last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuscript  of the month


A Friend of a Lifetime:

On Yu Boya smashes his zither to mourn a dear friend, a youth book

What is friendship at its depths, and who is a true friend? When one has found the friend of a lifetime, how is one to confront the inevitable parting which comes at the end of the mortal life? These are questions which a young man from early 19th century Beijing, inspired by a tale of two friends from Chinese antiquity, came to ruminate on in a special copy he made of a book he bought, Yu Boya smashes his zither to mourn a dear friend. What was the story he read, and how did it come to touch his heart? What can the manuscript, sprinkled with his notes and commentaries, tell us today about his world as a reader?


Fig. 1: fol. 3v and 4r (right to left). From the preface
signed and dated by Wang Jinwen, with his seals.
> Enlarge

The manuscript, held at the Capital Library of China, belonged formerly to Wu Xiaoling (1914-1995), a major scholar and collector of Chinese vernacular literature, who had acquired it from his middle school teacher Zheng Qian. The slim volume of 43 folios, measuring 12.6 cm by 26.9 cm, has lost its original cover and binding; later preservation has given it its present appearance, with four-hole thread binding and backing applied to the folios. The manuscript contains the earliest dated handwritten text of zidishu (interpreted variously as “youth book,” “scions’ tale,” or “bannermen tale”). This was a genre of verse narrative which once flourished in north China as a form of performing art between the mid-18th and the end of the 19th centuries, with verse in seven-syllable lines sung to the accompaniment of the three-stringed lute. Our manuscript reveals that zidishu were once also the object of serious reading, and provides important clues into their early community of readers.

The neatly prepared manuscript presents a fully guided reading of the youth book. We know the name of our guide because the elaborate preface, with many ruminations on the nature of friendship, is signed “Wang Jinwen of Beiping,” dated to the sixteenth day of the tenth month of 1815 at his studio in the capital, and stamped with his seals (fig. 1). In the preface Wang tells that, being fond of the minor genres of literature, he had “chanced to buy” a copy of the book; being deeply moved by the story, he decided to make an annotated version of it. In the ensuing pages, each of the five scenes of the story is followed by a commentary by Wang, whose notes also appear in smaller characters in the spacious top margins of pages. Given that the entire manuscript is written in the same hand, we have reason to believe that the text was personally copied by Wang, although we can’t be completely sure. What we can be sure of is that it was not a first draft; rather, the orderly appearance of the writing suggests a book intended for perusal.


Fig. 2: fol. 17v and 18r. Wang’s notes appear in small
characters above the main text on fol. 17v, on the
right. Wang’s general commentary to the scene
begins on fol. 18r, on the left. > Enlarge

Varying from philosophical contemplation to sympathizing with the fate of the story’s protagonists, to still more personal reflections, the notes and commentaries reveal Wang to be a learned and avid reader, versed in the Classics while being keenly interested in the vernacular genres of drama and fiction. An appendix entitled Shenjiao geyan (“Axioms on making friends”), comprised of quotes and passages gleaned from various classical texts, concludes the book respectably with wisdom from the world of Confucian learning.

The story from which the manuscript takes its title, Yu Boya smashes his zither to mourn a dear friend, centers on the friendship between Zhong Ziqi and Yu Boya, a legendary master of the qin (a zither-like instrument) from the Spring and Autumn period (770-476 BCE). The youth book appears to have taken its plot from a version of the well-known tale featured in the 17th century short story collection Jingshi tongyan (“Words to admonish the world”) edited by Feng Menglong (1574-1646). As told by the youth book, Boya was a minister and Ziqi a rustic woodcutter, who encountered each other one autumn night while Boya was traveling by boat through the countryside. To the minister’s astonishment, Ziqi was wonderfully versed in the art of the qin, and was able to read from Boya’s music what he had on his mind – first the towering mountains, then the flowing river. Barring worldly formalities, the two became the best of friends. While they made a vow to meet again at the same place a year later, Boya would return to find his friend no longer in the mortal world. In the final scene, a devastated Boya visits the grave of Ziqi, and, after playing his qin one last time, smashes it against the stone terrace – but for his friend, he would never play again.

