last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuscript  of the month


The Grave Side of Fengshui

Given the popularity of fengshui nowadays, it is easy for most of us to assume that its sole purpose is to help create a harmonious house, office or garden by bringing positive energy to a space. The term literally translates as ‘wind-and-water’ and has entered our common vocabulary to denote the general qualities of an environment. It was actually coined in the Song Dynasty (960 - 1279) to describe an important form of divination rooted in China’s long tradition of geomancy, which also dealt with the location of gravesites and the orientation of tombs. A manuscript in the British Library’s Stein Collection, produced during the late ninth and early tenth centuries, offers fascinating insights into the development of these practices.

Manuscript Or.8210/S.3877 is a horizontal scroll made of eight sheets of very thin yellow paper (fig.1). Discovered in the so-called Library Cave (Cave 17) near Dunhuang, it was brought to England by the explorer Marc Aurel Stein following his second mission to Central Asia, from 1906 to 1908. Now at the British Library, the scroll was recently conserved so it could be digitised. To a certain extent, age explains why it is fragmented, but its vulnerable condition is also due to the fact it was extensively used before being placed in the cave. Judging by the quality of the paper, almost see-through, and the mediocre hands in which the texts were written, it most probably served a practical function. The manuscript was also ‘recycled’ several times during its lifetime.


Fig. 1. View of scroll Or.8210/S.3877, recto, unrolled. > Enlarge

One side of Or.8210/S.3877 has an intriguing series of large drawings spanning its surface. Their even distribution across the two-meter long scroll suggests that they may have been the first elements to appear on it, although faintly visible guidelines and margins indicate that this side had originally been prepared for text. The drawings are related to geomancy, an ancient Chinese form of divination that led to practices better known now as fengshui. They offer guidance on where best to position a grave in relation to the surrounding landscape. Four different landforms are depicted, each accompanied by comments designating which locations to choose or to avoid for a family tomb. For instance, a caption in the middle of a mountainous landform indicates: ‘burying one’s parent here will bring unending riches and honour’ (zang de cidi fu gui bu jue) (fig. 2). Several other captions allude to the various official ranks that can be attained by descendants depending on the spot selected for their forebears. Likewise, bad sites, considered a potential source of misfortune, are singled out with the character xiong, meaning 'ominous' or 'inauspicious'.


Fig. 2. On the first sheet of the scroll’s recto (unrolling from right to
left), the caption designates an auspicious spot for a grave. > Enlarge

At a time when paper was an expensive commodity (even the lower quality paper used for this scroll), the fact that the sketch spreads over the entire length of the manuscript also reflects the significance of such a document, designed to help local people wanting to bury their forebears. While the first topographical configuration is incomplete, the names of the following three landforms can be discerned in the manuscript’s extant sections: Baozi gang 抱子崗, Sangai shangang 散盖山崗, and Xionglong shangang 雄龍山崗. These could have corresponded to actual places from the Dunhuang region, but could equally refer to particular shapes of hills. If this were the case, the scroll would be something like a map of ideal types, displaying the range of land formations that one may encounter.

Probably at a later stage, a diagram of a similar nature was added to the verso of the scroll. Drawn by another hand, it shows how the tombs of three successive generations ought to be distributed and oriented within the same auspicious family burial site (fig. 3). With circles representing burial mounds, the diagram depicts the grave of a ‘grandfather’ (zufu) and those of two of his sons, placed diagonally across from him. The latter two are to be buried with their offspring, and are referred to as the father’s brothers.


Fig. 3. Diagram of a family gravesite on the last sheet of the scroll’s
verso. The plot of land is surrounded by a square enclosure, which is
open at the top, probably for the entrance. > Enlarge

A fourth grave, dedicated to the ‘father’ (fu), might have been drawn on the now missing upper right side of the diagram. This is quite possible considering that another scroll in the British Library's Stein Collection, Or.8210/S.2263, also bears a similar representation. The latter document is thought to have belonged to a teacher at the Prefectural School of Dunhuang by the name of Zhang Zhongxian張忠賢 because it contains a draft of his preface, dated 896, to a treatise on funerary geomancy entitled Zanglu (Records of burials). Zhang may not be the author of any of the sketches on our manuscript, but this information tells us that the local administration attached importance to divination and that geomancers themselves were active in official institutions. Individuals working in the same circles, whether students or experienced diviners, could have created the geomantic drawings on Or.8210/S.3877.

