last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

01/2012 manuscript  of the month


A Qur’an written over the Qur’an – why making the effort?

The manuscript of the Qur’an presented here is a very special case. It is a palimpsest, a page whose script has been completely washed off and has again been written upon. After some time the first layer reappeared and can be discerned, somewhat faded, beneath the second layer. It was probably produced not more than a few decades after the death of the prophet Muhammad in 632 and is considered one of the earliest textual witnesses of the Qur’an. At first glance the fact that both layers contain parts of the Qur’an, that is, parts of one and the same text, is highly astonishing. The question is: for what reason did someone wash off a text, only to overwrite it with the same text, using more or less the same style of script?

Koranseite
A palimpsest Qur’an

The palimpsest, of which roughly three dozen fragments have survived, was discovered in 1972 during restoration works on the western wall of the Great Mosque of Sanaa. The chamber in which it had been deposited together with 40,000 other manuscript fragments of the Qur’an seems to have functioned as a kind of storeroom, because one did not dare to throw away religious texts – a practice which can also be found in Judaism.

Among the other fragments of the trove, which are of great importance for Qur’anic studies, the palimpsest takes an exceptional position. That both layers contain parts of the same text is remarkable, and equally interesting is the fact that they are written in the same type of script. This last point indicates that both layers must have originated within a relatively short time interval. This phenomenon can be explained by taking into account the historical context. The rapid expansion of the Islamic Empire after the death of the Prophet Muhammad led to disputes about the exact wording of the Qur’an, because the experts who were scattered over vast areas remembered things differently. Faced with this situation of growing divergences, Caliph Uthman (r. 644-656) – as much is reported by Islamic sources – eventually selected a group of men who where entrusted with the task of reconstructing the authentic wording of the revelation, using all oral and written testimonies that had survived as a basis for this work. The result was an official standard text, the so-called canonical version, and all other prevalent deviating versions were ordered to be destroyed – an order that was not in every place complied with immediately or without resistance.


Surentrenner
Original version and graphical reconstruction of the lower layer (detail of
fol. 23r). The strong curvature of the lines of the washed-off script that
can be particularly observed in the lower part of the page could be a result
of the remanufacturing process of the parchment in preparation for the
new writing.

But how is the “Qur’an written over the Qur’an” concerned by this? A closer look at the lower layer reveals significant deviations from the uthmanic standard version (which, however, do not change much of the meaning of the text). Hence it is very likely that we have here a precanonical version of the Qur’an that in consequence of the event of the uthmanic redaction had become undesirable and was therefore extinguished. Producing such a manuscript containing a non-official version after the standardization under Uthman is highly improbable. The more so, as already the material value shows that it must have been an expensive specimen. To produce a complete copy of the Qur’an of this size, the skin of more than 200 animals, presumably sheep or goats, would have been needed! This also seems to be one reason why the “old” manuscript had not simply been thrown away: by preparing the pages and rewriting them in the now official version the expensive parchment could be preserved. This makes the palimpsest Qur’an from Sanaa a witness of a significant event in the history of Islam: the final redaction of the Qur’an text.

But not only as such the palimpsest is of great importance. Given the early origin of both layers and given the fact, that the physical conditions reveal their relative chronological order beyond doubt, this manuscript allows valuable insights into the development of the Arabic script and orthography, the dating of manuscripts by comparing the features of different scripts and the production and ornamentation of Qur’an manuscripts in the 7th century.

The rarity and significance of this manuscript are also reflected by its monetary value. Four pages somehow made their way to western auction houses and the last of them – sold in 2008 at Christie’s – broke the world auction record for any Islamic manuscript by fetching the amazing sum of £2,484,500! This even earned it a mention in the British magazine Country Life, that is dedicated to the auctioning and sale of English country houses and, this is noteworthy, some of them are cheaper to buy than the palimpsest page.



References
VON BOTHMER, Hans-Caspar Graf (1988): “Masterworks of Islamic Book Art: Koranic Calligraphy and Illumination in the Manuscripts found in The Great Mosque in Sanaa“, in: W. Daum (ed.), Yemen. 3000 Years of Art and Civilization in Arabia Felix, Innsbruck et al., p. 178-181.
BLAIR, Sheila S. (2006): Islamic Calligraphy, Edingburgh.
DéROCHE, François (2009): La transmission écrite du Coran dans les débuts de l’Islam. Le codex Parisino-petropolitanus, Leiden.
Country Life, 14th edition, May 2008, London, p.154.
PUIN, Elisabeth (2010): “Ein früher Koranpalimpsest aus Ṣanʿā’ (DAM 01-27.1). Teil III: Ein nicht-ʿuṯmānischer Koran“, in: M. Groß & K.-H. Ohlig (eds.): Die Entstehung einer Weltreligion I, Berlin, p. 233-305.
Auction results Christie’s 2008

