last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuscript  of the month


A Key to the Pious Economy of Turn-of-the-Century Kashgaria

Research in the social and economic history of Eastern Turkestan (Xinjiang in present-day People’s Republic of China) is limited by a paucity of organized archival sources. While there are many narrative sources in Chaghatay, the Turkic literary language that was used in the region into the 1950s, as well as Chinese-language documents produced by the regional government from the eighteenth century onwards, documents that might reflect the economy from the perspective of the Muslim majority are extremely rare. Accounts by foreigners who visited the region through the early 20th century often mention Islamic pious endowments (waqf). Waqf is a pervasive economic institution in the Islamic world, which typically consists of a parcel of land (or other property, such as a shop), the produce of which supports a pious institution or activity such as a shrine, school, soup kitchen, the copying of the Qur’an and so on. Pious endowments thus employ many people and play important roles in their local economies. Nevertheless, no systematic account of these endowments’ activities in any given part of Xinjiang is known to have existed prior to the 1930s. As it turns out, a key to unlocking the socioeconomic history of the region spent most of a century in a cupboard in northern Sweden.


Fig. 1: One section of the scroll, held down on each
corner by a Swedish 50 öre piece. Note the section
at the bottom where the adhesive came loose,
and the following sheet detached. > Enlarge

May 2011 was a lucky month. I was a visiting scholar at Stockholm University, which then housed the Gunnar Jarring Central Eurasia Collection, a library of travel literature about Central Asia and printed materials from Kashgar. It was a revolutionary experience for my research on the social and cultural history of Eastern Turkestan from the 1870s to the 1930s. I had a hunch that Swedish missionary accounts from the region would provide new insights into everyday life in Kashgar, an ancient and important city in southwestern Xinjiang, around the turn of the century.

One day, someone pointed to a scroll that had just arrived at the library. It was in Chaghatay, and apparently from Xinjiang. There were a number of accomplished Turkologists around, but I had more experience with handwritten sources, and the Arabo-Persian script in which the text was written was particularly obscure. Could I identify it?

The scroll was made of seven sheets of brittle yellow paper, each of them about 20.5 cm in width and between 20.5 cm and 30 cm in length (see fig. 1). We would normally associate this kind of vertical scroll with record-keeping and documents related to land, including deeds of endowment for pious institutions, as well as genealogies and some narrative texts. The sheets were pasted together end-to-end before a scribe wrote on them – some had come loose, leaving a line of writing divided between the end of one sheet and the beginning of another. Unfortunately, the scroll turned out to be partial. Once we reconstructed the available sheets into a single scroll, the first section was clearly missing, along with any writing that might contextualize the document. So what was this thing?

What we found was difficult to categorize. First of all, it was paleographically very difficult. The writing is Nastaʿlīq, a common way of writing Arabo-Persian script in the Persianate world, dating to the fourteenth century, but of a kind that over the years I came to identify with scribes in a hurry. Certain common clusters of letters are written shorthand – for example, the genitive suffix -نينک -ning is often written with a hastily-scrawled dot for one ﻨ [n] and a loop for the final ک [g/k]. Nevertheless, I was excited: my still untrained eyes could make out lists of teachers and mullahs, and words like “college” (madrasa), “shrine” (mazār), and “pious endowment” (waqf وقف), but spelled in a way that reflected its local pronunciation: wakhfa وخفە.

The yellow paper shows that the document may have originated with the Kashgar Islamic court. Most local documents from the region were produced on rough, thick Khotan paper made of mulberry bark, but this was smooth and consistent in color. It resembles the paper in a manual of jurisprudence and other documents used at the same court, including deeds of endowment. Actually, in terms of their dimensions and quality, the sheets closely resemble Russian-made writing paper that circulated in Kashgaria in the early twentieth century. Perhaps the court was using this paper to keep records?

