last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuscript  of the month


Three Cultural Traditions, Two Writing Systems and One Shopping List

The Sierra-Texupan Codex

Once the dust settled after the Spanish conquest of the Aztec Empire in the year 1521, a new government system was established in Mesoamerica, the region spanning present-day Mexico and Central America. That was the New Spain Viceroyalty. Culturally speaking, this change of administration was especially complicated for the Spaniards because the Aztecs had dominated over a population of seven million in more than three hundred cities in the southeastern part of the region, comprised of the Otomi, Totonac, Mixtec and other peoples. Each and every one of these peoples had languages and dialects of their own. Now Europeans, speaking Spanish, Italian and French, had to communicate with indigenous peoples through Nahuatl, the lingua franca under the Aztecs, while trying to introduce a writing system employing the Latin alphabet to local populations. How did scribes in the region deal with the challenge in communication?


Fig. 1: MS Sierra Texupan, page 59,
according to the pagination given in the
manuscript. The last 14 pages of the
codex are divided into three columns,
with the pictograms and Nahuatl writing
in separate columns; the box in the upper
left corner displays the celebration of
Easter and the Holy Spirit. > Enlarge

The present manuscript is of Mixtec origin, made in the highlands of Oaxaca at the Santa Catalina Texupan community; it is the only extant ‘community cash book’ in Mexico and contains the local declaration of incomes and expenses from 1551 to 1564. The manuscript is composed of 62 sheets of European paper and measures 30.7 by 21.8 centimetres. It is bound in codex form, with writing on both the recto and verso of folios, in contrast to traditional Mixtec books made of deerskin and folded in concertina form.

The pages are divided into two or three columns, and feature up to seven horizontal sections (fig. 1). In the left-most column, pictograms represent purchased objects and the amount of expenses. The date of the transactions, specifically the years, are written with Mixtec glyphic numbers based on a vigesimal system, while descriptions of the objects are written employing the Latin alphabet, mainly in Nahuatl, with some words like visorrey (viceroy) in Spanish. In the column on the right, the cost for each item (or set of items) is represented with Arabic numbers, followed by scribal abbreviations of the words peso and tomin (an eighth of a peso) to indicate the currency, but there are also some pages where Roman numerals are used instead of Arabic numbers. This change of the numeric system might seem random, but it could be due to the involvement of multiple scribes (seven in total) who continuously worked on the manuscript during the fourteen years of its making. Their names appear throughout the codex (fig. 2).


Fig. 2: Page 57. One Alonso de Castro is named as the ‘escrivano’ (scribe),
along with the ‘nahuatlatos’ Salazar and Andrés (the Spanish to Nahuatl
translators). The Nahuatl text reads: ‘Twelve pesos were paid to the scribe
named Alonso de Castro, and the translators named Salazar and Andrés,
to cover their travelling expenses to this town and the making of this
document today, Wednesday, April 20th [1563]’. > Enlarge

The preservation of indigenous languages through the use of the Latin alphabet was largely the work of Franciscan missionaries, who founded schools to teach indigenous peoples how to read and write, as well as the crafts of carpentry, leatherwork and blacksmithing, and the Christian religion. The missionaries were predominantly Spanish in origin, but their education and ideology were strongly influenced by the Flemish Renaissance. As a result, they transmitted (perhaps unintentionally) these influences in their writing lessons, as can be seen in colonial codices from the early 16th century. In the Sierra-Texupan Codex, there is evidence of calligraphy styles such as Flemish secretary-hand and Rotunda blackletter (fig. 3).


Fig. 3: Page 48. On the bottom, the date ‘Mes augusto 1561 años’ (August,
1561) is written in Rotunda blackletter, highlighting the ending of the page
(the preceding text is written in Flemish secretary hand).
> Enlarge

Scribes also faced the challenge of finding visual representations for concepts that did not exist previously in the Mesoamerican cultural sphere, which they had to create from scratch. In many places in the manuscript, the scribes implemented their own pictographic tradition, such as on page 8, where the acquisitions from the first part of 1553 are listed (fig. 4). These included the purchase of 190 sheep for 70 pesos – considering that sheep did not arrive in Oaxaca until the middle of the 16th century, it is not difficult to guess that the scribe had to observe and abstract the shape of a new, if not exotic, animal in his world. Another example can be found in the depiction of skeins of silk produced and sold by locals, in records for the fourteenth part of the year 1561 (fig. 5). Besides silk, the manuscript contains representations of other products such as olive oil, wine, cheese, eggs, chickens, mats, seats, candles and supplies for ceremonies.



