last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuscript  of the month


The Cosmopolitan Compendium of ʿAlī Ufuḳī

When he first took up his reed pen to notate Ottoman music, ʿAlī Ufuḳī (or Ufḳī, ‘from the horizon’) had come a long way. Born around the year 1610 as Albert (Wojciech) Bobowski in Lviv (today in the Ukraine, then in Poland), he had been captured by the Crimean Tatars and sold to the Sultan’s court around 1630. Well-educated in languages, music and medicine, and endowed with both talent and an unprejudiced curiosity, this prisoner of war became a crucial witness to Ottoman music history. Presumably on account of his musical talent, young Albert was selected from among the human booty to be trained as a musician in the rank of a household page (iç-oġlan). Confronted at once with a new musical language and a vast, orally transmitted repertoire, he turned to a device he had learned in his childhood: notation. This resulted in two large notation collections, one of which is the compendium under scrutiny here.


Fig. 1: 152b/23b Staff notation of a vocal piece (murabbaʿ).Text underlay
by scribe 1 (along the upper edge, reading direction from right to left);
transliteration by Alî Ufukî (along the bottom of the page). Various notes
by Alî Ufukî. ©: BnF > Enlarge

Many biographical details are still obscure, including the dates of his birth and death. We know, however, that ʿAlī Ufuḳī’s ties to the court were not severed after his graduation from palace service. He worked as an interpreter for the state council and became an influential intermediary for Europeans in Istanbul. Among other things, the prolific ʿAlī Ufuḳī composed a manual on Ottoman language, a description of the Seraglio (the Ottoman palace), an Ottoman translation of the Bible three music-related manuscripts. One of them, the so-called compendium, MS Paris, Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Turc 292 (fig. 1) was taken to Paris by his friend Antoine Galland (1646–1715), secretary at the French embassy, oriental scholar and manuscript collector. Just when and how Galland acquired the compendium remains unknown.

ʿAlī Ufuḳī poured his entire world of experience into this manuscript, thus creating a highly personal, spontaneous, even intimate source. This has of course consequences for how we interpret its contents. In the absence of another work of its kind we are bound to take all of ʿAlī Ufuḳī’s decisions for granted – for example what he has to say about musical concepts and performance. With its astonishingly wide range of content, the compendium mirrors his time, locale and life circumstances in Istanbul and the Topkapı Palace around the middle of the 17th century. There are complex ceremonial compositions (fig. 2) and works which set to music the verses of the most prominent courtly authors. On the other hand, Turc 292 contains a rich treasure of songs of the Anatolian singer-poets, the ʿāşıḳ. ʿAlī Ufuḳī was interested in everything he encountered. Musical and poetic repertoire is recorded side by side with extensive texts on Ottoman and European medicine and countless marginal notes on the most varied topics (fig. 3).

The untitled Turc 292 has an oblong format bound along the narrow edge, what in Ottoman Turkish is called cönk or sefīne (‘boat’). The term cönk further designates a collection of lyric texts, and ʿAlī Ufuḳī used it himself to describe his collection (‘giunk’ in his self-developed transliteration). The compendium bears resemblance to the European commonplace book as well, as it includes spontaneously collected information from a wide range of topics as well as writings in the hands of various other persons. Overall, the compendium consists of 313 folios in at least 69 irregular quires, whose structures are not always easy to identify. It is bound European-style in dark red leather, gold-tooled with the coat-of-arms of Louis XV. The dimensions of the cover are 13 x 24 cm, and the folios vary between 14 x 10 cm and 23 x 11.5 cm in size.


Fig. 2: 290a/136a First half of a pėşrev (courtly instrumental composition),
accompanied by a demonstration of
uṣūl (rhythmic mode) Çenber. Reading
direction from right to left. Bound upside down in the book, the folio is
displayed here in the correct direction. ©: BnF > Enlarge