Our manuscript seems to have eventually fallen into disuse and came to be utilised as scrap paper, a phenomenon not so uncommon among manuscripts from Dunhuang. It could be that lay students, who were practising their literacy skills, gradually added various scribbled notes, characters and texts over the original drawings. One thus finds Chinese book titles, one lay society circular, two doodles and contracts on the recto of the scroll. Upside down on the verso, there is a poem as well as several contracts, dated to 897, 902 and 909, which imply that the scroll was reused for different purposes over the course of the 9th to 10th centuries.

To conclude, the scroll suggests that finding the right location for graves was an important concern in medieval China. Because where one was buried was seen to influence the fate of both the resident of a tomb and that of succeeding generations, we can see how geomancy came to be perceived as a way to influence the future by ensuring good fortune to one’s descendants. In addition, it appears that local people from the Dunhuang area resorted to the services of trained geomancers who were able to make siting recommendations. Yet, many questions remain unanswered. Who did the scroll originally belong to? Who was it for? How did the manuscript end up in the hands of lay students? And why was it eventually deposited inside the Library Cave alongside Buddhist texts and paintings?




References

GALAMBOS, Imre (2016): “Scribbles on the verso of manuscripts Written by Lay Students in Dunhuang”. Tonkō shahon kenkyū nenpō 敦煌寫本研究年報, 10: 497-522.

GILES, Lionel (ed.) (1957): Descriptive Catalogue of the Chinese Manuscripts from Tunhuang in the British Museum. London: British Museum.

JIN Shenjia 金身佳 (2006): “Dunhuang xieben zangshu zhong de gudai Dunhuang sangzang minsu 敦煌寫本葬書中的古代敦煌喪葬民俗”. Journal of Hunan University of Science and Technology (Social Science edition) 湖南科技大學學報(社會科學版), 9, 96-100.

KALINOWSKI, Marc (ed.) (2003): Divination et société dans la Chine médiévale. Étude des manuscrits de Dunhuang de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de la British Library. Paris: Bibliothèque nationale de France.

MAIR, Victor H. (1981): “Lay Students and the Making of Written Vernacular Narrative: an Inventory of Tun-huang Manuscripts”. Chinoperl Papers, 10, 5-96.

WHITFIELD, Susan and SIMS-WILLIAMS, Ursula (eds.) (2004): The Silk Road: Trade, Travel, War and Faith. London: The British Library.


Description
British Library, Stein Collection, London
Shelf-mark: Or.8210/S.3877
Material: ink on paper, 8 sheets
Size: 23.8 cm x 228.6 cm
Provenance: 9th-10th centuries, Dunhuang, Chinese Central Asia


Manuscript of the Month 07/2017
Text by Mélodie Doumy
© for all pictures: British Library Board, London
Reference note:
Mélodie Doumy, “The Grave Side of Fengshui
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Eds.): Manuscript of the Month 2017.07, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_07_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuskript  des monats


Grabgestaltung nach Feng-Shui

Angesichts der Beliebtheit, der sich Feng-Shui heutzutage erfreut, gehen die meisten Menschen davon aus, sein einziger Zweck sei es, zur harmonischen Gestaltung eines Hauses, Büros oder Gartens beizutragen, indem positive Energie in einem Raum erzeugt wird. Wörtlich übersetzt heißt Feng-Shui „Wind und Wasser“ und bezeichnet heute im allgemeinen Sprachgebrauch die allgemeinen Eigenschaften einer Umgebung. Geprägt wurde der Begriff bereits in der Song-Dynastie (960–1279 n. Chr.). Er beschrieb damals eine wichtige Form der Wahrsagung, die ihre Wurzeln in der langen chinesischen Tradition der Geomantik hat, die sich auch mit dem Standort von Grabstätten und der Ausrichtung von Gräbern befasste. Ein Manuskript der Stein Collection der British Library, das um 900 entstand, bietet faszinierende Einblicke in die Entwicklung dieser Praktiken.

Beim Manuskript Or.8210/S.3877 handelt es sich um eine Querrolle aus acht Blatt sehr dünnen, gelben Papiers (Abb. 1). Sie wurde in der so genannten Bibliothekshöhle („Library Cave“, Höhle 17) in Dunhuang entdeckt und von dem Forscher Marc Aurel Stein nach seiner zweiten Zentralasien-Expedition von 1906 bis 1908 nach England gebracht. Sie befindet sich nun in der British Library, wo sie jüngst konserviert wurde, um sie anschließend digitalisieren zu können. Dass sie nur in Fragmenten erhalten ist, lässt sich bis zu einem gewissen Grad durch ihr Alter erklären. Ihr brüchiger Zustand ist aber auch auf ihre ausgiebige Nutzung zurückzuführen, bevor sie ihren Platz in der Höhle fand. Der Qualität des beinahe durchsichtigen Papiers und der mittelmäßigen Handschriften nach zu urteilen, erfüllte sie sehr wahrscheinlich eine praktische Funktion. Zudem wurde das Manuskript über die Dauer seiner Nutzung mehrmals „wiederverwertet“.


