last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuscript  of the month


Figures Under the Script:

Drawings From the Early Middle Ages Revealed

Flipping through the second half of Codex Guelf. 125 Gud. lat. at the Herzog August Bibliothek in Wolfenbüttel, containing the epic poem Bellum civile by the Roman poet Lucanus, a regular brown script, a Carolingian minuscule typical for the beginning of the 12th century, and beautiful decorated initials in red and green together catch the eye. On many of the pages, the two-column text is complemented by interlinear glosses. They were probably written by the monks or clerics who copied the main text. On a few pages of the manuscript, when one looks closely, faint traces of drawings peer out from behind the script, barely visible to the eye. A range of advanced techniques including photography with sided-light and UV-light, microscopic examination, and multispectral imaging have revealed that the folios had an entirely different life before the text of Lucanus was copied onto them.


Fig. 1: Cod. Guelf. 125 Gud. lat., fol. 61r. Move the
cursor over the image to show the folio in normal
light.
Images by Ivan Shevchuk, CSMC. > Enlarge

Some words must be said first about the history of the manuscript in the Late Middle Ages and beyond. In the 15th century, the manuscript of Lucanus (fol. 53r-102v of our codex) was bound together with another manuscript from the 12th century (fol. 1r-52v). The latter manuscript contained two works by Sallustius, a Roman author who lived in the 1st century BCE, De coniuratione Catilinae and Bellum Iugurthinum. The new composite manuscript thus concerned Roman history, but the two parts nevertheless bear evident signs of their different origins: they were written in one and two columns, respectively; they were copied by different scribes; and they had different styles of decorated initials and sizes. Both original manuscripts, Sallustius and Lucanus, go back to the 12th century and were used from the beginning in a teaching and learning context, as the many marginal and interlinear glosses in them reveal. An additional note written at the end of the first part of the volume (fol. 52v) which contains a typical invective against the schoolmaster (magister) confirms this use. In the 15th century, the two manuscripts were put together and a new binding was given to the volume. The stamps on the leather which covers the wooden plates point to the Benedictine monastery of St. Ulrich and Afra in Augsburg, where the same patterns were used on other book covers. Traces of a shelfmark further corroborates that the codex was part of the library of this monastery at that moment; the paper used for the fly-leafs can be dated through the watermarks to around 1482. In the 17th century, the codex came into the possession of the German physician Bernhard Rottendorff of Münster, and later on it belonged to the philologist Marquard Gude (d. 1689).

If we now come back to the Lucanus part of the manuscript (fol. 53-68), two quires of it, as mentioned above, are palimpsests: 16 folios had been scratched before the parchment was reused for writing the Bellum civile. What emerges under the surface are drawings older than c. 1100 (fig. 1) which had not yet been detected until recent investigations. Other examples of medieval drawings in so-called model books are already known, but the number of these books from the Early Middle Ages (the 9th -11th centuries) is very limited, so this increases the value of the discovery. The object raises at the same time many questions: Where was the Lucanus manuscript written and did the parchment, which had been reused, come from another place? What can we see under the surface of the written text and how can multispectral imaging help in this investigation? Can we understand and reconstruct the intended use of the drawings which were first outlined on the parchment?


Fig. 2: Centaur, fol. 53r. Move the cursor over the
image to show the folio in normal light.
Images
by Ivan Shevchuk, CSMC. > Enlarge

Photographs taken with ultraviolet light and raking light as well as examination under the microscope have already revealed many figures like saints, animals, constellations and decorative motifs such as acanthus scrolls, initials and architectural structures under the text of Lucanus. Multispectral analysis, however, has enabled the visualization of the lost content to a degree unattained by other techniques. As part of the process, an object is illuminated with light of different wavelengths, and spectral information is collected and statistically processed to finally reveal the lost content without damage to the object. A team from the Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures in Hamburg (CSMC) performed the imaging over five working days in the vault of the Herzog August Bibliothek in November-December 2016, a natural dark room with no vibrations ideal for the imaging process. A few examples of discoveries through multispectral analysis from an ongoing investigation are presented below.