Turc 292 is complex in both form and content. Detailed analyses of collation, paper, watermarks, scribal hands and later additions suggest that it is a subsequently bound part of an originally larger loose-leaf collection. It is undated; the terminus post quem is 1645, but ʿAlī Ufuḳī may have started considerably earlier, adding sheets and gatherings to the loose-leaf collection until near the end of his life. The compendium features two independent foliation systems written by two different persons. One of them is, unsurprisingly, ʿAlī Ufuḳī himself, the other most probably Antoine Galland (this hypothesis comes from comparisons with the handwriting in Galland’s journals). Except for two minor errors, this latter foliation is consistent, while the primary, autograph foliation is disrupted in many places. When one tries to piece together the original order according to the primary foliation, it becomes clear that a substantial amount of material, amounting to 147 folios and perhaps more, was lost. While there is no concrete proof, we can surmise that Antoine Galland received a loose-leaf collection. Prior to the final binding in Paris, some reordering was done at some point, but it is unclear by whom and when. This resulted in an irregular collation with small coherent sections, e.g. a group of folios with excerpts from Torquato Tasso’s (1544-1595) epic poem Gerusalemme liberata interspersed with Ottoman compositions. Many sheets contain a coherent text in the space of one leaf. It is impossible to establish an internal chronology on the grounds of writing style and conventions of musical notation. For instance, inconsistent use of self-developed symbols make interpretation difficult.


Fig. 3: 259a/105a Second half of a song by the famous ʿāşıḳ Ḳaraca-oġlan
(17th century), with two medical case studies recorded by Alî Ufukî (below
the empty staff at the outer edge) and a recipe (upside down along the lower
edge) (‘This is the composition of the above-mentioned pill’) by scribe 2.
Bound upside down in the book, the folio is displayed here in the correct
direction. ©: BnF > Enlarge

The paper in the manuscript is of varying quality. Some sheets are glazed and polished, and being in relatively good condition, the writings on them can generally be deciphered without substantial problems. Other sheets, made of cheaper quality paper, are often damaged, making reading difficult. These folios are brittle and rough, and are usually darkened and frayed around the edges. Not all the watermarks in the compendium can be identified, but the identifiable ones point to Italian sources. Obviously ʿAlī Ufuḳī did not always have access to high-quality paper, but simply took what he had at hand. Several hands, presumably belonging to his informants – fellow musicians? – cover a broad range of scribal styles. The writing implement are reed pens, which, when sharpened and eventually replaced, account for changes in the appearance of the writing in the course of time. Inks vary between opaque black and translucent brown; red is rarely encountered.

Turc 292 is transcultural in more than one regard, beginning with its author himself, who committed to the page a broad range of knowledge in roughly a dozen languages sourced from a large and diverse community. Another crucial aspect is ʿAlī Ufuḳī’s adaptation of staff notation for an essentially different musical culture. The compendium is a receptacle of both the knowledge ʿAlī Ufuḳī acquired in his youth in Poland and what he learned in his years in Istanbul, where he lived and worked at the crossroads of many intellectual currents.




References

AYNUR, Hatice / ÇAKIR, Müjgân / KONCU, Hanife / KURU, Selim S. / ÖZYILDIRIM, Ali Emre (eds.) (2012): Mecmûa: Osmanlı Edebiyatının Kırkambarı. İstanbul: Turkuaz.

BEHAR, Cem (2008): Saklı mecmua. Ali Ufkî’nin Bibliothèque Nationale de France’taki [Turc 292] Yazması. İstanbul: Yapı Kredi Yayınları.

FELDMAN, Walter Zev (1996): Music of the Ottoman Court: Makam, Composition and the Early Ottoman Instrumental Repertoire. Berlin: Verlag für Wissenschaft und Bildung.

HAUG, Judith I. (2016): “Being More than the Sum of One’s Parts: Acculturation and Biculturality in the Life and Works of Ali Ufukî”. In: Archivum Ottomanicum, 33, 179–190.

HAUG, Judith I. (forthcoming): Ottoman and European Music in ʿAlī Ufuḳī’s Compendium, MS F-Pbn Turc 292: Analysis, Interpretation, Cultural Context. Münster: Readbox Unipress.


