last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuscript  of the month


Stars and Turtles:

A Buddhist Divination Scroll

One of the great things about manuscripts is the way that they can reveal what was going on 'on the ground' in a religious tradition. When we think of Buddhist monks and nuns, meditation is the first thing that might come to mind; but they have always engaged in other activities as well. These include regular prayer and the day-to-day routine of the monastery, as well as services to the lay community outside of the monastery. To carry out these activities, some Buddhist monks and nuns became experts in medicine, divination, and magical practices to bring prosperity and ward against misfortune. Manuscripts such as the scroll that I am introducing here, show the kinds of services that they offered.


Fig. 1: End of the scroll (recto), with wooden roller > Enlarge

This scroll is from the cache found in a sealed cave in Dunhuang, in Chinese Central Asia. The cave was sealed in the early eleventh century, and rediscovered at the beginning of the twentieth century. The original cache is now distributed among many different institutions all over the world. This scroll is from the British Library's collection of Dunhuang manuscripts, and has the number Or.8210/S.6878. It is 25 cm high and 411 cm long, composed in individual sheets of paper which have been glued together. A wooden roller is attached to the end of the scroll (fig. 1), and though the first sheet has been damaged, it is in quite good condition. Laid lines are visible in the paper, the result of the paper being made on a bamboo sieve.

The recto of the scroll is written in Chinese, in vertical columns read from right to left; this is the text of the Great Perfection of Wisdom Sutra, a key Buddhist text (fig. 1). At some point this scroll was re-used, and the text of the verso, written later, is quite different. Here we see a series of diagrams with the text written in Tibetan. The recycling of scrolls in this way was not uncommon at Dunhuang, and there are many examples where the language on the verso is different from that on the recto. This is a reflection of the multicultural and multilingual nature of society in Chinese Central Asia.

Fig. 2: Diagram and text for ‘divining the good and bad dates
for beginning a journey’. Move the cursor over the image to
highlight the segments mentioned in the text.
> Enlarge

When this scroll was catalogued at the British Museum in the early twentieth century, it was put in the category of Chinese manuscripts, with the result that the Tibetan diagrams and text have been ignored for nearly a century. They have yet to be fully studied, so let's just look at two examples of the divination practices set out in the scroll. The first comes under the heading ‘divining the good and bad dates for beginning a journey’. In the text, the first result is this:

When the day falls in the ‘gate of the sky’, if you go on a long journey, it will be good and auspicious.

If you look in the corresponding diagram (fig. 2), the ‘gate of the sky’ (gnam gyi sgo) is the lower segment of the bottom left quadrant. Under this, it says ‘the 1st day, the 9th day, the 10th day, the 17th day and the 25th day’. So the sky is divided into eight parts, based on the day of the lunar month.
There are bad days too. The next result, corresponding to the lower segment of the bottom right quadrant, is:

When the day falls in the ‘junction of the sky’, wherever you go a great loss will occur - very bad.

The word I translated as ‘loss’ (god ka) usually means a financial deficit, so the main purpose for making this astrological calculation was probably to check on the possible success of a journey for the purpose of trade. That is, travelling merchants (not scarce on the Silk Routes) would ask an astrologer (probably a Buddhist monk) to check the best days for embarking on a journey.

The other divination practice is described at the end of the scroll, and is called ‘the divination of the golden turtle’. This is about how to locate a lost object. The instructions are given below a drawing of the animal (fig. 3), which appears to lack a shell. Each of the extremities of the turtle is labelled: head, ear, arm, armpit, foot and tail (except for the first and last, these are mirrored on the left and right sides).

The instructions themselves are fairly straightforward: you need to count the number of lunar days since the day you lost the object, going around the points of the turtle, and then take the result from where you end up on the turtle’s body. If you lost it within thirty days, start at the head and go round clockwise. If it’s over thirty days, start at the bottom and go round anticlockwise. This way, you end up on a part of the turtle’s body which corresponds to the day you lost the object, and can then read the corresponding result:


Fig. 3: Diagram and text for ‘divination of the golden turtle’
> Enlarge
  • If it was lost on the lunar day of the head, it will be found if you look in the place where laundry is washed.
  • If it was lost on the lunar day of the ears, then even if you come across it on the road while searching for it, it will not be beneficial to get your hands on it.
  • If it was lost on the lunar day of the arms, you will find it if you look for it on a high mountain, in a ravine, or in the middle of a graveyard.
  • If it was lost on the lunar day of the armpits, you will find it if you look for it at the goldsmiths, at the watermill, or in the town centre.
  • If it was lost on the lunar day of the feet, you will find it if you look at the royal gates, the minister's office, or the conference site.
  • If it was lost on the lunar day of the tail, you will find it if you look in your girlfriend’s place.

Though we cannot know for sure who made this manuscript and who would have carried out these divinations, it comes from a Buddhist context, and was probably used by Buddhist monastics. Yet the results of the divination address the needs and lifestyles of lay people. So the divination practices on this manuscript offer us an example of the way Buddhist monks and nuns interacted with their lay communities, in this case providing them with the divination services that were part of their daily lives.