The Chinese word for the best of friends, zhiyin (“one who understands the music”), comes from the tale of Boya and Ziqi; the prized, intuitive understanding of another’s mind has been extended to the experience of reading in Chinese literary criticism, where many a commentator has sought to authorize his own readings of a text with the claim of true understanding. Wang’s “edition” of the youth book thus appealed to a larger commentarial tradition whose influence was felt not only in the prestigious classical genres of poetry and prose but also in vernacular fiction and drama. In applying commentary to a youth book, Wang demonstrates his confidence in the minor genre of verse narrative as worthy of literary attention.

Wang’s commentaries are charmingly personal while attentive to potential readers. In the scene “The bond,” just before Boya and Ziqi seal their friendship, Boya asks Ziqi his age and Ziqi tells that he is twenty-seven. Wang divulges in his marginal commentary above the main text (fig. 2):


Fig. 3: Wang’s notes, enlarged (“reading this
book, I am just now aged twenty-seven….”)
> Enlarge

“Reading this book, I am just now age twenty-seven. I’ve been thinking, Ziqi was a man of virtue famed in antiquity, while I am merely a crude man of the present, so naturally I can’t have the marvelous encounters of the ancients. But I, too, have friends who are fond of my crudeness, so that every time we meet, though we can’t speak of having the same sentiments as the ancients, we can still share the joys of heartfelt understanding and the happy meeting of words. It follows that there arises the feeling of not bearing to part, for fear that when the present gathering is dispersed, it shall be hard to meet again. Life and death are truly hard to predict. And so, besides cautioning myself, here is to all who are fond of friends: if one encounters the person, do not leave him behind; one must take Boya’s case to be a lesson.”

In his preface, Wang divulges that he had dropped out of school early in his youth, and playfully professes in a couplet: “An outsider to the world of letters / I’m an insider of the markets.” One might ponder the deeper meaning of these lines. Given his apparent familiarity with commentarial conventions and his many allusions to his own “worldliness,” he may perhaps have been acquainted with the book trade. We have nevertheless no direct information on his livelihood, the book he had bought and copied from, or his exact intentions for the finely prepared manuscript. But surely was he aware of a community of readers who, like himself, enjoyed reading, writing, and pondering, who sought sympathetic company in reading as in life, and who were “fond of friends.”





References

CHEN Jinzhao 陳錦釗 (1977): Zidishu zhi ticai laiyuan ji qi zonghe yanjiu 子弟書之題材来源及其綜合硏究. Unpublished PhD thesis. National Chengchi University, Taipei.

CHIU, Elena (2018): Bannermen Tales (Zidishu): Manchu Storytelling and Cultural Hybridity in the Qing Dynasty. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Asia Center.

CUI Yunhua 崔蕴华 (2005): Shuzhai yu shufang zhijian: Qing dai zidishu yanjiu 書斋与書坊之間: 清代子弟書研究. Beijing: Beijing daxue.

ELLIOT, Mark C. (2001): “The ‘Eating Crabs’ Youth Book”. In: Susan Mann and Yu-yin Cheng (eds.): Under Confucian Eyes: Writings on Gender in Chinese History. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 262-81.

FENG Menglong 馮夢龍 (1624): Jingshi tongyan 警世通言 [Words to admonish the world], juan 1. Collection of the Tōyō Bunka Kenkyūjo, call number 仁井田-集-N4038. http://shanben.ioc.u-tokyo.ac.jp/main_p.php?nu=D8621501&order=rn_no&no=04436 (accessed on 09/12/2018).

GOLDMAN, Andrea (2001): “The Nun Who Wouldn’t Be: Representations of Female Desire in Two Performance Genres of ‘Si Fan’”. In: Late Imperial China, 22.1, 71-138.

HUANG, Martin W. (1994): “Author(ity) and Reader in Traditional Xiaoshuo Commentary”. In: Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, and Reviews, 16, 41-67.

WU Xiaoling (1982): “Suizhong Wu shi Shuanghun Shuwu suocang zidishu mulu” 綏中吳氏雙棔書屋所藏子弟書目錄 [Catalog of youthbooks collected by Mr. Wu of Suizhong in his Studio of the Two Silk Trees]. In: Wenxue yichan 文學遺產, 4, 150-56.