Description
Bibliothèque Nationale de France
Shelfmark: MS Turc 292 (digital scan: https://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b84150086)
Material: Paper (glazed and unglazed), 313 folios
Dimensions: 24 x 13 cm (cover), folios between 14 x 10 and 23 x 11.5 cm
Provenance: Istanbul, c. 1630-1670


Manuscript of the Month 08/2017
Text by Judith I. Haug
© for all pictures: Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF)
Reference note:
Judith I. Haug, “The Cosmopolitan Compendium of ʿAlī Ufuḳī”
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Eds.): Manuscript of the Month 2017.08, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_08_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuskript  des monats


Das kosmopolitische Kompendium des ʿAlī Ufuḳī

Als ʿAlī Ufuḳī (auch Ufḳī, „Horizont“) zum ersten Mal das Schreibrohr ergriff, um osmanische Musik zu notieren, hatte er bereits einiges hinter sich. Geboren um 1610 als Albert (Wojciech) Bobowski im damals polnischen Lwów (in der heutigen Ukraine Lwiw, dt. Lemberg), war er um 1630 in die Hände von Krimtataren gefallen und an den Hof des Sultans verkauft worden. Dort sollte aus dem Kriegsgefangenen mit exzellenten fremdsprachlichen, musikalischen und medizinischen Kenntnissen, der zudem sowohl über Talent als auch unvoreingenommenen Wissensdurst verfügte, ein bedeutender Zeitzeuge osmanischer Musikgeschichte werden. Vermutlich aufgrund seiner musikalischen Begabung wurde er aus der menschlichen Kriegsbeute ausgewählt, um zu einem Musiker im Rang eines Pagen bei Hofe (iç-oġlan) ausgebildet zu werden. Gleichzeitig mit einer neuen musikalischen Sprache und einem immensen mündlich überlieferten Repertoire konfrontiert, bediente er sich einer Technik, die er schon als Kind gelernt hatte: der Notation. So entstanden zwei umfangreiche Notationssammlungen, zu denen das hier vorgestellte Kompendium gehört.


Abb. 1: 152b/23b Notation eines Gesangsstückes (murabbaʿ). Textunter-
legung von Schreiber 1 (entlang des oberen Randes, Leserichtung von
rechts nach links); Transliteration von ʿAlī Ufuḳī (entlang des unteren
Seitenrandes). Diverse Notizen von ʿAlī Ufuḳī. © BnF > Vergrößerung

Zahlreiche biografische Einzelheiten, einschließlich Geburts- und Todesdatum, sind noch unbekannt. Wir wissen jedoch, dass ʿAlī Ufuḳī auch nach seiner Entlassung aus dem Palastdienst weiterhin seine Verbindungen zum Hof des Sultans pflegte. Er arbeitete als Dolmetscher für den Staatsrat und wurde ein einflussreicher Mittelsmann für Europäer in Istanbul. Mit außerordentlicher Produktivität verfasste ʿAlī Ufuḳī unter anderem ein Handbuch der osmanisch-türkischen Sprache, eine Beschreibung des Serails (des osmanischen Palastes), eine Übersetzung der Bibel ins Osmanische sowie drei musikbezogene Handschriften. Eine davon, das sogenannte Kompendium, MS Paris, Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Turc 292 (Abb. 1), kam über einen Freund ʿAlī Ufuḳīs, den französischen Botschaftssekretär, Orientalisten und Handschriftensammler Antoine Galland (1646–1715), nach Paris. Wann und wie Galland ursprünglich in den Besitz des Kompendiums gelangt war, ist nicht bekannt.

ʿAlī Ufuḳī ließ seine gesamte Erfahrungswelt in das Manuskript einfließen und schuf somit eine sehr persönliche, spontane, und auch intime Quelle. Dies hat natürlich einen gewissen Einfluss auf unsere Interpretation der Inhalte. In Ermangelung vergleichbarer Texte sind wir gezwungen, ʿAlī Ufuḳīs Entscheidungen als gegeben anzunehmen, etwa wenn er musikalische Konzepte und die Aufführungspraxis kommentiert. Mit seiner erstaunlichen Bandbreite von Inhalten bietet das Kompendium ein Abbild von ʿAlī Ufuḳīs Zeit, Umgebung und Lebensumständen in Istanbul und dem Topkapı-Palast in der Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts. Das Kompendium enthält einerseits komplexe zeremonielle Kompositionen (Abb. 2) und Vertonungen von Versen berühmter höfischer Dichter, andererseits aber auch einen reichen Liederschatz der anatolischen Barden, der ʿāşıḳ. ʿAlī Ufuḳī interessierte sich für alles, das ihm begegnete. So findet sich musikalisches und poetisches Repertoire Seite an Seite mit ausführlichen Darstellungen osmanischer und europäischer Heilkunde und unzähligen Randnotizen zu verschiedensten Themen (Abb. 3).