That turn-of-the-century date corresponds with what we learned about the scroll’s origins. It had been sent to Stockholm by the descendants of Lars Erik Högberg (1858-1924), one of the leading missionaries in Kashgar at the turn of the century. When Högberg left Eastern Turkestan in 1915, he brought home this scroll among other materials probably used mainly for language study. Since then, it had sat in a cupboard in northern Sweden in the possession of his family, who eventually decided to send it to Stockholm for identification.


Fig. 2: A section of text describing the shrines of Jalāl al-Dīn
Buzrukwār, Sutuq Bughra Khan, Abū Naṣr Sāmānī, and others.
> Enlarge

Obviously, the scroll had something to do with pious endowments and Islamic law. But where? And when? The scroll records forty-eight pious endowments (see fig. 2), and fortunately several of them are large and easily identifiable, such as the famed Āpāq Khwāja shrine and Ordam Padishah shrine complex. This knowledge placed the scroll’s data in the area of Kashgar.

Nevertheless, most of the place names on the scroll were obscure. Fortunately, many are marked on Aurel Stein’s detailed maps of Xinjiang from the early 20th century. Others I could only find by digging through modern lists of administrative units or scanning online maps kilometer by kilometer. Nor were most of the shrines listed in Rahile Dawut’s indispensable guide. Mapping the place names produced a triangular area of coverage about 130 kilometers on each side, all around Kashgar (see fig. 3). I suspect that the lost first page or pages detailed pious endowments in Kashgar itself.

As it turns out, the scroll details the holdings of all of these endowments. They ranged in size from vast – the Ordam Padishah shrine, by my calculations, held 1,640 hectares of land spread out across the triangle – to miniscule – the endowment of the Khwāja Pahlawān Awliya shrine near Artush held only an adjacent orchard about four hectares in size. We can start to ask questions about the economic reach of these endowments, where sometimes hundreds of workers could have been employed, and as many farmers rented and worked the land.


Fig. 3: Locations (orange) and major shrines (green) mentioned in the scroll.
Kashgar is highlighted in red. For reference, the “Kashgar triangle” is roughly
depicted in white. Image made with Google Earth. > Enlarge

Questions remain. A mention of local ruler Yaʿqūb Beg (1820-1877) places the scroll after his death, but when was the scroll actually produced? Why was there a need to produce a list of pious endowments? Does the rough handwriting on the list suggest that it was a draft, or a set of notes made to prepare a later document?

The scroll also records the names of teachers at madrasas and how many students they had, and it includes scattered notes on when some shrines were renovated or how festivals were held at them. These details may help to place the scroll in time, space, and an institutional context, but we will need more sources to corroborate any tentative conclusions. Comparison with the 1815 deed of endowment for the Āpāq Khwāja shrine shows that the information on the scroll probably came directly from these deeds, so we may wonder how much real conditions may have changed by the time the scrolls were made. On the other hand, the geography of the list seems to suggest that the details were written down as the recorder traveled from place to place. How much of this data was based on eyewitness surveys?

Surely the Kashgar Regional Archives would help resolve many of the questions that remain, as would the manuscript collections at the Kashgar Museum. However, under the current political situation, neither institution is open to scholarly research for the foreseeable future. As long as they remain closed, we may never know the answers. Nevertheless, the Kashgar scroll provides us with a snapshot of a critical social and economic institution at the dawn of the twentieth century.



References

DAWUT Rahile راھىلە داۋۇت (2001): Uyghur mazarliri ئۇيغۇر مازارلىرى. Ürümchi: Shinjang Khälq Näshriyati شىنجاڭ خەلق نەشرىياتى.

SCHLUESSEL, Eric (2018): “Hiding and Revealing Islamic Pious Endowments in Turn-of-the-Century Xinjiang”. In: The Muslim World (forthcoming).

Digital Silk Road. “Stein Placename Database”. http://dsr.nii.ac.jp/digital-maps/stein/place-names/. Accessed 14 April 2017.