Fig. 4: Page 8. A vigesimal calculation in Mixtec fashion: three times 20
(the big coins with the red flags on top) plus ten smaller coins make a
total of 70 pesos. Sheep and shepherd are depicted at the left. > Enlarge

Without a doubt, the best example of the syncretic re-conceptualisation of words was the depiction of the names of the Catholic saints. The very town Santa Catalina Texupan is named after Saint Catherine of Alexandria (‘Texupan’ means ‘blue land’), who is usually represented in the European tradition by a wooden wheel associated with her martyrdom. But that torture apparatus was never used in Mesoamerica, so the visual representation of her name in the manuscript – in mentions of Santa Catalina the town - was something imagined by the Mixtec scribes (fig. 6). Something similar happened in the case of Saint Peter, whose name is associated in the Catholic tradition with a pair of keys, which previously had no meaning in Mesoamerica because there were no locks before the Spanish arrival. Whenever his name is referred to in the text, we witness a recently made-up glyph. In the case of Saint Paul, the scribes found a traditional Mesoamerican image which corresponded to a European symbol – the name of the saint is depicted with a sword which closely resembles the ceremonial stone swords of the Mixtec. All of these examples reveal the mastery of Mesoamerican scribes, who had to construct new symbols or re-adapt old ones to signify things that did not exist previously in their cultural imagination.


Fig. 5: Page 47. During the second half of the 16th century, the production
of silk in Mesoamerica commenced in towns of the Puebla-Oaxaca region,
which had the advantage of warm weather; but the sericulture industry
never really took off. > Enlarge

Finally, we must make note of the colours that were applied with European techniques such as gouache. Black ink imported from Europe was used for the text and the outline of the pictograms, while sepia was used to make corrections; also present is a mineral yellow made of arsenic and sulphur, with a recipe dating from the pre-Hispanic era, which in combination with grey produced pale tones of green. Most peculiar of all the colours is a red hue, obtained from mixing vermilion (made from mercuric sulfide) with crimson cochineal, a pigment made from wood lice in cactuses. The resulting red colour is almost impossible to imitate. The formula, combining animal and mineral ingredients, also represents a subtle merger of Old and New World traditions.

The manuscript is not only a good specimen of how native economic organisation in the Mixtec area worked, but it also tells us about the complexity of early colonial manuscripts in Mexico. Both writing and drawing complemented each other to fulfill storytelling tasks. Letters were not subordinate to images, and nor were images to letters: rather, they formed a coherent whole, a clear example of the cultural syncretism of colonial Mesoamerica.


Fig. 6: Page 6. This image relates the organisation of a festival
dedicated to Saint Catherine of Alexandria (after whom Santa
Catalina Texupan is named), and depicts the purchase of wine,
cacao beans and turkeys for the celebration. The name of the
saint appears on the left, above the turkey. > Enlarge





References

Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla (BUAP) (2015): “Codex Sierra-Texupan”. (accessed on 01/12/2018).

BUAP (2016): “Códice Sierra Texupan”. Biblioteca Digital Mexicana. (accessed on 01/12/2018).

BUAP (2016): “Códice Sierra-Texupan: riqueza mestiza albergada en la BUAP”. (accessed on 01/11/2018).

LEON, N. (1984): Códice Sierra. Náhuatl Text and Translation. México: Editorial Innovación.

ROSELL, C. (2016): Códice Sierra Texupan: Estudio e interpretación. Puebla: BUAP.

TERRACING, K. (2001): The Mixtecs of Colonial Oaxaca: Nudzahui History, Sixteenth through Eighteenth Centuries. Stanford: Stanford University Press.