Das unbetitelte Manuskript Turc 292 ist entlang der schmalen Seite im Langformat gebunden, im osmanischen Türkisch cönk oder sefīne („Boot“) genannt. In zweiter Bedeutung bezeichnet cönk eine Sammlung lyrischer Texte, und auch ʿAlī Ufuḳī verwendet den Ausdruck für sein Kompendium („giunk“ in seiner eigenen Transliteration). Die notizenhaften Aufzeichnungen zu einer Vielfalt von Themen und diversen Eintragungen von fremder Hand erinnern an europäische Kollektaneenbücher. Insgesamt besteht das Kompendium aus 313 Blättern in mindestens 69 Lagen, deren unregelmäßige Struktur nicht immer leicht auszumachen ist. Der dunkelrote Ledereinband im europäischen Stil ist mit dem goldgeprägten Wappen Ludwigs XV. verziert. Die Buchdeckel messen 13 × 24 cm, die Größe der Blätter variiert zwischen 14 × 10 cm und 23 × 11,5 cm.


Abb. 2: 290a/136a Erste Hälfte eines pėşrev (höfische Instrumental-
komposition), begleitet von der Erläuterung des
uṣūl (rhythmischer Modus)
Çenber. Leserichtung von rechts nach links. Im Buch kopfstehend gebunden,
hier korrekt ausgerichtet. © BnF > Vergrößerung

Das Manuskript Turc 292 ist formal und inhaltlich komplex. Detailanalysen zu Kollation, Papier, Wasserzeichen, verschiedenen Schreiberhänden sowie späteren Ergänzungen haben gezeigt, dass es sich um den nachträglich gebundenen Teil einer ursprünglich größeren Loseblattsammlung handelt. Das Manuskript ist undatiert. Obwohl das Jahr 1645 als terminus post quem gilt, könnte ʿAlī Ufuḳī seine Loseblattsammlung durchaus schon wesentlich früher begonnen und dann bis zu seinem Tod um weitere Blätter und Lagen ergänzt haben. Das Kompendium weist zwei voneinander unabhängige Foliierungen zweier Personen auf. Eine ist ʿAlī Ufuḳī selbst; bei der zweiten Person handelt es sich wahrscheinlich um Antoine Galland (einem Vergleich mit der Handschrift in Gallands Tagebüchern nach zu urteilen). Mit Ausnahme zweier geringfügiger Fehler, ist die zweite Foliierung durchgängig, während die erstere autografische an mehreren Stellen unterbrochen ist. Versucht man, gemäß der autografischen Foliierung die ursprüngliche Reihenfolge wiederherzustellen, zeigt sich, dass eine beträchtliche Anzahl von Folios, 147 oder mehr Blätter, verloren gegangen sein muss. Es lässt sich zwar nicht belegen, aber die Vermutung liegt nahe, dass Antoine Galland eine Loseblattsammlung erhielt. Bevor die Blätter schließlich in Paris gebunden wurden, fand eine teilweise Umordnung statt. Unklar ist aber, wer diese wann ausführte. Das Ergebnis ist eine uneinheitliche Kollation mit kleineren zusammenhängenden Abschnitten, beispielsweise eine Anzahl von Blättern mit Auszügen aus dem Epos Gerusalemme liberata von Torquato Tasso (1544–1595), durchsetzt mit osmanischen Kompositionen. Auf zahlreichen Blättern reicht ein zusammenhängender Text über eine Doppelseite. Schreibstil und musikalische Notationskonventionen lassen die Erstellung einer internen Chronologie nicht zu. So erschwert beispielsweise die uneinheitliche Verwendung selbst entwickelter Symbole eine eindeutige Interpretation.