Abb. 1: Die Schriftrolle Or.8210/S.3877, Recto. > Vergrößerung

Über eine Seite der Schriftrolle erstreckt sich eine rätselhafte Reihe großformatiger Zeichnungen. Ihre gleichmäßige Verteilung über die zwei Meter lange Rolle lässt vermuten, dass sie als erster Inhalt auf das Manuskript aufgebracht wurden, auch wenn schwach sichtbare Linien und Ränder darauf hindeuten, dass die Seite ursprünglich für einen Text vorgesehen war. Die Zeichnungen haben einen Bezug zur Geomantik, einer alten chinesischen Form des Wahrsagens, deren Methoden heute besser unter dem Namen Feng-Shui bekannt sind. Sie bieten eine Orientierungshilfe bei der Suche nach dem besten Standort für ein Grab in einer bestimmten Landschaft. Es sind vier verschiedene Geländeformen abgebildet, von denen jede mit Kommentaren versehen ist, welche Standorte man für ein Familiengrab wählen und welche man meiden sollte. So lautet beispielsweise die Legende in der Mitte einer bergigen Geländeform: „Beerdigt man seine Eltern hier, bringt es unendlichen Reichtum und Ehre“ (zang de cidi fugui bujue) (Abb. 2). Andere Legenden erwähnen verschiedene Ämter, die den Nachkommen offenstehen, je nachdem welche Ruhestätte sie für ihre Vorfahren wählen. Ebenso sind schlechte Standorte, die als potenzielle Quelle von Unglück gelten, mit dem Schriftzeichen xiong („unheilvoll“ oder „ungünstig“) gekennzeichnet.


Abbildung 2: Auf dem ersten Blatt der Rückseite der Schriftrolle
(von rechts nach links ausgerollt) bezeichnet die Beschriftung einen
günstigen Ort für ein Grab. > Vergrößerung

Zu einer Zeit, als Papier ein teures Gut war (selbst das für diese Schriftrolle verwendete minderwertige Papier), spiegelt die Tatsache, dass die Zeichnungen die gesamte Länge des Manuskripts einnehmen, auch die Bedeutung eines solchen Dokuments wieder, das dazu bestimmt war, der ortsansässigen Bevölkerung bei der Bestattung ihrer Vorfahren zu helfen. Während die erste topografische Struktur unvollständig ist, lassen sich in den erhalten gebliebenen Teilen des Manuskripts die folgenden drei Landschaftsformen unterscheiden: Baozi gang 抱子崗, Sangai shangang 散盖山崗 und Xionglong shangang 雄龍山崗. Sie könnten reale Orte in der Dunhuang-Region bezeichnen, sich aber genauso gut auf bestimmte Hügelformen beziehen. In diesem Fall wäre die Schriftrolle eine Art Karte von idealtypischen Geländeformationen, auf die man treffen kann.

Auf der Rückseite der Schriftrolle befindet sich eine ähnliche graphische Darstellung, die vermutlich zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt entstand. Von anderer Hand gezeichnet zeigt sie, wie die Gräber drei aufeinanderfolgender Generationen auf derselben Glück verheißenden Familiengrabstätte verteilt und ausgerichtet werden sollten (Abb. 3). Zu sehen sind die durch Kreise dargestellten Gräber eines Großvaters (zufu) und zweier seiner Söhne, die ihm gegenüber diagonal angeordnet sind. Letztere sollten zusammen mit ihren Nachkommen begraben werden und werden als Brüder des Vaters bezeichnet.


Abb. 3: Diagramm einer Familiengrabstätte auf dem letzten Blatt der
Rückseite der Schriftrolle. Das Stück Land ist von einer quadratischen
Einfriedung umgeben, deren Öffnung am oberen Bildrand vermutlich
als Eingang diente. > Vergrößerung