Description
Biblioteca Histórica José María Lafragua, Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, México.
Shelfmark: 48281-41010404 Digital scan
Material: 62 sheets of European paper, with colour from various pigments
Size: 30.7 x 21.8 cm
Languages: Nahuatl and Spanish
Provenance: New Spain (Mixteca Alta, Oaxaca, México), 1577


Manuscript of the Month 12/2017
Text by Jesús Barrientos
© for all pictures: Benemérita Universidad
Autónoma de Puebla, México
Reference note:
Jesús Barrientos, “Three Cultural Traditions, Two Writing Systems and One Shopping List:
The Sierra-Texupan Codex”
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Eds.): Manuscript of the Month 2017.12, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_12_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuskript  des monats


Drei Kulturtraditionen, zwei Schriftsysteme und eine Einkaufsliste:

Der Codex Sierra Texupan

Als sich der Staub nach der Eroberung des Aztekenreiches durch die Spanier im Jahr 1521 etwas gelegt hatte, wurde in Mesoamerika, einem Gebiet, welches das heutige Mexiko und Zentralamerika umfasst, eine neue Staatsform eingeführt: das Vizekönigreich Neuspanien. Die Übernahme der Verwaltung war für die Spanier vor allem kulturell kompliziert, da die Atzeken in mehr als dreihundert Städten im Südosten der Region über eine Bevölkerung von sieben Millionen Menschen geherrscht hatten, einschließlich der Otomi, Totonaken, Mixteken und anderer Völker. Jedes einzelne von ihnen hatte seine eigenen Sprachen und Dialekte. Und nun sollten spanisch-, italienisch- und französischsprachige Europäer mit den einheimischen Völkern auf Nahuatl, der lingua franca der Azteken, kommunizieren, während sie sich gleichzeitig darum bemühten, unter den Einheimischen ein lateinisches Schriftsystem einzuführen. Wie sind die Schreiber mit diesen Anforderungen an die Kommunikation umgegangen?


Abb. 1: MS Sierra Texupan, Seite 59,
gemäß der Paginierung der Handschrift.
Die letzten 14 Seiten des Codex sind
jeweils in drei Spalten unterteilt, mit
Piktogrammen und Text (Nahuatl) in
getrennten Spalten. Das Feld oben links
zeigt das Osterfest und den Heiligen Geist.
> Vergrößerung

Die vorliegende Handschrift ist mixtekischer Herkunft und entstand in der Gemeinde Santa Catalina Texupan im Hochland von Oaxaca. Es ist das einzige noch erhaltene „Gemeinde-Kassenbuch“ in Mexiko und dokumentiert die Einnahmen und Ausgaben der Gemeinde von 1551 bis 1564. Das Manuskript besteht aus 62 Blatt europäischen Papiers und misst 30,7 × 21,8 cm. Im Gegensatz zu den traditionellen als Leporello gefalteten mixtekischen Büchern aus Hirschhaut ist die Handschrift als Codex gebunden und beidseitig beschrieben.

Die Seiten sind jeweils in zwei oder drei Spalten und bis zu sieben Register unterteilt (Abb. 1). In der Spalte ganz links stellen Bildzeichen die erworbenen Waren sowie die dafür ausgegebenen Beträge dar. Das Kaufdatum, besonders das jeweilige Jahr, ist im Zwanzigersystem in mixtekischen Zahlglyphen angegeben; die Beschreibungen der Objekte sind hingegen mit dem lateinischen Alphabet geschrieben, hauptsächlich auf Nahuatl mit einzelnen spanischen Wörtern wie visorrey (Vizekönig). In der rechten Spalte sind die Ausgaben für die Einkäufe (einzeln oder auch in größerer Zahl) in arabischen Ziffern angegeben, gefolgt von Abkürzungen der Wörter peso und tomin (ein Achtel eines Peso) zur Bezeichnung der Währungseinheit; auf einigen Seiten finden sich auch römische Ziffern anstelle der arabischen. Dieser Wechsel des Zahlensystems mag zufällig erscheinen, aber er könnte auch auf die Beteiligung mehrerer Schreiber (insgesamt sieben) zurückzuführen sein, die in den 14 Jahren seiner Entstehung kontinuierlich an dem Manuskript gearbeitet haben. Ihre Namen sind überall im Codex zu finden (Abb. 2).


