last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

09/2012 manuscript  of the month


Why Mecca?

The Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt is one of the most important and widespread Islamic prayer collections. It is well known from Morocco, where it was composed, to as far as Southeast Asia and there are several thousand manuscripts existing worldwide which contain this work. The Munich Codex dated 1857, but also several other manuscripts and various printed editions show, after a general introduction, a two-sided illustration of the Islamic holy cities of Mecca and Medina. Manuscripts of this kind are the result of a longer development which started with non-illustrated manuscripts of the Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt. But why are the illustrations showing both Mecca and Medina although Mecca is not the subject matter of the prayer collection at all?


fig. 1: Muḥammad b. Sulaymān al-Ǧazūlī: Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt (Mecca and Medina)
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Cod.arab.2673 (13v, 14r), 1857
In: Rebhan, Helga: Die Wunder der Schöpfung. Handschriften der Bayerischen
Staatsbibliothek aus dem islamischen Kulturkreis. Wiesbaden 2010, p. 216/217.

The Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt (“Guide of Good Deeds”), a collection of prayers, intercessions and blessings for the Prophet Muḥammad, is the main work of the Moroccan mystic al-Ǧazūlī (died around 1465). It is one of the texts with religious content which has been copied and commented on the most. As the focus lies on the Prophet Muḥammad who is particularly worshipped as the prophet of Islam, great store has always been set by the visual design of manuscripts of the Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt. In many cases the design even corresponds to that of the Qur’an: gilt frame, illuminated opening pages, golden dividers between sections or enumerations as well as precious bindings.

One passage at the beginning of the text deals with the burial site of the Prophet Muḥammad in Medina. It describes his tomb and the place where it is located in the mosque. Furthermore, the tombs of his two companions Abū Bakr and ʿUmar are described. This passage obviously inspired scribes and illuminators to add a (often two-dimensional and quite schematic) one-sided picture of Medina and the burial chambers to the text which, presumably, was originally not illustrated.







fig. 2: Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt (Mecca)
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek,
Cod.arab.2673(13v), 1857

Since the early 16th century, an increasing number of manuscripts of Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt can be found in which the one-sided picture is complemented by another illustration of Medina on the opposite page showing the pulpit (minbar) and the prayer niche (miḥrāb) in the prophet’s mosque (al-masǧid an-nabawī). This kind of two-sided illustration reflects a preference for geometric constructions and symmetry, which is also shown by the design of many other manuscripts of texts focusing on a wide range of different topics.

However the fact that Mecca is shown on the opposite page, as in the Munich Codex, is a more recent phenomenon which cannot be found in earlier manuscripts (f. 13v, fig. 2). Even though the concept of a two-sided illustration was maintained, showing Mecca and Medina on opposite pages is an interesting phenomenon given that Mecca is not the subject matter of the Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt. Therefore, the reason for this innovation cannot be found in the text itself.

Manuscripts of this kind have been produced exclusively in the East of the Arab World since the late 18th/early 19th century. This change in the manner of illustrating manuscripts coincides both regionally and in time, with the emergence of the Wahhābīya, a conservative and militant movement of Sunni Islam. The followers of this movement represent today the largest religious group in Saudi Arabia’s population, and their teaching is state doctrine. They militate against several forms of popular belief and refuse not only stronger forms of prophetic worship but also mortuary cult and the worshipping of deceased saints, which had become a widely spread custom in the entire Islamic world.





fig. 3: Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt (Medina),
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek,
Cod.arab.2673 (1v), 1857

The fact that illustrations of Mecca and Medina are shown on opposite pages of the manuscripts of the Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt presumably results from the aforesaid criticism of distinct forms of prophetic worship and mortuary cult, which was deemed being reflected by two illustrations of Medina of which one is showing the prophet’s mosque and the other the tombs. This seems to have made people believe that it is not Allāh but the Prophet Muḥammad who is actually being worshipped. One possible explanation is that by showing an illustration of the Kaʿba, the House of God, one intended to face the presumed disproportion between the worshipping of the Prophet and God. The fact that not only tombs were illustrated any longer, but - as is the case with the present manuscript - even entire buildings, which were also drawn in perspective since the 19th century, backs the thesis that the resistance against the mortuary cult and the worshipping of deceased saints was the reason for a change in illustration.