On what was formerly the first folio of the manuscript of Lucanus, the impressive drawing of a centaur (a half horse, half man creature) can be discerned under the book’s title on the lower section of the page (fig. 2). In Greek astronomy, beginning with the illustration of the celestial sphere in the manuscripts of Aratus of Soli (ca. 310-240 BCE), the mythological figure of the centaur was used to describe one of the fifteen constellations south of the Zodiac. In the Early Middle Ages, various Latin translations and adaptations of the text of Aratus circulated, including those by Germanicus, probably the Roman emperor of the 1st century with this name, and those by Avienus, a Roman poet of the 4th century. In illuminated manuscripts containing these texts, one can find both images of the distinct constellations which indicate the position of the stars in the outlines of the figures, and planispheres depicting many constellations at once. Among the different texts on the constellations which were copied with corresponding images, some were attributed to Beda Venerabilis of Northumbria (d. 735), a monk and writer of many exegetical and historical works. With respect to the centaur, some texts speak of an animal (bestia) which he holds in his (right) hand (cf. the manuscript in Vienna, fol. 120r-v), while other versions add that he holds in his left hand a shield and a hare (cf. the manuscript in Paris, fol. 170r-v). Avienus speaks of a wild prey (agrestis praeda) which the centaur offers with his right hand to the altar of the Gods. In illuminated medieval manuscripts transmitting these texts, one thus finds a variety of pictorial representations of the centaur, with staff or without, holding one or two animals (in some cases with one resembling a hare), or with the skin of one animal and the body of another in his hands (cf. the manuscript in Munich, fol. 113v, 120v, and the manuscript in Boulogne-sur-Mer, fol. 29r, which is a copy of the manuscript in Leiden).


Fig. 3: Figure on a throne (Cassiopeia), fol. 56v.
Move the cursor over the image to show the folio
in normal light.
Images> by Ivan Shevchuk, CSMC.
> Enlarge

Thanks to the multispectral photographs, it is now possible to identify with precision that in our manuscript the centaur holds in his right hand the body of the bestia (the head and forelegs can be discerned), while the skin of another animal is wrapped around his left forearm and trails in the air behind him. Furthermore, on the left corner behind the centaur I believe that the skinned body of the prey (praeda) has been represented hanging on a scaffolding with its legs up, although only the upper part is discernible (fig. 2). In any case, the multispectral photographs have made better visible not only the face of the centaur and his body, but also the drama of the scene and the power of the figure.

Another image, whose interpretation can now be improved, is related to the visual depiction of the constellations as well (fig. 3). The image of a person sitting on a throne had been partially detected through ultraviolet photography, but has not been correctly understood until now. Multispectral imaging has enabled us to see clearly her outstretched arms (fig. 3), which point to the representation of the constellation of Cassiopeia. A further decisive detail is the elaborate, high headgear of the female figure, where a star appears on top (cf. parallels in the manuscript in Leiden, fol. 28v, and the manuscript in Paris, fol. 163r).


Fig. 4: Layers of drawings, fol. 67r. Move the cursor
over the image to show the folio in normal light.

Images by Ivan Shevchuk, CSMC. > Enlarge

These images show that at least one group of the drawings on the reused folios represented models or exercises of very high quality for the illuminated sections of a book which could accompany the text of Aratus latinus or other texts on the celestial cosmos during the Early Middle Ages. That they were exercises or possibly models is corroborated by the fact that no trace of text was found close to these images. Besides images related to the constellations, the folios contain images corresponding to the traditional Christian repertoire, such as the blessing Christ with the book of Gospels in his left hand (fig. 1), which is similar in style to North French examples of the 11th century. There is also a wide range of other motifs including decorative leaf tendrils and architectural elements. Moreover, various layers of re-working on the parchment can be discerned, such as in as the addition of a draft of the Lamb of God above an earlier scene on fol. 67r (fig. 4; a second centaur is also there). Some figures were drawn only with a metal hard point. These observations together point to intense and repeated use of the original folios (which could have formed a booklet at some point) among the artists of a scriptorium. From a codicological point of view, it is not possible to determine with certainty whether the folios were bound together or simply piled together in a certain place, where the manuscripts were copied and illuminated.

In conclusion, the discovered figures under the script allow us to begin investigating the interactions between (re-)writing, drafting and illuminating practices within an advanced scriptorium in which books of very good quality were being produced. The first step is to completely and correctly describe the drawings. In this case many advanced techniques, above all multispectral imaging, have helped to make visible what is not discernible by the naked eye or through other techniques. Comparison with other clearly preserved images from the Middle Ages is now possible, and this can lead to precise identification of the subjects and of possibly coherent cycles of images (e.g. for the Aratus manuscripts) which were intended to be produced. Also, the dating of the drawings can be established more precisely when the images are made visible in full detail.