Description
Yu Boya shuaiqin xie zhiyin zidishu 俞伯牙摔琴謝知音子弟書
Depository: Capital Library of China
Shelfmark: yi (已) 401
Material: Paper, 43 folios, thread-bound (rebound)
Dimensions: 12.6 cm x 26.9 cm
Provenance: 1815, Beijing


Manuscript of the Month 10/2017
Text by Zhenzhen Lu
© for all pictures: Capital Library of China
Reference note:
Zhenzhen Lu, “A Friend of a Lifetime:
On Yu Boya smashes his zither to mourn a dear friend, a youth book
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Eds.): Manuscript of the Month 2017.10, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_10_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuskript  des monats


Ein Freund fürs Leben:

Über das Jugendbuch Yu Boya zerschlägt aus Trauer um einen geliebten Freund seine Zither

Was macht Freundschaft aus, und wer ist ein wahrer Freund? Hat man den Freund fürs Leben gefunden, wie geht man mit der unvermeidlichen Trennung am Ende des sterblichen Lebens um? Mit diesen Fragen setzte sich ein junger Mann Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts in Peking auseinander, als er, inspiriert durch die Geschichte zweier Freunde aus dem chinesischen Altertum, seine eigene Abschrift eines Buches anfertigte, das er gekauft hatte: Yu Boya zerschlägt aus Trauer um einen geliebten Freund seine Zither. Wovon handelte die Geschichte, und warum berührte sie sein Herz? Was kann uns das Manuskript mit all seinen Anmerkungen und Kommentaren heute über seine Welt als Leser sagen?


Abb. 1: Fol. 3v und 4r (von rechts nach links). Teil des
Vorworts, unterschrieben, datiert und gesiegelt von
Wang Jinwen. > Vergrößerung

Das Manuskript, das in der Capital Library of China aufbewahrt wird, gehörte ursprünglich Wu Xiaoling (1914–1995), einem bedeutenden Gelehrten und Sammler chinesischer volkstümlicher Literatur, der es von seinem Mittelschullehrer Zheng Qian erworben hatte. Der dünne Band mit 43 Blättern misst 12,6 mal 26,9 cm. Die ursprünglichen Buchdeckel und die Bindung sind nicht erhalten; sein jetziges Aussehen mit Vier-Loch-Fadenbindung und verstärkten Seiten erhielt er durch eine spätere Restaurierung. Das Manuskript enthält den frühesten datierten handschriftlichen Text eines zidishu (verschieden übersetzt als „Jugendbuch“, „Geschichten für den Nachwuchs” oder „Geschichten der Bannerträger”), eine Gattung der Verserzählung, die ihre Blütezeit als eine Form der darstellenden Kunst Mitte des 18. bis Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts im Norden Chinas erlebte. Die Verse, die in siebensilbigen Zeilen verfasst sind, wurden zum Spiel der dreisaitigen Laute gesungen. Unser Manuskript zeigt, dass zidishu einst auch Gegenstand ernsthafter Lektüre waren, und gibt wichtige Hinweise auf deren frühe Leserschaft.

Das sorgfältig angefertigte Manuskript bietet eine vollständig begleitete Lektüre des Jugendbuchs. Wir kennen den Namen des Wegweisers, denn das ausführliche Vorwort mit zahlreichen Betrachtungen über das Wesen der Freundschaft ist von „Wang Jinwen von Beiping“ unterzeichnet und auf den sechzehnten Tag des zehnten Monats des Jahres 1815 in seinem Atelier in der Hauptstadt datiert, zudem trägt es seine Siegel (Abb. 1). Im Vorwort erzählt Wang, dass er eine Schwäche für minderbedeutende Genres hat und „zufällig“ eine Kopie des Buches erwarb. Die Geschichte bewegte ihn so sehr, dass er sich entschloss, eine kommentierte Version anzufertigen. Auf den folgenden Seiten folgt jeder der fünf Szenen der Geschichte ein Kommentar von Wang, dessen Anmerkungen in kleinerer Schrift auch auf dem oberen breiten Rand der Seiten zu finden sind. Da das ganze Manuskript von derselben Hand geschrieben ist, können wir annehmen, dass der Text von Wang selbst kopiert wurde, auch wenn das nicht ganz sicher ist. Was allerdings sicher ist, ist, dass es sich nicht um einen ersten Entwurf handelt, die sorgfältige Schrift lässt vielmehr darauf schließen, dass das Buch für die Lektüre gedacht war.