Abb. 3: 259a/105a Zweite Hälfte eines Liedes des berühmten āşıḳ-Dichters
Ḳaraca Oġlan (17. Jh.), ebenso zwei von ʿAlī Ufuḳī notierte medizinische
Fallstudien (unter den leeren Notenlinien am äußeren Rand) und eine
Rezeptur (kopfstehend am unteren Randes: „Dies ist die Zusammensetzung
des obengenannten Medikaments“) von Schreiber 2. © BnF > Vergrößerung

Die Papierqualität der Handschrift variiert stark. Einige Blätter sind geleimt und poliert, und da sie in einigermaßen guten Zustand sind, lässt sich die Schrift darauf relativ problemloses entziffern. Andere Blätter von minderer Papierqualität sind in vielen Fällen beschädigt, was die Lektüre erschwert. Diese Folia sind brüchig und rau, an den Rändern zumeist ausgefranst und dunkel verfärbt. Nicht alle Wasserzeichen im Kompendium lassen sich eindeutig bestimmen, die identifizierbaren weisen jedoch auf italienische Quellen hin. Offensichtlich hatte ʿAlī Ufuḳī nicht immer Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertigem Papier, sondern gab sich mit dem zufrieden, was gerade verfügbar war. Verschiedene Schreiberhände, vermutlich von seinen Informanten – vielleicht Musikerkollegen – zeigen eine Vielfalt von Schreibstilen. Als Schreibgerät wurden Schreibrohre benutzt, die man nachschärfen und schließlich ersetzten musste, so dass sich über einen gewissen Zeitraum das Erscheinungsbild der Schrift veränderte. Die Tintenfarbe variiert von deckendem Schwarz bis zu semi-transparentem Braun; rote Tinte findet sich kaum.

Das Manuskript Turc 292 ist in vielerlei Hinsicht transkulturell, ausgehend von dem Verfasser selbst, der den Seiten seine breit gefächerten Kenntnisse einer großen, facettenreichen Gemeinschaft in rund einem Dutzend verschiedener Sprachen anvertraute. Von wesentlicher Bedeutung ist auch ʿAlī Ufuḳīs Gebrauch der Liniennotation für eine essenziell andere Musikkultur. Das Kompendium stellt somit ein Sammelbecken für das Wissen dar, das sich ʿAlī Ufuḳī in seiner Jugend in Polen und später in Istanbul aneignete, wo er im Schnittpunkt zahlreicher intellektueller Strömungen lebte und arbeitete.


Literatur

AYNUR, Hatice / ÇAKIR, Müjgân / KONCU, Hanife / KURU, Selim S. / ÖZYILDIRIM, Ali Emre (Hg.) (2012): Mecmûa: Osmanlı Edebiyatının Kırkambarı. Istanbul: Turkuaz.

BEHAR, Cem (2008): Saklı mecmua. Ali Ufkî’nin Bibliothèque Nationale de France’taki

[Turc 292] Yazması. Istanbul: Yapı Kredi Yayınları.

FELDMAN, Walter Zev (1996): Music of the Ottoman Court: Makam, Composition and the Early Ottoman Instrumental Repertoire. Berlin: Verlag für Wissenschaft und Bildung.

HAUG, Judith I. (2016): „Being More than the Sum of One’s Parts: Acculturation and Biculturality in the Life and Works of Ali Ufukî“. In: Archivum Ottomanicum, 33, 179–190.

HAUG, Judith I. (demnächst): Ottoman and European Music in ʿAlī Ufuḳī’s Compendium, MS F-Pbn Turc 292: Analysis, Interpretation, Cultural Context. Münster: Readbox Unipress.


Beschreibung
Bibliothèque nationale de France
Signatur: MS Turc 292 (Digitalisat: https://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b84150086)
Material: Papier (teilweise satiniert), 313 Blätter
Maße: 24 × 13 cm (Buchdeckel), Blätter von 14 × 10 bis 23 × 11,5 cm
Herkunft: Istanbul, ca. 1630–1670



Manuskript des Monats 08/2017
Text von Judith I. Haug
© für sämtliche Abbildungen:
Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF)
Zitationshinweis:
Judith I. Haug, „Das kosmopolitische Kompendium des ʿAlī Ufuḳī“
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Hg.): Manuscript des Monats 2017.08, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_08_mom.html