References

AVIENUS (2003): Les Phénomènes d’Aratos. Edited and translated by Jean Soubiran. Paris: Les belles lettres.

BLUME Dieter / HAFFNER, Mechthild / METZGER, Wolfgang (eds.) (2012): Sternbilder des Mittelalters. Der gemalte Himmel zwischen Wissenschaft und Phantasie, vol. I, 1-2: 800 – 1200. Berlin: Akademie Verlag.

CARMASSI, Patrizia (2016): “From the codex to the libraries: Gudianus latinus palimpsest: Herzog August Bibliothek, Cod. Guelf. 125 Gud. lat.”. In: Patrizia Carmassi(ed.): Retter der Antike. Marquard Gude (1635-1689) auf der Suche nach den Klassikern. Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz, 263-307.

DELL'ERA, Antonio (1979): “Una rielaborazione dell'Arato latino”. In: Studi medievali ser. 3, 20, 269-301.

DEKKER, Elly (2013): Illustrating the Phaenomena. Celestial Carthography in Antiquity and the Middle Ages. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

EASTON, Roger L. / David KELBE (2014): “Statistical Processing of Spectral Imagery to Recover Writings from Erased or Damaged Manuscripts”. In: manuscript cultures, 7, 35-46.

GEE, Emma (2013): Aratus and the Astronomical Tradition. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

GEYMONAT, Ludovico (2016): “Carolingian drawings in the Wolfenbüttel Centaur Palimpsest”. In: Patrizia Carmassi (ed.), Retter der Antike. Marquard Gude (1635-1689) auf der Suche nach den Klassikern. Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz, 309-347.

KATZENSTEIN, Ranee (1988): The Leiden Aratea. Ancient Constellations in a Medieval Manuscript. Malibu, California: The Getty Museum. http://www.getty.edu/publications/virtuallibrary/0892361425.html (accessed on 26/11/2018).

SCHELLER, Robert W. (1995): Exemplum. Model-book Drawings and the Practice of Artistic Transmission in the Middle Ages (ca. 900 - ca. 1470). Amsterdam: Amsterdam University Press.


Description
Wolfenbüttel, Herzog August Bibliothek, Cod. Guelf. 125 Gud. lat.
Material: Vellum, 102 folios
Dimensions: 260 x 185 mm
Date: the script on the surface, fol. 53r-102v: Gembloux (?), first half of the 12th century; drawings underneath the script, fol. 53r-68v: North France (?), end of the 11th century.
Content: Sallustius, De coniuratione Catilinae and Bellum Iugurthinum and other minor texts, fols. 1-52; Lucanus, Bellum civile, fols. 53-102; drawings under the text, fols. 53-68.

Additionally mentioned manuscripts
Manuscript in Boulogne-sur-Mer, Bibliothèque municipale, Ms 188.
Manuscript in Leiden, Universiteitsbibliotheek, Ms. Voss. lat. Q 79.
Manuscript in Munich, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Clm 210.
Manuscript in Paris, Bibliothèque nationale de France, MSS latin 5543.
Manuscript in Vienna, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek, Cod. 387.



Manuscript of the Month 09/2017
Text by Patrizia Carmassi
© for all pictures: CSMC
Photos and image processing: Ivan Shevchuk, CSMC
Reference note:
Patrizia Carmassi, “Figures Under the Script: Drawings From the Early Middle Ages Revealed”
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Eds.): Manuscript of the Month 2017.09, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_09_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuskript  des monats


Figuren unter der Schrift:

Die Wiederentdeckung mittelalterlicher Zeichnungen in einem Manuskript

Beim Durchblättern des Epos Bellum civile („Über den Bürgerkrieg“) des römischen Dichters Lucan, dem Text im zweiten Teil des Codex Guelf. 125 Gud. lat. in der Herzog August Bibliothek in Wolfenbüttel, fällt die gleichmäßige braune Schrift, eine für den Anfang des 12. Jahrhunderts typische karolingische Minuskel, mit ihren reich verzierten Initialen in Rot und Grün ins Auge. Der zweispaltige Text weist auf zahlreichen Seiten Interlinearglossen auf, die vermutlich von Mönchen oder Geistlichen beim Kopieren des Haupttexts hinzugefügt wurden. Bei genauerem Hinsehen bemerkt man auf einigen Manuskriptseiten die mit bloßem Auge kaum wahrnehmbaren Spuren von Zeichnungen zwischen den Buchstaben. Untersuchungen mit Streiflichtverfahren, Ultraviolettfotografie, Mikroskopie und Multispektralkameras haben offenbart, dass die Blätter vor der Übertragung des Lucan-Textes ein ganz anderes Leben führten.


Abb. 1: Cod. Guelf. 125 Gud. lat., fol. 61r. Berühren
Sie das Foto mit dem Mauszeiger, um das Blatt in
normalem Licht anzuzeigen.
Fotos und Multispek-
traluntersuchungen von Ivan Shevchuk, CSMC.
> Vergrößerung

Zunächst bedarf es einiger Ausführungen zur Geschichte der Handschrift im Spätmittelalter und in der Folgezeit. Im 15. Jahrhundert war das Lucan-Manuskript (fol. 53r–102v im genannten Codex) mit einer zweiten Handschrift aus dem 12. Jahrhundert zusammengebunden worden (fol. 1r–52v). Letztere enthält zwei Werke des römischen Autors Sallust, der im 1. Jh. v. Chr. lebte: De coniuratione Catilinae („Die Verschwörung des Catilina“) und Bellum Iugurthinum („Der Jugurthinische Krieg“). Die so entstandene zusammengesetzte Handschrift behandelt also römische Geschichte, doch beide Teile weisen Merkmale ihrer unterschiedlichen Herkunft auf: Sie wurden in einer bzw. zwei Spalten geschrieben, sie wurden von zwei verschiedenen Schreibern kopiert und variieren hinsichtlich der Zierinitialen und ihrer Größe. Die beiden ursprünglichen Manuskripte, das mit Sallust wie auch das mit Lucan, gehen auf das 12. Jahrhundert zurück und wurden von Anfang an in einem Lehr- und Lernkontext verwendet, wie zahlreiche Marginal- und Interlinearglossen belegen. Eine zusätzliche Anmerkung am Ende des ersten Teils (fol. 52v), die eine typische Schmähung eines Schulmeisters (magister) enthält, bestätigt diese Verwendung. Im 15. Jahrhundert wurden die beiden Handschriften zusammengefügt und neu gebunden. Die Einzelstempel auf dem Ledereinband, der die Holzdeckel überspannt, deuten auf das Benediktinerkloster Sankt Ulrich und Afra in Augsburg hin, wo man identische Stempel auch für andere Buchdeckel verwendete. Spuren einer Signatur stützen die Annahme, dass sich der Codex damals in der dortigen Klosterbibliothek befand, und das Papier des hinteren Vorsatzes lässt sich anhand der Wasserzeichen auf ca. 1482 datieren. Im 17. Jahrhundert gelangte der Codex zunächst in den Besitz des Münsteraner Stadtarztes Bernhard Rottendorff und später in den des Philologen Marquard Gude (gest. 1689).

Nachfolgend soll nun der zweite Teil, das Lucan-Manuskript (fol. 53–68), eingehender betrachtet werden. Zwei seiner Lagen sind, wie bereits erwähnt, Palimpseste: 16 Blätter wurden abgeschabt, bevor sie mit dem Bellum civile neu beschrieben wurden. Jüngsten Analysen zufolge entstanden die Zeichnungen, die unter dem Lucan-Text zum Vorschein kamen, noch vor dem 11. Jh. (Abb. 1). Ihre Entdeckung ist besonders bedeutsam, weil zwar Beispiele mittelalterlicher Zeichnungen aus sogenannten Musterbüchern bekannt sind, aber nur sehr wenige solcher Bücher aus dem frühen Mittelalter (8.–11. Jh.) vorliegen. Das Manuskript wirft viele Fragen auf: Wo wurde der Lucan-Text geschrieben, und woher stammt das wiederverwendete Pergament? Was finden wir unter dem geschriebenen Text, und wie kann die Multispektraltechnik uns dabei helfen? Können wir den Verwendungszweck der Zeichnungen, die zuerst auf dem Pergament skizziert wurden, verstehen und rekonstruieren?