Description
Qur’an, chapter 32, verse 20 – chapter 33, verse 6 (upper script); chapter 9, verse 121-129 and chapter 19, verse 1-5 (lower script)
Parchment, 37 x 28 cm
About 650 CE


The images of the palimpsest manuscript (fol. 23r) that can be found on this page are kindly provided by Christian Robin and have been realized by funds of the ANR Project “De l’Antiquité tardive à l’Islam“ (DATI, headed by Christian Robin). The graphical reconstruction of the lower layer has been carried out by Hadiya Gurtmann within the Project “Corpus Coranicum” of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW). A facsimile edition of this manuscript (including the graphical reconstruction of the lower layer) is currently being prepared within the ANR/DFG project “Coranica” (BBAW and Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres) and is planned to be published in the new series “Documenta Coranica” (ed. by F.Déroche, M.Marx, A.Neuwirth and Ch.Robin) by Brill.


Text by Hadiya Gurtmann
© for all pictures: DATI / Ch. Robin & H. Gurtmann / BBAW Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

01/2012 manuskript  des monats


Ein Koran über dem Koran – wozu die Mühe?

Bei dem hier vorgestellten Koranmanuskript handelt es sich um ein Palimpsest, also ein Blatt, von dem die ursprüngliche Schrift vollständig abgewaschen und das dann neu beschrieben wurde. Nach einiger Zeit kam diese untere Schicht wieder zum Vorschein und ist nun blass erkennbar. Das Manuskript ist vermutlich nur wenige Jahrzehnte nach dem Tode des Propheten Muhammad im Jahr 632 entstanden und somit eines der ältesten Textzeugnisse des Korans. Auf den ersten Blick höchst erstaunlich ist es, dass beide Schichten Teile des Korans, also desselben Werkes beinhalten. Es stellt sich die große Frage: Warum löscht jemand einen Text aus, nur um in ganz ähnlicher Schrift denselben Text darüber zu schreiben?

Koranseite
Koranpalimpsest

Entdeckt wurde das aus rund drei Dutzend Fragmenten bestehende Koranpalimpsest im Jahr 1972 bei Sanierungsarbeiten an der Westmauer der Großen Moschee von Sanaa. Es lagerte – zusammen mit 40.000 weiteren Bruchstücken von Koranmanuskripten des 7. bis 10. Jahrhunderts – in einer verschlossenen Kammer, die wohl aus der Scheu heraus eingerichtet wurde, religiöse Texte einfach wegzuwerfen, ähnlich wie in der jüdischen Praxis.

Innerhalb dieses für die Koranforschung überaus bedeutsamen Fundes nimmt das Palimpsest eine Sonderstellung ein. Bemerkenswert ist nicht nur, dass beide Schichten Teile desselben Textes enthalten, sondern auch die Tatsache, dass sie im selben Schrifttypus geschrieben sind, was auf eine Entstehung beider Schichten innerhalb eines relativ kurzen Zeitraums hindeutet. Die Erklärung dieses Phänomens lässt sich im geschichtlichen Kontext finden: Die rasante Ausbreitung des islamischen Reiches nach dem Tod des Propheten Muhammad (632) führte auch dazu, dass in den nahen und entlegenen Gebieten Streitigkeiten über den genauen Wortlaut des Korans entstanden. Angesichts dieser Situation soll der islamischen Überlieferung nach der Kalif Uthman (reg. 644-656) schließlich eine Gruppe von ausgewählten Männern damit beauftragt haben, aus den versprengten schriftlichen und mündlichen Zeugnissen die authentische Fassung der Offenbarung zu rekonstruieren. Diese wurde zum offiziellen Standardtext, zur sogenannten kanonischen Version, während alle davon abweichenden Fassungen in den Städten vernichtet werden sollten – ein Befehl, dem nicht überall widerstandslos und unverzüglich nachgekommen wurde.


Surentrenner
Original und graphische Rekonstruktion der ausgelöschten Schrift
(Ausschnitt fol. 23r). Die vor allem im unteren Teil der Seite recht starke
Krümmung der Zeilen der unteren Schicht hängt möglicherweise mit dem
Verziehen des Pergaments durch das Befeuchten und Spannen bei der
Vorbereitung für die Neubeschreibung zusammen.