Abb. 2: S. 57. Ein gewisser Alonso de Castro ist als escrivano (Schreiber)
genannt, neben den nahuatlatos Salazar und Andrés (Übersetzer vom
Spanischen ins Nahuatl). In Nahuatl geschrieben steht: „Zwölf Pesos wurden
dem Schreiber Alonso de Castro und den Übersetzern Salazar und Andrés
heute für Reisekosten und die Anfertigung des vorliegenden Dokuments
gezahlt, Mittwoch, 20. April [1563]“. > Vergrößerung

Der Erhalt indigener Sprachen durch Verwendung des lateinischen Alphabets war vor allem der Verdienst von Franziskanermönchen, die in den von ihnen gegründeten Schulen Einheimischen das Lesen und Schreiben beibrachten und sie im Tischler-, Leder- und Schmiedehandwerk sowie der christlichen Lehre unterwiesen. Diese meist spanischen Missionare waren hinsichtlich ihrer Ausbildung und Ideologie stark von der flämischen Renaissance geprägt. Folglich vermittelten sie diese Einflüsse (möglicherweise unbeabsichtigt) auch im Schreibunterricht, wie sich an den kolonialen Codices des frühen 16. Jahrhunderts erkennen lässt. Im Codex Sierra Texupan sind zum Beispiel kalligraphische Stile wie die flämische Kanzleischrift und die Rotunda zu finden (Abb. 3).


Abb. 3: S. 48. Am unteren Rand ist das Datum „Mes augusto 1561 años“
(August 1561) in Rotunda geschrieben und markiert das Ende der Seite
(der vorhergehende Text ist in flämischer Kanzleischrift geschrieben).
> Vergrößerung

Die Schreiber standen zudem vor der Herausforderung, visuelle Repräsentationen von Begriffen zu finden, die im mesoamerikanischen Kulturbereich bis dahin unbekannt gewesen waren und nun neu geschaffen werden mussten. Zahlreiche Stellen in der Handschrift belegen, dass die Schreiber ihre ganz eigene piktographische Tradition begründeten, so zum Beispiel auf Seite 8, wo Anschaffungen für den ersten Abschnitt des Jahres 1553 aufgelistet sind (Abb. 4). Ein Eintrag bezieht sich auf den Erwerb von 190 Schafen für 70 Pesos – da Schafe jedoch erst Mitte des 16. Jhs. nach Oaxaca gekommen waren, musste der Schreiber vermutlich die Gestalt eines für ihn neuen, geradezu exotischen Tieres erfassen und abstrahieren. Ein weiteres Beispiel findet sich in Einträgen für den vierzehnten Abschnitt des Jahres 1561 in einem Bildzeichen für Seidenbündel, die von den Einheimischen produziert und verkauft wurden. Abgesehen von Seide enthält das Manuskript auch Darstellungen von anderen Produkten wie Olivenöl, Wein, Käse, Eiern, Hühnern, Matten, Sitzen, Kerzen und zeremoniellem Zubehör.



Abb. 4: S. 8. Eine Angabe im mixtekischen Zwanzigersystem: Drei mal
zwanzig (die größeren Münzen mit roten Fahnen) plus zehn kleinere Münzen
ergeben die Summe von 70 Pesos. Schafe und Hirte sind links dargestellt.
> Vergrößerung

Das zweifellos beste Beispiel für synkretistische Rekonzeptualisierung ist die Darstellung der Namen katholischer Heiliger. Die Stadt Santa Catalina Texupan ist nach der Heiligen Katharina von Alexandrien benannt („Texupan“ bedeutet „blaues Land“), die in der europäischen Tradition gewöhnlich mit einem hölzernen Rad, einem Symbol ihres Martyriums, abgebildet und assoziiert wird. In Mesoamerika war das Rad als Folterinstrument jedoch unbekannt, so dass die visuelle Darstellung ihres Namens in der Handschrift – bei namentlichen Erwähnungen der Stadt Santa Catalina – der Kreativität der mixtekischen Schreiber überlassen blieb (Abb. 6). Ähnlich ging es den Schreibern auch mit dem Heiligen Petrus, dessen Namen man in der katholischen Tradition mit einem Schlüsselbund assoziiert, einem Attribut, das im damaligen Mesoamerika keinen Sinn hatte, da man bis zur Ankunft der Spanier keine Türschlösser kannte. So sehen wir jedes Mal, wenn sein Name im Text erscheint, eine neu erfundene Glyphe. Im Fall des Heiligen Paulus fanden die Schreiber eine traditionelle mesoamerikanische Darstellung, die dem europäischen Symbol entspricht: Der Name des Heiligen wird mit einem Schwert dargestellt, das große Ähnlichkeit mit dem zeremoniellen Steinschwert der Mixteken aufweist. Die Beispiele belegen das Können mesoamerikanischer Schreiber, die neue Zeichen erfinden oder alte anpassen mussten, um Dinge zu benennen, die in ihrer bisherigen kulturellen Vorstellungswelt nicht existiert hatten.