Abb. 2: Fol. 17v und 18r. Wangs Anmerkungen sind in
kleinen Schriftzeichen über dem Haupttext auf Fol. 17v,
rechts, zu sehen. Seine allgemeinen Erläuterungen zur
Szene beginnen auf Fol. 18r, links. > Vergrößerung

Die Anmerkungen und Kommentare reichen von philosophischen Betrachtungen über Mitgefühl mit dem Schicksal der Protagonisten bis hin zu noch persönlicheren Überlegungen und zeigen Wang als einen gebildeten und passionierten Leser, der mit den Klassikern vertraut war und gleichzeitig großes Interesse an den volkstümlichen Gattungen Drama und Erzählung hatte. Ein Anhang mit der Überschrift Shenjiao geyan („Maximen für das Schließen von Freundschaft”) enthält Zitate und Passagen aus verschiedenen klassischen Texten und bildet mit diesen Weisheiten aus der Welt des Konfuzianismus einen angemessenen Abschluss des Buches.

Die Geschichte Yu Boya zerschlägt aus Trauer um einen geliebten Freund seine Zither, die dem Manuskript seinen Titel gab, handelt von der Freundschaft zwischen Zhong Ziqi und Yu Boya, einem berühmten Meister der qin (eine Art Zither) aus der Zeit der Frühlings- und Herbstannalen (770–476 v. Chr.). Die Handlung des Jugendbuches beruht vermutlich auf der Version des bekannten Stoffes, den Feng Menglong (1574–1646) in der Geschichtensammlung Jingshi tongyan („Mahnende Worte an die Welt“) im 17. Jahrhundert herausgegeben hat. Wie das Jugendbuch berichtet, war Boya ein Minister und Ziqi ein einfacher Holzfäller, die sich eines Nachts im Herbst begegneten, als Boya mit einem Boot durch die Lande reiste. Zur Überraschung des Ministers war Ziqi sehr bewandert in der Kunst der qin und konnte anhand von Boyas Musik erkennen, was ihm auf dem Herzen lag – zuerst die hoch aufragenden Berge, dann der strömende Fluss. Gesellschaftlichen Konventionen zum Trotz wurden sie beste Freunde. Sie schworen, sich im darauffolgenden Jahr wieder an gleicher Stelle zu treffen. Doch bei seiner Rückkehr muss Boya feststellen, dass sein Freund nicht mehr in der Welt der Sterblichen weilt. In der letzten Szene besucht ein tief erschütterter Boya das Grab von Ziqi und spielt ein letztes Mal auf seiner qin. Danach zerschlägt er das Instrument an der Steinterrasse – ohne seinen Freund würde er nie wieder spielen.

Das chinesische Wort für bester Freund, zhiyin („der die Musik versteht“), stammt aus der Geschichte von Boya und Ziqi. In der chinesischen Literaturkritik wurde das hoch geschätzte, intuitive Verstehen der Gedanken eines Anderen auf die Leseerfahrung übertragen. Und so mancher Kommentator bemühte sich, die eigene Interpretation eines Textes durch Berufung auf wahres Verstehen zu legitimieren. Wangs „Edition“ des Jugendbuches sprach damit eine weitere Kommentartradition an, deren Einfluss nicht nur in den prestigeträchtigen klassischen Gattungen der Dichtung und Prosa zu spüren war, sondern auch in den umgangssprachlichen Erzählungen und Dramen. Indem er ein Jugendbuch mit Kommentaren versah, zeigte Wang, dass er das minderbedeutende Genre der Verserzählung literarischer Aufmerksamkeit für würdig erachtete.

Wangs Kommentare sind auf charmante Art persönlich und zugleich an potenzielle Leser adressiert. In der Szene „Der Bund“ fragt Boya Ziqi, unmittelbar bevor sie ihre Freundschaft besiegeln, nach dessen Alter, worauf Ziqi antwortet, er sei 27 Jahre alt. In seiner Randbemerkung über dem Haupttext (Abb. 2) offenbart Wang:


Abb. 3: Wangs Bemerkungen, vergrößert
(„Während ich dieses Buches lese, bin ich
gerade 27 Jahre alt...“) > Vergrößerung