Ein viertes für den Vater (fu) vorgesehenes Grab dürfte auf dem jetzt fehlenden Teil der Darstellung rechts oben zu sehen gewesen sein. Diese Annahme beruht auf einer ähnlichen Darstellung in einer weiteren Schriftrolle der Stein Collection der British Library mit der Signatur Or.8210/S.2263. Jenes Dokument gehörte vermutlich einem Lehrer der Präfekturschule von Dunhuang namens Zhang Zhongxian張忠賢, da es den Entwurf seines Vorworts zu einer Abhandlung über Grab-Geomantik aus dem Jahr 896 mit dem Titel Zanglu („Aufzeichnungen von Begräbnissen“) enthält. Zhang war vielleicht nicht der Urheber der Zeichnungen in unserem Manuskript, aber diese Notiz zeigt uns, dass die lokale Verwaltung dem Wahrsagen Bedeutung beimaß und Geomanten in offiziellen Einrichtungen tätig waren. Die geomantischen Zeichnungen auf der Schriftrolle Or.8210/S.3877 könnten von Personen, seien es Schüler oder erfahrene Wahrsager, stammen, die in den gleichen Kreisen arbeiteten.

Unser Manuskript scheint schließlich nicht mehr gebraucht worden zu sein und endete als Schmierpapier, was bei Manuskripten aus Dunhuang nicht unüblich war. Es könnte sein, dass Laienschüler, die sich im Lesen und Schreiben übten, die ursprünglichen Zeichnungen nach und nach mit verschiedenen gekritzelten Notizen, Schriftzeichen und Texten überschrieben. So findet man auf der Vorderseite der Schriftrolle chinesische Buchtitel, das Rundschreiben einer Laiengemeinde, zwei Kritzeleien und Verträge. Auf der Rückseite befinden sich kopfüber ein Gedicht und mehrere auf 897, 902 und 909 datierte Verträge, die darauf hindeuten, dass die Schriftrolle über das 9. und 10. Jahrhundert für verschiedene Zwecke wiederverwendet worden war.

Abschließend lässt sich die Schriftrolle als Hinweis darauf verstehen, dass die Suche nach dem richtigen Standort für Gräber ein wichtiges Anliegen im mittelalterlichen China war. Der Glaube daran, dass sowohl das Schicksal eines Bestatteten als auch das der ihm nachfolgenden Generationen davon beeinflusst wurde, wo sie begraben wurden, zeigt uns, wie es dazu kam, dass die Geomantik als Möglichkeit begriffen wurde, die Zukunft zu beeinflussen, indem man sicherstellte, dass die eigenen Nachkommen vom Glück begünstigt wurden. Außerdem scheint sich die Bevölkerung aus der Gegend um Dunhuang der Dienste ausgebildeter Geomanten bedient zu haben, die ihnen Empfehlungen zur Standortwahl geben konnten. Viele Fragen bleiben jedoch unbeantwortet. Wer war der ursprüngliche Besitzer der Schriftrolle? Für wen war sie gedacht? Wie gelangte das Manuskript letztendlich in die Hände von Laienschülern? Und warum wurde sie schließlich in der Bibliothekshöhle neben buddhistischen Texten und Gemälden aufbewahrt?


Literatur

GALAMBOS, Imre (2016): „Scribbles on the verso of manuscripts written by lay students in Dunhuang“, in: Tonkō shahon kenkyū nenpō 敦煌寫本研究年報, 10: 497–522.

GILES, Lionel (Hg.) (1957): Descriptive Catalogue of the Chinese Manuscripts from Tunhuang in the British Museum. London: British Museum.

JIN Shenjia 金身佳 (2006): „Dunhuang xieben zangshu zhong de gudai Dunhuang sangzang minsu敦煌寫本葬書中的古代敦煌喪葬民俗“, in: Journal of Hunan University of Science and Technology (Social Science edition) 湖南科技大學學報(社會科學版), 9, 96–100.

KALINOWSKI, Marc (Hg.) (2003): Divination et société dans la Chine médiévale. Étude des manuscrits de Dunhuang de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de la British Library. Paris: Bibliothèque nationale de France.

MAIR, Victor H. (1981): „Lay students and the making of written vernacular narrative: an inventory of Tun-huang manuscripts“, in: Chinoperl Papers, 10, 5–96.

WHITFIELD, Susan und SIMS-WILLIAMS, Ursula (Hgg.) (2004): The Silk Road: Trade, Travel, War and Faith. London: The British Library.


Beschreibung
British Library, Stein Collection, London
Signatur: Or.8210/ S.3877
Material: Tusche auf Papier, 8 Blatt
Größe: 23,8 cm × 228,6 cm
Herkunft: 9.–10. Jahrhundert, Dunhuang, zentralasiatisches China



Manuskript des Monats 07/2017
Text von Mélodie Doumy
© für alle Bilder: British Library Board, London
Zitationshinweis:
Mélodie Doumy, „Grabgestaltung nach Feng-Shui
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Hg.): Manuscript des Monats 2017.07, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_07_mom.html