Abb. 2: Kentaur, fol. 53r. Berühren Sie das Foto mit
dem Mauszeiger, um das Blatt in normalem Licht
anzuzeigen.
Fotos und Multispektraluntersuchungen
von Ivan Shevchuk,
CSMC. > Vergrößerung

Ultraviolett- und Seitenlichtfotografien sowie mikroskopische Untersuchungen haben unter dem Lucan-Text bereits Teile zahlreicher Figuren wie Heilige, Tiere, Sternbilder und dekorative Motive wie Akanthusranken, Initialen und architektonische Formen offenbart. Doch erst durch die Multispektralanalyse wurden anderweitig nicht mehr erkennbare Motive sichtbar. Bei diesem Verfahren beleuchtet man ein Objekt mit Licht unterschiedlicher Wellenlänge, wertet die erhobenen Spektraldaten statistisch aus und erreicht so, ohne die Beschädigung des Objekts zu riskieren, eine Visualisierung verlorener Inhalte. Ein Team des Sonderforschungsbereich Manuskriptkulturen (CSMC) der Universität Hamburg setzte dieses Verfahren an fünf Arbeitstagen im November und Dezember 2016 in der Schatzkammer der Herzog August Bibliothek ein, einer „natürlichen“ vibrationsfreien Dunkelkammer, die ideal für das Verfahren ist. Einige mittels Multispektralanalyse gewonnene Entdeckungen aus einer laufenden Untersuchung werden nachfolgend vorgestellt.

Auf dem ursprünglich ersten Folio der Lucan-Handschrift ist unter dem Buchtitel in der unteren Seitenhälfte die eindrucksvolle Zeichnung eines Kentauren (Mischwesen, halb Pferd, halb Mensch) auszumachen (Abb. 2). In der griechischen Astronomie, die mit der Darstellung der Himmelssphäre in den Schriften des Aratus von Soloi (ca. 310–240 v. Chr.) ihren Anfang nahm, wurde die mythologische Figur des Kentauren zur Beschreibung eines der fünfzehn Sternbilder südlich des Tierkreises verwendet. Im frühen Mittelalter zirkulierten mehrere lateinische Übersetzungen und Bearbeitungen des Aratus-Textes, unter anderem von Germanicus, vermutlich dem römischen Kaiser des 1. Jahrhunderts, und von Avienus, einem römischen Dichter des 4. Jahrhunderts. In illuminierten Handschriften dieser Texte finden sich sowohl Abbildungen verschiedener Sternbilder, die mit den Umrissen ihrer jeweiligen Figur die Anordnung der Sterne anzeigen, als auch Planisphären, die mehrere Sternbilder zugleich abbilden. Einige der Texte über Sternbilder, die mit entsprechenden Abbildungen kopiert wurden, schreibt man Beda dem Ehrwürdigen von Northumbria (gest.735) zu, einem Mönch und Autor zahlreicher exegetischer und historischer Werke. Im Bezug auf den Kentauren erwähnen einige Texte ein Tier (bestia), das er in der (rechten) Hand hält (vgl. die Wiener Handschrift in der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek, Cod. 387, fol. 120r–v), während andere noch einen Schild und einen Hasen in der linken Hand nennen (vgl. die Pariser Handschrift MSS latin 5543, fol. 170r–v, Bibliothèque nationale de France). Avienus spricht von einem Beutetier (agrestis praeda), das der Kentaur mit der rechten Hand auf dem Altar der Götter opfert. In mittelalterlichen illuminierten Manuskripten dieser Texte findet man verschiedene bildliche Darstellungen des Kentauren, mit oder ohne Stab, mit einem oder zwei Tieren (in einigen Fällen hasenähnlich) oder auch mit dem Fell eines Tieres und dem Körper eines zweiten in den Händen (vgl. die Handschrift Clm 210 in der Bayrischen Nationalbibliothek in München, fol. 113v, 120v, und in Bologne-sur-Mer (Bibliothèque municipale) Ms 188, fol. 29r, eine Kopie der Handschrift Ms. Voss. lat. Q 79 in der Universiteitsbibliotheek Leiden).