Abb. 5: S. 47. In der zweiten Hälfte des 16. Jhs. begann die Seidenpro-
duktion in Mesoamerika in den Städten der klimatisch günstig gelegenen
Region Puebla-Oaxaca , langfristig war die Seidenraupenzucht jedoch nicht
von Erfolg gekrönt. > Vergrößerung

Abschließend soll noch auf die Farbstoffe eingegangen werden, die mit europäischen Techniken wie Gouache aufgetragen wurden. Für den Text und die Umrisse der Piktogramme verwendete man aus Europa importierte schwarze Tinte, für Korrekturen Sepia. Zudem findet sich ein mineralisches Gelb, nach einem Rezept aus der vorspanischen Zeit hergestellt aus Arsen und Schwefel, welches in Kombination mit Grau blasse Grüntöne ergibt. Am ungewöhnlichsten ist ein roter Farbton, hergestellt durch das Mischen von Zinnoberrot (aus Quecksilbersulfid) und Karminrot, einem Pigment, das man von den Cochenilleschildläusen auf Kakteen gewinnt. Der hieraus resultierende Farbton ist nahezu unnachahmlich. Seine Zusammensetzung aus tierischen und mineralischen Stoffen spiegelt überdies auf subtile Weise die Verschmelzung von Traditionen aus der Alten und Neuen Welt.

Das Manuskript gibt nicht nur wertvolle Einblicke in die einheimische wirtschaftliche Struktur im Gebiet der Mixteken, sondern auch in die Komplexität mexikanischer Handschriften der frühen Kolonialzeit. Schrift und Zeichnung ergänzen sich, um Geschichten zu erzählen. Weder sind die Schriftzeichen den Bildern untergeordnet, noch umgekehrt: Sie bilden vielmehr ein zusammenhängendes Ganzes, ein konkretes Beispiel für den kulturellen Synkretismus im kolonialen Mesoamerika.


Abb. 6: S. 6. Dieses Bild bezieht sich auf die Vorbereitung
eines Festes zu Ehren der Heiligen Katharina von Alexandrien
(nach der die Stadt Santa Catalina Texupan benannt ist) und
stellt den Kauf von Wein, Kakaobohnen und Truthahnfleisch
dar. Der Name der Heiligen ist links im Bild über dem
Truthahn zu sehen. > Vergrößerung





Literatur

Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla (BUAP) (2015): „Codex Sierra-Texupan“. (aufgerufen am 01.12.2018).

BUAP (2016a): „Códice Sierra Texupan“. Biblioteca Digital Mexicana. (aufgerufen am 01.12.2018).

BUAP (2016b): „Códice Sierra-Texupan: riqueza mestiza albergada en la BUAP“. (aufgerufen am 01.11.2018).

LEON, N. (1984): Códice Sierra. Náhuatl Text and Translation. México: Editorial Innovación.

ROSELL, C. (2016): Códice Sierra Texupan: Estudio e interpretación. Puebla: BUAP.

TERRACIANO, K. (2001): The Mixtecs of Colonial Oaxaca: Nudzahui History, Sixteenth through Eighteenth Centuries. Stanford: Stanford University Press.


Beschreibung
Biblioteca Especial „José María Lafragua“ (Fondo Antiguo), Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Mexiko.
Signatur: 48281-41010404 Digital-Scan
Material: 62 Blatt, europäisches Papier, Farbstoffe diverser Pigmente
Maße: 30,7 × 21,8 cm
Sprachen: Nahuatl und Spanisch
Herkunft: Neuspanien (Mixteca Alta, Oaxaca, Mexiko), 1577



Manuskript des Monats 12/2017
Text von Jesús Barrientos
für alle Abbildungen: Benemérita Universidad
Autónoma de Puebla, Mexiko
Zitationshinweis:
Jesús Barrientos, „Drei Kulturtraditionen, zwei Schriftsysteme und eine Einkaufsliste:
Der Codex Sierra Texupan“
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Hg.): Manuscript des Monats 2017.12, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_12_mom.html