References

CORNU, Phillipe (2002): Tibetan Astrology. Boston: Shambhala.

IWAO Kazushi, Sam VAN SCHAIK and Tsuguhito TAKEUCHI (2012): Old Tibetan Texts in the Stein Collection Or.8210. Tokyo: The Toyo Bunko.

KALINOWSKI, Marc (ed.) (2003): Divination et Société dans la Chine Médiévale. Étude des Manuscrits de Dunhuang de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France et de la British Library. Paris: Bibliothèque Nationale de France.

LOEWE, Michael (1994): Divination, Mythology and Monarchy in Han China. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.


Description
British Library
Shelf mark: Or.8210/S.6878
Material: Paper
Dimensions: Scroll, 25 cm by 411 cm
Provenance: Dunhuang, Chinese Central Asia, 11th century or earlier


Manuscript of the Month 04/2017
Text by Sam van Schaik
© for all pictures: British Library
Reference note:
Sam van Schaik, “Stars and Turtles”
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Eds.): Manuscript of the Month 2017.04, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_04_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuskript  des monats


Sterne und Schildkröten:

eine buddhistische Schriftrolle zum Wahrsagen

Manuskripte können auf einzigartige Weise einen Einblick in die Praxis religiöser Traditionen geben. Bei buddhistischen Mönchen oder Nonnen denken wir in der Regel zuerst ans Meditieren, aber sie haben sich stets auch anderen Tätigkeiten gewidmet. Dazu gehörten neben regelmäßigem Beten und der täglichen Routine des Klosterlebens auch Dienstleistungen für die Laiengemeinde außerhalb des Klosters. Zu diesem Zweck spezialisierten sich manche buddhistischen Mönche und Nonnen auf Medizin, Wahrsagung und magische Praktiken, die Wohlstand bringen und Unheil abwenden sollten. Handschriften wie die Schriftrolle, die ich hier vorstellen werde, zeigen, welche Arten von Diensten sie anboten.


Abb. 1: Das Ende der Schriftrolle (Vorderseite) mit dem runden
Holzstab > Vergrößerung

Die Rolle gehört zu einer Sammlung, die in einer verschlossenen Grotte in Dunhuang im chinesischen Teil Zentralasiens gefunden wurde. Die Grotte war Anfang des 11. Jahrhunderts zugemauert und erst zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts wiederentdeckt worden. Die ursprüngliche Sammlung ist heute auf viele verschiedene Institutionen weltweit verteilt. Die Rolle mit der Signatur Or.8210/S.6878 gehört zu der Sammlung der British Library von Manuskripten aus Dunhuang. Sie ist 25 cm hoch und 411 cm lang und besteht aus zusammengeklebten Blättern. Ihr Ende ist mit einem runden Holzstab zum Aufrollen verbunden (Abb. 1), und obwohl das erste Blatt beschädigt ist, ist ihr Zustand generell recht gut. Im Papier sind Linien zu erkennen, die darauf hindeuten, dass es mit einem Bambussieb geschöpft wurde.

Die Vorderseite der Schriftrolle ist mit chinesischen Schriftzeichen in vertikalen Spalten beschrieben, die von rechts nach links gelesen werden. Es handelt sich um das Sutra der vollkommenen Weisheit, einen Schlüsseltext des Buddhismus (Abb. 1). Zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt wurde die Rolle wiederverwendet und auf der Rückseite mit einem Text ganz anderer Art beschrieben. Hier sehen wir eine Reihe von Diagrammen mit Texten in tibetischer Sprache. Diese Art der Wiederverwendung von Schriftrollen war in Dunhuang nicht ungewöhnlich und es gibt viele Beispiele, bei denen die Sprache auf der Rückseite eine andere als die auf der Vorderseite ist, was die multikulturelle und vielsprachige Gesellschaft im chinesischen Zentralasien widerspiegelt.

Abb. 2: Diagramm und Text zu „Gute und schlechte Tage für
den Beginn einer Reise vorhersagen“. Berühren Sie das Bild
mit dem Mauszeiger, um die erwähnten Segmente hervor-
zuheben.
> Vergrößerung

Als die Schriftrolle Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts im British Museum katalogisiert wurde, wurde sie den chinesischen Handschriften zugeordnet, was dazu führte, dass der tibetische Text und die Diagramme beinahe ein Jahrhundert lang unbeachtet blieben. Sie müssen noch gründlich untersucht werden, weshalb wir hier nur zwei Beispiele der dort beschriebenen Wahrsagepraktiken betrachten wollen. Die erste trägt die Überschrift „Gute und schlechte Tage für den Beginn einer Reise vorhersagen“ und beginnt folgendermaßen:

Wenn der Tag in das „Himmelstor“ fällt: falls du eine lange Reise antrittst, wird diese gut und glücklich verlaufen.

Betrachtet man nun das entsprechende Diagramm (Abb. 2), so ist das „Himmelstor“ (gnam gyi sgo) das untere Segment des Quadranten links unten. Darin ist zu lesen: „der 1. Tag, der 9. Tag, der 10. Tag, der 17. Tag und der 25. Tag“. Auf diese Weise ist der Himmel basierend auf dem Tag des Mondmonats in acht Teile aufgeteilt.
Es gibt auch schlechte Tage. Das nächste Ergebnis lautet in Entsprechung zu dem unteren Segment des Quadranten rechts unten:

Wenn der Tag in die „Himmelskreuzung“ fällt: du wirst einen großen Verlust erleiden, wo auch immer du hingehst – sehr schlecht.