Abb. 3: Auf einem Thron sitzende Figur (Kassiopeia),
fol. 56v. Berühren Sie das Foto mit dem Mauszeiger,
um das Blatt in normalem Licht anzuzeigen.
Fotos
und Multispektraluntersuchungen von Ivan Shevchuk,
CSMC. > Vergrößerung

Dank der multispektralen Aufnahmen ist es nun möglich, den Körper der bestia zu sehen (Kopf und Vorderbeine sind erkennbar), den der Kentaur in der rechten Hand hält, während das um den linken Unterarm gewundene Fell eines zweiten Tieres hinter ihm her weht. Zudem scheint hinter dem Kentauren in der linken Ecke der gehäutete, mit den Beinen nach oben auf einem Gerüst hängende Körper des Beutetieres dargestellt zu sein, wobei allerdings nur der obere Teil erkennbar ist (Abb. 2). Durch die Multispektralfotografien ist es nun möglich, nicht nur Gesicht und Körper des Kentauren zu erkennen, sondern auch die dramatische Szene und die kraftvolle Figur.

Eine weitere Abbildung deren Interpretation nun verbessert werden konnte, steht ebenfalls im Zusammenhang mit der visuellen Darstellung von Sternbildern. Mithilfe von Ultraviolettfotografien hatte man bereits eine auf einem Thron sitzende Person zumindest teilweise erkannt, sie aber noch nicht vollständig deuten können. Die Multispektraltechnik ermöglicht es, die ausgestreckten Arme der Person deutlich zu erkennen (Abb. 3), ein Charakteristikum des Sternbildes der Kassiopeia. Ein weiteres eindeutiges Merkmal ist die kunstvolle hohe Kopfbedeckung der weiblichen Figur, die oben mit einem Stern geschmückt ist (vgl. Parallelen in den Handschriften in Leiden Ms. Voss. lat. Q 79, fol. 28v, und Paris MSS latin 5543, fol. 163r).


Abb. 4: Schichten aufgetragener Zeichnungen, fol. 67r.
Berühren Sie das Foto mit dem Mauszeiger, um das
Blatt in normalem Licht anzuzeigen.
Fotos und Multi-
spektraluntersuchungen von Ivan Shevchuk, CSMC.
> Vergrößerung

Diese Abbildungen zeigen, dass mindestens eine Gruppe der Zeichnungen auf den wiederverwendeten Blätter hochwertige Modelle oder Übungen für illuminierte Abschnitte eines Buches darstellt, mit denen im frühen Mittelalter der Aratus latinus und andere Texte über den himmlischen Kosmos bebildert werden konnten. Sie waren Modelle oder vielleicht auch Übung, denn in der Umgebung der Zeichnungen finden sich keinerlei Spuren von Text. Neben den Abbildungen, die sich auf Sternbilder beziehen, befinden sich auf den Blätter auch Illustrationen, die dem traditionellen christlichen Repertoire entstammen, wie zum Beispiel den segnenden Christus mit dem Evangeliar in der linken Hand (Abb. 1), der stilistisch den französischen Beispielen aus dem 11. Jahrhundert ähnelt. Weitere Motive sind unter anderem dekorative Blattranken und architektonische Elemente. Darüber hinaus sind verschiedene Schichten der Nachbearbeitung auf dem Pergament zu erkennen, beispielsweise der hinzugefügte Entwurf des Lamms Gottes über einer früheren Szene auf fol. 67r (Abb. 4; auch ein zweiter Kentaur ist zu sehen). Einige Figuren sind nur mit einem Griffel gezeichnet. All diese Beobachtungen deuten auf eine intensive, wiederholte Verwendung der ursprünglichen Blätter (die irgendwann auch eine Broschüre gebildet haben könnten) durch die Künstler des Skriptoriums hin. Vom kodikologischen Standpunkt aus lässt sich nicht mit Sicherheit sagen, ob sie gebunden waren oder einfach nur in einem losen Stapel dort aufbewahrt wurden, wo man sie für die Herstellung von Miniaturen benutzt hatte.

