last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

12/2015 manuscript  of the month


An Inconspicuous Manuscript That Is a Treasure Trove of Knowledge:

Armenian Folk Medicine from the Ottoman Empire

Hundreds of folk remedies that were once part of Ottoman Armenian culture were written down in this standard school exercise book in 1943. The notebook contains specific knowledge about ancient methods of healing the body used by Armenians from Ayntab (now known as Gaziantep), a city in south-east Turkey close to the Syrian border (approx. 120 km from Aleppo). What is the story behind this very personal manuscript made in the Armenian diaspora?


Fig. 1: The recipes were written down in
this standard Argentinian school exercise
book. > Enlarge

This paper manuscript (Fig. 1) contains 130 pages filled with a total of 342 folk remedies written in Armeno-Turkish (the Ottoman language written in Armenian script with an admixture of Armenian words). In addition to this, it contains some standard pages with recommendations on how to be a good pupil and Argentinian citizen. The handwriting is largely clear and regular, although a few of the last pages seem to have been written in a hurry. The notebook does not contain any illuminations or illustrations. Page numbers were written at the top of each page. Additionally, each recipe bears a number of its own (Figs. 2–3).

The recipes are divided into groups according to different parts of the human body. An incredibly detailed list of possible ailments is provided in each part, followed by a recipe for an appropriate remedy. We find 64 recipes for healing the eyes alone, for instance, including the following:

  • Eye-refreshing recipe: sugar lumps for tea, ulex, potassium bitartrate, long pepper
  • Eye-refreshing recipe: citric acid, starch, clove, rock sugar Polad
  • Recipe to cure watery eyes: cypress, black cumin, alum, nigella sativa
  • Recipe for eye herpes: sugar lumps for tea, black chickpeas, galga nux, clove
  • Recipe for black eyes irritated by smoke: galga nux, long pepper, clove, sugar lumps for tea, copper sulphate, ammoniac
  • Special recipe for acute eye pain: cotton, rose water, Syrian rue, white chickpeas
  • Recipe to cure styes: sugar lumps for tea, alum, clove
  • Recipe for eye sores: anzarot, clove, auraga, sea foam, alum, rock sugar Polad
  • Herbal ointment for black eyes: long pepper, goldenrod, galga nux, rock sugar Polad, almonds, olives and honey ointment
  • Recipe for eyes irritated by dust or smoke: shellac, ivory powder, pearl powder, egg yolk


Fig. 2: Notebook with recipes
(nos. 1–4), p. 1 > Enlarge

The knowledge transmitted in this manuscript was used by so-called folk or herbal doctors in and around the town of Ayntab. Up to the early 20th century, the region belonged to the Ottoman province of Haleb (now Aleppo). The herbal doctors cured a myriad of diseases with folk medicine and practices they had learnt by experience. Their role was essential, as there were no doctors in many areas.

Folk medicine in Ayntab profited particularly from traditional Armenian medicine practised in Cilicia. This is not surprising given the fact that Ayntab, which was within the borders of mediaeval Cilicia with its various monasteries and seminaries, was not disconnected from the medical progress made during the period; the medical treatises written in the monasteries of the area would certainly have been known to the folk doctors of Ayntab. It is reported that knowledge of herbal medicine was written down in the neighbouring city of Marash as recipes for remedies listed in books that belonged to certain families.


Fig. 3: Pages 2–3 showing further remedies (nos. 5–10). > Enlarge

In the case of the notebook in question here, it is not clear where the knowledge exactly came from in Ayntab. In any case, it was taken from Ayntab to Aleppo and then into exile in Argentina, where it was written down by an Armenian woman called Hripsime Tobdjian (Fig. 4). This knowledgeable woman was born in Ayntab in 1883. Her husband, Nazareth, was a merchant who never returned from one of his business trips. The family supposed he fell victim to the pillaging carried out by Kurdish tribes – a widespread phenomenon at that time. The young widow started working as a teacher of Armenian. Due to the hostility that affected the Armenian population in the late Ottoman Empire, she left her home town of Ayntab around 1920 and settled in Aleppo, where she again worked as a teacher. In 1926, she moved to Latin America with her two teenage sons. She found shelter in Córdoba, Argentina, a province in the centre of the country. Hripsime was the founder of the Armenian Red Cross of Córdoba and devoted herself to various social activities and charity work for the rest of her life.


Fig. 4: Hripsime Tobdjian
> Enlarge

It is likely that at least some of the knowledge that she wrote down in the notebook was gleaned from other members of her family. Within the family, Hripsime is said to have got a recipe from her sister Nouritza, who had a recurring dream for several days in which an angel gave her a remedy for curing eye infections.

Hripsime had probably brought some personal notes with her from Ayntab and wanted to write them down more clearly und understandably in a single notebook before she died. Alternatively, she may have known all the recipes by heart before writing them down in peace while in diaspora.

On the first page of the manuscript, Hripsime left a note dedicating it to the Tobdjian family, which therefore makes it a very personal item. The notebook is testimony to the fact that Hripsime must have felt the need to preserve this specific medical knowledge. She herself had used the recipes in Córdoba, helping friends and neighbours. The recipe she had learnt from her sister, for instance, was still in use until the 1960s. All this knowledge makes her manuscript a treasure trove that contains personal memories as well as parts of the Armenian heritage that survived in diaspora.



References

DER-MEGUERDITCHIAN, Silvina: www.silvina-der-meguerditchian.de

HOFFMANN, Jule (2015): Armenische Rezepte der Uroma im Biennale-Pavillon, interview in German with Silvina Der-Meguerditchian

KESHISHIAN, Varty (2013): Marash Folk Medicine

LA BIENNALE DI VENEZIA, The National Pavilion of The Republic of Armenia, 56th Biennale di Venezia 2015

MANOUKIAN, Jennifer (2014): The Legacy of Turkish in the Armenian Diaspora


Description

Private collection
Material: paper
Dimensions: 17 cm (wide) x 21.5 cm (high) x 1 cm (thick)
Provenance: Córdoba, Argentina, 1943


Text by Silvina Der-Meguerditchian
© for all images: Silvina Der-Meguerditchian
Reference note:
Silvina Der-Meguerditchian, “An Inconspicuous Manuscript That Is a Treasure Trove of Knowledge”
In: Andreas Janke (Ed.): Manuscript of the Month 2015.12, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2015_12_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

12/2015 manuskript  des monats


Eine Fundgrube des Wissens:

Ein unscheinbares Manuskript mit armenischer Volksmedizin aus dem Osmanischen Reich

Hunderte von Rezepten der osmanisch-armenischen Volksmedizin wurden 1943 in diesem einfachen Schulheft niedergeschrieben. Das Heft enthält alte Heilmethoden, die von Armeniern aus Aintab (heute bekannt unter dem Namen Gaziantep) – einer Stadt im Südosten der Türkei nahe der Grenze zu Syrien (ca. 120 km von Aleppo) – zur Behandlung von körperlichen Leiden genutzt wurden. Welche Geschichte verbirgt sich hinter diesem sehr persönlichen, in der armenischen Diaspora entstandenen Manuskript?


Abb. 1: Die Rezepte wurden in diesem
argentinischen Schulheft niedergeschrieben.
> Vergrößern

Dieses Papierheft (Abb. 1) enthält auf 130 Seiten insgesamt 342 Rezepte der Volksmedizin, die in Armeno-Türkisch (Osmanisch mit armenischen Wörtern und in armenischer Schrift) geschrieben sind. Darüber hinaus finden sich einige Seiten mit Ratschlägen, wie man sich als guter Schüler und argentinischer Staatsbürger verhalten sollte. Die Schrift ist überwiegend gut lesbar und gleichmäßig, nur einige der letzten Seiten wurden offenbar in Eile beschrieben. Das Heft enthält weder Bilder noch Zeichnungen. Jede Seite ist oben mit einer Seitenzahl versehen, zudem sind die Rezepte durchnummeriert (Abb. 2–3).

Die Rezepte sind nach Körperteilen angeordnet, für die es eine außerordentlich detaillierte Aufstellung möglicher Erkrankungen gibt, jeweils gefolgt vom Rezept für das passende Heilmittel. So finden wir zum Beispiel allein für die Heilung der Augen 64 verschiedene Rezepte, darunter die folgenden:

  • Rezept zum Augenerfrischen: Würfelzucker für Tee, Stechginster, Weinstein, Langer Pfeffer
  • Rezept zum Augenerfrischen: Zitronensäure, Speisestärke, Gewürznelke, Polat-Kandiszucker
  • Rezept zur Behandlung von tränenden Augen: Zypresse, Schwarzkümmel, Alaun, Echter Schwarzkümmel
  • Rezept für Augenherpes: Würfelzucker für Tee, Schwarze Kichererbsen, Gallapfel, Gewürznelke
  • Rezept für durch Rauch gereizte Augen: Gallapfel, Langer Pfeffer, Gewürznelke, Würfelzucker für Tee, Kupfersulfat, Ammoniak
  • Spezialrezept für akute Augenschmerzen: Wattebausch, Rosenwasser, Harmalkraut, Weiße Kichererbsen
  • Rezept zur Behandlung von Gerstenkörnern: Würfelzucker für Tee, Alaun, Gewürznelke
  • Rezept für Augengeschwüre: Anzarot (Astragalus sarcocolla Dym), Gewürznelke, Stechginster, Meeresschaum, Alaun, Polat-Kandiszucker
  • Kräutersalbe für Hämatom am Auge: Langer Pfeffer, Goldrute, Gallapfel, Polat-Kandiszucker, Mandeln, Oliven und Honigbalsam
  • Rezept für durch Staub oder Rauch gereizte Augen: Schellack, Elfenbeinpulver, Perlenpulver, Eigelb


Abb. 2: Schreibheft mit Rezepten
(Nr. 1–4), S. 1 > Vergrößern

Das in diesem Manuskript überlieferte Wissen wurde von sogenannten Volks- oder Kräuterärzten in der Stadt Aintab und ihrer Umgebung genutzt. Bis ins frühe 20. Jahrhundert gehörte die Region zur osmanischen Provinz Haleb (heute Aleppo). Die Kräuterärzte behandelten unzählige Krankheiten mit Volksmedizin und Methoden, die auf ihrem Erfahrungswissen basierten. Sie spielten eine unentbehrliche Rolle, da es in vielen Gebieten keine Ärzte gab.

Die Volksmedizin in Aintab profitierte vor allem von der traditionellen armenischen Medizin, wie sie in Kilikien praktiziert wurde, was nicht weiter verwunderlich ist, da Aintab im Gebiet des mittelalterlichen Kilikiens mit seinen Klöstern und Priesterseminaren lag und somit Teil am medizinischen Fortschritt jener Zeit hatte. Die medizinischen Abhandlungen aus den dortigen Klöstern waren den Volksdoktoren von Aintab sicherlich bekannt. Aus der benachbarten Stadt Maraş wird berichtet, dass Wissen über Kräutermedizin in Form von Rezepten für Heilmittel in Büchern niedergeschrieben wurde, die bestimmten Familien gehörten.


Abb. 3: Seiten 2–3 mit weiteren Rezepten (Nr. 5–10) > Vergrößern

Im Falle des vorliegenden Schreibheftes wissen wir nicht genau, woher in Aintab das Wissen stammte. Auf alle Fälle wurde es von Aintab nach Aleppo gebracht und von dort schließlich ins argentinische Exil, wo es von Hripsime Tobdjian, einer armenischen Frau (Abb. 3), aufgeschrieben wurde. Diese kenntnisreiche Frau wurde 1883 in Aintab geboren. Ihr Ehemann, Nazareth, war ein Kaufmann, der von einer seiner Geschäftsreisen nicht mehr zurückgekehrt war. Die Familie nahm an, dass er Opfer eines Überfalls durch einen kurdischen Stamm wurde, was zu jener Zeit häufig vorkam. Die junge Witwe begann daraufhin als Armenisch-Lehrerin zu arbeiten. Aufgrund der Feindseligkeit, der sich die armenische Bevölkerung im spätosmanischen Reich ausgesetzt sah, zog sie um 1920 aus ihrer Heimatstadt Aintab fort und ließ sich in Aleppo nieder, wo sie ebenfalls als Lehrerin arbeitete. 1926 zog sie mit ihren beiden Söhnen im Teenageralter nach Lateinamerika, wo sie eine neue Heimat in der zentral-argentinischen Provinz Córdoba fand. Hripsime gründete das Armenische Rote Kreuz von Córdoba und widmete sich für den Rest ihres Lebens verschiedenen sozialen Aktivitäten und karitativen Tätigkeiten.


Abb. 4: Hripsime Tobdjian
> Vergrößern

Es ist wahrscheinlich, dass zumindest ein Teil des von ihr in dem Schulheft niedergeschriebenen Wissens von anderen Familienmitgliedern stammte. In der Familie heißt es, Hripsime habe ein Rezept von ihrer Schwester Nouritza bekommen, die über mehrere Tage einen wiederkehrenden Traum hatte, in dem ein Engel ihr eine Arznei für die Behandlung von Augeninfektionen gab.

Vermutlich hatte Hripsime persönliche Aufzeichnungen aus Aintab mitgebracht und wollte sie übersichtlicher und verständlicher in einem einzigen Heft niederschreiben, bevor sie starb. Es könnte aber auch sein, dass sie die Rezepte auswendig kannte, bevor sie sie in der Diaspora in Ruhe niederschrieb.

Auf der ersten Seite des Manuskripts hinterließ Hripsime eine Mitteilung, mit der sie das Heft der Familie Tobdjian widmete, was es zu einem sehr persönlichen Gegenstand macht. Das Heft belegt, dass Hripsime den Wunsch hatte, dieses spezielle medizinische Wissen zu bewahren. Sie selbst hatte die Rezepte in Córdoba benutzt, um Freunden und Nachbarn zu helfen. Das Rezept von ihrer Schwester zum Beispiel wurde noch bis in die 1960er Jahre angewendet. All dies macht ihr Manuskript zu einer Fundgrube, die sowohl persönliche Erinnerungen enthält als auch einen Teil des armenisches Erbes, das in der Diaspora überlebte.



Literatur

DER-MEGUERDITCHIAN, Silvina: www.silvina-der-meguerditchian.de

HOFFMANN, Jule (2015): Armenische Rezepte der Uroma im Biennale-Pavillon, Gespräch mit Silvina Der-Meguerditchian.

KESHISHIAN, Varty (2013): Marash Folk Medicine

LA BIENNALE DI VENEZIA, The National Pavilion of The Republic of Armenia, 56th Biennale di Venezia 2015

MANOUKIAN, Jennifer (2014): The Legacy of Turkish in the Armenian Diaspora


Beschreibung

Privatbesitz.
Material: Papier
Maße: 17 cm (Breite) x 21,5 cm (Höhe) x 1 cm (Dicke)
Herkunft: Córdoba, Argentinien, 1943



Text von Silvina Der-Meguerditchian
© für alle Abbildungen: Silvina Der-Meguerditchian
Zitationshinweis:
Silvina Der-Meguerditchian, „Eine Fundgrube des Wissens“
In: Andreas Janke (Hg.): Manuskript des Monats 2015.12, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2015_12_mom.html