fig. 4: Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt (Medina)
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek,
Cod.arab.2673(14r), 1857

The Munich Codex, which was presumably composed in Istanbul in 1857, is the result of a longer development which spans altogether four centuries. It attests to the establishment of a new influential movement, both politically and religiously, which apparently influenced manuscript design in the East of the Arab World with lasting effect.

Another remarkable feature of this manuscript: The entire manuscript presents the so-called Turkish Rococo style. Both the geometrical and floral elements (f. 1v, fig. 3) and the naturalistic views of landscapes and cities drawn in perspective have been characteristic of Ottoman art and architecture since the middle of the 18th century, clearly reflecting European influence. Furthermore, the explosive light or gold fountain above the cupola of the prophet’s mosque that symbolizes the holiness of this place is another important detail (f. 14r, fig. 4). Although Mecca is shown on the opposite page, the reader’s attention is again drawn to Medina, the prophet’s mosque and the tombs situated in the mosque. This is how the direct reference to the text is re-established.



References
BEN CHENEB, M.: „al-Djazūlī“. In: Lewis, B. et al.: The Encyclopaedia of Islam. New Edition, Vol. II, Leiden/London 1965, p. 527 et seq.
JOHNSON, Kitty: “An Amuletic Manuscript: Baraka and Nyama in a Sub-Saharan African Prayer Manual”. In: Gruber, Christiane (ed.): The Islamic Manuscript Tradition. Ten Centuries of Book Arts in Indiana University Collections. Bloomington 2010, p. 251-272.
PESKES, E./ENDE, W.: „Wahhābiyya“. In: The Encyclopaedia of Islam. New Edition, Bd. XI, Leiden 2002, p. 39-47.
REBHAN, Helga: Die Wunder der Schöpfung. Handschriften der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek aus dem islamischen Kulturkreis. Wiesbaden 2010, p. 216 et seq.
WITKAM, Jan Just: “The Battle of the Images. Mecca vs. Medina in the Iconography of the Manuscripts of al-Jazūlī’s Dalāʾil al-Khayrāt”. In: Pfeiffer, J./Kropp, M. (ed.): Theoretical Approaches to the Transmission and Edition of Oriental Manuscripts. Beirut 2007, p. 67-82.

Description
Cod.arab. 2673
Istanbul?, 1857.
Acquired 1987.
Paper, 87 Folios, 20x12,5 cm.
Arabic.
Illuminated, with illustrations.




Text by Frederike-Wiebke Daub

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

09/2012 manuskript  des monats


Warum Mekka?

Das Werk Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt ist eine der wichtigsten und verbreitetsten islamischen Gebetssammlungen. Es ist von Marokko, wo es verfasst wurde, bis weit nach Südostasien bekannt, und weltweit gibt es mehrere tausend Abschriften, die dieses Werk enthalten. Ein Münchener Kodex von 1857 aber auch einige andere Manuskripte sowie verschiedene Druckausgaben zeigen nach dem Vorwort eine doppelseitige Illustration der heiligen Stätten Mekka und Medina. Manuskripte dieser Art stehen am Ende einer längeren Entwicklung, die bei nicht illustrierten Abschriften der Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt begann. Doch warum werden Mekka und Medina abgebildet, obwohl Mekka gar nicht Gegenstand der Gebetsammlung ist?


Abb 1: Muḥammad b. Sulaymān al-Ǧazūlī: Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt (Mekka und Medina)
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Cod.arab.2673 (13v, 14r), 1857
In: Rebhan, Helga: Die Wunder der Schöpfung. Handschriften der Bayerischen
Staatsbibliothek aus dem islamischen Kulturkreis. Wiesbaden 2010, S. 216/217.

Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt („Wegweiser zu guten Taten“), eine Sammlung von Gebeten, Fürbitten und Segenswünschen für den Propheten Muḥammad, ist das Hauptwerk des marokkanischen Mystikers al-Ǧazūlī (gest. um 1465). Es ist eine der am häufigsten kopierten und kommentierten Schriften religiösen Inhalts. Da der Fokus auf dem Propheten Muḥammad liegt, der als Verkünder des Islam eine besondere Verehrung genießt, wurde stets viel Wert auf die optische Gestaltung von Abschriften der Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt gelegt. Häufig wurden sie sogar in einer Art gestaltet, die der des Koran entspricht: Goldrahmen, illuminierte Eröffnungsseiten, goldene Trennzeichen zwischen Abschnitten oder Aufzählungen und prachtvolle Einbände.

In einer Passage zu Beginn des Textes wird der Bestattungsort des Propheten Muḥammad in Medina thematisiert. Das Grab wird beschrieben und die Stelle, an der es sich in der Moschee befindet, wird benannt. Überdies wird über die Gräber seiner zwei Gefährten Abū Bakr und ʿUmar berichtet. Dieser Passus hat anscheinend Kopisten und Illuminatoren angeregt, dem ursprünglich wohl nicht illustrierten Text eine einseitige, häufig sehr schematische Abbildung Medinas mit den Grabkammern hinzuzufügen.





Abb. 2: Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt (Mekka)
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek,
Cod.arab.2673(13v), 1857

Seit dem frühen 16. Jahrhundert findet man zunehmend Manuskripte der Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt, in denen die einseitige Illustration durch eine weitere, gegenüberliegende Abbildung Medinas ergänzt wurde, die die Kanzel (minbar) und die Gebetsnische (miḥrāb) in der Prophetenmoschee (al-masǧid an-nabawī) zeigt. Diese Art der doppelseitigen Darstellung entspricht der Vorliebe für geometrische Konstruktionen und Symmetrie, die sich auch in der Gestaltung vieler anderer Abschriften von Texten ganz unterschiedlicher Thematik zeigt.

Dass allerdings, wie in dem Münchener Kodex, Mekka auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite abgebildet wird, ist eine jüngere Erscheinung, die so in früheren Abschriften nicht zu finden ist (Fol. 13v, Abb. 2). Auch wenn das Konzept der doppelseitigen Illustration beibehalten wurde, ist die Gegenüberstellung von Mekka und Medina ein interessantes Phänomen, wenn man bedenkt, dass Mekka nicht Gegenstand der Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt ist. Folglich muss der Grund für diese Neuerung außerhalb des Textes gesucht werden.

Manuskripte dieser Art wurden seit dem späten 18./frühen 19. Jahrhundert und ausschließlich im Osten der arabischen Welt hergestellt. Dieser Wandel in der Illustrationsweise deckt sich zeitlich und regional mit dem Aufkommen einer konservativen, militanten Bewegung des sunnitischen Islam, der Wahhābīya. Anhänger dieser Richtung stellen heute die größte religiöse Gruppe in der Bevölkerung Saudi- Arabiens dar und ihre Lehre ist Staatsdoktrin. Sie sprechen sich strikt gegen verschiedene Formen des Volksglaubens aus und lehnen stärkere Formen der Prophetenverehrung ebenso ab wie den Gräberkult und die Verehrung verstorbener Heiliger. Dies war ein weitverbreiteter Brauch in der gesamten islamischen Welt geworden.