Die wiederentdeckten Figuren unter der Schrift ermöglichen es, mit der Erforschung der Zusammenhänge zwischen Schreib-, Entwurfs-, und Illuminationspraktiken in Skriptorien mit hochwertiger Buchproduktion zu beginnen. Der erste Schritt ist die vollständige und korrekte Beschreibung der Zeichnung. Im vorliegenden Fall gelang es vor allem unter Einsatz der Multispektraltechnik, wieder sichtbar zu machen, was mit anderen Verfahren oder bloßem Auge nicht erkennbar ist. So ist der Vergleich mit weiteren gut erhaltenen mittelalterlichen Abbildungen möglich. Dieser kann zu einer präziseren Identifizierung der Figuren und der Entdeckung zusammenhängender Bilderzyklen (wie im Fall der Aratus-Manuskripte) für die Produktion führen. Auch die Datierung der Zeichnungen kann genauer bestimmt werden, wenn all ihre ikonographischen Einzelheiten deutlich erkennbar sind.


Literatur

AVIENUS (2003): Les Phénomènes d’Aratos. Übersetzt und herausgegeben von Jean Soubiran. Paris: Les belles lettres.

BLUME Dieter / HAFFNER, Mechthild / METZGER, Wolfgang (Hgg.) (2012): Sternbilder des Mittelalters. Der gemalte Himmel zwischen Wissenschaft und Phantasie, Band I, 1–2: 800–1200. Berlin: Akademie Verlag.

CARMASSI, Patrizia (2016): „From the codex to the libraries: Gudianus latinus palimpsest: Herzog August Bibliothek, Cod. Guelf. 125 Gud. lat.“. In: CARMASSI, Patrizia (Hg.): Retter der Antike. Marquard Gude (1635–1689) auf der Suche nach den Klassikern. Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz, 263–307.

DELLʼERA, Antonio (1979): „Una rielaborazione dellʼArato latino“. In: Studi medievali, ser. 3, 20, 269–301.

DEKKER, Elly (2013): Illustrating the Phaenomena. Celestial Carthography in Antiquity and the Middle Ages. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

EASTON, Roger L. / David KELBE (2014), „Statistical Processing of Spectral Imagery to Recover Writings from Erased or Damaged Manuscripts“. In: manuscript cultures, 7, 35–46.

GEE, Emma (2013): Aratus and the Astronomical Tradition. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

GEYMONAT, Ludovico (2016): „Carolingian drawings in the Wolfenbüttel Centaur Palimpsest“. In: CARMASSI, Patrizia (Hg.), Retter der Antike. Marquard Gude (1635–1689) auf der Suche nach den Klassikern. Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz, 309–347.

KATZENSTEIN, Ranee (1988): The Leiden Aratea. Ancient Constellations in a Medieval Manuscript. Malibu, California: The Getty Museum. http://www.getty.edu/publications/virtuallibrary/0892361425.html (am 26.11.2018 auf-gerufen).

SCHELLER, Robert W. (1995): Exemplum. Model-book Drawings and the Practice of Artistic Transmission in the Middle Ages (ca. 900–ca. 1470) . Amsterdam: Amsterdam University Press.


Beschreibung
Herzog August Bibliothek, Wolfenbüttel, Cod. Guelf. 125 Gud. lat.
Material: Pergament, 102 Folia
Maße: 260 × 185 mm
Datierung: Schrift an der Oberfläche, fol. 53r–102v: Gembloux (?), erste Hälfte 12. Jh.; Zeichnungen unter der Schrift, fol. 53r–68v: Nordfrankreich (?), Ende 11. Jh.
Inhalt: Sallust, De coniuratione Catilinae und Bellum Iugurthinum sowie weitere kleinere Texte, fol. 1–52; Lucan, Bellum civile, fol. 53–102; Zeichnungen unter dem Text, fol. 53–68.

Zusätzlich erwähnte Manuskripte:
Handschrift in Boulogne-sur-Mer, Bibliothèque municipale, Ms 188.
Handschrift in Leiden, Universiteitsbibliotheek, Ms. Voss. lat. Q 79.
Handschrift in München, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Clm 210.
Handschrift in Paris, Bibliothèque nationale de France, MSS latin 5543.
Handschrift in Wien, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek, Cod. 387.


Manuskript des Monats 09/2017
Text von Patrizia Carmassi
© für alle Bilder: CSMC
Fotos und Bildbearbeitung: Ivan Shevchuk, CSMC
Zitationshinweis:
Patrizia Carmassi, „Figuren unter der Schrift“
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Hg.): Manuscript des Monats 2017.09, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_09_mom.html