SUGAWARA Jun (2016): “Opal, a Sacred Site on the Karakorum Highway: A Historical Approach Based on Mazar Documents”. In: Sugawara Jun and Rahile Dawut (eds.): Mazar: Studies on Islamic Sacred Sites in Central Eurasia. Tokyo: Tokyo University of Foreign Studies Press, 153-174.

SUGAWARA Jun and KAWAHARA Yayoi (eds.) (2006): Mazar Documents from Xinjiang and Ferghana. Tokyo: Research Institute for Languages and Cultures of Asia and Africa, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies.

THUM, Rian (2014): The Sacred Routes of Uyghur History. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press.

ZHANG Shicai (2016): “The Waqf System and the Xinjiang Uyghur Society from the Qing Dynasty to the Republic of China Period”. In: Sugawara Jun and Rahile Dawut (eds.): Mazar: Studies on Islamic Sacred Sites in Central Eurasia. Tokyo: Tokyo University of Foreign Studies Press, 127-140.


Description
Manuscript in the private collection of the family of Lars Erik Högberg, Sweden
Material: 7 sheets of brittle yellow paper
Dimensions: 20.5 cm in width, approximately 200 cm in length
Provenance: Kashgar, Xinjiang, 1877-1915


Manuscript of the Month 05/2017
Text by Eric T. Schluessel
© for all pictures: Eric T. Schluessel
Reference note:
Eric T. Schluessel, “A Key to the Pious Economy of Turn-of-the-Century Kashgaria”
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Eds.): Manuscript of the Month 2017.05, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_05_mom_e.html

last month
next month

Centre for the Study of Manuscript Cultures (CSMC)

manuskript  des monats


Ein Schlüssel zur Wirtschaft der frommen Stiftungen im Kaschgar der Jahrhundertwende

Die Erforschung der Sozial- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte Ostturkestans (Xinjiang in der heutigen Volksrepublik China) ist mangels geordnetem Archivmaterial nur eingeschränkt möglich. Es gibt zwar viele historische Quellen auf Tschagataisch, der bis in die 1950er Jahre in dieser Region verbreiteten türkischen Literatursprache, sowie ab dem 18. Jahrhundert Dokumente in chinesischer Sprache der Regionalregierung, aber Dokumente, die die Wirtschaft aus der Sicht der muslimischen Mehrheit widerspiegeln, sind äußerst selten. In Berichten von Ausländern, die im frühen 20. Jahrhundert die Region bereisten, werden häufig fromme islamische Stiftungen (waqf) erwähnt. Ein waqf ist eine in der islamischen Welt weit verbreitete wirtschaftliche Einrichtung, die in der Regel aus einem Grundstück (oder einer anderen Form von Eigentum, wie etwa einem Geschäft) besteht, dessen Ertrag einer frommen Einrichtung oder Tätigkeit, beispielsweise einem Heiligtum, einer Schule, einer Suppenküche oder dem Kopieren des Korans zugutekommt. Fromme Stiftungen geben daher vielen Menschen Arbeit und spielen in ihren jeweiligen Umgebungen eine wichtige wirtschaftliche Rolle. Trotzdem ist keine systematische Beschreibung der Aktivitäten dieser Stiftungen in irgendeinem Teil von Xinjiang aus der Zeit vor den 1930er Jahren bekannt. Wie sich inzwischen jedoch herausgestellt hat, hatte ein Schlüssel zur Sozial- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte dieser Region fast hundert Jahre lang in einem Schrank im Norden Schwedens gelegen.


Abb. 1: Ein Ausschnitt der Schriftrolle, an allen
vier Ecken mit einem schwedischen 50-Öre-Münze
fixiert. Am unteren Ende sieht man die Stelle, an
der sich die Klebeverbindung gelöst hat, die es mit
dem folgenden Blatt verband. > Vergrößerung

Der Mai 2011 war ein Glücksmonat. Ich war gerade als Gast an der Universität Stockholm, die damals die Gunnar Jarring Central Eurasia Collection beherbergte, eine Bibliothek mit Reiseliteratur über Zentralasien und Druckschriften aus Kaschgar. Für meine Forschung zur Sozial- und Kulturgeschichte Ostturkestans von den 1970er bis zu den 1930er Jahren eröffnete sie völlig neue Möglichkeiten und ich ahnte, dass mir die Berichte schwedischer Missionare aus dieser Region erstmals Einblicke in das Alltagsleben in Kaschgar um die Jahrhundertwende geben würden, einer alten und bedeutenden Stadt im Südwesten von Xinjiang.

Eines Tages wurde ich auf eine Schriftrolle aufmerksam gemacht, die gerade erst in der Bibliothek eingetroffen war. Sie war auf Tschagataisch geschrieben und stammte angeblich aus Xinjiang. Es gab zwar eine ganze Reihe fachkundiger Turkologen dort, ich aber hatte mehr Erfahrung mit handschriftlichem Material, und die arabisch-persische Schrift des Textes war sehr ungewöhnlich. Würde ich ihn identifizieren können?

Die Schriftrolle bestand aus sieben Blättern spröden gelben Papiers, die jeweils etwa 20,5 cm breit und zwischen 20,5 und 30 cm hoch waren (siehe Abb. 1). In der Regel verbindet man mit dieser Art hochformatiger Rolle Aufzeichnungen und Dokumente über Grundbesitz, einschließlich Stiftungsurkunden für fromme Institutionen, sowie Genealogien und einige narrative Texte. Die Blätter waren vor ihrer Beschriftung aneinandergeklebt worden, doch einige hatten sich gelöst, wodurch Zeilen so zertrennt wurden, dass die obere Hälfte am Ende des einen Blattes und die untere Hälfte am Anfang des nächsten Blattes standen. Leider stellte sich heraus, dass die Schriftrolle unvollständig war. Nachdem wir die vorhandenen Blätter zu einer einzigen Rolle zusammengefügt hatten, war klar, dass der erste Teil ebenso fehlte wie jeder Text, anhand dessen wir das Dokument hätten einordnen können. Worum handelte es sich also?

Was wir fanden, ließ sich nur schwer kategorisieren. Zuerst einmal war die paläographische Einordnung sehr schwierig. Bei der Schrift handelte es sich um Nastaʿlīq, eine in der iranischen Welt weit verbreitete Art der arabisch-persischen Schrift aus dem 14. Jahrhundert. Allerdings lag hier eine spezielle Form vor, die ich im Lauf der Jahre als die von Schreibern in Eile identifizierte. Bestimmte Buchstabengruppen werden in Kurzschrift geschrieben, so ist beispielsweise die Genitivendung -نينک -ning häufig als hingekritzelter Punkt für ein ﻨ [n] und als Schleife für das auslautende ک [g/k] geschrieben. Dennoch war ich begeistert: Mein noch ungeübtes Auge konnte Listen von Lehrern und Mullahs sowie Wörter wie madrasa (Schule), mazār (Heiligtum, Schrein) und waqf وقف (fromme Stiftung) ausmachen, deren Schreibweise aber ihre einheimische Aussprache widerspiegelte: wakhfa وخفە.

Das gelbe Papier wies darauf hin, dass das Schriftstück vom islamischen Gerichtshof in Kaschgar stammen könnte. Die meisten Dokumente dieser Region wurden auf rauem, dickem Khotan-Papier aus Maulbeerrinde verfasst, aber dieses hier war glatt und gleichmäßig gefärbt. Es glich dem Papier eines Handbuchs der Rechtsprechung und anderen Dokumenten dieses Gerichts, darunter auch Stiftungsurkunden. Vielmehr noch ähnelten die Blätter aber in Format und Qualität in Russland gefertigtem Papier, das Anfang des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts in Kaschgar in Umlauf war. Vielleicht verwendete das Gericht dieses Papier für amtliche Schreiben?

Das Datum um die Jahrhundertwende korrespondierte mit dem, was wir über die Ursprünge der Rolle herausgefunden hatten. Sie war von den Nachkommen Lars Erik Högbergs (1858–1924), eines der um die Jahrhundertwende führenden Missionare in Kaschgar, nach Stockholm geschickt worden. Als Högberg Ostturkestan 1915 verließ, brachte er sie zusammen mit anderen Materialien nach Schweden, hauptsächlich vermutlich um die Sprache zu studieren. Seitdem hatte sie in einem Schrank im Norden Schwedens gelegen – im Besitz seiner Familie, die schließlich entschied, sie zur Identifikation nach Stockholm zu schicken.


Abb. 2: Ein Abschnitt des Textes beschreibt die Heiligtümer von
Jalāl al-Dīn Buzrukwār, Sutuq Bughra Khan, Abū Naṣr Sāmānī
und anderen. > Vergrößerung

Offensichtlich hatte die Schriftrolle also etwas mit frommen Stiftungen und islamischem Recht zu tun. Aber wo? Und wann? Sie listet achtundvierzig fromme Stiftungen auf (siehe Abb. 2), von denen glücklicherweise einige groß und leicht zu identifizieren waren, wie die berühmten Heiligtümer des Āpāq Khwāja und des Ordam Padishah. Damit wurde klar, dass die Angaben der Rolle in das Gebiet von Kaschgar gehören.

Die meisten Ortsnamen auf der Rolle waren unklar. Auch in Rahile Dawuts sonst unentbehrlichem Handbuch waren die meisten der Heiligtümer nicht enthalten. Zum Glück aber sind viele auf den detaillierten Karten Aurel Steins von Xinjiang aus dem frühen 20. Jahrhundert von verzeichnet. Andere fand ich, indem ich mich durch Listen heutiger Verwaltungseinheiten wühlte oder Online-Karten Kilometer für Kilometer absuchte. Auf der Karte markieren die Namen ein dreieckiges Gebiet um Kaschgar herum, das sich auf jeder Seite über 130 km erstreckt (siehe Abb. 3). Ich vermute, dass die fehlende(n) erste(n) Seite(n) Informationen über fromme Stiftungen in Kaschgar selbst enthielten.

Wie sich herausstellte, listet die Rolle alle Besitztümer dieser Stiftungen genau auf. Sie reichten von riesig – das Ordam Padishah-Heiligtum besaß nach meinen Berechnungen verteilt über das Dreieck insgesamt 1.640 Hektar Land – bis zu winzig klein – der Stiftung des Khwāja Pahlawān Awliya-Heiligtums in der Nähe von Artush gehörte lediglich ein angrenzender ca. vier Hektar großer Obstgarten. Wir konnten nun erstmals fragen, welche wirtschaftliche Bedeutung diese Stiftungen besaßen, die manchmal Hunderte von Arbeitern beschäftigen, mit ebenso vielen Bauern, die das Land pachteten und bearbeiteten.


Abb. 3: Orte (orange) und Hauptheiligtümer (grün), die in der Rolle erwähnt sind.
Kaschgar ist rot markiert. Das „Kaschgar-Dreieck“ ist mit einer weißen Linie
angedeutet. Die Abbildung wurde mit Google Earth erstellt. > Vergrößerung

Viele Fragen bleiben vorerst offen. Eine Erwähnung des lokalen Herrschers Yaʿqūb Beg (1820–1877) ordnet die Schriftrolle zeitlich nach dessen Tod ein, aber wann ist sie tatsächlich entstanden? Warum war es notwendig, eine Liste der frommen Stiftungen aufzustellen? Deutet die grobe Handschrift der Liste darauf hin, dass es sich um einen Entwurf oder eine Reihe von Notizen handelt, aus denen später ein Dokument gefertigt werden sollte?

