbildung 4: Eine der historisierten Initialen, die Maria und Jesus zeigt.
© BnF > Vergrößerung

Aufschlussreich ist in diesem Zusammenhang ein Blick in das Capitulare evangeliorum, die Liste am Ende des Evangeliars, in der die im Gottesdienst zu verlesenden Perikopen mit ihren Anfangs- und Endworten minutiös festgehalten sind. Diese Liste zeigt, dass die Hervorhebung einiger Passagen nicht willkürlich, sondern genauestens bedacht war: Bei den Initialen und den darauf folgenden Textabschnitten in goldener Unziale gilt es jedoch zu unterscheiden. Zum einen finden sich in der Handschrift Passagen, die von einer rein ornamentalen Initiale (ohne biblische Szenen) eingeleitet werden, und zum anderen beginnen einige Perikopen mit einer sogenannten „historisierten Initiale“, die Darstellungen aus den Evangelien zeigt. Die Initialen, die allein mit Ranken überwuchert sind, eröffnen die Perikopen für die Gottesdienste am Fest des heiligen Stephanus und der Apostel Petrus und Paulus. Diese Heiligen haben für den Verwendungsort des Manuskripts eine besondere Bedeutung: Zum einen war Stephanus der Patron der Kathedrale von Bischof Drogo und zum anderen wurde in der Kirche ein besonderer Reliquienschatz verwahrt, der Stab des Heiligen Petrus. Hingegen markieren die „historisierten“, also mit erzählenden biblischen Szenen ausgefüllten Initialen und die sich daran anschließenden goldfarbigen Passagen exakt die Leseabschnitte, die an bestimmten Festen in der Weihnachtszeit vorgetragen wurden. So werden im Drogo-Evangeliar neben den Lesungen für die Feste, die in einem engen Bezug zur Kirche von Metz stehen, auch Textabschnitte für die Weihnachtszeit betont.

Die besondere Hervorhebung dieser Abschnitte lässt darauf schließen, dass das kostbare Drogo-Evangeliar an den Tagen, deren Perikopen hervorgehoben wurden, in den Gottesdienst einbezogen war. Noch heute kann man sich die überwältigende Wirkung der Goldbuchstaben auf die Gläubigen vorstellen: Nach dem Verlesen des Evangeliums wurde der geöffnete Kodex emporgehalten und den Gottesdienstbesuchern gezeigt, so dass die goldene Schrift das Kerzenlicht in der Kathedrale reflektierte und dadurch selbst zu leuchten schien. Im Johannesevangelium bezeichnet sich Jesus Christus selbst als „Licht der Welt“ (Joh 8,12). Daher liegt es nahe, dass gerade an Weihnachten, dem Fest der Menschwerdung Gottes in Jesus Christus, diese Selbstoffenbarung auch künstlerisch ausgedrückt wurde und den Gläubigen aus dem Manuskript dieses „göttliche“ Licht geradezu entgegen strahlte.



Literatur

JAKOBI-MIRWALD, Christine (1998): Text – Buchstabe – Bild. Studien zur historisierten Initiale im 8. und 9. Jahrhundert. Berlin: Reimer, bes. 53-58.

LAFFITTE, Marie-Pierre / DENOËL, Charlotte (Hgg.) (2007): Trésors carolingiens. Livres manuscrits de Charlemagne à Charles le Chauve. Paris: Bibliothèque Nationale de France, bes. 189-205.

KOEHLER, Wilhelm (Hg.) (1960): Die karolingischen Miniaturen, Bd. 3,2: Metzer Handschriften, Berlin 1960, 134-142.

PALAZZO, Eric (1989): „L´enluminure à Metz au Haut Moyen Age (VIIIe-XIe siècles)“. In: François Avril et al.: Metz enluminée. Autour de la Bible de Charles le Chauve. Trésors Manuscrits des Églises Messines. Metz: Editions Serpenoise, 23-43.


Beschreibung
Bibliothèque nationale de France
Signatur: Ms. lat. 9388
Material: Pergament, 130 Blatt
Maße: 265 x 210 mm
Datierung: Metz, 845 – 855 n. Chr.
Inhalt: Die vier Evangelien und damit verbundene Texte und Indices.






Text von Jochen Hermann Vennebusch
© für alle Bilder: Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF)
Zitationshinweis:
Jochen Hermann Vennebusch, „Das „Licht der Welt“ in einem Manuskript“
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Hg.): Manuscript des Monats 2016.12, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_12_mom.html