Was hat dies nun mit dem Koran über dem Koran zu tun? Eine genauere Betrachtung der unteren Schicht offenbart deutliche Abweichungen von diesem uthmanischen Standardtext – die im Übrigen keine dramatischen inhaltlichen Unterschiede zur Folge haben. Dies lässt vermuten, dass es sich um eine vorkanonische Fassung handelt, die infolge der uthmanischen Redaktion unerwünscht geworden war und daher ausgelöscht wurde. Die Herstellung eines solchen Manuskripts in einer nichtoffiziellen Fassung nach der Standardisierung durch Uthman ist mehr als unwahrscheinlich. Umso mehr, als es sich um ein teures Exemplar gehandelt haben muss, was schon am Materialwert deutlich wird: Für eine vollständige Abschrift des Korans in dieser Größe wäre die Haut von weit über 200 Tieren, wahrscheinlich Schafe oder Ziegen, nötig gewesen! Dies ist wohl auch der Grund, warum man es nicht bei der Vernichtung der unteren Schicht beließ: man wollte das teure Pergament nicht verschwenden, und so bereitete man die Blätter wieder auf und beschrieb sie mit der nun offiziellen Fassung. Das Koranpalimpsest von Sanaa ist damit Zeuge eines wichtigen Umbruchs in der islamischen Geschichte: der Fixierung des Korantextes.

Doch nicht nur als solcher ist es von großer Bedeutung: Durch das frühe Entstehungsdatum beider Schichten und dadurch, dass die zeitliche Reihenfolge der Schichten durch die physischen Gegebenheiten gesichert ist, ermöglicht dieses Manuskript wertvolle Einblicke in die Entwicklung der arabischen Schrift und Orthographie, die Datierung von Manuskripten anhand von Schriftmerkmalen und die Herstellung und Ornamentierung von Koranhandschriften im 7. Jahrhundert.

Die Seltenheit und Bedeutung des Manuskripts spiegelt sich nicht zuletzt im pekuniären Wert wieder: Von vier Blättern, die auf unbekannten Wegen in westliche Auktionshäuser gelangt sind, erzielte das zuletzt im Jahr 2008 bei Christie’s versteigerte Blatt £2,484,500(!) und ist damit das teuerste jemals versteigerte islamische Manuskript. Es fand sogar Erwähnung in der britischen Zeitschrift Country Life, die sich der Versteigerung und dem Verkauf von Landhäusern widmet, von denen durchaus einige günstiger zu erstehen sind als das Palimpsestblatt.



Quellen
VON BOTHMER, Hans-Caspar Graf (1988): „Masterworks of Islamic Book Art: Koranic Calligraphy and Illumination in the Manuscripts found in The Great Mosque in Sanaa“, in: W. Daum (Hg.), Yemen. 3000 Years of Art and Civilization in Arabia Felix, Innsbruck u.a., S. 178-181.
BLAIR, Sheila S. (2006): Islamic Calligraphy, Edingburgh.
DéROCHE, François (2009): La transmission écrite du Coran dans les débuts de l’Islam. Le codex Parisino-petropolitanus, Leiden.
Country Life, Ausgabe 14. Mai 2008, London, S.154.
PUIN, Elisabeth (2010): „Ein früher Koranpalimpsest aus Ṣanʿā’ (DAM 01-27.1). Teil III: Ein nicht-ʿuṯmānischer Koran“, in: M. Groß & K.-H. Ohlig (Hgg.): Die Entstehung einer Weltreligion I, Berlin, S. 233-305.
Auktionsergebnis Christie’s 2008

Kurzbeschreibung
Koran, Sure 32 Vers 20 – Sure 33 Vers 6 (obere Schicht); Sure 9, Vers 121-129 und Sure 19, Vers 1 – 5 (untere Schicht)
Pergament, 37 x 28 cm
Um 650 n. Chr.


Die hier abgebildeten Aufnahmen des Palimpsest-Manuskripts (fol. 23r) wurden freundlicherweise von Christian Robin zur Verfügung gestellt, sie wurden aus Mitteln des ANR-Projektes „De l’Antiquité tardive à l’Islam“ (DATI, geleitet von Christian Robin) erstellt. Die Rekonstruktion der unteren Schicht wurde durch Hadiya Gurtmann im Rahmen des Akademievorhaben "Corpus Coranicum" der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften angefertigt (BBAW). Eine Faksimile- Publikation des Manuskripts (mit graphischer Rekonstruktion der unteren Schicht) wird gegenwärtig im Rahmen des ANR-DFG-Projektes "Coranica" (BBAW und Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres) vorbereitet und soll in einem Faksimileband in der Reihe „Documenta Coranica“ (hg. v. F.Déroche, M.Marx, A.Neuwirth u. Ch.Robin) im Brill-Verlag erscheinen.


Text von Hadiya Gurtmann
© für alle Abbildungen: DATI / Ch. Robin & H. Gurtmann / BBAW Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften