last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

09/2016 manuscript  of the month


‘Consider it worth a thousand cash’

One popular genre in China’s long history of written culture is the vocabulary list (zazi, literally ‘miscellaneous characters’). Developed centuries ago as a convenient way for students to learn how to read and write, they are texts containing words grouped into rhyming lines or phrases, designed to aid in memorisation. Both chanted aloud and written down, this humble literature once had a great role to play in the elementary education of ordinary people.


Fig. 1: Cover, a ‘Vocabulary list in six-
syllable lines’
(Liuyan zazi) , title written
on the upper left-hand corner. ‘Diligently
recited by Wang Juhe’
(Wang Juhe qinsong)
appears in the lower middle. > Enlarge

One example of a vocabulary list in my collection is introduced here. In January 2015, in the Panjiayuan antique market in Beijing, I purchased a manuscript entitled ‘Vocabulary list in six-syllable lines’ (Liuyan zazi) on its cover (see Fig. 1). It measures 19.68 cm (l) x12.06 cm (w) and consists of twelve folios, with writing on both sides except for the last folio, whose verso is blank. It is written on bamboo paper and bound in string with evenly-spaced four-hole sewing. The cover is signed ‘diligently recited by Wang Juhe’, which suggests that it was once owned by a student; we do not know if he was also the copyist. In several places in the manuscript, seals with the name ‘Xue Long’ indicate that this was the name of it previous collector.

Determining the date and provenance of the manuscript is difficult. It could date as late as the Republican era (1912-1949), as vocabulary lists were in use in many areas of China well into the 20th century. In older times there were both woodblock and lithographic printed texts (the latter were reproduced in great numbers from the late 19th century onwards), while there also existed a vibrant culture of hand-copying materials for one’s own use or for one’s students. Like other hand-copied vocabulary lists, this manuscript contains a number of non-standard characters (suzi). For me, this meant that while their meaning may be clear in context, finding them in a dictionary was not always easy.

Many questions exist as to just how vocabulary lists were used. A teacher may read them aloud with his students; the rhymes made them easy to memorise, and once students could recite the lines, they could also review the characters on their own. While elementary, vocabulary lists were almost never simply random compilations of words, but imparted important information and ideas. Sometimes the vocabulary was purely practical, such as the items sold in a general store or the tools used by labourers. Equally often, the texts taught ethics, historical concepts, and the organisation of society and government.

Our text begins by giving an overview of the formation of the world, from the separation of the earth and the heavens by the mythological figure Pangu to the creation of mankind by the goddess Nuwa (see Fig. 2). A few lines later, following the mention of other mythical figures and the sage kings of antiquity, Confucius is respectfully presented as scholar and sage, with his legacy lasting into the present. With this rather learned presentation of the beginnings of Chinese civilisation, the text moves on seamlessly to an extended list of agricultural terms, from farm tools and the natural environment to the various grains. It goes on to introduce how society is organised by listing the terms used for government offices, family relationships, and other subjects.


Fig. 2: Liuyan zazi, fol. 1r. > Enlarge

As with most other vocabulary lists, we do not know the name of the author who composed it. But at the end of the text, he seemed to pause and, stepping back from his role as the purveyor of information, revealed something about himself (see Fig. 3). He noted how he had arduously searched through the classics and canons in the process of compiling the vocabulary list, and how it was simply exhausting: ‘My wrists are sore when I hold the brush; my eyes are dazed when I stare at words’. While he wanted to add still more lines to the little book, he wrote, the expanse of human affairs is endless. Then, as if he remembered something he had forgotten before, he described the vocabulary of funereal rituals, which also serves as a curious reflection on mortality at the end of the book. The following lines conclude the text:

‘Today I have finally completed the task [of compiling this text];
Now it’s ready to be transmitted to future students.
Do not dismiss this book as cheap and shallow;
Do consider it worth a thousand cash.’

Often at the end of vocabulary lists there is an apologia by the author, seemingly self-depreciatory but actually advertising the work. Here the author acknowledged that the educated elite might well frown on his attempt to discourse on history and society. A vocabulary list is hardly a book seen as worthy of ‘a thousand cash’; yet in presenting it as such, the author affirmed that what he had compiled was indeed a valuable and useful tool, a product of excruciating labour worthy to be transmitted to future generations of students.


Fig. 3: Liuyan zazi, fol. 11v. - 12r. Couplet on fol. 12r,
next to the main text. > Enlarge

What makes this manuscript so interesting is not only the text itself, but also the marks left behind by those who had come across it. The reader will notice that, on the same page, beyond the final lines of the main text, are two lines written in large bold characters, in a lively ‘running-hand’ (xingshu) calligraphic style in contrast to the careful ‘standard’ (kaishu) style used by the copyist throughout the main text (see fig. 3). These two lines form a duilian, or matching couplet, a set of poetic lines with strict parallel segments, whose composition was an art. Duilian appeared on scrolls decorating rooms and doorways; once they were also the stuff of literary competitions and drinking games. The one here, written in a colloquial style, is a variation of a known couplet, but we do not know who wrote it on the manuscript – perhaps by an advanced pupil in a moment of boredom? Perhaps out of his desire to show off his new mastery of calligraphy?

Whatever the occasion, the order of words got confused in the writing. The calligrapher (or possibly a later reader) seemed to have noticed the errors, and made corresponding ‘editorial notes’ in the form of small letters written to the right of each line, indicating that several characters ought to reverse places. Properly ordered, the couplet ought to read like this:

‘Heaven is a chessboard and the stars are pieces; who shall move them?
Earth is a lute and its threads are strings; who shall pluck them?’



References

BROKAW, Cynthia (2007): Commerce in Culture: The Sibao Book Trade in the Qing and Republican Periods. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Asia Center.

BAI Liming (2005): Shaping the Ideal Child: Children and Their Primers in Late Imperial China. Hong Kong: The Chinese University Press.

GU Yueqin 顾月琴 (2013): Richang shenghuo bianqian zhong de jiaoyu: Ming Qing shiqi zazi yanjiu 日常生活變遷中的教育: 明清時期雜字研究. Beijing: Guangming ribao chubanshe.

HASE, Patrick H (2012): “Village Literacy and Scholarship: Village Scholars and their Documents.” In: Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society Hong Kong Branch 52, 77-137.

HAYES, James W (2010): “Manuscript Documents in the Life and Culture of Hong Kong Villagers in Late Imperial China.” In: Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society Hong Kong Branch 50, 165-244.

HAYES, James (1987): “Specialists and Written Materials in the Village World.” In: David Johnson, Andrew J. Nathan, and Evelyn S. Rawski (eds.): Popular Culture in Late Imperial China. Berkeley: University of California Press, 75-111.

RAWSKI, Evelyn Sakakida (1979): Education and Popular Literacy in Ch’ing China. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press.

WU Huifang 吳蕙芳 (2007): Ming Qing yilai minjian shenghuo zhishi de jiangou yu chuandi 明清以來民間生活知識的建構與傳遞. Taipei: Taiwan xuesheng shuju.

LI Guoqing 李國慶 (ed.) (2009): Zazi leihan 雜字類函. 11 vols. Beijing: Xueyuan chubanshe.

ZHENG Acai 鄭阿財 and ZHU Fengyu 朱鳳玉 (2002): Dunhuang mengshu yanjiu 敦煌蒙書研究. Lanzhou: Gansu jiaoyu chubanshe.

ZHANG Zhigong 張志公 (1962): Chuantong yuwen jiaoyu chutan 傳統語文教育初探. Shanghai: Shanghai jiaoyu chubanshe.


Description
Manuscript in private collection
Material: Paper, 12 folios with writing on both sides, except for the last folio (writing on recto only), thread-bound, evenly spaced four-hole sewing
Dimensions: 19.68 cm x 12.06 cm
Provenance: China, undated





Text by Ronald Suleski
© for all pictures: Ronald Suleski
Reference note:
Ronald Suleski, ‘Consider it worth a thousand cash’
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Eds.): Manuscript of the Month 2016.09, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_09_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

09/2016 manuskript  des monats


„Schätze es wie eintausend Käsch.“

Eine beliebte Gattung in Chinas langer Geschichte der Schriftkultur ist die Vokabelliste (zazi, wörtlich „vermischte Zeichen“). Bei diesen Listen, die vor Jahrhunderten entwickelt wurden, um Schülern das Schreiben und Lesen beizubringen, handelt es sich um Texte mit gereimten Versen oder Sätzen, die man sich leichter merken kann. Sowohl zum Aufsagen als auch zum Niederschreiben spielte diese schlichte Literatur früher eine wichtige Rolle in der Grundausbildung der einfachen Leute.


Abb. 1: Umschlag mit dem Titel „Vokabel-
liste in sechssilbigen Versen“
(Liuyan zazi)
oben links. Unten mittig: „Eifrig aufgesagt
von Wang Juhe“
(Wang Juhe qinsong).
> Vergrößerung

Ein Beispiel solch einer Vokabelliste aus meiner Sammlung soll hier vorgestellt werden. Im Januar 2015 erwarb ich auf dem Panjiayuan-Antiquitätenmarkt in Peking ein Manuskript, dessen Umschlag den Titel „Vokabelliste in sechssilbigen Versen“ (Liuyan zazi) trägt (siehe Abb. 1). Es misst 19,68 cm (L) ×12,06 cm (B) und besteht aus zwölf Blättern, die beidseitig beschrieben sind, mit Ausnahme des letzten Blatts, dessen Rückseite leer ist. Die Handschrift ist aus Bambuspapier und mit Faden durch vier Löcher in gleichem Abstand gebunden. Der Umschlag ist mit den Worten „eifrig aufgesagt von Wang Juhe“ signiert, was vermuten lässt, dass die Liste früher einem Schüler gehört hat; wir wissen jedoch nicht, ob dieser auch der Schreiber war. An einigen Stellen im Manuskript finden sich Siegelabdrücke mit dem Namen „Xue Long“, wahrscheinlich der frühere Eigentümer.

Die Bestimmung von Herkunft und Alter des Manuskripts ist schwierig. Es könnte aus der Republikzeit (1912–1949) stammen, da Vokabellisten in vielen Gebieten Chinas noch bis weit in das 20. Jahrhundert verwendet wurden. In früheren Zeiten gab es sowohl Holzschnittdrucke als auch lithographisch gedruckte Texte (letztere wurden in großer Zahl ab dem späten 19. Jahrhundert produziert). Zugleich gab es auch eine lebendige Kultur des Kopierens von Materialien für den eigenen Gebrauch oder für den der eigenen Schüler mit der Hand. Wie andere handgeschriebene Vokabellisten enthält auch dieses Manuskript eine Reihe von nicht-standardisierten Zeichen (suzi). Für mich war zwar ihre Bedeutung im Kontext klar, ich konnte sie aber nicht immer gleich in einem Wörterbuch finden.

Es gibt viele Fragen bezüglich der Verwendung von Vokabellisten. Ein Lehrer könnte sie laut mit seinen Schülern gelesen haben; durch die Versform waren sie leicht zu behalten, und sobald die Schüler in der Lage waren, die Zeilen aus dem Gedächtnis aufzusagen, konnten sie auch die Zeichen selbstständig wiederholen. Trotz ihres elementaren Charakters waren Vokabellisten fast nie beliebige Sammlungen von Wörtern, sondern vermittelten wichtige Informationen und Gedanken. Zum Teil war das Vokabular rein praktischer Natur, wie etwa die Waren, die in einem Gemischtwarenladen verkauft wurden, oder die Werkzeuge, die von Arbeitern benutzt wurden. Ebenso häufig aber lehrten die Texte Ethik, historische Konzepte und den Aufbau von Gesellschaft und Staat.

Unser Text beginnt mit einem Überblick über die Entstehung der Welt von der Trennung von Himmel und Erde durch den mythischen Pangu bis zur Erschaffung der Menschheit durch die Göttin Nüwa (siehe Abb. 2). Einige Verse später, nach der Nennung weiterer mythischer Heroen und weiser Könige des Altertums, wird Konfuzius respektvoll als Gelehrter und Weiser vorgestellt, dessen Vermächtnis bis in die heutige Zeit wirkt. Mit diesem eher gelehrten Vortrag über die Anfänge der chinesischen Zivilisation geht der Text nahtlos in eine ausführliche Liste landwirtschaftlicher Begriffe über, die von Werkzeugen für den Ackerbau über die natürliche Umwelt bis hin zu verschiedenen Getreidearten reichen. Anschließend führt er in die Organisation der Gesellschaft durch Auflistung der Ausdrücke ein, die für Regierungsämter, Verwandtschaftsverhältnisse und andere Themen verwendet werden.


Abb. 2: Liuyan zazi, fol. 1r. > Vergrößerung

Wie bei den meisten anderen Vokabellisten kennen wir den Namen des Verfassers, der sie zusammengestellt hat, nicht. Am Ende des Textes scheint er jedoch eine Pause eingelegt zu haben, denn er tritt aus der Rolle des Lehrers heraus und offenbart etwas über sich selbst (siehe Abb. 3): Er beschreibt, wie er mühsam die Klassiker und die kanonischen Texte durchforstete, um die Vokabelliste zusammenzustellen, und wie anstrengend dies war: „Mein Handgelenk schmerzt, wenn ich den Pinsel halte. Wenn ich auf die Worte starre, verschwimmen sie vor meinen Augen“. Er habe zwar noch weitere Verse in das Büchlein aufnehmen wollen, schreibt er, doch die Fülle der menschlichen Geschäfte sei endlos. Und dann – als sei ihm etwas zuvor Vergessenes wieder eingefallen – beschreibt er das Vokabular von Bestattungsriten und liefert damit am Ende des Buches zugleich eine eigentümliche Reflexion über die Sterblichkeit. Der Text schließt mit folgenden Zeilen:

Heute habe ich ihn endlich vollendet;
Nun ist er fertig und kann an künftige Schüler weitergegeben werden.
Tut dieses Buch nicht als billig und seicht ab,
sondern schätze es wie eintausend Käsch.

Am Ende der Vokabellisten befindet sich häufig eine Apologie des Autors, die scheinbar selbstkritisch ist, tatsächlich jedoch das Werk anpreist. Hier räumt der Verfasser ein, dass die Gebildeten seinen Versuch, Geschichte und Gesellschaft abzuhandeln, durchaus kritisch sehen könnten. Eine Vokabelliste ist schwerlich ein Buch, das man als so wertvoll betrachtet wie „eintausend Käsch“; indem er es jedoch als solches präsentiert, versichert der Autor, was er zusammengetragen habe, sei in der Tat ein wertvolles und nützliches Werkzeug, ein Produkt mühevoller Arbeit, würdig, an künftige Generationen von Schülern weitergereicht zu werden.


Abb. 3: Liuyan zazi, fol. 11v. - 12r. Couplet auf fol. 12r,
neben dem Haupttext. > Vergrößerung