„Während ich dieses Buches lese, bin ich gerade 27 Jahre alt. Ich habe mir gedacht, dass Ziqi im Altertum für seine Tugend berühmt war, während ich ein gewöhnlicher Mensch unserer Zeit bin. Also kann ich natürlich nicht solch wunderbare Begegnungen haben wie die Alten. Aber auch ich habe Freunde, denen meine Einfachheit gefällt, so dass wir jedes Mal, wenn wir uns treffen, die Freude über unser tiefes gegenseitiges Verständnis und die guten Gespräche teilen können, auch wenn es nicht dieselben Gefühle sind, wie sie die Alten hatten. Und so ertragen wir es nicht, uns zu trennen, denn wir fürchten, dass es schwierig sein wird, uns wieder zu treffen, wenn wir erst auseinander gegangen sind. Leben und Tod sind wahrlich schwer vorherzusagen. Und daher richte ich diese Warnung nicht nur an mich selbst, sondern an alle, denen Freunde wichtig sind: Wenn du einem Freund begegnest, verlass ihn nicht. Boyas Beispiel muss uns eine Lehre sein.“

In seinem Vorwort gesteht Wang, dass er schon in sehr jungen Jahren die Schule abgebrochen hat, und bekennt spielerisch in einem Zweizeiler: „Fremd in der Welt der Literatur / Bin ich auf den Märkten zu Hause.“ Die tiefere Bedeutung dieser Zeilen bleibt zu klären. Angesichts seiner offensichtlichen Kenntnisse der Kommentarkonventionen und seiner vielen Anspielungen auf die eigene „Weltlichkeit“ war er vielleicht mit dem Buchhandel vertraut. Wir haben jedoch weder genaue Informationen darüber, womit er seinen Lebensunterhalt bestritt, noch über das Buch, das er gekauft und aus dem er kopiert hat – oder was er mit dem sorgfältig angefertigten Manuskript im Sinne hatte. Sicherlich war ihm jedoch bekannt, dass es eine Leserschaft gab, die wie er selbst Freude am Lesen, Schreiben und Nachdenken fand, die sowohl beim Lesen als auch im Leben Gleichgesinnte suchte und der „Freunde wichtig waren“.


Literatur

CHEN Jinzhao 陳錦釗 (1977): Zidishu zhi ticai laiyuan ji qi zonghe yanjiu 子弟書之題材來源及其綜合硏究 . Unveröffentlichte Dissertation. Chengchi Nationaluniversität, Taipeh.

CHIU, Elena (2018): Bannermen Tales (Zidishu): Manchu Storytelling and Cultural Hybridity in the Qing Dynasty. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Asia Center.

CUI Yunhua 崔蕴华 (2005): Shuzhai yu shufang zhijian: Qing dai zidishu yanjiu 書斋与書坊之間: 清代子弟書研究. Peking: Universität Peking.

ELLIOT, Mark C. (2001): „The ʻEating Crabsʼ Youth Book“. In: Susan Mann und Yu-yin Cheng (Hgg.): Under Confucian Eyes: Writings on Gender in Chinese History. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 262–281.

FENG Menglong 馮夢龍 (1624): Jingshi tongyan 警世通言 , juan 1. Sammlung des Tōyō Bunka Kenkyūjo, Signatur 仁井田-集-N4038. http://shanben.ioc.u-tokyo.ac.jp/main_p.php?nu=D8621501&order=rn_no&no=04436 (abgerufen am 12.09.2018).

GOLDMAN, Andrea (2001): „The Nun Who Wouldn’t Be: Representations of Female Desire in Two Performance Genres of ‘Si Fan’“. In: Late Imperial China, 22.1, 71–138.

HUANG, Martin W. (1994): „Author(ity) and Reader in Traditional Xiaoshuo Commentary“. In: Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, and Reviews, 16, 41–67.

WU Xiaoling吳曉鈴 (1982): „Suizhong Wu shi Shuanghun Shuwu suocang zidishu mulu“ 綏中吳氏雙棔書屋所藏子弟書目錄 In: Wenxue yichan 文學遺產, 4, 150–156.


Beschreibung
Yu Boya shuaiqin xie zhiyin zidishu 俞伯牙摔琴謝知音子弟書
Capital Library of China (Shoudu tushuguan)
Signatur: yi (已) 401
Material: Papier, 43 Blätter, Fadenbindung (neu gebunden)
Maße: 12,6 × 26,9 cm
Herkunft: 1815, Peking



Manuskript des Monats 10/2017
Text von Zhenzhen Lu
für alle Bilder: Capital Library of China
Zitationshinweis:
Zhenzhen Lu, „Ein Freund fürs Leben:
Über das Jugendbuch Yu Boya zerschlägt aus Trauer um einen geliebten Freund seine Zither
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Hg.): Manuscript des Monats 2017.10, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_10_mom.html