Die Rolle verzeichnet auch die Namen von Lehrern an Madrasas und die Anzahl ihrer Studenten und enthält verstreute Notizen darüber, wann manche Heiligtümer renoviert und wie dort Feste gefeiert wurden. Diese Details können dabei helfen, die Schriftrolle zeitlich, örtlich und in einen institutionellen Kontext einzuordnen, aber wir benötigen weitere Quellen, um vorläufige Schlussfolgerungen zu bestätigen. Ein Vergleich mit der Stiftungsurkunde für das Āpāq Khwāja-Heiligtum aus dem Jahr 1815 zeigt, dass die Informationen auf der Schriftrolle vermutlich direkt von diesen Urkunden stammen. Man kann sich also fragen, wie sehr sich die tatsächlichen Bedingungen bis zu dem Zeitpunkt verändert hatten, als die Rolle entstand. Andererseits lassen die geographischen Angaben auf der Rolle vermuten, dass der Schreiber die Details auf der Reise von Ort zu Ort niederschrieb. Wie viele dieser Daten basieren auf eigener Bestandsaufnahme?

Das Regionale Archiv von Kaschgar wäre bei der Beantwortung vieler der noch verbleibenden Fragen sicher hilfreich, ebenso wie die Handschriftensammlungen des Museums in Kaschgar. Allerdings wird angesichts der gegenwärtigen politischen Lage auf absehbare Zeit keine der beiden Institutionen für wissenschaftliche Forschungen zugänglich sein. So lange sie geschlossen bleiben, werden wir wohl keine Antworten finden. Aber immerhin liefert uns die Schriftrolle aus Kaschgar die Momentaufnahme einer wichtigen sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Einrichtung zu Beginn des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts.



References

DAWUT Rahile (2001): راھىلە داۋۇت ( Uyghur mazarliri ئۇيغۇر مازارلىرى. Ürümqi: Shinjang Khälq Näshriyati شىنجاڭ خەلق نەشرىياتى.

SCHLUESSEL, Eric (2018): „Hiding and Revealing Islamic Pious Endowments in Turn-of-the-Century Xinjiang“. In: The Muslim World (erscheint demnächst).

Digital Silk Road. „Stein Placename Datenbank“. http://dsr.nii.ac.jp/digital-maps/stein/place-names/ Aufgerufen am 14. April 2017.

SUGAWARA Jun (2016): „Opal, a Sacred Site on the Karakorum Highway: A Historical Approach Based on Mazar Documents“. In: Sugawara Jun und Rahile Dawut (Hgg.): Mazar: Studies on Islamic Sacred Sites in Central Eurasia. Tokio: Tokyo University of Foreign Studies Press, 153–174.

SUGAWARA Jun und KAWAHARA Yayoi (Hgg.) (2006): Mazar Documents from Xinjiang and Ferghana. Tokio: Research Institute for Languages and Cultures of Asia and Africa, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies.

THUM, Rian (2014): The Sacred Routes of Uyghur History. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press.

ZHANG Shicai (2016): „The Waqf System and the Xinjiang Uyghur Society from the Qing Dynasty to the Republic of China Period“. In: Sugawara Jun und Rahile Dawut (Hgg.): Mazar: Studies on Islamic Sacred Sites in Central Eurasia. Tokio: Tokyo University of Foreign Studies Press, 127–140.


Beschreibung
Handschrift aus der Privatsammlung der Familie des Lars Erik Högberg, Schweden
Material: 7 Blätter spröden gelben Papiers
Maße: 20,5 cm (Breite), ca. 200 cm (Höhe)
Herkunft: Kaschgar, Xinjiang, 1877–1915



Manuskript des Monats 05/2017
Text von Eric T. Schluessel
© für alle Bilder: Eric T. Schluessel
Zitationshinweis:
Eric T. Schluessel, „Ein Schlüssel zur Wirtschaft der frommen Stiftungen im Kaschgar der Jahrhundertwende“
In: Wiebke Beyer, Zhenzhen Lu (Hg.): Manuscript des Monats 2017.05, SFB 950: Hamburg,
http://www.manuscript-cultures.uni-hamburg.de/mom/2017_05_mom.html