An diesem Manuskript ist nicht allein der Text interessant, auch die Anmerkungen derer, die es benutzt haben, sind es. Der Leser wird bemerken, dass neben den letzten Zeilen des Haupttextes auf derselben Seite zwei Zeilen in großen, kühnen Zeichen in schwungvoller Kursive (xingshu) stehen, die sich deutlich von der sorgfältigen Normschrift (kaishu) abheben, die der Kopist im gesamten Haupttext verwendet (siehe Abb. 3). Diese beiden Zeilen bilden ein duilian oder Spruchpaar, poetische Zeilen mit strengem Parallelismus, deren Komposition eine Kunst war. Solche duilian standen auf Schriftbändern, die Räume und Eingänge dekorierten, und waren früher auch Gegenstand von literarischen Wettbewerben und Trinkspielen. Das vorliegende Beispiel, in Umgangssprache gehalten, ist die Variation eines bekannten Couplets, doch wir wissen nicht, wer es auf das Manuskript geschrieben hat – vielleicht war es ein fortgeschrittener Schüler in einem Moment der Langeweile? Vielleicht aus dem Wunsch heraus, seine neuen Fähigkeiten in der Schriftkunst unter Beweis zu stellen?

Was auch immer der Anlass war, die Reihenfolge der Wörter ist beim Schreiben durcheinandergeraten. Der Schriftkünstler (oder vielleicht ein späterer Leser) scheint die Fehler bemerkt zu haben, denn er machte entsprechende „redaktionelle Anmerkungen“ in Gestalt kleiner Zeichen rechts neben den Zeilen, um darauf hinzuweisen, dass manche Schriftzeichen umzudrehen seien. In der richtigen Reihenfolge liest sich das Verspaar so:

Der Himmel ist ein Schachbrett und die Sterne die Figuren; wer soll sie bewegen?
Die Erde ist eine Laute und ihre Pfade die Saiten; wer soll sie zupfen?



Literatur

BROKAW, Cynthia (2007): Commerce in Culture: The Sibao Book Trade in the Qing and Republican Periods. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Asia Center.

BAI Liming (2005): Shaping the Ideal Child: Children and Their Primers in Late Imperial China. Hong Kong: The Chinese University Press.

GU Yueqin 顾月琴 (2013): Richang shenghuo bianqian zhong de jiaoyu: Ming Qing shiqi zazi yanjiu 日常生活變遷中的教育: 明清時期雜字研究. Beijing: Guangming ribao chubanshe.

HASE, Patrick H (2012): „Village Literacy and Scholarship: Village Scholars and their Documents.“ In: Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society Hong Kong Branch 52, 77–137.

HAYES, James W (2010): „Manuscript Documents in the Life and Culture of Hong Kong Villagers in Late Imperial China.“ In: Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society Hong Kong Branch 50, 165–244.

HAYES, James (1987): „Specialists and Written Materials in the Village World.“ In: David Johnson, Andrew J. Nathan und Evelyn S. Rawski (Hgg.): Popular Culture in Late Imperial China. Berkeley: University of California Press, 75–111.

LI Guoqing 李國慶 (Hg.) (2009): Zazi leihan雜字類函. 11 Bde. Beijing: Xueyuan chubanshe.

RAWSKI, Evelyn Sakakida (1979): Education and Popular Literacy in Ch’ing China. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press.

WU Huifang吳蕙芳 (2007): Ming Qing yilai minjian shenghuo zhishi de jiangou yu chuandi 明清以來民間生活知識的建構與傳遞. Taipei: Taiwan xuesheng shuju.

ZHENG Acai 鄭阿財und ZHU Fengyu 朱鳳玉 (2002): Dunhuang mengshu yanjiu 敦煌蒙書研究. Lanzhou: Gansu jiaoyu chubanshe.

ZHANG Zhigong 張志公 (1962): Chuantong yuwen jiaoyu chutan 傳統語文教育初探. Schanghai: Shanghai jiaoyu chubanshe.


Beschreibung
Handschrift aus privater Sammlung
Material: Papier, 12 folio, beidseitig beschrieben, bis auf den letzten (nur recto), Fadenheftung mit vier gleichmäßig verteilten Löchern
Maße: 19.68 cm x 12.06 cm
Herkunft: China, undatiert






Text von Ronald Suleski
© für alle Abbildungen: Ronald Suleski
Zitationshinweis:
Ronald Suleski, “Schätze es wie eintausend Käsch.“
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Hg.): Manuskript des Monats 2016.09, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2016_09_mom.html