Abb. 3: Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt (Medina),
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek,
Cod.arab.2673 (1v), 1857

Dass nun Mekka und Medina auf gegenüberliegenden Seiten in den Manuskripten der Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt abgebildet wurden, resultiert vermutlich aus besagter Kritik an ausgeprägten Formen der Prophetenverehrung und am Gräberkult, was man in zwei Abbildungen von Medina mit der Prophetenmoschee und den Gräbern zu erkennen glaubte. Damit scheint assoziiert worden zu sein, dass der Prophet Muḥammad und nicht Allāh im Zentrum der Verehrung steht. Denkbar ist, dass man mittels einer Abbildung von Mekka mit der Kaʿba, dem Haus Gottes, beabsichtigte, dem vermeintlichen Missverhältnis zwischen der Propheten- und der Gottesverehrung zu begegnen. Für die These, dass der Widerstand gegen den Gräberkult und die Verehrung verstorbener Heiliger Motiv für den Illustrationswandel war, spricht die Tatsache, dass nicht mehr nur die Gräber, sondern, wie auch in diesem Manuskript, ganze Gebäude abgebildet wurden, die seit dem 19. Jahrhundert auch perspektivisch gezeichnet wurden.


Abb. 4: Dalāʾil al-ḫayrāt (Medina)
Bayerische Staatsbibliothek,
Cod.arab.2673(14r), 1857

Der im Jahr 1857 vermutlich in Istanbul angefertigte Münchener Kodex steht am Ende einer längeren Entwicklung, die sich insgesamt über vier Jahrhunderte erstreckt. Er ist Zeugnis für die Etablierung einer neuen politisch und religiös einflussreichen Bewegung, die die Manuskriptgestaltung im Osten der arabischen Welt augenscheinlich nachhaltig beeinflusst hat.

Was dieses Manuskript überdies sehr interessant macht: Das gesamte Manuskript ist im Stil des sogenannten türkischen Rokoko gestaltet. Sowohl die geometrischen und floralen Elemente (Fol. 1v, Abb. 3) als auch die naturalistischen, perspektivischen Landschafts- und Stadtansichten sind charakteristisch für die osmanische Kunst und Architektur seit Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts und geben europäischen Einfluss deutlich zu erkennen. Ein interessantes Detail ist zudem die explosionsartige Licht- oder Goldfontäne über der Kuppel der Prophetenmoschee, die die Heiligkeit des Ortes versinnbildlicht (Fol. 14r, Abb. 4). Obwohl Mekka auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite abgebildet ist, wird das Augenmerk des Betrachters wieder auf Medina, die Prophetenmoschee und die sich darin befindlichen Gräber gelenkt. Dadurch wird der unmittelbare Bezug zum Text wieder hergestellt.



Literatur
BEN CHENEB, M.: „al-Djazūlī“. In: Lewis, B. et al.: The Encyclopaedia of Islam. New Edition, Bd. II, Leiden/London 1965, S. 527f.
JOHNSON, Kitty: „An Amuletic Manuscript: Baraka and Nyama in a Sub-Saharan African Prayer Manual”. In: Gruber, Christiane (Hg.): The Islamic Manuscript Tradition. Ten Centuries of Book Arts in Indiana University Collections. Bloomington 2010, S. 251-272.
PESKES, E./ENDE, W.: „Wahhābiyya“. In: The Encyclopaedia of Islam. New Edition, Bd. XI, Leiden 2002, S. 39-47.
REBHAN, Helga: Die Wunder der Schöpfung. Handschriften der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek aus dem islamischen Kulturkreis. Wiesbaden 2010, S. 216f.
WITKAM, Jan Just: „The Battle of the Images. Mekka vs. Medina in the Iconography of the Manuscripts of al-Jazūlī’s Dalāʾil al-Khayrāt”. In: Pfeiffer, J./Kropp, M. (Hg.): Theoretical Approaches to the Transmission and Edition of Oriental Manuscripts. Beirut 2007, S. 67-82.

Kurzbeschreibung
Cod.arab. 2673
Istanbul?, 1857.
Erworben 1987.
Papier, 87 Folios, 20x12,5 cm.
Arabisch.
Illuminiert, mit Illustrationen.




Text von Frederike-Wiebke Daub