Das mit „Verlust“ (god ka) übersetzte Wort bezieht sich in der Regel auf einen finanziellen Verlust. Der Hauptzweck dieser astrologischen Berechnung bestand also vermutlich darin, den möglichen Erfolg einer Geschäftsreise auszuloten. Reisende Kaufleute (keine Seltenheit auf der Seidenstraße) baten vermutlich einen Astrologen (wahrscheinlich einen buddhistischen Mönch), die besten Tage für ihre Abreise zu bestimmen.

Die andere Wahrsagepraktik ist am Ende der Schriftrolle beschrieben und heißt „die Wahrsagung der goldenen Schildkröte“ und dient dem Wiederfinden eines verlorenen Gegenstandes. Die Anweisungen stehen unter der Zeichnung des Tieres (Abb. 3), dem der Panzer zu fehlen scheint. Alle Gliedmaßen der Schildkröte sind beschriftet: Kopf, Ohr, Arm, Achselhöhle, Fuß und Schwanz (mit Ausnahme der ersten und letzten Beschriftung sind sie rechts und links gespiegelt).

Die Anweisungen selbst sind ziemlich eindeutig: Zähle die Anzahl der Mondtage ab dem Tag, an dem du den Gegenstand verloren hast, zähle damit die Gliedmaßen der Schildkröte ab. Die gesuchte Antwort erhältst du von dem Körperteil der Schildkröte, bei dem du am Ende landest. Wenn du den Gegenstand innerhalb von 30 Tage verloren hast, beginne am Kopf und gehe im Uhrzeigersinn weiter. Sind es mehr als 30 Tage, beginne am unteren Ende und gehe gegen den Uhrzeigersinn. Auf diese Weise kommst du an einem Körperteil der Schildkröte an, der dem Tag entspricht, an dem du den Gegenstand verloren hast, und du kannst die entsprechende Antwort ablesen:


Abb. 3: Diagramm und Text zur „Wahrsagung der goldenen
Schildkröte“ > Vergrößerung
  • Ging der Gegenstand am Mondtag des Kopfes verloren, findest du ihn dort, wo Wäsche gewaschen wird.
  • Ging er am Mondtag der Ohren verloren, wäre es nicht gut für dich, ihn an dich zu nehmen, selbst wenn du ihn bei deiner Suche zufällig findest.
  • Ging er am Mondtag der Arme verloren, findest du ihn, wenn du auf einem hohen Berg, in einer Schlucht oder mitten auf einem Friedhof nach ihm suchst.
  • Ging er am Mondtag der Achsel verloren, findest du ihn, wenn du ihn bei einem Goldschmied, in einer Wassermühle oder im Ortszentrum suchst.
  • Ging er am Mondtag der Füße verloren, findest du ihn, wenn du an den königlichen Toren, beim Ministeramt oder am Versammlungsplatz nach ihm suchst.
  • Ging er am Mondtag des Schwanzes verloren, findest du ihn, wenn du bei deiner Freundin zu Hause suchst.

Wir wissen zwar nicht mit Sicherheit, wer diese Handschrift verfasst und wer die Weissagungen gemacht hat, aber sie entstammt einem buddhistischen Kontext und wurde wahrscheinlich von buddhistischen Ordensmitgliedern verwendet. Die Ergebnisse der Weissagung richten sich jedoch an die Bedürfnisse und die Lebensweise von Laien. Und somit bieten uns die Weissagungspraktiken dieser Handschrift einen Einblick, wie buddhistische Mönche und Nonnen mit ihren Laien-gemeinden interagierten indem sie ihnen wie in diesem Beispiel Weissagungsdienste boten, die Teil ihres Alltagslebens waren.



Literatur

CORNU, Phillipe (2002): Tibetan Astrology. Boston: Shambhala.

IWAO Kazushi, Sam VAN SCHAIK und Tsuguhito TAKEUCHI (2012): Old Tibetan Texts in the Stein Collection Or.8210. Tokio: Toyo Bunko.

KALINOWSKI, Marc (Hg.) (2003): Divination et société dans la Chine médiévale. Étude des manuscrits de Dunhuang de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de la British Library. Paris: Bibliothèque nationale de France.

LOEWE, Michael (1994): Divination, Mythology and Monarchy in Han China. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.


Beschreibung
Aufbewahrungsort: British Library
Signatur: Or.8210/S.6878
Material: Papier
Maße: Schriftrolle, 25 cm × 411 cm
Herkunft: Dunhuang, chinesisches Zentralasien, 11. Jahrhundert oder früher



Manuskript des Monats 04/2017
Text von Sam van Schaik
© für alle Bilder: British Library
Zitationshinweis:
Sam van Schaik, „Sterne und Schildkröten“
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Hg.): Manuscript des Monats 2017.04, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_04_mom.html